Florida Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Yes, you are. All drivers interested in getting a FL motorcycle endorsement or Class M motorcycle license are required to take the Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP). In the training, you will learn about safety fundamentals to ride your motorcycle responsibly. Look for approved sponsors in your area to complete those courses.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
It depends on your age and insurance. In Florida, there is a law that exempts you from wearing a helmet if you are 21 years of age or older and your insurance plan covers medical care for at least $10,000.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Yes, for an address change request, you can have different addresses on your license and car registration. However, it is recommended that you use the same address on all applications.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, you cannot. Every car must be registered and insured in the state the owner currently lives in.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
The state of Florida does not allow drivers who possess a CDL license to renew online. Instead, you will be required to make an in-person visit to a nearby DMV office. To find a DMV location near you, use our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Florida

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
No, you cannot request a certified online driving record. A certified driving record can only be requested in person at the Florida DHSMV office or by mail. For more information, visit the Driving Record page.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
Yes, as of 2011, the state of Florida now allows those drivers who are under 18 and getting a learning permitto take their written test online. You can read more on the Learner s Permit page or visit the Florida Highways Safety and Motor Vehicles website.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Yes. Traffic patrols will recognize the validity of your license to drive commercial vehicles all across the country. However, if you are younger than 21, you will be limited to your state s boarders. Something else to be mindful of is your CDL insurance coverage. You will need that to cover you wherever you plan to use your commercial driver s license.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Yes, another individual can renew expired car registration on your behalf. Make sure you provide that person with the copy of the cars registration certificate or the renewal notice, the fee and proof of insurance, like your Social Security card or SSN. They will also need to have some form of identification on their person.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, they do. You are required to visit a Tax Collector’s office within 30 days of acquiring the boat. The registration has to be done at an office at the county where the boat is located or in the county where the owner of the boat lives.

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Florida

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
You can use your class E drivers license in Florida to ride a scooter or moped. But, if the motor is 50 cubic centimeters or more, you need to get a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle only license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Yes, you do. In order to be allowed to take the Basic Driver Improvement Course, you will need to notify the court before attending the course within 30 days of receiving the ticket. You can only take one traffic school course every 12 months and no more than five times every ten years.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes, you do. If you are not going to reside in Florida anymore, then you will be required to obtain car insurance quotes in your new state. Just make sure that your new insurance kicks in as soon as your Florida insurance is removed. You do not want to violate your new state’s auto coverage laws.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
It is recommended to report these incidents to the police to avoid identify theft. When you obtain a Florida duplicate drivers license, make sure to provide the police report at the DMV office to have the replacement fee waived.

To find a DMV near you, use the DMV locator.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
It is not mandatory, but it is the most recommendable thing to do since you will be curbing the chances of being an identity theft victim. Also, you can get your FL car registration replacement fee waived if you provide a copy of the police report at the DHSMV.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Yes, you do. When you move to another state, you are required to surrender your license plate in Florida. You can mail your license plate to:

Division of Motorist Services

2900 Apalachee Pkwy

Mail Stop 98

Tallahassee, FL 32399

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Although you cannot obtain a drivers permit online, you are still required to take a driver s ed course. Before applying for a license, all drivers must complete a driver s education course called Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE). The TLSAE course that your county school board offers may be acknowledged by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, you do. Your Florida duplicate car title will make the damaged one invalid. You will need to take the damaged title to the FL DHSMV office so they can issue another one for you and destroy the one you currently have.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
No, you can simply destroy it and throw it away. Every car registration replacement must be destroyed since it will not be valid once the new registration is issued.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
No, a motorized scooter does not require DMV car registration. Since these types of motor vehicles are not legal to be ridden on public streets or sidewalks they cannot be registered.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Since July 2000, the state of Florida removed the car inspections and you are not required to get your car for smoke inspection. However, Florida gives a reward to certified EPA vehicles. To know the types of vehicles that apply and the type of rewards to get, you can visit the FL DHSMV website and find out if your vehicle is in the list.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Before your insurance is cancelled, you can return your car registration and plate to the FL DHSMV or Tax Collectors office to avoid a Florida drivers license suspension. If you choose not to, your drivers license will be suspended.

For more information: Florida Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
You will need to provide a copy of your DD214 or permitted discharge documents. There is a $2 charge as long as you surrender your ID card. You will not have to pay the normal replacement fee, but you are required to take your FL ID card. If you do not take your ID card, you still can get your veteran ID card by paying the $25 replacement fee. Fees may vary.

In addition to the charges above, if you request your veteran designation at a tax collector’s office, you will have to pay their transaction fees.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
If while preparing for your drivers license application you decide that you would like to review the driver manual, then you can view it on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website. Once there, you will be able to download an English or Spanish version for your convenience.

To further prepare for the written exam that you will have to pass to get your drivers license, it is recommended to use the Driver s Study Guide, as well as the Driver s Practice Test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
When you get a traffic ticket, you have two options for traffic ticket fines: Plead Guilty or Plead not Guilty.

Plead Guilty

If you choose to pay your ticket, you will be accepting that you are guilty. Depending on the severity of the charges you might be allowed to take a state-approved Basic Driver Improvement Course to avoid getting points on your license and having your insurance rates increased.

Some traffic courts allow you to pay your ticket online with a credit card. Check the website of the Clerk of Court at the county where you got your ticket. If the county does not receive online payments, you will have to go to the court in person.

Plead Not Guilty

If you think you are not guilty and wish to plead no contest, or nolo contendere, you will be given the chance to fight the ticket in traffic court. This process is not simple and frequently requires professional assistance from a traffic ticket attorney. You may also incur in additional court costs and fees. You would still need to visit a Clerk of the Court to make your plea.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

How can I renew my drivers license?
In the state of Florida, you can complete your drivers license renewal online, in person and by mail. However, some factors may require you to renew your license in person if, for example, your last renewal was completed online.

Online

You can avoid lines renewing your FL drivers license online with the GoRenew website. To renew online, you should be able to pay with a debit or credit card.

In person

Visit the closest FL DHSMV office, you can find one using the convenient DHSMV locator, and bring:

  • Proof of identification, like your U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill or mail from government agencies.

If you recently changed your address, bring proper documentation as proof of the change, such as a utility bill, mail from a financial institution or a W-2 form. For a change of name, you can bring your marriage certificate or divorce decree, Social Security card or a courts document as proof.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
There are three methods to complete car registration renewal: online, in person or by mail.

You can only renew your registration if your vehicle has proper Florida insurance. If you dont have coverage or your insurance does not meet state minimums, you wont be allowed to renew your registration.

Online

You are eligible to renew online only if the DHSMV has already your proof of insurance on file. If not, you will have to go to an office and present your proof of insurance. Military members can use the online service to renew their registration up to three months before the expiration date.

If you qualify to renew online, visit FL DHSMV website and complete the process. The system will guide you through the steps.

You will need:

Your driver’s license number, vehicle license plate number, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or the transaction number listed on your current registration certificate.

  • Your date of birth.
  • The last four digits of your Social Security Number.
  • A credit card to pay your renewal fee.

In person

If you wish to renew in person, you will have to go to the closest FL DHSMV office.

You will need to bring:

  • Your renewal notice or current registration certificate.
  • Your drivers license or FL ID card.
  • Proof of insurance for your vehicle.

At the office you will be provided with new stickers and a registration certificate.

By Mail

You can only renew by mail if you received a renewal notice indicating that you are eligible to use this method. Follow the instructions on the notice and send payment to the closest FL DHSMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
If you have a lien on your vehicle, you will need to first pay it off before you are allowed to complete a Florida car title transfer. If the lien has been satisfied, then the lien holder will need to make mention of this on the title. Visit a nearby local tax county office with the title and the new owner of the vehicle you are transferring ownership to.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Depending on the state you need to transfer your car registration to, you will be required to at least visit a DMV office and report that you moved to the new state. You will also have to verify with them what documents you need to bring for your registration appointment.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
The process of obtaining your CDL license requires you to take a series of tests based on the class of CDL you would like to obtain and the endorsements it requires. It is recommended that you always make an appointment with the DSHMV before visiting an agency. To find a DSHMV location near you, use our DHSMV locator.

You can only request a commercial drivers license if you are over 18 years of age. Commercial drivers under 21 years of age are only allowed to drive within Florida. Before applying, you will have to pass:

  • A knowledge test and a road test.
  • A basic skills test.
  • A pre-trip test.
  • A combinations vehicle test (for Class A only).
  • A hazardous materials test, if you expect to drive a vehicle transporting hazardous materials.
  • An air brakes test, if you plan to drive a vehicle with air brakes.
  • A tank vehicle test, if you need to drive a vehicle hauling liquid or gaseous materials in a tank.
  • A school bus test, for school bus drivers only.
  • A doubles/triples test if you are going to drive a vehicle that pulls double or triple trailers.

At the driver license office you will have to provide the following:

  • One document as proof of identity, such as a U.S. passport or a birth certificate.
  • Your Social Security card, a paycheck with your Social Security Number, a W-2 form or any 1099 form as proof of Social Security.
  • Two documents to prove that you reside in Florida such as a deed, a Florida Voter Registration Card, a utility hook up or mail from any government agency.

