New York Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
While it is not required for you to take a training course to obtain a motorcycle permit, the state of New York requires that you pass a pre-licensing course or drivers education class before getting a motorcycle drivers license. Furthermore, taking an approved rider course can help you get your written exam requirement waived.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
The state of New York requires the use of helmets for both motorcycle drivers and their passengers. In addition, state law also requires the use of protective eyewear. So if you have a motorcycle license endorsement, you must wear an approved helmet or face getting a ticket.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
The state of New York does not allow its drivers to renew expired car registration if any of the following applies:

  • If your car registration has been expired for more than 12 months
  • If your vehicle has not been inspected in the last 12 months
  • If your drivers license is suspended or revoked

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
Yes, for an address change request, you can have different addresses on your license and car registration. However, it is recommended that you use the same address on all applications.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No. In order for you to register a car in the state of New York, the vehicle must be covered by New York-issued car insurance coverage.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, in New York commercial drivers cannot renew CDL licenses online. You are only allowed to renew your CDL license in person or by mail. The by mail option requires a vision test report.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, the state of New York allows drivers to order a certified online driving record. Your record will contain a certification statement, as well as the signature of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Additionally, it will feature the standard security watermark that you would find on driving records obtained through other forms.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, a DMV written test is not available online. You must go in person to a local DMV in order to take the driving permit written exam. It’s advised that you make an appointment at your local DMV office.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
A CDL license is valid for personal driving in all states. If you have an interstate CDL license, then you are licensed to drive commercially in any US state. If you have an NY intrastate CDL, you are restricted to driving commercial vehicles only in New York state.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Someone else may apply to renew car registration for you in the state of New York. To renew car registration, he or she will need to provide proof of your identity as well as his or her own identity. Acceptable proof of identity is a valid New York State:

  • Driver License.
  • Learner Permit.
  • ID Card.

The car owner must have signed the appropriate forms to renew car registration. The person who you designate to renew for you must have Power of Attorney to sign for the car owner.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, boats needs to be registered in the state of New York. In order to properly register your boat, you will need to bring the following documentation to an in-person visit at your local tax county collectors office:

  • Bill of Sale if your boat was purchased from a private party
  • Proof of identity such as your drivers license
  • Proof of ownership
  • Payment for any necessary fees
  • Complete a Boat Registration/Title Application

Your boat registration will be good for three years.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Yes, you must have a drivers license to operate both of these kinds of vehicles. However, the kind of license you need depends on the class they fall under:

  • Class A mopeds, which reach speeds between 30 and 40 miles per hour, require a Class M or Class MJ motorcycle license
  • Class B vehicles, with speeds between 20 and 30 mph, require any license
  • Class C vehicles, with speeds of 20 mph or below, require any license

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
The state of New York allows you to attend a traffic school if you would like to reduce the number of points on your drivers record. Upon taking an approved defensive driving course, you may be able to reduce up to four points from your record.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Yes, you are required to do so. In the event that you are leaving the state of New York, you must cancel your current policy and get car insurance from your new state of residence. It is vital that there is no gap in your auto insurance coverage.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Although it is not mandatory, it is recommended that you notify local authorities about your lost or stolen drivers license. By doing so, you will be able to protect yourself from identify theft and fraud. Bring the police report to the DMV when you apply for a replacement driver’s license and the duplicate driver’s license fee will be waived.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Yes, it is strongly recommended that you file a police report as soon as possible in the event that you need a NY car registration replacement. By doing so, you prevent the chances of becoming victim to identity theft or fraud.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Yes, the state of New York makes it mandatory to surrender your license plate before moving to a new state. If you fail to so, your drivers license can be suspended. To make it easier for you, you have the option to surrender your license plate at a local DMV office or by mail.

If you wish to return your plates by mail, send them to the address below:

NYS DMV 6 Empire State Plaza Room B240 Albany, NY 12228

Make sure to list your current mailing address, so your records remain up to date.

To learn about how to get a personalized license plate in your new state, click on the new residential state above under the License Plate section.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Yes, you need to take a drivers ed course before taking the DMV road skills exam. Although are not required to take a drivers ed course to get your New York learners permit, passing a drivers ed course will exempt you from the DMV written knowledge exam.

You are required to take a drivers ed or pre-licensing course before you take the road skills test for your driving license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, you are required to turn in your damaged car title, and the issuance of a duplicate car title will make the damaged one invalid. Take the damaged title to the NY DMV office so they can issue another one for you and destroy the one you currently have.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
The auto registration certificate must be legible at all times to verify its validity. If your vehicle registration is damaged, the NY DMV requires you to turn it in at a local DMV office at the time you replace your car registration. The DMV will invalidate the old registration certificate when a replacement car registration is issued.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, the state of New York requires scooters to be fully registered. You will also need a drivers license in order to operate one. In terms of registration fees, this will vary depending on the weight.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
To get car registration, the New York Department of Motor Vehicles requires most vehicles in the state to complete and pass a safety and emissions inspection. This type of inspection must be done on a yearly basis. To see if your vehicle is exempt from emissions testing, you can find out more by visiting the Emissions Standards page of the NY DMV website.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
The state of New York requires that you always have car insurance if you own a vehicle. However, if you plan on canceling your insurance policy, you can return your vehicle registration and your license plates to the NY DMV in order to avoid drivers license suspension.

Keep in mind that the only way to not have car insurance without fearing for driver license suspension is to not own a vehicle.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
In order to have a veteran designation on your DMV ID card in New York, you will have to provide proof of honorable discharge. You can do so by mail or in person at a local DMV office. Acceptable documents to prove honorable discharge include:

  • A DD-215 form, indicating honorable discharge.
  • A U.S. Department of Defense DD-214 form, indicating honorable discharge.

