DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

How to Renew a Driver's License in New Jersey

New Jersey Drivers License Renewal

To renew drivers licenses in New Jersey, residents must provide the appropriate documentation and apply via the renewal method that is available to them. Renewing drivers licenses is as simple as visiting a NJ Motor Vehicles Commission location or applying by mail, if you are eligible to do so. Drivers applying in person will need to provide several documents to prove their identity. Drivers license renewals in NJ are accepted up to six months prior to a drivers license expiration date. For more information on how to renew drivers licenses in New Jersey, read through the topics presented below.

How to Renew Your NJ Driver's License



Renew New Jersey Drivers License

Note: To find out your driver's license expiration date, locate it on the front of your card.


New Jersey drivers license renewal applicants can apply for credentials in one of two ways: in person at a NJ MVC location or by mail. Residents renewing drivers licenses in person must provide at least six points of identification from the accepted documents list. Eligible DMV license renewal applicants can skip the trip to the office and apply by mail. Mail-in applicants must fill out the Skip the Trip renewal notice and resend it to the DMV along with a check or money order in the amount of the renewal fee.

Fees

The NJ driving license renewal fee is $24 for holders of an auto license. Drivers renewing drivers licenses in person can pay the cost of their renewal with any of the following forms of payment: credit card, check, money order or cash. By mail DMV license renewal applicants must furnish their fee either by check or money order.

When to Renew Your New Jersey Driver's License

New Jersey drivers can renew their drivers licenses up to six months in advance of the expiration date. Drivers licenses are valid for four years and they expire by the last day of the license holder's month of birth. Drivers license renewal applicants who apply by mail are advised to send in their completed form at least 20 days prior to their drivers license expiration date. It takes at least 10 days from the time the MVC receives your application for it to arrive in the mail.

Expired License

Driving with an expired drivers license is illegal in New Jersey. Drivers cited for violating this law are subject to a $150 fine and points may be assessed to their driving record. To avoid the penalty of driving with expired credentials, renew your drivers license in person with the NJ MVC, or by mail if you are eligible.

Requirements to Renew a New Jersey License

NJ drivers license renewal requirements include presenting the required documentation if applying in person and meeting the eligibility criteria if applying by mail. To apply in person applicants must select documents from the list of accepted forms of identification. Their document value must total at least six points. Drivers who have been pre-qualified to apply by mail do not need to provide the verification documents unless they chose to apply in person. The NJ 6 Point ID verification requirements include the following:

  • One document from the Primary ID category.
  • One document from the Secondary ID category.
  • Proof of Social Security Number.
  • Proof of address.

NJ Drivers License By Mail Renewal

The alternative method of renewing drivers licenses in New Jersey is by mail. Generally, drivers license renewal applicants who hold a non-commercial, non GDL drivers license that is not suspended or revoked are eligible to renew by mail. Drivers who are eligible to renew by mail will be mailed a Skip the Trip drivers license renewal notice to their permanent mailing address. Applicants must include a check or money order with the driving license renewal fee in their application letter.

After completing and submitting the renewal notice, you will receive your renewed drivers license in the mail within 10 days of the Motor Vehicle Commission receiving your application.

Renewing Your NJ Drivers License in Person

To renew an NJ drivers license in person, an applicant must visit an NJ MVC location and present the following documentation from the 6 Point ID list:

  • One document from the Primary ID category.
  • One document from the Secondary ID category.
  • Proof of Social Security Number.
  • Proof of address.

Residents who are required to renew drivers licenses in person include:

  • Non-US citizens.
  • Graduated drivers license (GDL) holders.
  • CDL license holders.
  • Boat license or endorsement holders.
  • Drivers with suspended, revoked, or cancelled licenses.

Out-of-State Renewals

To renew your drivers license in New Mexico while you are temporarily located out of the tri-state area, you must meet certain eligibility criteria. New Jersey drivers may be able to renew their drivers license by mail if they are US citizens that hold a valid non-commercial drivers license that is in good standing and that does not expire in less than three years. Out-of-state drivers license renewal applicants are required to mail a package containing the following documents to a DMV office:

  • A statement that explains why you are unable to apply in person and when you plan to return to the state.
  • A completed and signed driver's license application.
  • Certified copies or photocopies of six points of identification from the acceptable document list.
  • Proof of a permanent New Jersey address.
  • Your new out-of-state address; your drivers license renewal will be mailed directly to you.
  • The driving license renewal fee in the form of a check or money order.

Drivers License Extensions

In lieu of drivers license renewals, active duty service members are eligible for automatic extensions of their driving licenses. Drivers license extension letters are available for download on the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website. Active duty servicemen including state National Guard and Reserve members can print the extension letter from the website. Along with the expired drivers license and military ID, the driver must carry the extension letter with them to validate their credential.

Submitted by Ameskie on 8th Feb 2015

I hate my photo that was

I hate my photo that was taken at the DMV and was not given the chance to have another one taken. I didn't realize how bad it was until I returned home and really looked at it. Can I have another photo taken to replace this one? I wouldn't even care if I had to pay the $24.00 again. I show my ID often and can't bear to think that I have to live with this for 4 years. Makes me look 10 years older than I am.

Submitted by kathyalohamora (not verified) on 14th Oct 2012

My friend is a non-citizen.

My friend is a non-citizen. She is in the US on a P3 visa. She is currently awaiting approval for an F1 visa. She applied for the F1 on July 16, 2012 and has not received an answer yet. In the meantime her P3 is expired (technically she IS legally still considered here under the P3) and now her driver's license is about to expire this week. Bergen county DMV tells her she cannot renew. There must be a way, please help. Thank you

Submitted by shanttelliberato (not verified) on 4th Apr 2012

If I am out of the country

If I am out of the country and my license expires in May, can I still renew it in July and go through the same basic procedures or does the process change if you renew your license 2 months after the date of expiration? Thank you.

Submitted by license (not verified) on 16th Jul 2011

It was said in the above that

It was said in the above that "You will be issued your license after you pay the fee and get an updated digital photo taken at the agency. But that was the case in the West Orange Office. The Office didn't change my photo. I was asked "Are you making any changes". I said No because I didn't have any change on my address and name. I thought the picture would be renew every time the license is renewed. The office didn't change my picture because she told me I said no to the change. And she refused to retake my picture. This is not right.

Submitted by Anonymous on 22nd Apr 2011

If you are Deaf or Hard of

If you are Deaf or Hard of Hearing and already have the international symbol of hearing loss on your license, do you still have to have the application signed by a Doctor or Audiologist at each license renewal?

Why isn't the new law for this application sent with your license renewal?

Marie, S. A., NJ

Submitted by Anonymous on 15th Apr 2011

I believe the license renewal

I believe the license renewal program be scrutinized. Tuesday April 10th I was told the hours at East Orange for the next day-Wednesday-no mention it would be closed for "up-dates". (Unfathomable that could not be done when they are closed on Monday) From East Orange I had to go to Wayne, New Jersey! Over

two hours later I had my Driver's license-not acceptable. Mary B. Anderson

Submitted by Anonymous on 3rd Apr 2011

i have an illinois drivers

i have an illinois drivers license which will expire 2013 and i wanted to renew it in new jersey. what requirements i'm gonna bring?

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!