If you are applying for a hazardous materials endorsement, you will need to submit your fingerprints and get a background check as well. To be well-prepared, you may find it suitable to review the CDL Practice Test.

Additionally, you will have to get CDL insurance. You can do this online or in person at an insurance office.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
When you are getting car registration, you can request this type of plate at your closest Florida DHSMV office and have a valid disabled parking permit to get this kind of plates.

You would need to:

  • Surrender your current plate
  • Fill out and present an Application for Disabled Person Parking Permit
  • Present a medical certification that you should have requested within the past 12 months. The certification must be signed by a nurse practitioner, podiatrist, osteopath, physician or chiropractor.
  • Take your current Florida drivers license or ID card as well, unless your physician proves that you cannot go to the FL DHSMV office to get one.
  • Pay a $15 fee if the permit is temporary, but if the placard is permanent, there will be no charge. Keep in mind that fees may vary.

You are allowed to send the information by mail only if you submitted the application materials in the past 12 months and now you need to re-apply for this placard.

You have to renew your plate’s registration every one or two years. The expiration date on the new plates is the same as in your old standard ones.

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in Florida

How do I apply for a drivers license?
First, you need to check if you are eligible to get a Florida drivers license. You qualify if:

  • You are least 18 years of age
  • You passed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
    • For information about an online traffic school course, click here.
  • You passed a vision and hearing tests.
    • These are usually administered at the DHSMV. For local listing of DHSMVs near you, click here.
  • You passed a road exam.

For the driving test, make sure the vehicle you will use has car insurance as well as passed the safety requirements. When you schedule the appointment with the DHSMV, select Driving Test Class E License.

After verifying you comply with the requirements above, go to the DHSMV and take with you:

  • One document as proof of your identity, such as a birth certificate, or a U.S. passport
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card
  • Two proofs of residential address, like utility bills or medical bill
  • $48 drivers license fee (fee may vary).

You will get your drivers license once you complete and pass the tests, comply with the requirements and pay the fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
The minimum age to get your drivers permit is 15 years old. You can only apply in person at a driver license office. To find a driver license office location near you, visit our DMV locator here.

To get your driving permit in Florida, you will first need to complete Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) before applying for a learners permit in person at a DMV. This course can be obtained from approved private providers or in some high schools or through an online drivers ed class available here. Check with your county’s School Board to find schools that offer the TLSAE.

After completing your TSLAE, you should schedule an appointment for a knowledge test at a driver license office or complete the permit test online. To be best prepared, it is recommended that you study the Drivers Study Guide, as well as the Drivers Practice Test. If you choose to take the test in person at a driver license office make sure you bring the following items with you on the day of your test:

  • Your TSLAE completion certificate.
  • A parental consent form. One of your parents has to sign the form at the driver license office. If they cannot go, for whatever reason, the signature must be notarized.
  • One document as proof of your identity. For example, a birth certificate, or a U.S. passport.
  • Your Social Security card, or a Denial Notice from the Social Security Administration.
  • Two official documents that state your current Florida address as proof of FL residence, like utility bills or bank statements. You can get these documents from your parents if you are under 18 years of age.
  • $48 to pay the driver’s license and learner’s permit fee (fee may vary). Cash or check only.

If you complete the knowledge test online, bring a copy of the knowledge test completion confirmation to the driver license office in addition to the rest of the bulleted items listed above.

Besides the knowledge test, you will also be required to pass a vision and a hearing test and then, you will be issued a learner’s permit that you can use with certain restrictions.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
If you already have a FL driver s license, you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement to your current license or, if you don t have a driver s license yet, you can request a Florida motorcycle license.

If you already have a FL driver s license, the requirements for a motorcycle endorsement are:

  • Be at least 16 years of age, and in case you are under 18 years old, have a Learners Permit for a year without traffic convictions.
  • Have a Class E Florida Driver s license.
  • Have the Basic Rider Course completed
  • $7 endorsement fee.

Once you comply with the requirements above, you need to schedule an appointment with the FL DHSMV. To find a DHSMV location near you, use our DHSMV locator. When you get to the DHSMV be prepared for:

  • A multiple-choice written drivers test, which is based on road safety and FL motorcycle laws.
  • A driving test riding your motorcycle.
  • A hearing and vision test.

If you don t already have a FL driver s license, the requirements for FL motorcycle driving licenses, are the same as the requirements stated above with the only difference that you are not required to have a Class E FL License.

In addition to the general requirements for a motorcycle license stated above, you should also be mindful of the motorcycle insurance that you will need in the event of a crash or DUI.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
You can contact your insurance agent and provide proper documentation to get your name changed. They will guide you with the steps to get your car insurance updated. As an aside, if you d like to compare car insurance quotes, visit the Insurance Center page.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

How do I change my address on my car registration?
If you need to make an official address change, then you can do it online or in person. If you changed your address in Florida, you dont have to apply for a duplicate title.

Online

You can use the FL GoRenew service to change the information on your car registration. Just visit the website and follow the instructions on screen. You will have to provide your Florida drivers license or ID card number, date of birth, and last four digits of your Social Security Number, FL license plate number or FL vehicle identification number (VIN) and pay the $2.50 fee.

In Person

You will need to visit a tax collector’s office and:

  • Provide proof of U.S. citizenship or legal presence such as passport, birth certificate or a permanent resident card I-551.
  • Provide proof of residence, such as a utility bill or medical bill.
  • Pay a $2.50 fee for the change.
  • Pay an additional $6.25 Tax Collector Service Fee.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
In Florida, you can complete an address changing online or by mail.

Online

To change your address online you can use GoRenew website. You need to enter your:

  • Full name.
  • Street address as it currently shows on the DHSMV records.
  • Date of birth.
  • Complete Social Security Number (SSN) or the last five digits of your SSN and your driver license number.

After clicking continue and verifying your information in the system, select the Change of Address online service and make the necessary corrections.

You will be charged a $25 replacement fee to get a new document with your current address. Accepted payment methods are credit or debit card.

By Mail

You can choose to have your address updated by mail. The process is simple, but it may take longer for the FL DHSMV to update their records. The processing time is usually 30 days. You will have to:

  • Print and complete a Driver License or Identification Card Address Change (71117) Form.
  • Mail the form and the $25 fee to:

Bureau of Credentialing ServicesP. O. Box 5775Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

You can pay the fee by check or money order, payable to the Division of Motorist Services.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
In Florida, you can change the address on your drivers license online or by mail.

Online

To change your address online you can use the GoRenew website and complete the application with your:

  • Full name.
  • Street address as it currently shows on the DHSMV records.
  • Birthdate.
  • Full Social Security Number (SSN).

If you do not wish to provide the complete number, then you can provide the last five digits of your Social Security Number and your drivers license number. After clicking on continue and verifying your information, select the Change of Address online service and make the necessary modifications.

There is a $25 replacement fee. You will have to pay with a credit or debit card.

By Mail

This process is simple, but it can take longer for the DHSMV to update their records. The processing time is usually 30 days. You will have to do the following:

  • Print and complete a Drivers License or Identification Card Address Change Form.
  • Mail the form and the fee to

Bureau of Credentialing ServicesP. O. Box 5775Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

There is a $25 fee to change your address. You can pay by check or money order, payable to the Division of Motorist Services.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

How do I change my address on my ID card?
If you are in the process of address changing, you have to notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within ten days of moving. You can do it online, by mail or in person, and there is a $25 fee for the change.

Online

You can use the GoRenew service to change the information on your ID card. Just visit the website and follow the instructions on screen. You need to provide your ID card number, date of birth and last four digits of your Social Security Number.

By Mail

If you prefer this method, you can fill out the Change of Address form located at the Florida DHSMV website, print it, and mail it with a $25 check or money order payable to the Division of Driver Licenses and the address specified on the form.

In Person

To avoid delays, it is better to set an appointment prior to visiting a FL drivers license office. To find a local DHSMV drivers license office near you, use the DHSMV locator.

You will need to provide proof of ID, Social Security Number and of your new residential address. If you are not a U.S. citizen, you will need to provide proof of citizenship or legal presence.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
You can contact your insurance agent and provide proper documentation to get your name changed. They will guide you with the steps to get your car insurance updated.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
First you need to make sure you notified the Social Security Administration of the name change. Once you ve done that, to complete a FL name change request on your car title or registration certificate, fill out the title to transfer it to the new name. By doing this, you will get your vehicle registration records information updated. Bring the signed title application and fees to the closest Florida DHSMV office. To find closest FL DHSMV office, use our DHSMV locator. The fee for title transfer is $75.25.