In addition, if you were discharged before January 1, 1950, the following Honorable Discharge forms are acceptable:

  • WD AGO 53
  • WD AGO 55
  • WD AGO 53-55
  • NAVPERS 553
  • NAVMC 78PD
  • NAVCG 553
  • Enlisted Separation Paper

You can apply for veteran designation when you renew your license or ID card by mail with your renewal notice. However, if you would like to get the designation before this time, you can file for a replacement by filling out the Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card and sending it, along with payment of $12.50 fee (fees may vary), a written request to add the designation, and a photocopy of your honorable discharge to the following address:

DMV License Production Bureau Room 331 6 Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12228

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
For your convenience, the New York Department of Motor Vehicles offers an online version of the Driver Manual on their website. To get a copy of the official Driver’s Manual, call your local DMV office. To learn more about getting a drivers license, visit our New License page.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Online

If you received a ticket in Rochester, Buffalo or the five boroughs of New York City, then you will be glad to know you can pay traffic tickets online if you wish to plead Guilty. To do so, simply visit the NYS DMV Traffic Ticket Pleas, Hearings and Payments site.

You can also use the online feature if you wish to plead Not Guilty and dispute your ticket in court instead. Keep in mind that the hearing will take place in the jurisdiction where you received the ticket.

If your ticket was not issued in Rochester, Buffalo or New York City, then you will need to get in touch with the court where you got the ticket from.

By Mail

You may also answer your ticket by mail using the following address:

Traffic Violations Plea Unit P.O. Box 2950 ESP Albany, NY 12220-0950

In Person

If you prefer to address your ticket at a Traffic Violations Bureau office, make sure to bring the ticket with you, along with your drivers license. You can find a nearby Traffic Violations Bureau office by visiting this page.

By Phone

For your convenience, you can choose to schedule your hearing by phone or pay for your ticket with the assistance of a customer service agent. Simply call 718-488-5710 during regular operating hours of 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

DMVAdvisors.org Note: If you would like to appeal a TVB ticket conviction, you can do so either online or by mail. Keep in mind that your appeal must be filed within 30 days of receiving the conviction.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

How can I renew my drivers license?
Renewing drivers license documents in New York is simple, and you can choose from three separate methods:

  • Online
  • By mail
  • In person

Online

In order to renew your NY drivers license online at the NY DMV website, you must meet the requirements of the Department of Motor Vehicles:

  • You cannot have changed your address
  • You are not going to remove a hearing or vision restriction from your license
  • You cannot have a valid without photo license
  • You cannot have a suspended, revoked, or restricted license
  • Your Social Security number must already be on file
  • You are not applying for an enhanced driver license
  • You do not have residency out of the United States

By Mail

To send in your application for renewal by mail, you must make sure to enclose:

In Person

Renewing in person is very common in the state of New York. Just remember to bring the following documentation to complete the process:

Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
The state of New York allows drivers to renew their vehicle registration in one of three ways: online, by mail or in person.

If you would like to complete car registration renewal online, then you need to visit the NY DMV Renew Registration page. Keep in mind that you will be unable to renew online if you have not received a registration renewal notice in the mail.

For renewing car registration by mail, you will need to send any necessary payment, along with the bottom portion of your renewal notice to this address:

NYS DMV Port Jefferson Office 3 Roads Plaza 1055 Route 112 Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776

If you did not receive a renewal notice, you can submit a Vehicle Registration/Car Title Application (Form MV-82) instead. Please note that it will take about 10 days to receive your registration renewal in the mail.

To renew in person, bring the aforementioned application and payment for any fees to a DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Depending on the state you need to transfer your car registration to, you will be required to at least visit a DMV office, report you moved to the new state and verify with them which documents you need to bring for your registration appointment. If you are a new resident of New York, visit the New Registration page for more details.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
If you want to obtain a commercial drivers license in New York, you must already have a Class D, Class E, or non-CDL Class C driving license. In addition, you could also have a CDL in another state to apply for credentials in New York. However if you are applying for your first commercial license, you must:

  • Read the Commercial Drivers Manual.
  • Pass the written knowledge test.
  • Pay the $10 application fee, and show your Social Security card, current driver license, and Medical Certification Requirements for Commercial Drivers (Form MC-11A) to obtain your commercial permit. Keep in mind that fees may vary.
  • Practice driving the type of commercial vehicle your permit applies to.
  • Pass the road skills exam.

Additionally, if you want to obtain an endorsement for your CDL, there will be fees and further testing.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
If you have a severe, permanent or temporary mobility impairment, then you may be qualified for a handicap permit and a handicap placard. You can apply for either a state permit or a New York City permit.

For your convenience, you have the option to apply for a state permit online by visiting this page.

If you wish to apply by mail, then you and your licensed physician will have to fill out the Application for a New York State Parking Permit for People with Disabilities and mail it to the address listed on the form. You will also need to present proof of identification along with your request.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

How do I apply for a drivers license?
You must be at least 16 years old in order to apply for a New York drivers license. If you meet the age requirement, then you must first:

  • Apply for a learners permit at a local DMV office.
  • Pass the written exam or take a drivers education course.
  • Hold your permit for six months and drive with a supervisor for at least 50 hours.

