Florida DMV Point System
According to the DMV point system in Florida, drivers will accumulate a certain number of demerit points on their driving records for committing traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles.
The amount of infraction points may vary based on the severity of the offense you have committed. In addition to the FL driving record points, drivers may also receive other penalties such as: Florida driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment and high fines.
Find out more information about the demerit point system in Florida and about how to remove violations from driving record by reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Florida
- Penalties in Florida
- How to fix a driving record in Florida
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Florida
Moving Violations and Points in Florida
The Florida driver point system was created to assess the amount of traffic violations against your driving transcript. The number of demerit points incurred per violation depends on the severity of the infraction or crime committed. Demerit points for speeding are the most common infractions that drivers get written on their driving records. For instance, speeding 50 mph over the allowed speed limit will bring you four points on your record.
Moreover, six careless driving points will be accrued when drivers cause a crash and leave the scene of the accident without providing the necessary information.
DUI points in Florida are not assessed on a driver’s record. Instead, motorists who are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will receive an immediate driver’s license suspension. In addition to the DUI offenses, drivers will also get their driving privileges suspended if they fail to pay child support or traffic violation fines and if they are caught street racing.
Below is an outline of some traffic offenses and their corresponding Florida moving violation points:
- Failure to give information in a crash – 6 points.
- Reckless driving – 4 points.
- Speeding in excess of 50 mph – 4 points.
- Failure to stop at a red light signal – 4 points.
- Following too closely – 3 points.
- Improper passing of a vehicle – 3 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the lane or road – 3 points.
Drivers who accumulate 12 drivers license points in a period of 12 months will get a suspension of 30 days. Accumulating 18 points in 18 months will bring you a driver’s license suspension for a period of three months. And finally, 24 traffic violation points in Florida accrued in a period of 36 months will get you a suspended Florida driver’s license for one year.
Penalties in Florida
Florida penalty points may remain on a driving record for a certain period of time, depending on the type and severity of the offense and on the established state laws. Demerit points in FL remain on record for at least five years after the conviction date.
In addition to the accumulation of points, drivers may receive traffic violation penalties such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment, or payment for the applicable traffic fine.
DUI penalties result from refusing to submit to a breath test, drunk driving or showing higher amount of alcohol in the bloodstream than the allowed limit of 0.08 percent. The impaired driving penalties may vary based on the number of previous offenses. For instance, drivers may face the following drunk driving penalties in Florida for a first DUI offense:
- Get your driving privileges revoked from 180 days to one year, effective immediately
- Enroll in a mandatory DUI school and treatment
- Install an ignition interlock device (IID) if required by court
- Provide mandatory proof of insurance
- Pay a traffic fine from $500 to $1,000
- Spend six months the most in jail
- Pay a mandatory reinstatement fee between $150 and $500
How to Fix a Driving Record in Florida
Drivers who want to remove points from driving records in Florida can enroll in a state-approved traffic school. However, motorists may be required to attend different defensive driving courses that vary due to the type of offense you have committed.
For instance, a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course can be taken for the purpose of dismissing traffic tickets, while the 3-in-3 Driver Change Course is meant for motorists who have been convicted of three traffic offenses within 36 months, which led to a car accident.
Motorists wondering how to fix driving record demerits must be aware that they can attend a driving safety course once every 12 months, but no more than five times in a lifetime.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Florida
Drivers who are fighting a traffic ticket in Florida are advised to hire a traffic attorney to help them prove their innocence. They need to appear in court and plead “not guilty” in front of a judge that is assigned to handle their case.
Remember that before disputing a traffic ticket you must not submit a payment for the required fines, since that will be considered an admission of guilt. Therefore, drivers who are wondering how to fight a traffic ticket in Florida may discover more details by hiring a traffic lawyer who specializes in citation laws and regulations.