Keep in mind you will also need to change the name on your car insurance. If you don t already have car insurance, go to our Car Insurance Center to compare quotes.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
If you have officially changed your name, you will be required to do the same on your drivers license. To proceed with your change of name on your FL drivers license, you can visit a FL DHSMV office with the following documentation:

  • Current license
  • Proof of legal name change, such as an original or a certified copy of your marriage certificate or court order stating the change
  • Proof of identification, such as your U.S. passport or birth certificate
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill, a Voter Registration Card, Vehicle Registration, a utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application
  • Proof of legal presence, such as a green card, if you are not a U.S. citizen

You will also be required to pay a $25 replacement fee.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
If you have officially changed your name, you will need to do the same on your FL ID card. To proceed with name changing on your Florida ID card, you can visit your FL DHSMV office with the following documentation:

  • Current license or ID card
  • Proof of legal name change, such as an original or a certified copy of your marriage certificate or court order stating the change
  • Proof of identification, such as your U.S. passport or birth certificate
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill, a Voter Registration Card, Vehicle Registration, a utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application
  • Proof of legal presence, such as a green card, if you are not a U.S. citizen

You will also be required to pay a $25 replacement fee.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
You need to contact the Social Security Administration office to report you changed your name before changing your name at the FL DHSMV office, DHSMV locations near you can be found here. To contact the Social Security Administration, you can visit their website or call 1-800-772-1213 to get a list of documents you need for your name change request.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
Since Florida drivers records are public, anyone can get access to them to check your driving history. Some information is not revealed in public driving records, such as your Social Security Number. This type of data is only provided to attorneys, private detectives or government employees with legal reasons to request it. If you find out that someone got access to your records by misrepresenting themselves, you can file a lawsuit at the court.

There are also consent laws that require employers to ask for your permission before conducting a background check on you. If someone violates these rules, you must contact an attorney to find out how to proceed. You may have grounds for a civil lawsuit. In either case, you should get professional advice from a lawyer.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
For stolen car registration, you need to contact your local police department. They will give you a form to fill out which you need to take to the closest county tax office and submit it when you request the replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If you have a stolen car title, you need to contact your local police department. They will give you a form to fill out which you need to take to the closest FL DHSMV and submit it when you request the replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
There are several ways in which you may order your Florida driving record. You may purchase it from any drivers license or tax collectors office that offers licensing services.

If you want to receive the copy of your driving record by mail, you may complete the Driver License Records Request form and submit it together with the fee to:

Bureau of Records P.O. Box 5775 Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5775.

The order will be processed within two weeks.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
In case your FL identification cards got stolen or lost, you can renew ID card credentials using the GoRenew website. You will need to provide your FL ID number, date of birth, and last four digits of your Social Security Number. If you do not know your Florida ID number, you will have to ask for a replacement in person by going to the closest DHSMV office. To find an office near you, use our DHSMV locator.

If you are getting another FL ID Card in person, you will have to provide proof of identity, proof of Social Security Number and proof of residential address.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a hardship license?
To apply for a hardship license, you need to visit the Administrative Reviews office. Based on the type of offense you were charged with, you will need to complete a part of your drivers license suspension or the entire suspension time. If you were charged with a DUI, you will need to complete a DUI program and treatment if required. The DUI revocation period will depend on the severity of the offense you committed.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
You can apply for a FL duplicate drivers license online by accessing the GoRenew website. There, you will be required to input your information in order to replace your FL drivers license. Alternatively, you can place a request to replace your FL drivers license by calling 850-617-2000 or by mail. Send your request to:

Bureau of Records 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 92 Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575

You can also request a temporary permit that will be valid until you come back to Florida by calling 850-617-2000.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
To get traffic fines dismissed in Florida, you must go to court and plead not guilty. You will have to present your reasons in front of a judge. It is up to the judge to decide whether you will have your ticket dismissed or not. You may also choose to hire an attorney to help you with the process.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
DMV driving records are public. If you have a reason to request someone elses driving record, you should not have any trouble ordering it. You may purchase the report from any driver license or tax collectors office that offers licensing services. You may also purchase driving records at the court clerks office. Take into account that the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) protects personal information, such as the Social Security Number, by making it private and releasing it only to selected people.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
You can replace your lost car registration in person or online. Online would be the fastest way to get your replacement registration, using the GoRenew website service. You will need to pay the fees by debit or credit card. Follow the prompts on screen to replace your registration. You will be asked to enter your last name, date of birth, Florida address, Social Security Number, drivers license number and license plate number.

You can also apply for a replacement registration in person at a license plate agency or a FL county tax collector office. You will have to provide a valid form of identification, your license plate number, proof of ownership and proof of your car insurance.

You will have to pay $2.50 to get your duplicate car registration. Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
To replace your lost car title in Florida, you will have to ask for a replacement at the county tax collector’s office. If you still have the title, you need to surrender it to the tax collectors office to have it destroyed as a replacement title makes the old one invalid.

At the FL tax collectors office, you will need to:

  • Fill out the application for duplicate or lost title, and send it to the tax collector’s office which you can download at the FL DHSMV website.
  • Present proof of identity, such as an FL ID card or FL drivers license
  • Provide lienholder documents, if necessary.
  • Present an odometer disclosure form.
  • Pay the fee which is: $75.25 for an electronic copy or $77.75 for a paper copy. Fees may vary.

Once you submit all the documents to get the replacement, the FL DHSMV office will process the application within five days. Then, you will receive your title by mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
If you have a lost drivers license, there are two methods to request a license replacement: in person and online. The fastest way to get your replacement is by visiting a Florida DHSMV office.

In Person

You can visit the closest FL DHSMV office, but first, get an appointment online at the FL DMV website to avoid waiting in long lines. On the day of the appointment, bring:

  • Proof of identification, like your U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill or mail from government agencies.
  • Proof of legal presence, such as your green card, if you are not a U.S. citizen.

Online

You can apply directly online through the GoRenew website. You will be asked a few questions to confirm your identity, and after you complete the process, you will be mailed your replacement drivers license to the address you registered with the DHSMV and it will arrive approximately in two weeks.

Out-of-State

If you need a replacement and are currently out-of-state, you can also request a temporary permit that will be valid until you come back to Florida. Mail your request to:

Bureau of Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 92

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575

You can also call 850-617-2000 or send an email through the DMV webpage. Once you return to Florida, you will have to follow the process described above to replace your license.

Report It

You can get your replacement fee waived if you have a stolen drivers license, but you have to report it to the police first. With your police report at hand, you won’t have to pay a penny for your license replacement.

If you replace your drivers license in person, you will get the replacement the same day. The online replacement will take longer as it takes about two weeks to receive a drivers license by mail.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Your insurance company may take care of the procedure; however, if you are handling the issue yourself, you can go to a FL DHSMV office with:

  • A Completed Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction
  • Proof of ownership, such as the vehicle’s original Florida certificate of title, the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin ee the Transfer Car Title page to find out more.

Fees vary from one county to another. Ask your local tax collector’s office.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How do I obtain car registration?
If you bought your car at an authorized car dealership, the seller will take care of car registration and titling. Ask if the dealership uses the Electronic Temporary Registration (ETR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS), in which case you can also get your temporary license plates at the same place. The dealer has 30 days to transfer the title and registration to your name. Call the DHSMV if the transfer is not completed within a month.

If you bought your car from a private party, you will need to complete all the paperwork yourself. Make sure you fill out a Bill of Sale and submit it to the tax collectors office. It is recommendable that you keep a copy for your records.

If the vehicle is titled outside of the state, you will also have to fill out the following forms:

  • Form HSMV 82042 – Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification form.
  • Form HSMV 82040 – Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration.

Once you have the paperwork, take it to a DHSMV location.

You will have to fill out the title with the seller of the vehicle and give it to an agent at the office. You will also need to show proof that the vehicle has Florida insurance. After completing the process you will receive your license plates and registration stickers.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
If you have a FL suspended driving license as a Habitual Traffic Offender and it is not related to DUI, you will need to take an advanced driver improvement course. There are course providers you can contact to start the program with them. Visit the Suspended License page for more information.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If it is your first offense, you need to show proof of the DUI school enrollment at the Administrative Reviews Office in order to be considered for hardship license. If you are allowed to apply for a hardship license, you need to take that approval to the FL DHSMV office. You must complete DUI School and provide proof of completion within 90 days following reinstatement.

If you have refused to submit a chemical test more than once when it pertains to driving under the influence, you will not be able to apply for early reinstatement due to hardship. You will have to wait for your suspension period to end to apply for reinstatement.

When you reinstate your license, no matter if it is for a hardship or drivers license, you need to comply with the suspension period, take the vision, driving and knowledge exams, and pay for the administrative and revocation fees.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
The process of reinstating suspended drivers license credentials first requires you to comply with your suspension period, then you can reinstate your FL drivers license by visiting the closest FL DHSMV office and paying the fee according to the offense you committed. Take into account that there may be additional fees to pay. To find a DHSMV close to you, use the DHSMV locator.

If your license got suspended due to DUI, you may need to complete a DUI treatment before reinstating.

For suspensions related to your vision, you will need to visit a specialist and get an eye report to send to the address below in order to show proof that you comply with the DHSMV vision acuity standards.

The Bureau of Motorist Compliance Vision Section 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 87 Tallahassee, FL 32399-0570

If you lost your Florida drivers license due to accumulation of traffic points, then you will have to complete a course called “Advanced Driver Improvement.”