Once you have met these qualifications, then you can:

Keep in mind that you must show proof of passing a pre-licensing course or a drivers ed class in order to take the driving test and obtain your license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to apply for a learning permit in New York, you must be at least 16 years old and be able to go to your local DMV office. You are required to:

  • Present proof of ID which totals six points and have one document with your signature:
    • Social Security card
    • Birth certificate, U.S. passport, or certificate of citizenship to prove name and birthdate
  • Fill out and hand in an Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44)
  • Provide Drivers Education Certificate (if applicable) to have your knowledge test requirement waived.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass the written knowledge exam.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The process for obtaining a motorcycle license in New York is similar to that associated with getting a driver license. However, motorcycle riders are required to:

  • Familiarize themselves with two manuals:
    • Motorcycle Manual
    • Drivers Manual
  • Take both written knowledge exams:
    • Written driver test
    • Written motorcycle test

Other than that, applicants must still go to the local DMV office, submit an Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44), and pay the fee for the original license. Then you will receive a Class M or Class MJ learners permit. Once you have said permit, you must complete the following steps before you can obtain your motorcycle endorsement:

  • Practice riding with a supervisor
  • Take a pre-licensing or drivers education course
  • Pass the driving road skills exam

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
After making an official address change with USPS and the DMV, you must contact your car insurance provider directly to update the information on your policy. Typically, you will have to provide proof of your address change, such as a utility bill, and proof of ID, in order to change the address that appears on your insurance plan.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

How do I change my address on my car registration?
The address change checklist for a car registration is very similar to the one used for licenses and ID cards. You have the option to apply online, in person, by mail or by phone, and each method is free of charge. However, you will not receive an updated registration certificate. You must request and provide payment if you want one.

Online

To apply online, go to the Department of Motor Vehicles website and provide:

  • Your NY ID card number or drivers license.
  • Your Social Security Number s last four digits.
  • Your birthdate.

By Phone

To change your address by phone, you will have to have your drivers license, ID card, or learners permit on hand when you are talking to a representative at the NY DMV call center.

In Person

To change address at the DMV in person, bring:

  • A completed Change of Address form.
  • Proof of your ID.
  • Proof of your birthdate.

By Mail

To apply by mail, you will need to provide the same documents necessary to file for an address change in person. Simply mail these to your local DMV office. However, if you want a replacement car registration, you must enclose the applicable fee as well.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
You will be able to file an address change request online, by mail, by phone, or in person. You will not receive a replacement CDL unless you request one, however. Should you want a replacement, you must provide payment and fill out the necessary application.

Online

The NY DMV website features a pages that allows you to update your CDL address if you provide:

  • The last four digits of your Social Security Number
  • Your date of birth
  • Your driving license number

By Phone

You can change your address by calling the DMV call center of New York by providing the information on your commercial drivers license.

In Person

Changing your address in person requires you to fill out and/or bring:

  • A document that evidences of your identity.
  • A document that evidences of your birth date.
  • A Change of Address form.

By Mail

Fill out and send in a Change of Address form and proof of ID and date of birth to a nearby DMV office in order to update your address on their records. For a replacement CDL, also enclose payment.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
In New York, you are allowed to change your address online, by mail, by phone, or in person. However, you will not receive an updated license when you do so. After completing the process, you can simply write your new address on the back of your license. However, each method available will give you the option to obtain a replacement license should you want one.

Online

In order to file an address change request online, you must visit the NY DMV website and provide your:

  • NY drivers license number
  • The last four digits of your Social Security Number
  • Birth date

By Phone

If you have your drivers license with you, you can call the NY DMV call center and update your address free of charge.

In Person

To change your address in person, you will need to bring:

  • Change of Address form
  • Proof of ID
  • Proof of birthdate

By Mail

Mail in your Change of Address form and proof of ID and birthdate to your local DMV office. If you would like a replacement license, make sure to enclose payment as well.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

How do I change my address on my ID card?
To fulfill an address change request for an ID card is similar to the process used for drivers licenses. You can apply online, by mail, in person, or by phone. However, unless you specifically request one and provide payment, you will not receive a replacement ID card.

Online

Visit the NY DMV website and type in the following information to apply online:

  • New York ID card number
  • The final four digits of your Social Security Number
  • Date of birth

By Phone

Have your ID card with you if you decide to call the New York Department of Motor Vehicles call center. There is no additional fee for applying by phone.

In Person

The following documents must be brought to the DMV if you apply in person:

  • Change of Address form
  • Proof of your identity
  • Proof of your date of birth

By Mail

Mail in the documents necessary to apply in person, along with payment if you would like a replacement ID card, to a local DMV office to apply.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
For name changing on your car insurance policy, you have to contact your insurance provider directly. After providing the necessary documentation, such as your name change document and ID, you will be able to update your information on your car insurance.

Keep in mind that you must have already changed your name with the Social Security Administration. They are the first department to notify of your new name, even before going to the DMV.

How do I change my name on my car registration?
Similar to the requirements to change names on licenses and ID cards, you will have to go to the local DMV office in order to update the name on your car registration. You cannot request an update online, by mail, by phone or by email. And when you go in person, you must make sure to take:

  • Your current and valid car registration or an appropriate proof of ID:

o Drivers license

o ID card

o U.S. passport

o U.S. military ID card

  • A name change document (certified):

o Marriage certificate

o Court order

o Divorce decree document

  • A filled-out Vehicle Registration/Title Application

You will receive your new vehicle registration within 10 days.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
The process to change name on your driving license in New York requires you to go in person to a local DMV office. Therefore, you do not have the option to complete this change online, by mail or by phone. Once at the office, you will be asked to provide:

  • Your current NY drivers license or acceptable proof of ID: U.S. passport or U.S. military ID card, for example
  • Your certified document proving name change: marriage certificate, divorce decree or U.S. court order
  • A filled-out Application for Driver License
  • $12.50 payment

After submitting your application, you will receive your new driving license in the mail within 10 days. Fees subject to change.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
The steps to change name on ID card documents are very similar to those involved in updating a drivers license. You must go in person to a local DMV office and bring with you:

  • Your current non-driver ID card or acceptable proof of ID:
    • U.S. passport card or booklet
    • U.S. military ID card, if you are active, reserve or retired personnel
  • A certified document that proves your name change:
    • Divorce decree
    • U.S. court order
    • Marriage certificate
  • A filled-out Application for Non-Driver ID Card
  • $5 payment to change on non-driver ID (fees may vary)

Once you apply, you can expect your new ID card to arrive in the mail in about 10 days.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
To apply for a New York DMV name change, you will need to first change your name with Social Security Administration. To make an official name change with the Social Security Administration you can either mail the following information or visit the nearest SSA office:

  • Complete an Application for a Social Security Card
  • Provide proof of your legal name change, such as a marriage or divorce certificate
  • Provide proof of your identity with a driver s license, state ID, or US Passport
  • Provide proof of your citizenship with a U.S. birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, etc.

