How to Get a Motorcycle License in New Mexico
A New Mexico motorcycle license is issued by the state Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) for riders who want to legally operate a motorbike on public roads within the state. Motorists may either acquire a Class M license or add an endorsement to their existing driver’s license when visiting a local NM MVD office. Applicants under the age of 18 years old are required by state law to take and complete a motorcycle safety course. However, individuals who are 18 years of age or older are advised but not required to take the state authorized safety course. To learn more about how and where to get a motorcycle license in New Mexico, review the information provided below.
Motorbike License Requirements in New Mexico
The application process for a New Mexico motorbike driving license requires drivers to meet certain eligibility requirements set by the NM MVD. When obtaining a license, applicants must be at least 13 years of age. Moreover, applicants younger than 18 years of age who want to obtain an endorsement may have to take a state-approved safety course and have one parent or guardian to sign the course documents.
Riders who are 13 years of age or older and satisfy the conditions may be issued a Class M license with a Z or Y endorsement. However, individuals 15 years of age or older may either obtain a license with Z, Y or W endorsement. Minors and adults who already hold a license can add the endorsements to their regular driver’s licenses. In order to complete the process of applying for a motorcycle license in New Mexico, motorists may need to present documentation including proof of identity, NM residency and Social Security Number (SSN) among others.
Note: New residents may be able to obtain a New Mexico motorcycle license once they establish residency in the state. Applicants will be required to surrender their out-of-state credentials before replacing a motorcycle license with an NM license.
New Mexico Bike License Training Courses
The NM MVD may require bike license applicants younger than 18 years of age to take a safety course as part of the application process for a license or endorsement. Additionally, first-time applicants may be also required to complete a driver’s education program for this procedure. The Basic Rider Course is offered by the NM Motorcycle Safety Program (MSP), and upon successful completion, drivers will earn a BRC Completion Card, which may be used as a written and skills test waiver at the MVD.
Note: The MPS also offers a Basic Rider Course 2 for experienced riders who must already hold a valid NM bike license or endorsement.
New Mexico Motorcycle License Tests
When applying for a motorbike license in New Mexico, riders will be required to take certain examinations as set by the NM MVD. For instance, individuals who want to apply for a license will have to take a vision test. Those who apply for a motorcycle driver’s license for the first time and have never held a driver’s license may be required to complete a driver’s education course. Drivers who pass the motorcycle safety course will earn a completion card which will serve as a waiver for the knowledge and basic skills test if submitted to the MVD before its expiration date. However, license applicants who are younger than 18 years of age may be required to complete a safety course by the NM MVD in order to be eligible for a license.
The New Mexico Motorbike License Application Process
Getting a bike license in New Mexico includes completing the necessary steps through the NM MVD. To apply for an endorsement or a license, motorists must arrange a visit to a nearby MVD. There are three types of motorcycle endorsements you can add to your current driver’s license:
- Z endorsement for a two- or three-wheeled motorbike which displaces less than 50 cubic centimeters (cc).
- Y endorsement for a two- or three-wheeled motorcycle displacing between 50 cc and 100 cc.
- W endorsement for a two- or three-wheeled motorcycle which displaces 100 cc or more.
After choosing the motorcycle endorsements that must be added to the driving credential, riders will be required to take the vision test. First-time applicants for a full bike license who have never held a driver’s credential may be also required by the MVD in NM to complete a driver’s education course. Drivers who choose to pass the motorcycle safety course may earn a completion card serving as a waiver for the knowledge and basic skills test.
Note: Applicants younger than 18 years of age are mandated to complete a safety course as part of the application procedure.
New Mexico Motorcycle License Fees
To obtain a motorbike license or an endorsement on a current NM driving license, motorcyclists will need to arrange payment for applicable licensing fees. The cost and fees may vary and are available only on a case-by-case basis by contacting the state Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Applicants for a Class M license or endorsement are encouraged to contact their local MVD for further information.