You may want to have an attorney help you through the process of reinstating your license and limiting your penalties.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
You can remove points from your FL drivers license for certain offenses by taking a Basic Rider Improvement Course. Before taking the course, you have 30 days to notify the court that you will be taking this course.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

How do I renew my driving permit?
To renew your learners permit you must go to an office of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and:

  • Surrender your expired learners permit.
  • Pay the $48 fee ( fee may vary) by check or cash.
  • Pass the vision and hearing exams.

You will be allowed to practice with your permit with the same restrictions you had before. Visit the Learners Permit page to get more information. To find an office location of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles near you, visit our DHSMV locator here.

Alternatively you can find out if you are eligible to apply for a learners permit online at GoRenew.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

How do I renew my ID card?
You can renew your FL DMV ID card online or in person at the FL DHSMV office. Theres a $25 fee (fee may vary).

Online

To renew online, you need to have your FL ID card with a digital image. Also, your last renewal must have been done in person at a licensing office. You cannot have a FL drivers license and an ID card at the same time.

Visit the DHSMV FL website and fill out the application form. You will be asked to enter your FL ID number, your birthdate and the last four digits of your Social Security Number.

In Person

In the event that your ID does not have a digital image, or if you renewed it online the last time, you will need to visit a FL DHSMV office in person for your ID card renewal. To find a FL DHSMV office near you, use our DHSMV locator.

At the office you will need to provide:

  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, valid passport or passport card, certificate of naturalization or certificate of citizenship.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card, W-2 Form, pay check or stub.
  • Proof of Residential Address, you need to provide TWO documents showing your current Florida address, such as a Vehicle Registration, or Voter Registration Card. To learn more about applying for voter registration, click here.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are actively serving out of Florida in the U.S. army, you can renew license credentials online through the GoRenew website from the FLDHSMV. Alternatively you can renew your license at the DHSMV. To find a DHSMV near you, use the DHSMV locator.

You can also request a Military Extension Request by calling 850-617-2000. The DHSMV will process your request and send you an extension card that will remain valid for 90 days after being discharged from military service. You will have to keep the card and your license with you at all times. There is no cost to get a military extension, and it is available to your dependents as well these include your spouse and your children or step-children under 21 years of age and living with you at your residence.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
To get your commercial driving license medical report renewed, you can go to a local DMV or self certify/update your medical information online. If you choose to go to a DMV, you will need to submit a medical certificate from your physician showing you comply with all the requirements to drive a commercial vehicle. To find a DMV location near you, use our DMV locator. Alternatively, you can certify/update your medical certification information on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Licenses expire every six or eight years. You can renew motorcycle license credentials online or in person.

Online

You can avoid lines renewing your FL license online with the GoRenew website. To renew online, you should be able to pay with a debit or credit card.

In person

Motorcycle license renewal can be done in person by visiting the closest FL DHSMV office and bringing:

  • Proof of identification, like your U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill or mail from government agencies.

In case you changed your address or name, take proper documentation as proof of the change such as a utility bill, mail from a financial institution or a W-2 or 1099 form.

For a change of name, take your marriage certificate or divorce decree, Social Security card or a courts document as proof that your name changed.

To find a FL DHSMV location near you, use our DHSMV locator.

Military Renewal

If you are actively serving out of Florida in the U.S. army, you are able to proceed with your FL motorcycle license renewal online through the GoRenew website from the FLDHSMV. You can also request a Military Extension Request by calling 850-617-2000. The DHSMV will process your request and send you an extension card that will remain valid for 90 days after being discharged from military service.

You will have to keep the card and you license with you at all times. There is no cost to get a military extension, and it is available to your dependents as well, these include your spouse and your children or step-children under 21 years of age and living with you at your residence.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
You will be required to visit a Florida DHSMV office. Find one near you using the DHSMV locator tool. When you go to the DHSMV, make sure to take with you:

  • Proof of identification, such as:
    • An employment authorization card (Form I688B or I-766). It must be issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security.
    • Form I-94 accompanied by a valid passport with a date of entry stamp on it.
    • An I-571 Travel Document or a Refugee Travel Permit.
    • An order from an Immigration Judge granting Asylum or Cancellation of Removal.
  • Proof of Social Security, such as:
    • A Social Security card
    • A printed W-2 form.
    • Your pay check or pay stub with your name and SSN on it.
  • Two proofs of residence, such as:
    • Utility hook up or bill not older than 60 days.
    • Insurance policy documents.
    • W-2 form
    • Mail from government agencies.
  • Proof of legal presence such as:
    • Green card
    • Form I-551.

If you have a stolen drivers license, you can report it to the police and get the replacement fee waived.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you need to replace drivers license credentials and are currently out-of-state, you can apply for a replacement online through the FL DHSMV website.

You can also request a temporary permit that will be valid until you come back to Florida. You can call 850-617-2000 or mail your request to:

Bureau of Records2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 92Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575

If you prefer to get the replacement in person at a DMV, you will have to follow the regular process to replace your license when you return to Florida, as described on the Replace License page. To find a conveniently located DMV in Florida, use the DMV locator.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Transferring of car title between states will require you to visit your FL DHSMV office and:

  • Present proof of your Florida insurance.
  • Provide one proof of identity and, in case there are more owners, their proof of identity too.
  • Present your Florida drivers license.
  • Provide the current out-of-state title.
  • Have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified on the HSMV 82042 form.
  • Fill out the Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration form HSMV 82040
  • If the car title is still with the lienholder, the Florida DHSMV can verify with you that information by contacting your car title lienholder to send them the new title.
  • Pay $77.25 for the fees. Fees may vary.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
For any “transferring car title transaction” in Florida, you are required to show original documents. If you lost your car title, you will need to request a replacement at the FL DHSMV office. Once you receive your new title, the lost one will become invalid.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How do I transfer my car title?
You could be selling or buying, gifting or inheriting a car. For a car title transfer, the procedure varies depending on the situation.

Selling

To transfer your title you will have to:

  • Fill out the Transfer of Title by Seller section of your current title.
  • Complete the odometer reading, sales price and date.
  • Fill out a Bill of Sale

You and the buyer must sign the form, and then the buyer should take it to the FL DHSMV office. The license plates are still yours and you should remove them before completing the sale. It is always a good idea to provide the vehicle history to the new owner as a sign of transparency.

Buying

If you are buying a new vehicle, the dealer will take care of titling the vehicle. Ask if your titling fee is included with the rest of the fees you have to pay.

If you are buying a used vehicle, you will need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale
  • Sign and date the title after the seller has filled out the odometer reading and sales price.
  • Submit the insurance card or a Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.

You may also need to register your new vehicle. Make sure you have proper insurance, because if not, you wont be able to register it.

Gift Transfers

Gift transfers are exempt of the sales tax, but you still have to fill out some documentation. You will need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale
  • Fill out the odometer reading on the current title, and on the sales price field write Gift.
  • Submit your insurance card or a Form Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.
  • Follow the procedure to register your car.

The title must be signed by you and the new owner.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Whether you are selling, buying, gifting or inheriting a recreational vehicle, the procedure varies depending on the situation.

Selling

To transfer titles, you will have to:

  • Fill out the Transfer of Title by Seller section of your current title.
  • Complete the odometer reading, sales price and date.
  • Fill out a Bill of Sale.

You and the buyer must sign the form, and then the buyer should take it to the FL DHSMV office. The license plates are still yours and you should remove them before completing the sale.

Buying

If you are buying a new recreational vehicle, the dealer will take care of titling the vehicle. Ask if your titling fee is included with the rest of the fees you have to pay.

If you are buying a used vehicle, you will need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale which you can find at the FL DHSMV website.
  • Sign and date the title after the seller has filled out the odometer reading and sales price.
  • Submit the insurance card or a Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.

You may also need to register your new vehicle. Make sure you have proper insurance because if not, you willt be unable to register it.

Gift Transfers

Gift transfers are exempt of the sales tax, but you still have to fill out some documentation. You will need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale.
  • Fill out the odometer reading on the current title, and on the sales price field write “Gift.”
  • Submit your insurance card or a Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.
  • Follow the procedure to register your car.

The title must be signed by you and the new owner.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
You need to complete a military motorcycle rider course or equivalent and send a notarized copy of the course completion and $32 ($25 for the replacement license fee, plus $7 for the endorsement fee) to the Division of Driver Licenses. You can pay by check or money order payable to the Division of Motorist Services.

Remember to request a replacement license with a motorcycle endorsement. Also, include in the letter: your name, military mailing address, drivers license number and birthdate.

