Arkansas new drivers license applicants younger than 18 years of age must fulfill requirements set by the Graduated Driver License program. A resident may apply for an instruction drivers permit at 14 years of age to practice operating a car while accompanied by a licensed adult. AR driving permit and driving license applicants younger than 18 years of age must get permission from their parents. They must also provide documents that prove that they attend school and that their grade point average meets the minimum requirement. Additionally, to obtain a license to drive in Arkansas, teen drivers must pass a written test and a road skills test.
Did you know? Completing a behind-the-wheel driver training course can increase your chances of passing the required road skills test. Register for drivers ed to help ensure that you pass the Arkansas driving test on the first try.
How to Apply for an Arkansas Instruction Permit:
- Be at least 14 years of age.
- Present a Department of Finance and Administration Notification Driver's Attendance Form for Students, and have a parent or legal guardian sign if under 18 years of age.
- Present the necessary identification documentation.
- Pass the written drivers test and vision exam.
- Pay the instruction permit fee.
Applying for an AR Learner's Permit
Obtaining an Arkansas driving permit, or instruction permit, is the initial phase of the Graduated Driver License program. After obtaining a learners permit, applicants 14 years of age and older are eligible to continue on to a learner's license, intermediate license and eventually a Class D unrestricted drivers license.
What is the Graduated Driver Licensing Program in Arkansas?
The graduated drivers license program is a series of driving license phases that an applicant under 18 years of age must complete in order to eventually be eligible for full driving privileges. Each phase of licensure carries its own requirements and restrictions.
How to Get an AR Instruction Permit
Instruction Permit Requirements in Arkansas
Getting an instruction permit for driving in Arkansas requires an applicant to meet certain qualifications. Learners permit applicants must present the following types of documentation at an AR DFA office:
- Proof of identification.
- Proof of legal presence in the United States.
Instruction permit applicants younger than 18 years of age must present the following documentation in addition to the above:
- Original or certified copy of birth certificate.
- Signature of parent or legal guardian.
- School Attendance Form or Notice of Intent to Home School.
Preparing for an Arkansas DMV Written Exam
Getting an AR DMV drivers permit is the first step to eventually earning a license to drive. First, you must pass the written drivers test. To ensure that you pass the test, consider taking a practice permit test. Our learners permit practice test will allow you to view traffic safety questions and answers that are similar to those found on the actual Arkansas DMV knowledge test.
AR Drivers Education
According to Arkansas law, drivers education is not a requirement for obtaining a learner's permit or graduated driver's license. Although not required, an AK drivers ed course can help motorists applying for their license by providing useful material that can guide them on the written and road tests. Therefore, completion of a driving course prior to taking the necessary exams to obtain a permit or license is advised.
Completion of an AK drivers education program for the purpose of gaining a supplementary tool to pass the tests can be done online through a trusted, third-party provider here. A drivers ed online course offers an easy and convenient way to learn about state traffic laws, defensive driving tips, DUI regulations and general rules of the road prior to behind-the-wheel training. Enrollment in and completion of an Arkansas online driving course can help increase a teen driver's chances of passing the written exam and driving test on the first try.
NOTE: Teen drivers are at a significantly higher risk of being involved in an automobile accident. Knowing how to respond to hazardous driving conditions comes with practice and proper training. Taking a drivers ed course will allow you to get the driver training you need to stay safe on the road.
Arkansas Instruction Permit Restrictions
Holders of an Arkansas instruction permit are allowed to operate a motor vehicle if they are accompanied by a licensed driver in the passenger seat who is 21 years of age or older.
Arkansas Graduated Driver Licenses
Teen drivers license applicants in Arkansas must follow the graduated driver license program in order to gain full driving privileges. Beginning with the instruction permit, applicants 14 to 17 years of age must follow the phases of licensure listed below:
- Instruction Permit - Learning permit for driving issued to applicants 14 years of age and older who pass a knowledge exam and vision test.
- Learner's License - Restricted license issued to applicants 14 to 16 years of age who have held an instruction permit and passed the written, vision and road skills tests.
- Intermediate License - Restricted drivers license issued to applicants who are at least 16 years of age but not older than 18 years of age who have held an instruction permit and passed the written, vision and road skills tests.
AR Graduated Driver License Restrictions
Arkansas drivers license applicants who wish to advance through the phases of licensure must be sure to adhere to the restrictions of carrying passengers and using mobile devices while driving.
- Instruction permit - A licensed driver 21 years of age and older must be present in the front passenger seat at all times.
- Learners License - Drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age and older in the front passenger seat for the first six months of licensure .
- Intermediate License - Drivers must be a for the first six months of licensure or until the applicant reaches 16 years of age, whichever comes first.
- The driver may not carry more than one underage passenger, who is not a relative, unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age and older in the front passenger seat.
- The driver may not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. unless supervised by a licensed driver 21 years of age and older or driving to and from school, a church activity or a place of employment.
Arkansas teen drivers have further restrictions as it relates to distracted driving. Teen drivers 14 to 17 years of age may not use a cell phone while driving for any reason expect for in case of emergency. Also, young adult drivers 18 between 20 years of age cannot use a cell phone unless it is through a hands-free device.
Replacing an AR Instruction Permit
If your instruction permit has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you can apply for a DMV permit replacement at a local Arkansas DMV office. Get information on duplicate permit fees and more by clicking, here.
Locate an Arkansas DMV
Discover an AR DMV location near you. To find an Arkansas Department of Finance office, visit our AR DMV location page. For your convenience, we have included the telephone number, street address and hours of operation for each revenue office in the state.