How to Renew Your Drivers License in Kentucky
You must complete a Kentucky drivers license renewal if your license is set to expire soon, or if it has already expired. You must have a valid non-expired drivers license in order to legally drive in the state of Kentucky, so processing your renewal when it is required is very important. Also, keep in mind that if your license has been lost, stolen or damaged you must a duplicate driver license instead of processing a renewal.
According to the Kentucky DMV, an operator’s license is valid for a total of four years. If you are 21 years of age or older, your license expires 31 days after your birth date. If you are younger than 21 years of age, your license expires 90 days after your 21st birthday. Before you begin the renewal process, it is important to understand what you need to renew a drivers license so that you can be adequately prepared. Understanding that information ahead of time can also save you a lot of time and reduce any stress. Discover how to renew your drivers license by reading the sections below.
Eligibility for Drivers License Renewal in Kentucky
Note: Your license’s expiration date is printed on its front side near your photograph. If you do not know how to renew drivers license, you can contact the Kentucky Circuit Court Clerk in your area directly.
In order to be able to complete a DMV license renewal, you must first be eligible. These drivers license renewal requirements include that you must have a valid (not suspended) drivers license that was issued by the state of Kentucky, and you must be within the appropriate time period for renewing your license.
You must also complete any additional vision and written examinations, if necessary.
Instances When You Cannot Renew Your Drivers License in Kentucky
There are certain instances where you cannot complete a drivers license renewal in the state of Kentucky. This is the case if any of the following are true:
- It is earlier than six months prior to your license expiration date.
- It is later than one year after your expiration date. At this point, you must complete both a written and vision test.
- If your license is suspended. A renewal can only be processed once your driving license is no longer suspended or revoked.
- If your license has been damaged, lost or stolen. In this situation you must complete a driver license replacement.
How Early Can You Renew Your Drivers License in Kentucky?
To answer the question, “How early can you renew your drivers license?” the answer is that you can complete a renewal as early as six months prior to your license expiration date. The expiration date for your license, if you are 21 years of age or older, is 31 days after your birth date. If you are younger than 21 years of age, it is 90 days after your 21st birthday.
If you are wondering, “How late can I renew my license?” the answer is that you can complete a renewal after your license has expired. However, if your license is expired for more than one year, you must complete both a written and vision test. Also, driving with an expired drivers license may result in serious consequences from law enforcement.
Kentucky DMV License Renewal Options
If you are wondering “Where can I renew my drivers license?” The answer is that your only option is to renew in-person at a Circuit Court Clerk’s office. You cannot renew a drivers license online in the state of Kentucky. However, as per Kentucky Law, military personnel can process a renewal through the mail. All other drivers must use the in-person option.
How to Renew Your Drivers License in Person
If you are questioning where to renew a drivers license if you are a Kentucky resident, the answer is quite simple: in-person at a Circuit Court Clerk’s office. It is advised that you call the location you wish to visit ahead of time to schedule an appointment, if possible.
To complete your license renewal, you must follow a procedure. The steps you must follow to complete an in-person renewal involves the following:
- Visit your local Circuit Court Clerk’s office.
- Provide your expiring drivers license.
- Pay the KY driving license renewal fee.
Once you have provided all necessary information and paid the renewal fee, you will be issued a new non-expired license. This license will expire in approximately four years, 31 days after your birth date.
Military & Out of State Renewal in Kentucky
Kentucky residents who are currently serving in the United States military and are currently deployed or stationed at a base outside of the boundaries of the Commonwealth may renew a Class D operators license by mail. To do so, contact the Circuit Court Clerk’s office in the Kentucky county of residence for an drivers license renewal form application and instructions.
Kentucky residents who have been serving in the United States military who have allowed their Class D operators license to expire are granted 90 days upon returning to the Commonwealth to renew their license without needing to take additional testing. If the renewal does not happen within 90 days from returning to the Commonwealth, additional procedures and testing may be required for renewing that expired license.
Kentucky Drivers License Renewal Fees
It is important that you know how much to renew a drivers license in Kentucky so that you are aware of what the driving license renewal fee is beforehand. In the state of Kentucky, the renewal fee for a regular Class D operator license is $20.00.
Acceptable payment methods may vary from location to location, so it is advised that you call ahead of time to inquire about which payment methods are accepted.
- Drivers License and ID Cards from Drive.KY.gov