Once you have all the documents ready, send your letter to:

Division of Driver LicensesBureau of Records, P.O. Box 5775Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

How does the DMV check my vision?
A vision test is part of the standard procedure when you apply for driving license credentials in Florida. An eye-testing machine is found at every physical DMV location. To find a DMV location near you, use our DMV locator. If your vision is deemed to be worse than 20/40, then the driver licensing agent will require you to see a specialist before returning to the DMV for another exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
You must hold your learner’s permit for at least one year before getting your full unrestricted driver’s license, or until you turn 18, whichever comes first. Thankfully, getting your drivers permit is not as difficult as one might think. By studying the Drivers Study Guide, as well as the Drivers Practice Test, you will be a step closer to obtaining your standard license. While you are still in the possession of a learners permit, you are expected to practice driving for a minimum of 50 hours, 10 of which must be driven at night.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
When you refuse to take the chemical test and it is your first offense, your license will be suspended for a year. For every subsequent offense, the drivers license suspension period will be 18 months. You can find out more when you visit the Tickets & Violations page.

Visit the Florida DUI and DWI page to learn how to defend your case. You can fill out the form found on that page to get you more personalized guidance from a legal attorney.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
You should receive your FL DMV ID card within two weeks of submitting your order. However, while you wait, you can check the status of your order online by providing your drivers license or ID card number.

If you do not receive your identification card in two weeks, contact the DMV directly. To find a DMV near you, use our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
It varies depending on how many points you get during specific periods:

  • If you get 12 points in 12 months, your drivers license will be suspended for 30 days.
  • If you get 18 points in 18 months, your drivers license will be suspended for 90 days.
  • If you get 24 points in 36 months, your drivers license will be suspended for 12 months.

To learn more about driving records, click here.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
You are allowed to go to traffic school up to five times in your life, but no more than that. You can also go once in a year. You will be told by the court and the county where you received the ticket whether you can go to traffic school to get those points removed or not.

For more information: Florida Online Traffic School and Defensive Driving Courses are NOW AVAILABLE

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
In order to get an official name change on your vehicle registration, you must pay the $75.25 charge necessary to complet a title transfer. Find more general information about changing your name on the Change Your Name page for Florida car registration.

Keep in mind you will also need to change the name on your car insurance.

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
When you need to request a name change on your car title, there will be a $75.25 charge to get an electronic copy and $77.75 for the paper copy with this modification. Fees may vary.

Keep in mind you will also need to change the name on your car insurance.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Once you go to the FL DHSMV office for a FL legal name change, there will be a $25 fee to pay to get your license corrected immediately. Fees may vary. You can visit the Change Your Name page for further instructions.

Use the DHSMV locator to find a Florida DHSMV office near you.

How much is a Replacement ID?
How much does it cost to get an ID in Florida?

The cost of an original ID card, renewal, or replacement Florida ID is $25. If your Florida ID card has expired before you renew it, you will have to pay a delinquent fee of $15 on top of the original $25 renewal fee. All Florida state-sponsored DHSMV service centers accept these payment options: Cash.

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
You can renew your Florida drivers license up to 18 months before it expires. Renewing drivers license early is always recommended to avoid paying late fees.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
For the transfer of title, you will need a death certificate of the family member who passed away. You can ask the funeral home to get one for you. Once you go to the FL DHSMV office, have the vehicle’s documentation and your identification ready to avoid any rejections.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
There will be an additional fee to pay whenever you are late with FL car registration renewal. The delinquent fee to pay will vary depending on the license plate tax class and the amount of time you have been delinquent. Consult with your county tax collectors office to get the exact amount you have to pay.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Yes, your drivers license replacement fee will be waived. When visiting your local authorities and reporting the incident, they will provide you with a form to present at the FL DHSMV office. Read more on the Replace License page.

To find a FL DHSMV office near you, use the DHSMV locator.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
When you have been involved in a car accident, you will need to report it to the police and give as much detail as possible. You need to report all damages and give your car insurance information to the investigation officer so that it can be recorded on the accident report.

For more information: Florida Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes, you must maintain car insurance. You should have Florida car insurance in place as long as you reside in the said state, have your children registered in a FL school, or work in Florida.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
You can access the online driver license checker at the FL DHSMV website, and then enter your driver license number, and the verification characters in the picture. You will receive information about your license that may include traffic tickets. If you find the traffic ticket using the online system, you will be able to pay for it, but if you do not find any information about your ticket, you will have to locate it through a different method.

If you did not find your ticket through the online system, you will have to go to the County Clerk of the Court in the county in which you were given the ticket. You can get a list of the courts accessing the Florida Department of State Division of Library & Information Services website and contact Clerks of the Court in Florida for traffic ticket prices.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
Yes, as long as your vehicle is registered, you will be required to obtain FL car insurance. This also applies to those vehicles that are not used on a regular basis. To learn more about car insurance requirements in the state of Florida, visit our Car Insurance page.
If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
To get a Florida ID card replacement, apply online at the official Florida DHSMV website. You will be asked a few questions to verify your identity, and after you have completed the process, you will be mailed your replacement to the address you registered with the FL DHSMV. Keep in mind there is a $25 replacement fee (fees may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
First time offenders of a Florida DUI can get a hardship license before the revocation period ends. You will have to go to a FLHSMV Administrative Reviews Office in person and provide proof of completion of DUI School and/or treatment.

At the time you get arrested for DUI you will have to provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance of a minimum of $20,000 per occurrence and $10,000 per person, and $10,000 property damage liability or proof of bodily injury liability coverage

You can also wait for the revocation period to end, or if you have been convicted more than once for DUI, then you can apply to get your license back at a FLHSMV agency. You will have to take the vision, written and road tests again and pay an administrative fee, a reinstatement fee, and a license fee. The amounts you have to pay vary on a case by case basis.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
You can have your Florida drivers license flagged by alerting the fraud department of the DMV. You can even reach them directly by phone by calling 850-488-4760. For more information, take a look at the Replace License page.
Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
No, there is not. You can to go to the Tax Collectors office in your county, take your drivers license, copy of your car registration card, pay the necessary fees, and fill out the HSMV 83146 form to replace the plate.

Also, you can mail the documents to:

Division of Motorist Services 2900 Apalachee Pkwy Mail Stop 98 Tallahassee, FL 32399

For more information: License Plates in Florida

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, you must be at least 18 years old to get a commercial driving license. However, if you are less than 21, you will not be able to drive commercially outside of your state s borders. Whether you are 18 or older, there are a series of tests you will need to pass to get a CDL. One recommended way to start preparing is to read the CDL Handbook for your state.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
There is no age limit to renew your Florida drivers license, but if you are 80 years of age or older, you will have to pass a vision test when you renew drivers license credentials. This test is typically done at a local DMV. If you need to find a DMV office near you, use the DMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Your Florida car registration must be carried whenever you are driving your vehicle. You may have it on you or in your automobile, though preferably in your vehicle. If a police officer requests it you are required to show your registration and your drivers license.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your FL drivers license copy will be sent to the address on file with the DMV. If you wish to change this address, you will need to contact the DMV ahead of time. To find contact or location information of a local DMV, use the DMV locator.

If you are in the process of changing addresses, visit the Address Change page to help advise you how to change your address on legal documents and help you keep track of the legal documentation you ll need to update to continue driving legally.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
If you are a senior driver who is 80 or older, then you will be required to renew your drivers license more frequently. Instead of renewing drivers license credentials every eight years, which is the standard, you will have to get a new one every six years. You will also be required to pass a vision test. This is typically administered at a DMV office. To find a DMV office near you, use our DMV locator. If you prefer to have the test administered by your doctor, he or she must have license to practice in FL as a medical doctor, optometrist, or osteopathic physician. To verify the test, a Mature Driver Vision Test Form (HSMV 72119) will have to be completed.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
There are several reasons to transfer a car. They include if you decide to:

  • Sell your car
  • Buy a car
  • Donate your car to charity
  • Give your car as a present to a family member or someone else.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Florida drivers can have a suspended drivers license for a certain amount of time depending on the infraction. Some of these infractions may be due to driving under the influence, failing to pay a fine, having accumulated several traffic violation points, or lack of insurance. If you would like more information, visit the Suspended License page. On that page you will also find a form you can fill out to get legal guidance from an attorney who can help you defend your case and lessen the charges against you.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
You will be allowed to legally ride a motorcycle in Florida when you turn 16 years old. Younger applicants will not be issued a license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In Florida, there are six different types of endorsements for a commercial drivers license. Depending on the type of vehicle you intend to drive, what you will be transporting, or how many passengers you will be transporting, you will need to apply for one of the following:

  • N Tank vehicles with liquids
  • X Tank vehicles with hazardous materials
  • H Vehicles with hazardous materials that require a placard
  • P Passenger vehicles
  • T Double or triple trailers
  • S School buses

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If you have a Florida drivers license suspension, you can get even higher fines than the ones you already have to pay. Jail time, community service, extra points on your FL drivers record, extended suspension period, completion of safe driving courses and even a revocation of your driving privilege can be some of the consequences you face.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

What are the different types of driving records?
  • Driver License Check: You have the option to review the current status of your license online by using the FL DHSMV website for free.
  • Three-year and seven-year driving records: These two contain your driver license or ID card issuances, including the tests you passed and your driver education; your guilty dispositions of traffic violations, within three or seven years of the disposition date; the crash entries in which traffic a citation was issued; all the open suspensions, revocations, cancellations and disqualifications of your driving privilege; the suspensions, revocations, cancellations, and disqualifications cleared within three or seven years of the date that the record is run, and the suspensions for failure of compliance that have been on the record for less than one year after the reinstatement.
  • Complete driving record: It has all your driver license or ID card issuances, including the tests you passed and your driver education; all your guilty dispositions of traffic violations, the crash entries in which traffic a citation was issued all the open suspensions, revocations, cancellations and disqualifications of your driving privilege; all the D-6 (failure to comply) suspensions even after converted to correspondence; all the adjudications withheld and all the correspondence approved by the DMV.
  • Certified driving record: It is a certified version of either the three-year, seven-year or complete driving record.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
There is a $25 fee and it applies whether you are getting a new ID card, renewing or replacing it. Also, if you are late with your renewal, there will be a $15 fee to pay in addition to the original $25. Fees may vary, and accepted payment methods include:

  • Cash.
  • Checks.
  • Debit/Credit cards.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Once you arrive at the FL DHSMV office, there will be a $25 fee to pay for the drivers license replacement. Keep in mind that fees may vary. You can also make this payment online if you apply for a drivers license replacement online. In cases where the license was stolen or lost, you can waive that fee by contacting the police department and reporting what happened. They will give you a form called “Identity Theft/Driver License Fraud Report,” which you need to present to the Florida DHSMV office to get your replacement for free.

