DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Maryland

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!

You can apply for a motorcycle permit and license at any MVA office in Maryland. In order to apply for a motorcycle license you must first apply for a motorcycle learner's permit.

New Applicants Over 18

Listed below are the requirements to obtain a motorcycle learner's permit:

  1. Study the motorcycle manual.
  2. Locate your nearest MVA office.
  3. Fill in the application form.
  4. Submit acceptable proof of age and proof of legal presence.
  5. Present your social security number.
  6. Pay an application fee ($50 if you have no regular license and $30 if you do).
  7. Pass the renew by mail.
  8. Pass the signs and traffic laws examination and motorcycle knowledge test. See practice tests for more information on the written exam.

New Applicants Between 15 Years, 9 months and 18 years

In addition to the above requirements, applicants under 18 must:

  1. Provide a parent/guardian signature on the application form.
  2. Furnish proof that you have completed the Motorcycle Safety Program. Please see Driver's Education and Driving Schools for additional details.
  3. If you are under 16, provide a Learner's Permit School Attendance Certification.

Learner's Permit

Once you complete the aforementioned prerequisites, you will be given a learner's permit. This permit will allow you to practice driving a motorcycle.

Instruction Permit Restrictions

With your instruction permit you are not permitted to ride with any passengers other than a licensed instructor who is over 21 and has held a motorcycle license for at least 3 years.

Applying for a Motorcycle License

  1. Make an appointment to take the skills test at any licensing centre. Call 1-888-212-4709, or 1-410-762-5082 if out of state.
  2. Take the skills test. If you fail part of the test you may return the following day and make a second attempt.
  3. You motorcycle must be registered, roadworthy and properly equipped. See the manual for details.

Fees

There is a $5 fee for the permit and $50 for the license. If the application expires, some steps to acquiring the permit or license may have to be repeated.

Additional Information

Have a Question? Get Instant Online Answers!

Powered By