You must present the original document or a copy certified by the issuing agency when applying for a name change with the Social Security Administration. The SSA will not accept photocopies of original documents.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
There are serious consequences to obtaining another persons driving record without permissible use. If you believe an unauthorized individual has accessed confidential information on your DMV driving record, then contact the NYS DMV directly at 518-486-9786, Monday to Friday, between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Visit the Driving Record page for more information.

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
The best way to file a police report is to contact your local authorities in person and explain that youve had a lost car registration or stolen car registration. You will need to ask the appropriate parties to fill out a police report, which you can then bring into a DMV office to complete the process.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
The only way to file a police report is to visit your local police station to notify authorities that your car title was stolen. Make sure to leave with a police report. Then go to the DMV in person, provide the police report and the car title replacement fee will be waived.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Online

One of the most convenient ways to obtain a copy of your NY driving record is through NYS DMV service known as MyDMV.

By Mail

To order your driving record by mail, you will need to submit a Request for DMV Records form. Include a copy of your drivers license, along with a money order or check in the amount of $10 (fees may vary). Make sure it is payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.

You can mail your request to the below address:

MV-15 Processing NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 6 Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12228

By Phone

To order your driving record by phone, you can call 518-486-9786, Monday to Friday, between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Keep in mind that there is a convenience fee, as well as a search fee to obtain your record.

In Person

For a copy of your driving record in person, visit your nearest NYS DMV office. Bring with you proof of identity, payment for any required fee and a Request for DMV Records form.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If you want to replace ID card credentials because yours was damaged, stolen or lost, you can do so in person at a local DMV office by mail, or you can order a replacement online. You can also get a duplicate ID if you would like to update the address that appears on the document or if you want to remove an “Under 21” designation.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
Only certain cases allow a driver to be eligible for a conditioned or restricted drivers license. If you have a suspended drivers license, you can verify whether or not you are eligible by looking over the NY DMV letter you will receive in the mail. Thereafter, follow the proper steps and instructions as stated in the letter.

A DUI attorney can help you file for a hardship license if you lost your driving privileges for drinking and driving.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you lost drivers license documentation while on active duty, then you can make a replacement request by mail. Simply send out the proper application form, along with copies of proof of identity and any applicable fees to the following address:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 207 Genesee Street, Suite 6 Utica, NY 13501-2874

For further assistance, call the NY DMV hotline at 518-473-5595. Keep in mind that you must have your replacement license sent to a United States address.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
To get traffic fines dismissed in New York, you must go to court and plead not guilty. You will have to present your reasons in front of a judge. It is up to the judge to decide whether you will have your ticket dismissed or not. You may also choose to hire an attorney to help you with the process.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
Give roughly three business days after your suspension termination fee has been paid to check the status of your NY drivers license. This will allow the DMV system to update itself with the most up-to-date information about the status of your reinstated drivers license. You can do so on the Photo Document Mailing Status page of the NY DMV website.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Before requesting a copy of another persons NY drivers record, you will first need to show proof that you have permissible use under the Drivers Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) to access this document.

Thereafter, you can request a copy by doing one of the following:

  • Complete a Request for Driving Record Information form at a local DMV office.
  • Complete a Request for DMV Records form to send by mail.
  • Complete a Freedom of Information Request Form if you wish to make your request through the FOIL office.
  • Create a Dial-In Search Account if you need constant access to their record.

To find out more information pertaining to the Drivers Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), visit this NYS DMV page.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
The state of New York allows you to replace your car registration either by mail, online or in person.

To complete the process online, you will need to visit the NYS DMV website.

To send in your request by mail, gather a copy of your drivers license, a completed Vehicle Registration/Car Title Application (Form MV-82), along with payment for any necessary fees and send them to:

NYS DMV Port Jefferson Office 3 Roads Plaza 1055 Route 112 Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776

To obtain a replacement registration in person, simply make a visit to a local DMV office with the aforementioned documents and materials. If you have lost or stolen plates, you may only request a replacement in person.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If you lost your NY car title, then you will need to obtain a duplicate car title before you can transfer your vehicle to a new owner. You can do so either online, by mail or in person at your nearby NYS DMV office.

For a replacement online, venture over to the NYS DMV Replace a Title Certificate page to get started. However, be aware that you will be unable to request a duplicate title online if:

  • You need to use a power of attorney.
  • A lien is removed.
  • It’s in the place of a deceased owner.
  • To title a boat.

To make your request by mail, send an Application for Duplicate Title (Form MV-902), copy of your drivers license and payment for a $20 fee to the address below:

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles Title Bureau P.O. Box 2750 Albany, NY 12220

You can also request a duplicate title in person by providing all of the aforementioned documents during your visit.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
The NY DMV allows you to obtain a duplicate drivers license in one of three ways: in person, online or by mail. If you choose to apply in person, you will be required to present proof of identity, as well as fill out the proper Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44). If you apply by mail, you will need to send copies of your proof of identity to the following address:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 207 Genesee Street, Suite 6 Utica, NY 13501-2874

To find a DMV office near you, enter your ZIP code here.

To apply online, simply visit the NY DMV website.

