How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Kansas
A Kansas drivers permit is a necessary step for many first-time drivers in the state. It must be obtained before you can successfully get a regular driver’s license if you are younger than 17 years of age. Kansas participates in a Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) system to help teenage applicants gain valuable driving experience, and the first step includes getting a valid learners permit.
You must be eligible for the learning license in order to obtain one. An important requirement is that you must be at least 14 years of age to be eligible. Also, certain testing requirements must be fulfilled, as well. The overall process for getting a permit is not complicated, especially if you prepare ahead of time by understanding the eligibility guidelines and the steps in the application process.
To learn more about this permit information, read the sections below.
Did you know? Getting a copy of our driving permit practice test will make you 5x more likely to pass the KS knowledge test on your first try.
Kansas Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
To get a driving learners permit in Kansas, you must be at least 14 years of age and you must meet the eligibility requirements. Some of the drivers permit requirements vary depending on how old you are. If you are 14 or 15 years of age you must provide parental approval, whereas if you are 16 or older you are not required to provide parental approval.
However, you must provide acceptable proof of identity regardless of how old you are. Also, you must pass the appropriate vision and written tests or provide a certificate of drivers ed completion in order to get a permit.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Kansas
Getting a learners permit does not have to be a complicated process. In fact, once you understand where to get a learners permit and the various steps for how to apply for a learners permit, you can get the permit quite easily.
The application process must be completed in-person at a Kansas Department of Revenue office. Anyone wondering how to get a Kansas driving permit online must understand that there are no online options available. Applying for a permit must occur in-person.
To apply for a learner permit you must do the following:
- Visit your local Kansas Department of Revenue office.
- Present acceptable proof of identity documentation.
- Pass a vision screening.
- Pass a written test or provide a certificate of drivers education completion.
- Provide written application parental approval if you are 14 or 15 years of age.
- Pay the applicable permit fees.
Once you have successfully followed the steps listed above and have been found to be eligible, you will be given a valid driving permit that can be used in the state of Kansas.
The Kansas Drivers Permit Test
It is crucial that you understand what is expected of you when taking the DMV permit test when you apply for a permit. The drivers permit test is a necessary requirement if you wish to get a permit, except if you completed drivers education are able to provide proof of completion of an approved course.
The learners permit test, also referred to as the knowledge test, consists of a series of written questions about Kansas traffic laws and road signs. You must answer questions about traffic laws and identify specific signs by their color, shape or the symbol that appears on them. Oftentimes, it is an online drivers permit test that is provided to applicants at the Kansas Department of Revenue office.
Knowing what to bring to the permit test includes understanding that there are no necessary testing materials that you are responsible for because you will be provided with anything that you may need once you arrive at the testing location.
Taking a drivers permit practice test is a good idea for studying the information needed on the exam. All of the information is found inside the Kansas Driving Handbook, so studying that is also a good idea. However, taking a practice test can also help you to become more familiar with the format of the test, as well.
By studying beforehand, you can greatly increase your chances of passing the exam on your first attempt. If you fail the exam, you must wait until the next working day to re-take it, and you will also be responsible for paying a re-take fee.
Once you find a practice test, you can use both the DMV permit practice test and the Driving Handbook to make sure that you understand all of the information that you may find on the actual exam.
Kansas Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
There are driving permit rules that you must follow if you are an instruction permit-holder. These learners permit rules include regulations about who you can drive with a permit and more. You must:
- Only drive with a licensed adult in the front seat. He or she must be at least 21 years of age and have at least one year of driving experience.
- Not have anyone sit in the passenger seat except for the supervising adult.
- Not use any wireless communication devices, such as a cell phone, unless it is being used to report illegal activity or call for emergency assistance.
Note: There are no specific permit driving hours that you are allowed to drive during in Kansas. You can drive at any time as long as you have a licensed adult accompanying you.
If you are asking yourself “How long does a learner’s permit last?” the answer is that the permit will be valid for a period of one year and may be renewed with additional testing.
Kansas Learner Permit Fees
Another piece of important information that you must consider is the DMV permit cost that you must pay when you apply. Knowing these costs is crucial so that you are prepared to pay the appropriate learner permit fee. In Kansas, the fees are as follows:
- Regular Class C or M Instruction Permit Fee: $2.00
- Instruction Permit Photo Fee: $8.00
- Knowledge Test Re-Take Fee: $1.50