Texas DMV Point System
The driver point system in Texas is created for assessing the number of demerit points added to a driving record after committing traffic offenses and for determining the penalties for drivers who practice unsafe driving. Different amounts of infraction points may be accumulated when violating traffic regulations and state laws, depending on the type and severity of the offense committed.
In addition, drivers may also face traffic violation penalties such as driver’s license suspensions or revocations, jail time and high driving fines. Learn more information about how to get tickets removed from driving record reports in Texas and how to fight a traffic by reading the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in Texas
- Penalties in Texas
- How to fix a driving record in Texas
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Texas
Moving Violations and Points in Texas
Accumulating a high number of moving violation points in Texas may be a result of committing certain traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles on public roads within the state. Different numerical demerit points values may be accrued on your driving record, depending on the type and severity of the violation you have committed. Both minor and major traffic offenses will add driver violation points to your driving transcript.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has created a DMV point system that determines the penalties for committing traffic offenses. Below is a list of the traffic violations and their corresponding points:
- In-state and out-of-state traffic convictions which resulted in a crash – 3 points.
- In-state and out-of-state traffic convictions – 2 points.
Accumulating six or more demerit points on your TX driving record will require drivers to pay a surcharge of $100 for the first six demerit points, and $25 for every subsequent point.
Penalties in Texas
The Texas DMV point system assesses not only demerit points you accrue on your driving record, but also additional penalties such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, surcharges and driving fines. Accumulating six or more penalty points within a period of three years will suspend your driving privileges.
An automatic driver’s license suspension will be issued to both adult and minor drivers who commit traffic violations while under the influence of alcohol or drugs and who cause accidents or collisions when operating motor vehicles as a result of reckless driving.
Traffic violation penalties in Texas may require drivers to pay certain surcharges and fines that vary depending on the type of offense they have committed. Motorists who accumulate six demerit points or more will have to pay a surcharge that may vary from $100 to $1,000. DWI penalties will require drivers to pay a $1,000 surcharge for a first conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A traffic ticket penalty in TX for driving without car insurance amounts to $250, while drivers who operate their vehicles without driver’s license will have to pay a $100 surcharge.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Texas
Drivers who are wondering how to clear driving records in Texas may choose to enroll in a traffic school course. Completing a defensive driving course may help you dismiss traffic tickets or remove demerit points from your driving record.
The Texas Driver Responsibility Program allows drivers with unpaid surcharges to qualify for a waiver or reduction of the amount they owe in order to maintain their driving privileges. Texas driving safety programs can be attended either in person or online, depending on the court that handles your case.
Note: Drivers who do not accumulate infraction points in a period of 12 months will be able to reduce one point from the total number of points that have been accrued on their driving records.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Texas
Drivers can fight traffic tickets in Texas by pleading “not guilty” and requesting a trial date at the proper court that deals with your case. Motorists will be able to get prepared for the procedure of disputing a traffic ticket as soon as the judge sets the date for the trial. Note that when you are appealing a traffic ticket, the methods for disputing moving violations may vary according to the presiding court.
For instance, the courts in Dallas offer online traffic ticket dismissal for the period of 21 days from the date of issuance. Nevertheless, drivers who decide to contest traffic tickets in court are encouraged to hire traffic attorneys and prepare evidence to prove that they are not guilty of charge. Motorists are highly advised to avoid paying driving fines before fighting speeding tickets in Texas, since that will be considered as admission of guilt.