Keep in mind that regardless of which method you choose to get a replacement, a select fee will apply.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
If your vehicle is damaged beyond repair (whereby repairs would cost more than 75 percent of its retail value), then you will need to obtain a salvaged car title. You can do so by first indicating on your car title that your vehicle is damaged or destroyed. A damaged disclosure statement on the back of your car title will allow you to input this information. Thereafter you will need to bring this document, as well as proof of sales tax paid or purchase price, to any nearby DMV office.

The NYS Department of Motor Vehicles will have to conduct a vehicle examination before they can issue you a new title. For them to be able to fulfill your request, make sure you fill out the Application for Salvage Vehicle Examination, as well as submit an Vehicle Registration/Car Title Application (Form MV-82).

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

How do I obtain car registration?
If you purchased your vehicle through a private party, then you will be required to make an in-person visit to a nearby tax county collectors office to complete your car registration. However, to save yourself some time, you can fill out an application online by visiting the E-Z Visit Registration page.

If you purchased your vehicle through a dealer, then they will take care of the step-by-step process for titling and registration and for you.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
NY is an Implied Consent state, which means all drivers give automatic consent to taking a chemical test when getting behind the wheel. Refusal will result in the following drivers license suspension terms:

  • First offense: One year
  • Second offense: Eighteen months
  • Third offense: Eighteen months

You must first complete all the requirements of your suspension period, along with payment of a $300 civil penalty fee and $100 re-application fee (fees may vary). It may also be in your best interest to hire a DUI attorney to help you swiftly resolve your case. If you would like further clarification regarding your situation, contact the NYS DMV directly.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
The process of reinstating suspended drivers license credentials first requires you to comply with your suspension period, then you can reinstate your NY drivers license by visiting the closest DMV office and paying the fee according to the offense you committed. Take into account that there may be additional fees to pay.

If you have been convicted of a DUI, you may need to complete a Drinking Driver Program (DDP) before your license can be reinstated. If you have various DUI-related charges, you may be required to serve jail time. The letter you receive in the mail regarding your suspension period will state your reinstatement requirements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of New York allows its drivers to attend a defensive driving course to reduce the number of points on a driving record. This can be fundamental to preventing a drivers license suspension because if a driver accumulates 11 points within an 18-month period, all driving privileges are suspended.

You can find an approved classroom course provider by visiting this page.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

How do I renew my driving permit?
You have to renew or replace your permit for driving if it was stolen, lost, or damaged. You can do so by mail or by visiting a local DMV office in person. Unless your permit was stolen, you will need to pay the $17.50 replacement fee (this may vary). To have replacement learners permit fee waived, file a report with the police station and bring the police report in person with you.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

How do I renew my ID card?
You can renew your DMV ID card online, in person, or by mail. However, regardless of the method you choose to employ, you must keep in mind that:

  • Your ID card will expire on your birthday.
  • It can be renewed up to a year before its expiration.
  • It can be renewed up to two years after its expiration.
  • It can be renewed for less money or no fee at all if you are 62 or older and receive Supplemental Security Income.
  • It will keep the words UNDER 21 if you renew it 41 days or more before you are age 21.

However, there are also a number of instances in which you are required to renew your ID card in person:

  • If you want to upgrade to an enhanced ID card
  • If your current document says VALID WITHOUT PHOTO
  • If you want to take a new picture for your ID card

Otherwise, you will be able to renew your ID card online through the NY DMV website, or by mail to this address:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 207 Genesee Street, Suite 6 Utica, NY 13501-2874

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Members of the military who are currently on active duty can extend the deadline and put off the drivers license renewal process by filling out a Notification of Military Service form. This form must indicate:

  • The date of entering military service.
  • Your current active duty status.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
One must update their medical record before every issuance or renewal of a commercial driving license at a local DMV office. Thus, you must fill out the Medical Certification Requirements for Commercial Drivers (Form MC-11A) before you arrive.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Renewing your New York motorcycle license endorsement requires the same process as renewing a standard driving license. You have three options to choose from:

  • Online
  • By mail
  • In person

Online

If you meet the following qualifications, you will be able to renew your motorcycle license online at the NY DMV website:

  • Your Social Security number is registered with the DMV.
  • You do not want to upgrade to an enhanced driver license.
  • Your current address is not different to what is on the DMV file.
  • Your license is not suspended, revoked, or restricted.
  • Your license is not valid without a photo.
  • You do not have residency out of the United States.
  • You do not want to remove a hearing or vision restriction.

By Mail

In order to renew your license by mail, you will have to provide:

In Person

To renew your license in person at a local DMV office, you will need to bring in:

Military

If you are currently on active duty in the military outside of New York, you may have the validity of your motorcycle license extended for a period of time. However, you must mail in a Notification of Military Service form, which must include:

  • The date you entered service.
  • Your current active duty status.

Keep in mind that fees may vary for all the aforementioned.

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in New York

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Just like a U.S. citizen, in order to replace drivers license credentials, you will need to present proof of identity. For non-U.S. citizens, some acceptable documents include the following:

  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Refugee Travel Document
  • Reentry Permit
  • Foreign Passport with a valid I-551 stamp
  • Foreign Passport with a Visa
  • United States health insurance card
  • Valid Employment Authorization Card
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Certificate of Citizenship

For a full list of acceptable documentation, visit the NY DMV website.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you lost drivers license documentation out of state, then you can make a replacement request by mail. Simply send out the proper application form, along with copies of proof of identity and your required fee to the following address:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 207 Genesee Street, Suite 6 Utica, NY 13501-2874

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
If you are a new resident of New York, you will need to bring your out-of-state title to a local DMV office for a car title transfer. Make sure to present proof of New York car insurance prior to your visit as the state will not accept out-of-state insurance. Once you have gathered these two documents, you will be asked to fill out the following:

To complete the process, you will need to pay any necessary fees.

