How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Alabama
In Alabama, learners permits are obtained by eligible drivers living in the state. Specific eligibility requirements decide exactly who can apply for driving privileges from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These standards are based on applicant age, identity, residency status, citizenship status and more. Residents can go over the drivers permit guidelines to find out their qualifications for holding AL licenses. Additionally, the established application process provides step-by-step directions for receiving permits. Taking exams, paying fees and providing official documents are examples of this application procedure.
DMV learners permits are restricted licenses dispersed to inexperienced Alabama drivers. Permit holders need supervision while driving and must follow special laws when operating vehicles. Successful use of restricted privileges allows residents to eventually be eligible for unrestricted licenses. Residents can acquire full permit abilities by adequately researching and preparing for the application process. Keep reading to go over the entire learning license request procedure for new AL drivers.
NOTE: Take our Alabama driving practice tests in order to be sure that you will pass the written exam on the first try.
Alabama Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
Drivers permit requirements in Alabama are established for residents to determine their eligibility to apply for license privileges. New drivers must prove adherence to these standards in order to receive valid permits. Failure to meet state eligibility rules is grounds for license request denial.
Applicants must first meet age requirements for holding permits. Drivers 15 years of age and older can use restricted license permits. AL DMV standards for 15-year-olds are different from those that apply to older residents. These young drivers must provide:
- Proof of Social Security Number (SSN), such as:
- Original Social Security card
- Medicare or Medicaid identification card
- W-2 form
- Military form DD-214
- Proof of school attendance, such as:
- Certificate of graduation
- Letter from school officials
- GED or high school diploma
- Form DL-1/93
- Official birth certificate
Drivers applying for learner licenses age 16 and above are subject to alternate eligibility standards. Multiple official documents must be presented at the time of DMV permit application. These residents must prove their legal, citizenship and identity status in the state. Examples of documents verifying the aforementioned personal factors include:
- Birth Certificate.
- Entry documents for out-of-country adoptions.
- Valid U.S. passport or foreign passport.
- Alien or temporary resident form.
- Work authorization form.
- Certificate of Citizenship.
- Certificate of Naturalization.
- Certificate of Birth Abroad.
DMV learner license applicants are also required to provide proof of driver education class completion. Alternatively, a signed form verifying completion of at least 50 hours of driving practice is accepted. Signatures can be provided by either of the following:
- Legal guardians
- Official driving instructors
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Alabama
The process of getting a learners permit is generally straightforward for AL residents. However, new drivers can benefit preparing in advance. Being prepared for each step helps make the application process simple, fast and free of problems.
Some drivers may wonder how to get a driving permit online in the state. Online options are not available to make new license requests. Instead, residents must complete each of the following steps in person via valid licensing agencies.
- Obtain all needed verification documents in advance, ensuring all forms are official and not copied. Go over personal details that must be provided, such as your full name, date of birth and SSN. Providing invalid information is grounds for application denial.
- Visit a local Alabama DMV office. Finding where to get a learners permit in a convenient location is a fast and easy process. Call ahead to confirm their hours and wait times. In some agencies, applicants can make appointments in advance.
- Apply for a learners permit by submitting all necessary items in person at the DMV location. This includes all required documents and personal information.
- Take the vision and written knowledge exams for new drivers. Both tests must be passed for permits to be granted.
- Cover all exam and licensing fees using a verified form of payment. Checks for fees are not accepted by the DMV. However, credit cards, such as MasterCard, Visa and Discover are acceptable.
AL instructional license cards are mailed to drivers who are successfully approved by licensing agencies.
The Alabama Driver Permit Test
DMV permit tests must be completed for new drivers to hold vehicle operation privileges in the state. Multiple exams are used to determine if residents are ready to hold licenses. However, assessment requirements vary depending on the class of permit requested. For example, regular license applicants must pass vision, knowledge and road skills assessments.
To obtain restricted permits, applicants simply have to pass the state vision and written knowledge examinations. With adequate preparation, new drivers can score well on both tests.
Since online drivers permit tests are not available in Alabama, knowledge assessments are administered at DMV offices. This exam covers important topics for new drivers, such as:
- Safe driving techniques.
- Common state road signs.
- Driver etiquette.
- Emergency preparedness.
- How to handle accidents.
- Relevant traffic safety laws.
All of the information needed to successfully pass written tests is found in the state driver manual.
AL residents should also consider what to bring to permit tests to be completely prepared on exam day. To fairly take the vision examination, residents should bring their prescription lenses and/or contacts to the DMV office. Additionally, personal identification is required for DMV offices to administer any type of test to applicants.
The state does not offer DMV practice permit tests or any official exam preparation for drivers. Instead, residents can study the driver manual to prepare for knowledge tests. Some third-party online agencies offer online practice exams for AL license applicants.
Alabama Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
Alabama learners permit rules are designed to ensure new drivers are safely learning how to operate vehicles in the state. The restrictions placed on this type of license allow residents to slowly build efficient driving practices. The following rules apply to AL permit holders.
- While driving, residents must always have a supervisor in the passenger seat. Supervisors are required to be licensed in the state and age 21 or older.
- Drivers must wear seatbelts while on the road.
- Drivers must adhere to permit driving hours established for restricted license holders. The curfew prohibits driving during late night hours.
- Drivers under age 18 cannot use cell phones while operating vehicles.
AL learners license holders who commit traffic violations, including those listed above, will have their restricted license period extended. Depending on the severity of the offense, extension periods could last until minor drivers become 18 years of age.
When can you drive with a permit alone in Alabama? After successfully maintaining restricted licenses for 6 months, residents age 16 and older can apply for unrestricted driving permits. Regular licenses give drivers full freedom for operating vehicles in the state and throughout the country.
“How long does a learners permit last for AL drivers?” is a question many new drivers may ask themselves. Instructional permits in the state remain valid for up to three years.
Alabama Learners Permit Fees
How much does it cost to get your permit as an Alabama resident? Processing, exam and license costs are included in total fee amounts. Restricted permits are obtained in the state by paying the following:
- Written exam fee: $5
- DMV permit cost: $36
By adding the numbers together, prospective drivers can estimate a cost of $41 for this type of license. However, learners permit applicants are also charged a 4% convenience fee on top of the total license cost.