Utah DMV Point System
The driver point system in Utah is administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for the purpose of assessing demerit points which are accumulated on a driving record as a result of committing traffic offenses. The number of drivers license points that motorists accrue on their driving transcripts may vary depending on the type and severity of the traffic violation.
Accumulating a certain number of driving license penalty points may bring you additional penalties and suspension of your driving privileges. To avoid such penalties, drivers are encouraged to check license points accrued on their driver’s transcripts and to learn how to reduce or remove points from driving records in UT. If you want to learn more about how to fight a traffic ticket in Utah, continue reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Utah
- Penalties in Utah
- How to fix a driving record in Utah
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Utah
Moving Violations and Points in Utah
The Utah DMV point system is set by the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to determine the number of demerit points that a driver accrues as a result of committing traffic offenses. The driver point system outlines the exact number of points that are incurred per violation. Below is an outline of violations and their corresponding points:
- Reckless driving – 80 points.
- Failing to yield right-of-way – 60 points.
- Driving on the wrong side – 60 points.
- Improper passing or lookout – 50 points.
- Disobeying a stop sign or a red light – 50 points.
- Speeding – from 35 to 75 points, depending on the speed.
- Other moving violations – 40 points.
When drivers accrue a certain number of moving violation points on their Utah driving records, they may get a driver’s license suspension. The number of infraction points you receive on your record depends on the type and severity of the offense you have committed.
When adult drivers accumulate 200 or more demerit points within three years, they will be requested to appear at a court hearing. Drivers younger than 21 years of age who accumulate 70 driving record points or more within three years will also be required to appear in court.
Penalties in Utah
Utah traffic violation penalties are issued to drivers who violate the state laws and road regulations while operating motor vehicles on public roads. Motorists not only accrue penalty points for each traffic offense they have committed, but they also face additional penalties as driver’s license suspension, high traffic fines and possible jail time. The traffic ticket penalty period may vary based on the type and severity of the offense that has been committed.
DUI penalties are probably the most severe penalties in the state and may require you to pay a minimum of $700 for driving fines and fees. In addition, the Utah drunk driving penalties will suspend your driving privileges for a period of 90 days and may require you to spend at least two days in prison and 48 hours of community service.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Utah
Drivers who wonder how to get tickets removed from driving records in Utah are encouraged to enroll in traffic school. Attending a UT defensive driving course may help you remove up to 50 demerit points from your driving record. Drivers are highly encouraged to complete the four-hour driving safety course in order to dismiss the violation of approaching an emergency vehicle.
Another advantage of taking a driver improvement course is the possibility of avoiding a driver’s license suspension. You can enroll either in an online driving school or in one of the 11 locations throughout the state once every three years and reduce the number of demerit points you have accrued.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Utah
Drivers may contest traffic tickets in Utah by completing a defensive driving class or by submitting a Plea in Abeyance, if they qualify for one. You can find out whether you qualify for such plea by contacting the court that handles your case. When appealing a speeding ticket that you received in a school zone, you may be disqualified from the option to submit the Plea in Abeyance.
Motorists who decide to fight a traffic ticket in Utah may be required to schedule a hearing date through the proper court. Prior to disputing a traffic ticket on the trial date set for your case, you need to plan your defense by collecting evidence and hiring a traffic attorney. If drivers prove their innocence in court, they will not be required to pay any fines or penalties.
However, motorists who are found guilty when contesting a traffic ticket in Utah will be required to pay the traffic fine and face additional penalties. Note that paying your driving fine before appealing a traffic ticket in court will be considered as admission of guilt.