If there is a lien on your vehicle, then you will be required to present a certified copy of your title from the lienholder, as well as a statement that verifies you as the vehicle owner and includes any key details about the vehicle.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you lost a NY title for car certification, then you will need to obtain a duplicate car title before you can transfer your vehicle to a new owner. You can do so either online, by mail or in person at your nearby NYS DMV office.

For a replacement online, venture over to the NYS DMV Replace a Title Certificate page to get started. However, be aware that you will be unable to request a duplicate online if you need to use a power of attorney, if a lien is removed, in the place of a deceased owner or to title a boat.

To make your request by mail, send an Application for Duplicate Title (Form MV-902), copy of your drivers license and payment for a $20 fee to the address below:

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles Title Bureau P.O. Box 2750 Albany, NY 12220

You can also request a duplicate title in person by providing all of the aforementioned documents during your visit.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

How do I transfer my car title?
To properly transfer title for car, you will need to first have the original Certificate of Title in your possession. As the current owner of your vehicle, you will need to fill out any necessary information on the bottom portion of the car title before handing it over to the new owner. Make sure to also provide the new owner with a Bill of Sale, which should include details such as the vehicles odometer mileage disclosure, model of the car, year of the car, selling price and more.

It is advisable that you accompany the new owner to a local DMV office as to avoid any questions or issues that could potentially arise. Keep in mind that a photocopy of your car title will not be accepted.

If you are a driver who is in the process of buying a new vehicle, the dealer will be able to take care of the entire titling process for you.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
To transfer title documentation for your RV, you will need to follow the same procedure as you would for a standard vehicle. For example, you will have to fill out any necessary information on the bottom portion of the title before handing it over to the new owner. Make sure to also provide the new owner with a Bill of Sale, which should include details such as odometer mileage disclosure and sales price.

If you are the driver purchasing the RV, keep in mind that your name must appear on the title certificate as the buyer.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
If you are a member of the United States Armed Forces and you want to obtain a motorcycle endorsement, completing a MSF Basic Rider Course through the military while out of state and on active duty will waive your need to take the motorcycle road exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

How does the DMV check my vision?
The NY DMV performs a vision test in person when a new driver’s license is being issued. Every time a driver’s license is renewed, a vision test is performed again, whether it is in person, online or by mail.

When renewing online, visit the NY DMV Online Vision Registry to see if your optometrist is in the DMV’s database.

When you renew by mail or in person, complete and submit a Vision Test Report (Form MV-619).

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles requires you to hold a drivers permit for at least six months before you take the road test to obtain your drivers license. In addition, you must log a minimum of 50 hours with a supervised driver who is at least 21 years old. 15 of those hours must be at night.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
If you requested a NY car title replacement online, it may take up to three business days for your new title to be mailed out. This all depends on what day you placed your order and during what time. If you would like to know the status of your order, you can contact the Title Service Bureau phone number at 518-486-4714.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
New York is an “Implied Consent” state. This means that by getting behind the wheel of a car, you have given your automatic consent to taking a chemical test if questioned. If you refuse, your driving privileges are suspended for one year.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Typically, you should allow two weeks to receive identification cards in the mail. However, while you wait, you can check the mailing status of your order by going to the NY DMV website and providing the following:

  • Your name or Client ID Number
  • Your birthdate
  • Your gender

In the event that your document does not arrive in this time frame, it is recommended that you contact the DMV directly.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
If you receive 11 points on your NY driving record within a period of 18 months, your drivers license will be suspended. Fortunately, the DMV does offer drivers a way to prevent that outcome by enrolling in traffic school. If you are wondering how many points you have on your driving record right now, order a driving record here.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
You can enroll in New Yorks Point & Insurance Reduction Program once every 18 months to reduce up to four points from your drivers record. In order for the DMV to recognize the course completion, you must enroll in a DMV-approved traffic school. To enroll in an online traffic school class, click here.

For more information on points, visit the Ticket and Violations page.

To learn more about NY traffic school, visit the Traffic School page.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
To file a name change request on your New York car registration is free. A replacement car registration certificate with your new name printed on it costs $20. The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, credit and debit cards.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Similar to a car registration, the fee for an official name change on your car title certificate is free. The only cost you are responsible for is if you choose to order a duplicate car title that reflects the address change. The fee for a replacement car title is $20. The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, credit and debit cards.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The cost of name changing is free. You are instead responsible for paying the replacement fee, which varies depending on the document you are revising. The complete breakdown for New York is below:

  • Drivers license: $12.50 for a replacement
  • Learners permit: $12.50 for a replacement
  • Non-drive ID card: $5
  • Car registration: $3
  • Certificate of title: $20

The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, credit and debit cards.

Fees may vary.

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
NY drivers license renewal can be performed up to one year before your license expires. You have the option to renew a driver’s license in person, online or by mail. To renew online though, there are certain eligibilities you must first meet.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
The transfer of title process for the vehicle of a deceased owner depends on whether or not you are the surviving spouse, the surviving child or an individual not related to the family.

Children or the surviving spouse must complete the Affidavit for Transfer of Motor Vehicles MV3491 form.

If there are no children or surviving minor children, complete the Transfer of Vehicle Registered in Name of Deceased Person MV349 form. This form also applies when there is not a will or a Letters Testamentary or Letters of Administration have not and will not be secured.

You will also need to present a Death Certificate and the Certificate of Title. For more specific details, visit the NYS website. You can also contact a nearby DMV office for further clarification pertaining to your individual case.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, you will be charged a penalty late fee if you do not renew your car registration in time. The NY DMV grants a grace period of five business days. After that point, you will receive a fine for $200. The expiration date is the last business day of the month printed on the vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Yes, your NY drivers license replacement fee will be waived when you present a completed Police Report Form MV-78B provided by the police. In the event your drivers license was lost or stolen, it is recommended to always notify local law enforcement. In doing so, you can decrease the chances of identity theft.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
When you get into an accident, file a report with the police and provide as much detail of the incident as you can. The state of New York requires that you report all damages and give your car insurance information to the officer on the scene.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes. NY car insurance is required if you are a resident of New York state, regardless of how long you are out-of-state in a given year.

