Mississippi Drivers License Renewal
Drivers must renew drivers licenses in Mississippi prior to their license expiring if they wish to maintain their driving privileges without interruption. You can renew drivers license online, by mail (if you are an out-of-state military member or college student), or in person. While the requirements to renew a drivers license in MS vary, depending on the chosen method, all methods will require the driver to submit personal identification information, and payment for an MS drivers license renewal fee. Continue reading to learn more about how you can renew a driver's license in MS today.
How to Renew Your MS Driver's License
The steps required to renew drivers licenses in Mississippi depends on the type of DMV license renewal method the driver chooses. Drivers who renew drivers license online in MS will have to visit the state DMV website where they will be asked to submit their current MS driver's license number, full name, date of birth and payment for renewal fee. If you choose to complete your MS drivers license renewal in person, you must visit your local MS DMV where you will be asked to submit your current drivers license and the payment for your renewal fee. For renewing drivers licenses even faster, your Mississippi DMV also has a self-service kiosk available.
Drivers who wish to renew drivers licenses in Mississippi must pay a driver's license renewal fee at the time of their applications. Fees are payable by certified check if renewing in person, and by credit or debit card if renewing online or at a kiosk. The cost of the renewal fee is dependent on how long the license is valid for:
- Licenses valid for four years have a fee of $24
- Licenses valid for eight years have a fee of $47
Note: Licenses that are expired will be required to pay an additional $1 late fee.
When to Renew
Your Mississippi Driver's License
The MS drivers license renewal process must be completed to maintain driving license privileges. However, due to the fact that Mississippi drivers licenses are valid for different periods of time, you must consult your own license to know when yours will be expiring.
Expired drivers license in Mississippi can be renewed at the cost of a $1 late fee, while also fulfilling other necessary requirements. Drivers with an expired drivers license must renew drivers licenses in person at the Mississippi DMV. Depending on how long you have been without a valid license, you may be required to pass a written exam and a vision test. It is recommended that drivers taking a written exam first take online practice tests. Practice tests can re-familiarize you with the rules of the road, as well as ensure you are aware of any new laws that have been passed.
If you plan to renew an expired drivers license in MS, you must bring the following to your local MS DMV:
- Your most recent drivers license.
- Your Social Security card.
- Payment for drivers license renewal fee (including $1 late fee).
In between drivers license renewals in MS, drivers may be eligible for temporary permits. For more information, contact your local MS DMV. Drivers are only eligible to receive Mississippi temporary permits if the drivers license is not: revoked, cancelled, suspended or disqualified.
Requirements to Renew a Mississippi License
In order for drivers to complete a Mississippi drivers license renewal, it is required that the specified documents be turned in during the time of application. Drivers must also meet a list of requirements that include but are not limited to:
- Be at least 16 years of age.
- Be a physical resident of the state of Mississippi.
- Be able to pay the required drivers license renewal fee.
In addition to these requirements, you may be required to pass a written and/or vision test in person at the Mississippi DMV. To increase your chances of passing your written examination, it is highly recommended to use an online practice tests prior to taking your formal examination.
Renew a MS Suspended License
In order to renew drivers licenses in MS that have been suspended or revoked for any reason, the driver must first resolve the issue to complete drivers license renewal. Drivers may be required to pass a written test, attend traffic school, or pay an outstanding fine in order to reinstate driving privileges. If you are unsure of your current drivers license state, make sure to order a copy of your personal driving record. Drivers with suspended licenses in Mississippi will not be able to renew their drivers licenses.
MS Drivers License Online Renewal
Drivers that plan to complete a drivers license renewal online in MS must first state DMV website for further instruction. In order for a driver to be eligible for renewing driving licenses online they must first pass the following requirements:
- Driver must be at least 16 years and 10 months of age.
- Driver must have completed their last drivers license renewal in person.
- Driver must be renewing a valid non-commercial Class R drivers license.
Drivers who choose to renew drivers licenses online must also submit the following information:
- Your valid MS drivers license number.
- Your name and date of birth.
- Your Social Security Number.
- Payment for drivers license renewal fee payable by credit or debit card.
If you had renewed your last drivers license online, then you are required to complete your current drivers license renewal in person at a local MS DMV (or by mail if currently out-of-state as a college student or active member of the US military).
Note: Drivers are unable to renew drivers licenses online from 2 a.m. to 3 a.m. Monday through Saturday.
Renewing Your MS Drivers License in Person
Drivers who would like to complete a Mississippi drivers license renewal in person are required to bring a current drivers license and payment for the renewal fee to to their local MS DMV. You can also renew drivers licenses in MS at the self-service kiosk located within the DMV. Depending upon how much time has passed since your last drivers license renewal, you may be required to complete a written and/or vision test at the Mississippi DMV. Drivers license renewal fees paid in person at the DMV must be paid through check, or with a credit or debit card if renewing through the kiosk.
In the state of Mississippi, non-U.S citizens are eligible to renew drivers licenses. Non-U.S Citizens looking to renew drivers licenses must renew in person at the MS DMV and bring the following documentation:
- Proof of identity.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Valid residency card.
- Proof of physical residency in the state of Mississippi.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
Drivers license renewal in MS is still available to military personnel stationed out of state or overseas. An active duty member's drivers license will not expire until 90 days after discharge. This extended drivers license renewal period is also available to the spouse. Members of active duty seeking to renew their drivers licenses while out-of-state must do so by mail. In order for military personnel to complete a drivers license renewal by mail, they must submit the following:
- A copy of their drivers licenses or Social Security card.
- A copy of military orders.
- A letter from a commanding officer confirming military status.
- A certified check to renew driving license.
Out-of-State College Student Renewal
Mississippi drivers license renewal is also available to residents who are currently living out-of-state while attending college. Out-of-state college students may only renew driving licenses by mail and must do so prior to the expiration date found on the current drivers license. In order for an out-of-state student to complete a drivers license renewal, the license cannot be expired, suspended, or revoked for any reason. To renew drivers license by mail, the out-of-state student must submit the following documents for review:
- A copy of the drivers student ID Card.
- A notarized letter on the drivers school letterhead confirming that the driver is a full-time student at the out-of-state school.
- A copy of the drivers Mississippi drivers license or Social Security card.
- A certified check for renewing drivers licenses in MS.
Drivers License Extensions
Drivers license extensions in Mississippi are currently only available to active members of the U.S. military located overseas. This extension of time is intended to give an ample amount of time to military personnel who are currently deployed to complete a drivers license renewal in Mississippi. Active military members will automatically receive a drivers license extension that lasts 90 days after they have been discharged. This extension is also granted to the spouses of out-of-state military members.