Alabama DMV Point System
The Department of Public Safety (DPS) has established the Alabama demerit point system for the purpose of regulating motorists’ behaviour while on the road. AL penalty points are generally placed against driving records following specific moving violations. The number of negative driving record points usually depends on the severity of the committed infraction. If you are wondering how the DMV point system in Alabama works, read the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in Alabama
- Penalties in Alabama
- How to fix an Alabama driving record
- Disputing an Alabama moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in Alabama
Moving violation points in Alabama can be assessed against your driving transcript for traffic offenses committed within or out of state. A different number of demerit points is attached to each violation based on its severity. For instance, you will receive six reckless driving points provided you have endangered the safety of other traffic participants due to reckless driving. Demerit points for speeding in Alabama are also assessed per the state point system. If you have been convicted for speeding not more than 25 mph over the limit, you will amass two points. Five speeding ticket points will be calculated for operating 26 or more mph over the speed limit. The state of Alabama also adds six DUI points for convictions of driving while under the influence that did not result in an immediate revocation of your driving license. The below list outlines other traffic violations and their corresponding points:
- Failure to yield right of way – 5 points.
- Following too closely – 3 points.
- Improper lane offense – 2 points.
- Improper turn – 2 points.
Penalties in Alabama
DUI points in Alabama and other types of violation points will lose their value after a period of two years. Drivers who amass too many traffic ticket penalty points on their driving record within two years, however, are generally at risk of incurring adverse effects on their licensure. For instance, if you accrue between 12 and 14 penalty points in two years, you will face a 60-day driver’s license suspension. The accumulation of 15 to 17 infraction points in AL will result in a 90-day suspension of your credential. Note that the more points you accrue within the allotted time frame, the longer your suspension period will be.
More serious offenses in Alabama, such as driving while under the influence that results in DUI penalties, may lead to other negative consequences in addition to points on your report. A first DUI offense may not only result in Alabama traffic ticket penalty points and a license suspension, but it will also require you to either pay a fine of $600 to $2,100 or serve up to one year in jail (in some instances drivers may be obliged to do both). A second conviction within five years imposes a fine between $1,100 and $5,100, a one-year imprisonment (or both), a license revocation, a 20-day community service or a 48-hour mandatory jail time. The state DPS and/or the presiding court will impose even stricter penalties for subsequent DUI violations.
How to Fix an Alabama Driving Record
In order to avoid being penalized due to drivers license points, motorists generally have the option to enroll into a traffic school course. Taking an online defensive driving course is the most convenient way to reduce license points and acquire safe driving habits, provided the corresponding court accepts such option. Drivers who wish to earn a DMV point reduction in Alabama may not be able to avoid the accumulation of points by completing an online driving school course. Instead, certain courts may allow motorists to graduate from traffic school to become eligible for ticket dismissal. To check whether your traffic violation court accepts online Alabama driving safety courses for dismissal of your charges, contact its offices.
Disputing an Alabama Moving Violation Charge
Motorists usually decide to fight a speeding ticket or other types of citations if they believe they were unjustly cited for the offense in question. Drivers must initiate the process of contesting a traffic ticket in Alabama in a timely manner, unless they want to face further penalties as a result. The deadline by which motorists are required to take such action is usually displayed on the bottom half of their traffic summons. To begin the procedure of fighting speeding tickets in AL, drivers will need to submit a plea of “not guilty” by personally visiting the court handling their case. The next step of disputing a traffic ticket is to request a trial date. Since fighting a speeding ticket or other traffic summons is rather complex, motorists must prepare a strong defense, and even hire an experienced lawyer to represent them in court. At the trial, they will need to present any credible evidence and call relevant witnesses to testify on their behalf. If found guilty of their offense, drivers may face AL penalty points on their driving record, or an automatic license suspension in case of a more serious misdemeanor.