As a general rule of thumb, the state in which you vote, pay taxes to and own your primary residence in is the state you need to maintain car insurance with.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
First, double-check that your ticket has the words Traffic Violations Bureau on it. If it does, then you can request a copy of your traffic ticket online. Begin by visiting the NYS DMV Traffic Ticket Pleas, Hearings and Payments page. After inputting identifiable information about yourself, you will be able to print a hard copy of your traffic fine.

If your ticket does not state Traffic Violations Bureau, then you will have to make a stop at the local court which you issued your ticket for further instructions on how to proceed.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you must replace ID card documents while out of state, you will have to apply by mail. In order to do so, you must:

  • Fill out an Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44) or complete an online duplicate ID portal.
  • Make a photocopy of a document that proves your birthdate:
    • U.S. birth certificate
    • U.S. passport
    • Citizenship certificate
  • Make copies of documents that show proof of your name and total six points:
    • U.S. passport
    • Citizenship certificate
    • College or high school ID
  • Enclose a check for the applicable fee, and make it payable to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
  • Include a pre-paid and self-addressed envelope

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Certain drivers may be eligible to apply for a conditional drivers license while they complete the terms and regulations set forth by their NY drivers license suspension period. But, in order to apply for a conditional license, you must first participate in New Yorks Drinking Driver Program.

Once you have fulfilled all the requirements of your DUI conviction, you will then have the opportunity to reinstate your drivers license. The process to do so will depend on the violation you committed.

However, your Order of Suspension or Revocation from the NYS DMV will clearly outline what instructions you must follow. Keep in mind that you may need to pay several fees, and this varies depending on each persons individual case.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
No, the process to replace personalized license plates is the same as replacing standard NY tags. You will be required to fill out the standard paperwork, present proof of identity and pay any necessary fees in order to get NY car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes. You must be at least 18 years of age to hold a commercial driving license. However, if you are under 21, you will not be able to drive a commercial vehicle outside of your state of residence.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is not an age limit for drivers license renewal. New York seniors do not have an accelerated renewal time nor are required to go in person. All NY drivers must submit a vision test, therefore seniors will be required to follow the same vision test standards as others.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Yes, you must keep your DMV car registration in the vehicle at all times. If you are pulled over by law enforcement, you must provide your car registration or risk getting a ticket. You can read more about all things related to car registration in the New Registration section.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your NY drivers license copy will be sent to the address on file with the DMV. If you wish to change this address, you must contact the DMV ahead of time.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Senior citizens abide by the same requirements as all other New York drivers. They are given the chance to renew their driving license online up to one year before it expires but no more than two years after its expiration. Seniors have the chance to renew:

  • Online.
  • In person.
  • By mail.

All NY drivers, including seniors, must provide proof of a vision test in the form of an official Vision Test Report completed by a certified optometrist. They must also provide:

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
You may need to transfer title documentation for one of a few reasons:

  • You are in the process of selling your vehicle.
  • You are in the process of buying a vehicle.
  • You want to transfer your car as a gift to someone else.
  • You want to donate your car to a charity or another worthy cause.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Some violations that may result in a New York suspended drivers license are the following:

  • Alcohol violations
  • Drug violations
  • Unpaid traffic tickets
  • Excessive traffic tickets
  • Vehicular homicide, assault or criminal negligence
  • Speed contest
  • Failure to obtain automobile liability insurance
  • Failure to pay child support

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
In order to ride a motorcycle in New York, you must be at least 16 years old. However, if you do not yet have a NY motorcycle license and are using a permit, you must be supervised by a driver who is at least 21 years of age.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
There are five separate commercial drivers license endorsements available to you:

  • Hazardous materials (H)
  • Tank vehicles (N)
  • Passenger vehicles (P)
  • School buses (S)
  • Double or Triple Trailers (T)

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If you have a NY drivers license suspension, you can get even higher fines than the ones you already have to pay. Jail time, community service, extra points on your New York drivers record, extended suspension period, completion of safe driving courses and even a revocation of your driving privilege can be some of the consequences you face.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

What are the different types of driving records?
You can order various types of driver records through the New York Department of Motor Vehicles. These include:

  • Certified driving record abstracts.
  • Lifetime driving records.

Driving records can also be ordered online here.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The breakdown of ID card fees in the state of New York is as follows:

  • Eight-year ID card: $14
  • Four-year ID card: $10
  • 10-year ID card: $6.50

The 10-year ID card is reserved for drivers who are under 62 and receive Supplemental Security Income, or over the age of 62. In addition, if you are over 62 and receive SSI, your 10-year ID card is free.

Keep in mind that fees may vary.

The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, credit and debit cards.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
To replace license credentials, the fee is $17.50 (fees may vary). The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money orders, credit cards and debit cards.

