How to Apply for a Texas Motorcycle License
Individuals must apply for a motorcycle drivers license in Texas in order to be able legally to ride their motorcycles on public roads within the state. The motorcycle license applicants are required to complete an application process through the Texas Department of Public Safety (TX DPS). A motorbike driving license is issued to those riders who those individuals who satisfy the required DPS requirements. A significant part of the license requirements consist of completing a state-approved safety course, as well as a driver education course for applicants younger than 18 years of age. To learn more information about where to get motorcycle license credentials and how to get license credentials, continue reading the sections below.
Motorcycle License Requirements in Texas
To obtain a Texas motorcycle license, drivers must meet a set of requirements prior to starting the application process. Applicants between the ages of 15 and 17 years of age must meet certain motorcycle license requirements to be able to obtain motorcycle operation privileges. When applying for DMV motorcycle license credentials, minors must:
- Hold a restriction to operating a motorcycle with less than a 250 cc displacement until the applicant’s 16th birthday.
- Enroll and complete a motorcycle safety course.
- Complete a driver education course, if younger than 18 years of age.
- Hold a Class C provisional license.
- Submit a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form.
- Provide a signature from a parent or legal guardian, if under 18 years of age.
In addition to the requirements for a Class M motorcycle license in Texas, applicants will be also required to pass the mandatory vision test, written knowledge exam and road skills test. Moreover, prior to getting your license, the TX DPS will require you to provide a certificate of course completion or proof of passing the written exam.
Texas Motorcycle License Training Courses
The application process for a Texas motorcycle drivers license requires applicants to first complete a state-approved motorcycle safety course. In order to get a motorcycle license, motorists are mandated to submit a certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety program to the TX DPS. Prior to enrolling in such course, applicants who are between the age of 15 and 17 must satisfy one of the following requirements:
- Hold a Class C learner’s license and complete a 32-hour classroom phase of the driver’s ed course.
- Present a certificate of completion of the classroom phase.
- Hold a provisional driver’s license.
Drivers who would like to obtain a full bike license must take enroll in the course at a DPS training location. For a full list of available training sites that offer motorcycle safety courses, contact the Department of Public Safety.
Note: Out-of-state residents who recently moved to Texas and have licenses in their possession may be exempt from taking the safety course.
Texas Motorcycle License Tests
Part of the application process for a motorcycle license in Texas is to take and pass several examinations as required by the TX DPS. Applicants who want to obtain a licensewill have to pass a vision test, a written knowledge exam and a skills test. The motorcycle knowledge test may be waived for riders who have successfully completed a safety course. However, the skills test for a license cannot be waived for applicants who are younger than 18 years of age. Applicants who are 18 years of age or older may waive their skills test, if they meet the following eligibility requirements:
- Hold a valid out-of-state license.
- Complete a motorcycle safety course and hold a valid TX Class A, B or C driver’s license.
- Apply for a motorcycle learners permit.
- Plan to operate a moped only.
The Texas Motorcycle License Application Process
To get a Texas motorcycle license, applicants must first visit a local TX DPS office. The required steps for a motorbike driving license may differ, depending on the rider’s age. Applicants who are between 15 and 17 years of age and are applying for a license may be required to first obtain a Class C learner’s permit or a Class C provisional license. Additionally, prior to getting a license in TX, motorists may also need to complete a driver’s ed course. Moreover, upon the personal visit to the Texas DPS, riders will be mandated to pass a vision test, a written knowledge exam and a motorcycle skills test. To learn the applicable Texas license requirements that must be satisfied as part of the application process, contact the TX DPS before beginning the procedure.
Texas Motorcycle License Fees
When applying for motorcycle license in Texas, applicants may be required to pay the applicable fees. The Texas DPS charges $15 for a new license, in addition to the regular driver’s license fee. Drivers who are adding a motorcycle endorsement to their current driver’s license will be charged a $16 fee. If motorists want to renew their full licenses, an $8 fee will apply, along with the standard renewal charges. A Class M motorcycle license will cost $25, if applicants have not previously obtained a standard license. However, riders who are younger than 18 years of age will have to apply for a learners permit and pay the applicable fee of $16.