Use the DHSMV locator to find a DHSMV office near you.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
During your first year of a drivers permit, you are only allowed to drive until 10 at night after the first three months. The first three months you must make sure that you are only driving when the sun is out. Additionally, a driver with a learners permit must be accompanied by another driver who is 21 or older. They must be sitting in the front passenger seat at all times.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
When it comes to how to get a CDL license, you will also be required to present a medical certificate from your physician showing you comply with all the requirements to drive a commercial vehicle. You will need to get the Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination form, which you can download at the FMCSA website and ask your doctor to sign it for you.

Once you have the medical document ready, go to the closest DHSMV and present it over there. To find a DSHMV location near you, use our DHSMV locator.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
You would need to replace car registration if:

  • It got damaged.
  • You lost it.
  • It was stolen.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

.

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you get a traffic ticket while still holding your Florida learners permit, then you will not be able to apply for an intermediate license for a year or until you become 18 years old, whichever comes first.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
  • First DUI: Total revocation time will be from 180 days to a 1-year effective on conviction date.
  • First DUI with Serious Injury: You will have a minimum of a three-year revocation.
  • Second DUI: The second felony, not within five years from prior conviction, will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation.
  • Third DUI: A third offense, not within ten years of second conviction, will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation, unless the last two convictions fall within five years, in which case a five-year revocation will apply.
  • Fourth DUI or Subsequent DUI Convictions: You must serve five years before being qualified to apply for a hardship license.
  • DUI Manslaughter: Permanent revocation. You have the choice to apply for a hardship license after serving five years. If you have had former DUI convictions, you cannot get a hardship license.

For any of these charges, it is advised that you consult a DUI defense attorney.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
To have your suspended driving license in Florida reinstated, you may have to pay any of the fees below:

Suspensions: $45

DUI Program fee: $15

Administrative Fee for alcohol and drug related offenses: $130

You could also be asked to have an interlock device installed in your vehicle if you get your hardship license. There is a $15 fee, plus any other cost from the vendor. DUI programs may also charge you additional fees as well. Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The fees to register a vehicle in Florida tend to vary. The current fees are as follows:

Initial registration fee – $225

Title transfer -$75.25

New issue plate – $28

Private-use automobiles

  • Up to 2,499 pounds: $14.50
  • 2,500 to 3,499 pounds: $22.50
  • 3,500 pounds and up $32.50

Commercial and private-use trucks

  • Up to 1,999 pounds: $14.50
  • 2,000 to 3,000 pounds: $22.50
  • 3,001 to 5,000 pounds: $32.50

Vehicles “For Hire” that carry less than nine passengers: $17.

Vehicles “For Hire” that carry nine passengers or more: $17.

License plate fees

  • Dealer and manufacturer license plates: $17
  • Exempt official license plates: $4
  • Original/replacement license plates: $28

Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
For a car title copy, the fees will vary depending on what you need. You can request the following types of car title:

  • Paper copy: $77.25 – New vehicles
  • Electronic copy: $75.25 – Vehicles which were previously registered in Florida
  • Vehicles brought from outside of Florida: $85.25.
  • To add a lien to the title: $74.25.
  • To request fast title delivery service: $85.25

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
When you request a Florida replacement registration, there will be a $2.50 fee to pay. Fees may vary. Generally, the acceptable payment methods in person at the FL DHSMV office are cash, check, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express and Visa; however, find the closest DHSMV office and confirm the method they have. In case you are paying online, have your credit or debit card ready.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Renewing car registration fees will be different depending on the type of vehicle, its weight, the registration length, county fees and also extra fees when the vehicle is leased.The renewal notice you will receive, contains all the information for the fees to pay. However, on the FL DHSMV website, you can check the fees you will be paying according to your vehicle specifications.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
You need to be 16 years of age or older, have a class E license or greater and register your three-wheel motorcycle with the FL DHSMV office. To find a DHSMV near you, use our DHSMV locator. All FL motorcycle license drivers who are under 16 years of age must wear a helmet.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
You can get a hardship license if you have a suspended drivers license as a result of the following:

  • Accumulating several points on your FL license
  • Being a habitual traffic offender
  • DUI. For DUI suspensions, you always need to go to DUI School and get your treatment before applying for a hardship license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you are applying for drivers license credentials and fail the test, then you will be required to retake it; the fee for which is $10. Keep in mind that fees may vary. Before scheduling a new appointing to take your driving test, you will need to pass a drivers ed course.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
In order to get going with your drivers permit application, you need:

  • A Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education completion certificate.
  • A parental consent form. One of your parents must sign the form at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office. If they are not able to go, the signature must be notarized.
  • One document as proof of your identity, such as a birth certificate, or a U.S. passport.
  • Your social security card or a Denial Notice from the Social Security Administration.
  • Two official documents stating your current Florida address as proof of Florida residence, such as utility bills or bank statements. You can get these from your parents if you are under 18 years of age.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
To get a motorcycle only license or endorsement in your current FL drivers license, you need:

  • A document as proof of your identity, such as a birth certificate, or a U.S. passport.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Two proofs of residential address, like utility bills or medical bills.
  • $7 to pay for the motorcycle only license or endorsement

You will get your FL motorcycle drivers license once you complete and pass the tests, comply with the requirements and pay the fee. In addition to the documents required for a motorcycle license stated above, you should also be mindful of the motorcycle insurance that you will need in the event of a crash or DUI.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To get a new license to drive, you will need to go to an office of the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, which you can find using our DHSMV locator, and bring with you the following documents:

  • Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course completion certificate.
  • Your primary form of identification, such as a U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Your Social Security card, a pay check with your Social Security Number, a W-2 form or any 1099 form.
  • Two documents to prove that you reside in Florida, such as a deed, a Florida Voter Registration Card, a utility hook up or mail from any government agency.

You will also have to take a knowledge and a road test, as well as a hearing and a vision exam. These are usually administered at the DHSMV. For local listing of DHSMVs near you, click here.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
To get a duplicate car title, you will need to:

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
There are several documents you can present conveying your Florida official address change through proof of residency. For example:

  • A utility bill or mail from government agencies
  • Medical card
  • A W-2 or 1099 form
  • Address Certification
  • Vehicle insurance bill

You can review more approved documents at the FL DHSMV website.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
Once you go to the FL DHSMV office, you need to bring the following for changing address when moving:

  • Proof of Florida residency
  • Two documents, such as a utility bill or mail from government agencies, medical card, a W-2 or 1099 form, address certification and a vehicle insurance bill.
  • Proof of legal presence, such as your green card, if you are not a U.S. citizen
  • Proof of Social Security. You can show your original Social Security card or a Denial Notice from the Social Security Administration.

To find a FL DHSMV office near you, use the DHSMV locator.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
To get car registration replacement, when you go to the county tax office to get the car replacement, take proper identification, the license plate number and proof of your car insurance to proceed with the change.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
To properly apply for DMV car registration, the documents you will need to present depend on how you got your car.

  • For cars bought at a car dealership: The seller will be in charge of the registration and titling.
  • For cars bought from a private party: Fill out a Bill of Sale form which you can find at the DHSMV website.

Also, provide proof of insurance.

  • If the vehicle has an out of state title:
  • Form HSMV 82042 – Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification form.
  • Form HSMV 82040 – Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration.

Once you have the paperwork, take it to a DHSMV location.

You will have to fill out the car title with the seller of the vehicle and give it to an agent at the office. You will also need to show proof that the vehicle has Florida insurance. After completing the process you will receive your license plates and registration stickers.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Florida

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
To renew car registration, when you go to the FL DHSMV office, you will need:

  • Your renewal notice or current registration certificate.
  • Your driver’s license or FL ID card.
  • Proof of insurance for your vehicle.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
If you renew drivers license credentials in person, take with you:

  • Proof of identification, like your U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill or mail from government agencies.

