Nevada DMV Point System
The state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) assigns penalty points in Nevada for a wide range of traffic offenses. Per the rules of the state driver point system, the severity of the offense determines the amount of NV demerit points you will accumulate on your driving record.
Note that in addition to the accumulation of driving points, drivers may also be subject to certain court-imposed penalties. Review the rules of the state point system and find out how to reduce license points in Nevada by reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Nevada
- Penalties in Nevada
- How to fix a driving record in Nevada
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Nevada
Moving Violations and Points in Nevada
When assessing moving violation points in Nevada, the state DMV calculates the amount of penalty points based on the seriousness of the committed violation. Also, not all offenses result in infraction points. For example, instead of accumulating DUI points in NV for driving under the influence offenses, motorists are penalized with an immediate license revocation.
Several NV demerit point penalties issued in response to different types of offenses are outlined in the following list:
- Failure to dim your vehicle’s headlights: 2 points.
- Driving too slowly: 2 driving points.
- Failure to yield right-of-way: 4 points.
- Operating a vehicle in a careless manner: 6 careless driving points.
- Driving recklessly: 8 reckless driving points in NV.
Note: The number of speeding ticket points assigned after a violation of the state speeding laws varies based on how fast the driver was operating his or her vehicle over the posted limit.
Per the rules of the Nevada DMV point system, the accumulation of 12 or more points within a one-year period leads to a suspension of your driving license. Moving violation points lose their point value 12 months after they were recorded on your driver’s transcript. Also, note that commercial drivers may receive a larger amount of points for the same offense than regular drivers.
Penalties in Nevada
Drivers may incur different traffic violation penalties in Nevada when they commit a traffic violation within the state. The administrative traffic ticket penalty issued by the DMV is often dispensed in addition to a court-imposed sentence.
For example, while minor traffic violations generally incur a traffic fine, more serious offenses will also result in severe criminal penalties administered by the presiding court. The NV DUI penalties issued for a first driving under the influence offense, for example, may include any combination of the following:
- An administrative suspension of 90 days
- A fine ranging from $400 to $1,000
- A court-ordered credential revocation of 90 days
- A jail sentence of two to 180 days or a 96-hour community service sentence
- A mandatory participation in a DUI school
- An obligatory enrollment in an alcohol treatment program
Note: More severe drunk driving penalties in NV are administered to drivers who were already convicted of a DUI offense within the last seven years.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Nevada
The procedure to reduce license points in Nevada is automatically completed by the state DMV on a regular basis. Per the rules of the state point system, demerit points lose their value 12 months after the traffic violation conviction date. However, drivers can also enroll in a point reduction course in Nevada in order to have three points removed from their records.
Note that the option to clear your driving record by participating in a defensive driving course can only be utilized if you currently have 3 to 11 active points on license. Also, you can utilize this method to clean your driving record in NV only once within a 12-month period.
Note: Drivers may also be able to avoid the accumulation of infraction points for certain types of offenses if allowed to do so by the court that is processing their tickets.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Nevada
The process of contesting a speeding ticket in Nevada or another type of citation can be initiated by submitting a plea of “not guilty” to the court that is handling your ticket. Drivers may be able to inform the court of their decision to fight a traffic ticket via several methods, which vary based on the type of violation they have committed and the practices of the presiding court.
For example, when contesting a traffic ticket in NV for certain more serious offenses, such as reckless driving or driving while intoxicated, you must appear at court on your scheduled date.
Prior to fighting a speeding ticket or another type of citation, the circumstances surrounding your case will determine whether or not you are granted the option to settle the issue at a pretrial conference. During the pretrial hearing, the prosecutor will offer you lowered traffic violation penalties in exchange for a plea of “guilty”. If a plea agreement is not reached, then you will have to plead your case before a judge.
Drivers appealing a traffic ticket in Nevada through the state court system can increase their chances of winning the case by hiring a traffic ticket lawyer, calling on witnesses and submitting any relevant evidence. If the judge rules in your favor, you will not be subjected to any detrimental traffic violation penalties and the conviction will not be reported on your driver’s record.