Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!
Texas Drivers License Renewal
Drivers can renew their driving license up to one year before the printed expiration date or up to two years after it is considered an expired drivers license. If you do not meet the deadline to renew license documents, you will incur a late fine.
Texas drivers are required to renew drivers license credentials in person at least one time every 12 years in order to update their fingerprints, photo and signature.
Information Related to Driver's License Renewal
- Online Renewal Process
- Mail Renewal Process
- Phone Renewal Process
- In Person Renewal Process
- Out-of-State/Military Renewals
How to Renew Your Drivers License in Texas
Eligible drivers will receive a Texas drivers license renewal notice in the mail. This reminder will include information such as when you are required to renew by and the renewal methods that you are eligible to use. The possible methods are:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
If you do not receive your TX drivers license renewal notice, you are still required to renew within the allotted time.
DMV.com Note: There is no age limit for renewing drivers license credentials, as long as you meet the TX Department of Public Safety's criteria. Furthermore, Texas drivers can obtain a voter registration card when they go to get their drivers license renewed.
To renew drivers license online in Texas, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Your last drivers license renewal took place at a local driver license office.
- You are renewing a Class C or Class CM driving license.
- Your drivers license expires in less than one year or it expired less than two years ago.
- You are a U.S. citizen.
- You are between 18 and 78 years old.
- Yours is not a provisional or learner license.
- Your Social Security Number is on file.
- Your driving license is valid.
- Your driving license is not suspended, revoked, and you do not have any warrants or unpaid tickets.
- Your physical (including vision) and mental condition have not changed in a way that would adversely affect your driving since the last time you went to renew driving license credentials.
If you meet the eligibility requirements, visit the Renewal portal and have with you:
- Your drivers license.
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number.
- A Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express credit card to pay the $25 fee.
- A printer (to print out your temporary driving license).
If you received a renewal notice by mail, follow the instructions for how to renew drivers license credentials and enclose a check or money order for the $25 fee if you are between 18 and 84. If you are 85 or older, the fee is $9.
The eligibility requirements to renew expired drivers license over the phone are the same as those online. If you meet these requirements, call 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639) and have a Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express credit card to pay the $25 fee.
If you are not eligible to renew by any other means or meet one of the following qualifications, you must go in person to a local driver license office to renew your drivers license:
- You are 79 years old or older
- You are a non-U.S. citizen
- You are renewing a provisional license
- You are younger than 18 years old
To renew your driving license, follow these steps:
- Present the necessary documents:
- Proof of identity:
- Primary documents:
- Driving license
- Secondary documents:
- Birth certificate (original or certified copy)
- Court order showing name and date of birth and indicating a name change or gender change from a U.S. entity (original or certified copy)
- Supporting documents:
- Social Security card
- W-2 form
- Primary documents:
- Two proofs of residency:
- Valid voter registration card
- Car registration certificate
- One proof of Social Security Number:
- Social Security card
- Health insurance card
- One proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence:
- Birth certificate
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) (non-U.S. citizens)
- Foreign passport with attached temporary I-551 (non-U.S. citizens)
- Complete an Application for Renewal/Replacement/Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card (DL-43) form
- Give your current drivers license
- Take a photo
- Pay the renewal fee:
- If you are between 18 and 84 years old: $25
- If you are 85 years old or older: $9
- For a motorcycle endorsement and drivers license: $33
- For a temporary license (non-U.S. citizens): $25
- For a disabled military license: free
- The TX driver license offices accept credit cards, cash, checks and money orders
Drivers may also be asked to take a vision test and a driving test, depending on their medical condition.
If you are out of state or on active duty when drivers license renewal approaches, you must renew your credentials online or by mail. Out-of-state and military residents must meet the online requirements in order to apply through the Renewal portal.
To renew by mail, follow these steps:
- Download the Out of State or Out of Country packet
- Complete the Out of State or Out of Country Renewal/Replacement/Change of Texas Driver License or Identification (DL/ID) Card application
- Put your Texas address in the address field
- Put your current out-of-state address in the mailing field
- Complete an Explanation for Eye Specialist (DL-63) form
- Complete an Exemption Certification for Class A or B Non-CDL Supplement to Texas Driver License Application(CDL-2) form, if applicable
- Mail the forms, a copy of your documents that verify your SSN and $25 renewal fee (check or money order payable to Texas DPS) to:
Texas Department of Public Safety PO Box 149008 Austin, TX 78714-9008
Military residents that have been separated for less than 90 days and have a drivers license that has been expired for more than two years must also provide the following when they mail in their renewal application:
- A copy of the expired drivers license or ID card.
- A copy of the military ID card (front and back).