If you recently changed your address, bring proper documentation as proof of the change, such as a utility bill, mail from a financial institution or a W-2 form. For a change of name, you can bring your marriage certificate or divorce decree, Social Security card or a courts document as proof.

If you are not a U.S. citizen, take with you proof of legal presence, such as a green card.

If you need help finding a local DHSMV office to go renew your drivers license in person, use the DHSMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
To transfer title paperwork, the documents vary depending on the situation to get the car title transferred.

For example to

Sell

You need to:

  • Fill out the Transfer of Title by Seller section of your current title.
  • Complete the odometer reading, sales price and date.
  • Fill out a Bill of Sale.

Buy

You need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale.
  • Sign and date the title after the seller has filled out the odometer reading and sales price.
  • Submit the insurance card or a Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.

Gift Transfers

You need to:

  • Fill out a Bill of Sale.
  • Fill out the odometer reading on the current title, and on the sales price field write Gift.
  • Submit your insurance card or a Form Florida Insurance form to a FL DHSMV office.
  • Follow the procedure to register your car.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
For a drivers license replacement, you will need to present the following:

  • Proof of identification, like your U.S. passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card.
  • Proof of residential address, like a utility bill or mail from government agencies.
  • Proof of legal presence, such as your green card, if you are not a U.S. citizen.

If you intend to present these documents in person, use the DMV locator to help you find the closest DMV office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
In order to get a motorcycle driving license, you will need to pass the following exams:

If you are under 18 years old, you need to pass the vision and hearing test or have a learners license, also known as driving permit.

If you are 18 years of age or older, you need to pass the vision, hearing and road skill tests or have a learners license, also known as driving permit.

The vision and hearing tests are typically administered at a DMV near you. To find a local DMV, use our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Florida

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
You will just need one form, an Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate. Drivers will also have to provide proof of ID and odometer disclosure information.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
If you refuse to pay for the traffic fines you received in a different state, your Florida drivers license will automatically be suspended. If you are caught driving with a suspended drivers license, your suspension period will be lengthened. To find out more about drivers license suspension in Florida, click here.
What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
You need to notify your company by which you are employed within 30 days of receiving the ticket. The next steps will vary depending on the type of violation you committed. You could be suspended, fined or have your license revoked, but everything will depend on the type of charge you have received.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If you are found driving in Florida with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.04 percent or above, you will immediately be charged with Driving under the Influence (DUI). As a result, your FL CDL will be suspended and you will not be allowed to drive any commercial car for a minimum of a year, or three years if you were transporting hazardous materials when you were stopped. During the time of disqualification, hardship eligibility will not be an option for you.

When the suspension period ends, you can reinstate your Florida CDL application by paying the fee, which may vary from one case to another based on the gravity of the offense.

For more information: Florida Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
You will need to destroy the title you found since the replacement will make the previous title invalid. You do not need the old title anymore, so you can simply use the one you requested.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

What information does a driving record contain?
It depends on the type of FL DMV driving record you request. Your birthdate, driving violations and driver status will always be available. However, your Social Security number, driver license or ID card number, name and address are not available to the general public. This is because the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) protects your personal information by making it private and releasing it only to selected people. Find out more by visiting the Driving Record page.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

What is an ID card?
A Florida ID card is a document that helps you identify yourself when necessary, whether it is with an authority figure, such as the police, or at a local bar. An identification card is mostly used by individuals who do not drive, yet need some identification document with them at all times.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
There is a standard cost for every DUI and it includes paying $130 of administrative fees and $75 for the revocation. Besides those charges, you may have to pay license fees, reinstatement fees and depending on the type of DUI or DWI you are charged with, you could face fines from $500 up to $ $2000, which will continue increasing as you repeat DUI felonies. You may look into the option of hiring a DUI attorney.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
All traffic ticket prices will vary depending on the violation but the ticket should have the fee listed. If you do not see it, you can access the FL DHSMV website to verify this information, or contact the Court Clerk of Court for further assistance.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fees will depend on the type of DMV driving record that you order and where you order it from. If you order them at the Florida DHSMV, the fees are:

  • Online driver license check: Free
  • Crash reports: $10
  • Three-year driving record: $8
  • Seven-year driving record: $10
  • Complete driving record: $10
  • Certified driving record: $10

Fees may vary, however.

If you request something else with your driving record, you will have to pay a $2 fee for the research per each request plus a $0.50 fee for each document or $1 if it is a certified document. If you need a letter of verification, you must pay $2.50 each and $3 if you want it certified.

For more information: Your Florida Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
You will not be able to drive your vehicle for a minimum of a year, and you will not be allowed to apply for a hardship license before the disqualification period ends. Aside from this, once you reinstate your CDL, there will be a $75 disqualification reinstatement fee to pay (fee may vary). In case you were disqualified when transporting hazardous materials, you will have to wait at least three years to reinstate your license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
  • If it is the first suspension with an alcohol level of .02 or higher, the revocation period is six months.
  • For the second or subsequent suspensions, your license will be revoked for a year.
  • If you refused to take the breath test and it is your first drivers license suspension, the revocation time will be a year.
  • For the second or subsequent suspensions because you refused taking the breath test, the revocation period is 18 months.
  • If the Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) is .05 or above, the suspension will endure until proper substance abuse evaluation and course is completed.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum coverage amounts for car insurance are:

  • $10,000 of No-Fault Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance.
  • $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written test for a driving permit is divided into multiple choice selections, whereby the individual must have at least a passing score of 80 percent. Be prepared by reviewing the Drivers Study Guide & Drivers Practice Test. You can also access a full online drivers ed course to help you pass your written test here.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
Scooters and motorcycles fall under different categories. In Florida, you are not allowed to ride a scooter in public places, sidewalks or highways; therefore, you cannot get a title for it.

On the other hand, to get a new car title for a motorcycle, you will have to go to the closest tax collectors office in your area and bring your motorcycle registration documentation. If you got your motorcycle from a dealer, they will take of the titling process. If you bought your car from a private party, you will need to complete all the paperwork yourself. Make sure you fill out a Bill of Sale form and submit it to the tax collectors office. It is recommendable that you keep a copy for your records.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

What languages is the written test available in?
You can take the written test to get your drivers license can be taken online or in person. If you choose to take your knowledge test in person, you can take it in English, Spanish or Haitian-Creole. You cannot use dictionaries or electronic devices to translate the test. Some Department of Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) offices may offer an interpreter to help you. Call your local agency in advance to find out about interpreter availability.

To prepare for the test in English, it is recommended to use the Drivers Study Guide, as well as the Drivers Practice Test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
You may have to attend DUI school, follow through with any treatment required, comply with the suspension period, take the vision, knowledge and driving tests, and pay for the administrative and revocation fees.

The amount of time you need to wait before being able to drive again is defined by a judge according to the number of times you have been convicted of driving while intoxicated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you have an official address change and do not report it, you will not receive a renewal notice before your license s expiration date since your new residence will not be on file. You will also have to pay a $30 fine at the time you renew.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you miss the renewal date of your Florida expired drivers license, you will have to pay a $15 late renewal fee. If you drive with your expired license, you may get charged $30 for a non-moving traffic violation, which will also go on your driver record.

If you get a traffic charge, there are attorneys that might be able to help you. But it is highly recommended that you renew your drivers license on time.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
You can provide the following proof of Florida car insurance:

  • Your insurance ID card, given to you at the moment you purchased your coverage plan.
  • A Self-Insurance Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility.
  • A Financial Responsibility Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you are renewing car registration and have not received your tags, you can contact the Florida DHSMV call center to verify the status of the tags or stickers. Their phone number is 850-617-2000.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you have not received your renewed license within two weeks, you can call 850-617-2000 and verify the status of your FL drivers license renewal application. There is also an email response form at the official FLDHSMV website that you can use to communicate with the DHSMV.

You can also go directly to a DHSMV in person if you d prefer. Use the DHSMV locator to find the DHSMV office closest to you.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In order to obtain a FL learners permit, you will need to pass a written exam which will review your knowledge on road signs, rules of the road and more. The first time driver exam is known as DATA (Drugs Alcohol Traffic Awareness), DATE (Drugs Alcohol Traffic Education), or TLSAE (Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education). An approved online course prep and test administration can be found here. Additionally, you must meet the standards of a vision test, which is typically administered at the DMV. You can find a local DMV here. You may also be asked to take a hearing test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
The first steps in how to get a CDL license include taking and passing written knowledge exams, which feature topics from your state CDL Manual, and driving skills tests that will prove your competency in driving, basic skills, and vehicle inspection.

Additionally, there are endorsement tests (Placarded Hazmat, Tank Vehicles, Passengers, School Bus, Double/Triple Trailers, Placarded Hazmat & Tank Vehicles) you can take if you need those authorizations for the type of commercial transportation you will be doing.

For more information: Florida DMV.com’s Commercial Drivers

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To get a FL driving license you are required to take:

  • A vision and hearing test.
  • A written exam.
  • A road test.

