Kansas Drivers License Renewal
Drivers license renewal in Kansas is regulated by the state Department of Motor Vehicles. The department requires that all motorists between the ages of 21 and 65 renew their licenses every six years. If you are older than 65, you can renew every four years and if you are under 21, you license will officially expire on your 21st birthday. Drivers are allowed to renew drivers license up to one year before their licenses' official expiration date, and the state does send out reminder postcards. If you do not know how to renew your expired drivers license in Kansas, you will find the following information to be helpful.
How to Renew Your KS Driver's License
You can renew drivers license in Kansas in person or by mail, no online renewal method is currently available. The KS drivers license renewal by mail option is only for certain out-of-state citizens. If you reside in the state, you must visit your local full-service DMV. Before renewing drivers licenses at a Kansas DMV office, be sure to gather the following.
- Social Security Number (SSN).
- Proof of Kansas residency.
- Expiring drivers license as a form of identification.
If you would like to save time, the state recommends making a renewal appointment at a DMV in KS. You can visit the state website to find a list of full-service DMV branches near you.
The fee for drivers license renewal in Kansas varies according to drivers license type. If you are the driver of a non-commercial vehicle, and you are between the ages of 21 and 65, you will be charged an $18.00 renewal fee in addition to an $8.00 photography fee. If you are younger than the age of 21, you will be charged a $3.00 renewal fee, in addition to the $8.00 photography fee. The Kansas DMV charges additional fees if you need to fulfill the following:
- Take a written skills or driving test.
- Renew a commercial or tractor license.
- Replace a lost or stolen license or identification card.
If you require a more in-depth overview of renewal fees, you can download a fee schedule on the state DMV website. When renewing drivers license in KS, you can pay in person with a credit or debit card, check, money order or cash. Note that drivers who renew by mail cannot pay with a money order, and payment must be sent directly to the KS DMV headquarters.
When to Renew Your Kansas Driver's License
Drivers can renew drivers license in Kansas every three, four, or six years depending on their age. If you are planning on renewing drivers licenses, the information below will explain the renewal periods in Kansas:
- Under 21: License expires on 21st birthday.
- 21 to 65: Every six years.
- Over 65: Every four years.
You can renew your license up to a year before its expiration date. All in-state drivers must renew their expired drivers license in person.
Driving with an expired drivers license in Kansas is illegal, and if you are caught, you can be detained by a law enforcement official. Motorists who allow their drivers license to expire will be required to take the driver examination again. You will also be charged a $1.00 penalty for renewing drivers license past your expiration date.
You can only receive a temporary drivers license in Kansas if your valid one is lost or stolen. If you possess an expired drivers license, you will need to complete the full renewal process. Drivers who wish to obtain a temporary permit or license must do so in person and pay any applicable DMV fees.
Requirements To Renew A Kansas License
Renewing drivers license in Kansas is mandatory if your credential expires. Unless you are temporarily residing outside of the state, you will need to renew drivers license in person. Before you head to a Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles location, please be sure that you take proof of state residency and identity. The following documents can be used to verify your KS residency:
- Birth certificate.
- Social Security card.
- U.S. passport.
- Naturalization or immigration documents.
- Consular birth abroad report.
The following items can be used to verify your identity:
- Expiring drivers license.
- Verbal statement from another person living in the same household.
- Marriage certificate.
- Bank or financial document with address.
- Vehicle registration.
- Utility bill.
Once your identity is verified at a DMV in Kansas, you will be required to pass a vision exam and pay any applicable fees. A DMV official will issue you a temporary paper license that will be valid until you receive your official drivers license in the mail. Note that you must present official documents (photocopies are not acceptable) to the DMV. Drivers who are required to take additional tests may be charged higher fees.
Renewing A KS Suspended License
You can renew drivers license in Kansas after your suspension ends, but you will need to take certain steps. The length of your suspension time will depend largely on the severity of your offense. If you are unsure about the status of your license, order a copy of your driving record. To have your license fully reinstated, you may be required to complete the following:
- Visit a state DMV office in person.
- Submit any necessary documents.
- File an SR22 (proof of car insurance).
- Take the driving and written skills tests again.
- Pay a reinstatement fee.
In regards to documents, the type of documents you are required to submit will depend on the reason your license was suspended. You can download these forms online and take them to the nearest KS DMV. Drivers can pay their reinstatement fee online, in person, or by mail. For non-alcohol related offenses, the fee is $12.00, in addition to a $1.50 examination charge. If your license is suspended because you refused to take a blood-alcohol content test, your reinstatement fee will be between $100 and $1,000.
If your drivers license has been suspended, you can apply for a restricted license. This license will only allow you to travel to and from certain locations, or in a car that is equipped with an ignition interlock device. You must fill out an application and submit a non-refundable fee if you wish to obtain a restricted license.
KS Drivers License Online Renewal
If you plan on renewing drivers license in Kansas, you should be aware that there are only two renewal methods available to all citizens. Out-of-country members of the armed forces can renew their license by mail, but all other citizens must renew their license in person at their local DMV office. There is no online drivers license renewal process available to motorists in Kansas.
Renewing Your KS Drivers License In-Person
If you must renew drivers license in Kansas, visit a full-service DMV in person. Different locations have different business hours, so call ahead to find out about DMV hours. Note that drivers must prove they are state residents. The KS state website offers a list of acceptable documents for your convenience. After your identity and citizenship status is confirmed, you will be asked to do the following.
- Pay a renewal fee.
- Pass a vision examination.
- Pass a written knowledge and driving skills test (if license is expired).
- Take a photograph.
Before you leave, Kansas DMV officials will issue you a temporary paper license until your official one arrives in the mail. In lieu of a vision examination, you may present recent medical documents from an optometrist or any other healthcare practitioner.
Non US Citizen
You do have the right to renew drivers license in Kansas if you are a non-citizen of the United States. To start, you must renew your drivers license in person at your nearest full-service DMV, and you will need to take one of the following documents:
- Employment Authorization Card.
- I-94 (Asylum Seeker/Refugee).
- Foreign passport with valid U.S. markings or documentation.
- Permanent resident card.
The documents above must be current and original (the Kansas DMV will not accept photocopies). Once your identity is established, you must provide proof that you reside in the state. Non-citizen drivers will be subject to the same standards and tests as U.S. citizens.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
Renewing drivers license in Kansas is a fairly simple process if you are a member of the armed forces. You cannot renew drivers license online if you are in another country, but you can renew by mail if you are stationed in another country.
Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online
No option is currently available to renew drivers license online in Kansas. All citizens, military and non-military must renew their licenses in person or by mail.
Out-Of-State Military: Renew By Mail
Drivers are required to renew drivers licenses in Kansas by mail if they are a member of the military stationed overseas. To do this, fill out the necessary KS drivers license renewal forms (available on the state website), and mail them along with the appropriate fee to the Driver's Licensing department of the Docking State Office Building in Topeka.
Drivers License Extensions
Instead of renewing drivers license in Kansas before it expires, you can request an extension if you are a member of the military serving overseas. The extension will last for six months, but once it ends, you will still need to renew drivers license in KS by mail. You can also request an extension if you are a non-member of the military residing outside of the country temporarily. You must request an extension in writing, and send it to the Docking State Office Building.