Mississippi Department of Public Safety Point System
Violating Mississippi driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. Although, the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) does not use a point system to track violations, penalties are severe and costly. They are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
- You will have your license suspended if violations are added to your driving record. Failure to pay tickets can result in a suspension of your license and reinstatement is costly. You may be imprisoned for driving with a suspended license.
- Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
You will be subject to specific penalties according to how many tickets you accumulate. Failure to pay them results in automatic suspension. Suspension fee is $285.50 along with a reinstatement fee of $25.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
The Mississippi DPS maintains a record of all violations added to your driving license. You can order online to get your driving record, which will show all violations, accidents if any and the current status of your license. Please note that this is for your own personal use only. You can also ask for a report in the mail by writing to:
Department of Public Safety Driver Records Branch 1900 East Woodrow Wilson Jackson, MS 39216
Taking a Defensive Driving Course may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.
- See also Driver’s Education and Suspended Licenses.