All of the above tests are typically administered at the DHSMV. In order to take them at the DHSMV, it is essential to schedule an appointment in advance with the DHSMV office. To find a DHSMV office near you, use our DHSMV locator.

The written exam can actually be taken online through an approved drivers ed course. To prepare for the written test, it is recommended to use the Drivers Study Guide, as well as the Drivers Practice Test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
If you want to register or drive your car in Florida, you will need to purchase car insurance for at least the minimum coverage amounts for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.

The minimum coverage amounts are:

  • $10,000 No-Fault Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL)

Your Florida insurance company is required to cover all medical costs related to a car accident, even if you are found guilty. You should get insurance whenever you buy a new or used car. If your car does not have insurance, you may be exposed to severe penalties, including the suspension of your drivers license.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The FL DMV offers Class E or Class E-Learner driving licenses for drivers of non-commercial vehicles. Class E licenses cover vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 pounds. Some of the types of vehicles that a person with Class E license can drive are: trucks or recreational vehicles, 15-passenger vans, regular passenger cars. A Class E-Learner license covers vehicles that weigh less than 8,000 lbs.

If you are looking to buy a non-commercial car, you can find out more by visiting our Buying a Car page.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
You should get FL car insurance whenever you buy a new or used car. If your car does not have insurance, you may be exposed to severe penalties, including the suspension of your drivers license.

For more information: How To: Save on Florida Auto Insurance

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
In order to reinstate your license, you will need to have completed all of the required time of your suspension period. For more information, take a look at the Suspended License page. On that page, you will also see a case evaluation form you can fill out if you are in need of legal consultation or representation for any DUI or traffic related incidences that resulted in suspension of your license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

When does my car registration expire?
The car registration renewal cycle in Florida varies depending on the type of vehicle you own.

Standard Motor Vehicles must be registered yearly by your birthday. If the vehicle is registered to more than one person, the renewal day would correspond to the date of birth of the first person listed on the registration. You can renew up to 30 days before the renewal deadline.

Mobile Homes and RVs must have their registration renewed by December 31 every year. You can renew up to 31 days before the renewal deadline.

Some vehicles qualify for a two-year registration renewal, in which case you would have to pay the fees for both years.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

When does my ID card expire?
The expiration of your FL DMV ID Card varies according to your age:

  • Five to 14 years old: Your ID card will be valid for four years.
  • 15 years of age or older: Your ID card will be valid for eight years.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
If you are now residing at a new address, it is essential to update the address on your drivers license within ten days of moving. This is a mandatory action to follow every time your address changes for any reason. To keep track of parties you may need to notify, it is recommended to have an address change checklist. You can check out the Change Your Address page for further steps.

You will also need to change the address on your car insurance.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Florida

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale is a form residents can use whenever they are buying or selling used cars. This form can be used by the seller and the buyer since you will be providing car information such as make, color, model and year.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Florida

When will I need to renew my license?
It is recommended to renew your drivers license before your it expires. The Florida DHSMV allows you to renew your valid FL drivers license up to 18 months prior the expiration date. If you do not renew driving license credentials on time, you will have to pay a $15 late fee (fee may vary), and you wont be allowed to drive with your expired license. Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
If you replace license credentials in person at a DMV, you will get the replacement the same day. To find a DMV near you, use the DMV locator. The online replacement will take longer since your drivers license will arrive by mail roughly two weeks after you ordered it. You can get more information by visiting the Replace License page.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Florida Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has a free license check tool where you can enter your driver license number to check its current status. The system will let you know of any tickets you may have, the courts you may need to contact and the status of your license.

You can also request your driving record and verify the current status of your license. You may purchase it from any driver license office or tax collector that offers licensing services. You may also purchase it at the court clerks that offer that service.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Florida

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
You can access the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website and search for the closest office located in your county. Also, you can find their telephone number and contact information so you can visit them with an appointment if necessary.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you have been convicted of a DUI, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car. For more information about a Florida vendor that will complete this installation for you, visit the FLHSMV Ignition Interlock Program page.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Not all counties will have your ticket online, but the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has a system that may help you.

You can access the online driver license checker at the FL DHSMV website, and then, enter your driver license number, and the verification characters in the picture. You will receive information about your license that may include traffic tickets.

If you find the traffic fines using the online system, you will be able to pay for it, but if you do not find any information about your ticket, you will have to locate it through a different method.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

Where can I find the DMV locations?
Please follow the link below for your nearest DMV location:

Florida DMV Office Contact Information

Where can I get a new drivers license?
You can get drivers license credentials at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. To find a location near you, use our DHSMV locator. But first, make sure you have complied with the following requirements to obtain a Florida new drivers license:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. (Online options are available, to find out more visit our online traffic course page.)
  • Pass a vision and a hearing test. (Typically administered at a DHSMV near you.)
  • Pass a written road exam. (Available online, see online traffic course page.)
  • Successfully complete a driving test. (Typically administered at a DHSMV near you.)

If you havent already taken your written exam, it is recommended to use the Drivers Study Guide, as well as the Drivers Practice Test to prepare.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Florida

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
You can mail your request for a FL car title replacement to the following address:

Division of Motorist Services 2900 Apalachee Pkwy Mail Stop 98 Tallahassee, FL 32399

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

Where can I obtain an ID card?
To apply for ID card credentials, you must apply in person at the FL DHSMV office. To find a DHSMV near you, use our DHSMV locator.

Almost anyone can get an ID card in Florida. You need to be 5 years of age or older. Any person who has a disability, and applies for a disabled parking permit, can also get an ID card, no matter the age.

Make sure you first make an appointment using the OASIS online services.

When you arrive at the DHSMV, you will be required to provide:

  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, valid passport or passport card, certificate of naturalization or certificate of citizenship.
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card, W-2 Form, pay check or stub.
  • Proof of Residential Address, you need to provide TWO documents showing your current Florida address, such as a Voter Registration Card, Vehicle Registration, a utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application, etc.
  • Pay the fee which is $25 to get your original ID card. Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Apply for a Florida Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In terms of insurance for car, various four-wheeled vehicle must have Florida insurance. Owners of motorcycles and mopeds may also choose to get a Financial Responsibility Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility, post a surety bond with a Florida company, and deposit securities with the DHSMV.

Another option, if you don’t want to pay insurance, is getting a Self-Insurance Certificate issued by the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. If you choose this method, you will have to prove that you have a net unencumbered capital. This ensures that if you get in an accident, you will be able to pay for the damages.

For more information: Florida Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
You will be required to have a Parental Consent Form completed by a parent, legal guardian or a step-parent who has adopted you. Keep in mind that this form must be signed at the DMV or must be notarized if the parent/legal guardian/step-parent cannot come to the DMV. To find DMV locations near you, use our DMV locator.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Florida

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Sometimes your Florida drivers record is not updated. You need to go to the Court Clerks office in the county where you got the ticket in order to get the recent traffic ticket information you are looking for.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Whenever you renew your drivers license in person at an office, you may be asked to pass a vision test. If you qualify to renew by mail or online, you wont have to take a vision test.

Drivers who are 80 years of age or older can only renew in person and must have their vision tested upon every drivers license renewal.

The vision tests are generally administered at DMV offices. To find a local DMV office, use the DMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Most people receive a drivers license renewal notice in the mail 30 days before their driver license expiration date. If you dont receive a renewal notice, you still have to follow the appropriate procedure to renew driving license credentials.

Also, if you are eligible to renew by mail, you will receive a mail-in renewal packet. If you do not receive it, you will have to renew your license using other available methods such as going to the DHSMV office in person or online. To find a DHSMV office near you, use the DHSMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Florida

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
According to Florida law, if your traffic ticket fine is a point-accessible violation, then yes these points will be reflected on your driving record. Points will vary based on the severity of the traffic violation. To learn more about driving records and who needs them, visit our Driving Records page.
Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Every time you get a traffic ticket fines, you may have points added to your driving record. You may even get your license suspended or revoked due to the amount of points in your license. Insurance companies also check your record to determine the rate you will pay. Having points in your license will increase the amounts you pay for Florida car insurance.

Most of the time you will be allowed to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course to reduce driving record points.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Florida

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
For DUI suspensions, you will be required to attend DUI school and get treatment before applying for reinstatement. If you do not go or if you skip classes, your license will not be reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Florida

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Not necessarily an application, but the method you choose to replace your registration will entail different requirements to comply with. For example:

If you replace online, you will need to pay the fees by debit or credit card, follow the prompts on screen to replacing car registration and then, you will be asked to enter your last name, date of birth, Florida address, Social Security Number, drivers license number and license plate number.

If you do it in person, you will need to provide your license plate number and proof of the car insurance.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Florida

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Yes, you are required to present proof of insurance when replacing car title credentials in person. Drivers will also have to provide:

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Florida

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
If you need to renew expired car registration, sometimes the DHSMV sends a courtesy Registration Renewal Notice indicating your renewal date and fees. If you do not receive it, you still have to follow your renewal dates to avoid extra fees and penalties.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
The renewal date of your car registration is on your birthday every year or every two years. If the vehicle is registered to more than one person, the renewal day would correspond to the date of birth of the first person listed on the vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Florida