The drivers license replacement fee can be waived if your license was lost or stolen by bringing a copy of the police report.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
In terms of restrictions, your driving permit will only allow you to operate a vehicle if you have a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old in the car with you. During this time, you must log 50 hours of driving, with 15 of those being at night, before you can upgrade your permit. In addition, you are not allowed to drive in any of the following circumstances:

  • On any street that is inside of a New York City park
  • On any tunnel or bridge that is under Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority’s jurisdiction
  • In any of the following parkways of Westchester County:
    • Cross County
    • Hutchinson River
    • Saw Mill River
    • Taconic State

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requires all New York CDL license drivers to be medically fit to drive their commercial vehicles. If operating a vehicle that weighs more than 10,000 pounds, one must pass a physical examination and have a U.S. Department of Transportation medical certificate on their person at all times.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reasons in which a driver would require duplicate car registration is due to the following:

  • Lost car registration
  • Stolen car registration
  • Damaged car registration

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
The penalties you face will depend on the violation you have committed. Penalties can range from traffic fines for less serious offenses, to a drivers license suspension in the most serious of cases. Whenever in doubt, it is advised that you consult a traffic attorney to explore your options.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Some of the DUI/DWI penalties you may face include the following:

  • Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated For instances whereby the drivers BAC is 0.18% or higher. $1,000 – $2,500 fine with a maximum jail sentence of one year, and a revoked license for at least a year.
  • Second Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated – $1,000 – $5,500 fine with a maximum jail sentence of four years, and a revoked license for at least 18 months.
  • Driving While Intoxicated (First Offense) – $500- $1,000 fee with a maximum jail sentence of one year, and a revoked license for at least six months.
  • Driving While Intoxicated (Second Offense in 10 years) – $100- $5,000 fine with a maximum jail sentence of four years, and a revoked license for at least one year.
  • Chemical Test Refusal – $500 civil penalty fee with no jail time, and a revoked license for at least one year.
  • Zero Tolerance Law – $125 civil penalty fee and $100 fee to terminate suspension with no jail time, and a revoked license for six months.

It is important to note that fees may vary.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Your reinstatement fees will vary depending on the violation(s) you have committed. However, if you have received a definite drivers license suspension, whereby your suspension period has a beginning and an end date, then you will need to pay a suspension termination fee before you can restore your drivers license. The suspension termination fee is $50. This fee is higher for those who have broken the NY Zero Tolerance No Alcohol law; in that case it is $100.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
New York car registration fees vary, depending on the weight of the vehicle. However, the NY DMV website provides an Estimate Registration Fees calculator, which allows you to have a better idea of what fees you may be required to pay. Visit it here.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
To replace lost car title documents, the fee is $20. The NY DMV accepts cash, personal checks, money order, credit and debit cards.

Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The fee to replace a lost car registration certificate is $3. If you need to replace a new license plate, the replacement fee is $25 for two new plates. If you need to replace just one license plate, the cost is $12.50.

Fees may vary if you have a customized license plate.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Whenever you receive your renewal notice in the mail, you will see mention of your required fee. If you are renewing car registration online, this fee will appear on your computer screen as you complete the process.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In order to operate a three-wheel motorcycle in New York, you must:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Have your three-wheel motorcycle registered with the NY DMV.
  • Always wear a helmet.
  • Have an NY motorcycle license.

Furthermore, it is important to note that if you take your road test on a three-wheel motorcycle, your license will be limited to operating a three-wheel motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
If you have a suspended driving license, there are certain cases whereby a driver can be eligible to drive with a conditional or restricted license in the state of New York. If this applies to you, you will receive a letter in the mail from the NY DMV about what to do next.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail your road skills exam, your learners permit will still be valid until its posted expiration date. However, if your permit expires before your next driving test, you are required to renew it.

You will be able to schedule your next road skills exam for a New York drivers license as long as you pay the additional fees (if you failed your first two attempts) and wait at least one day after failing a test to schedule your next attempt.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When you go to the local New York DMV office to obtain your drivers permit, you will have to provide the following documents:

  • An Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44)
  • Driver Education Course Certificate (if applicable)
  • A total of six points of ID, with at least one document featuring your signature:
    • Proof of name and date of birth: birth certificate, United States passport, citizenship certificate
    • Social Security card

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
In order to obtain a motorcycle driving license, you must be able to present the following documentation when you go take your road skills exam:

However, if you already have a Class M or MJ license from out-of-state and want to transfer it, then you must:

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
In order to get your driving license, you will need to provide the following while at the New York Department of Motor Vehicles office:

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
If you are requesting a New York car title replacement in person or by mail, you will need to submit a completed Application for Duplicate Title (Form MV-902), proof of identity such as your drivers license and a payment fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
There are a number of documents that you can employ to prove residency in New York after address changing:

  • W-2 tax forms
  • Car insurance bills
  • Bank notices
  • Utility bills
  • Mail from government agencies
  • Medical cards

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
To complete the process of address changing as a non-United States citizen, you must bring the following documents:

  • Evidence of your legal presence in the United States: green card
  • Evidence of your legal name change: marriage certificate, court order or divorce decree
  • Your current driving documents from the state of New York
  • A completed address change form
  • Payment of applicable replacement fee, but this is only if you choose to get a replacement document

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
For replacing car registration, the NYS DMV requires drivers to bring the following:

Proof of identity may be in the form of your drivers license or ID card, for example.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
The NY DMV requires a driver to bring the following documents in order to complete new DMV car registration:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in New York

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
If renewing in person or by mail, you will need to submit a Vehicle Registration/Car Title Application (Form MV-82) and provide proof of identity, like your valid NY driver’s license. The bottom part of your renewal notice will also be accepted.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
In order to go through drivers license renewal in New York, you must provide the following documentation:

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
In order to transfer your NY car title, you will mainly need your Certificate of Title, along with a Bill of Sale to provide the new owner with. It is important that you make a copy of the Bill of Sale for your own records as well. You may also want to write down the Odometer Disclosure Statement on the back of the title certificate.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To get a NY duplicate drivers license, you will need to show proof of identity. This must include one document with proof of date of birth, and another with proof of name.

For example, acceptable documents can include any of the following:

  • United States birth certificate
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • United States passport

Keep in mind that one document must bear your signature, and only originals will be accepted.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles requires that you pass the following exams before obtaining your motorcycle endorsement:

  • Written knowledge driving test
  • Written knowledge motorcycle test
  • Road skills exam

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in New York

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
To get a duplicate car title, the DMV agent will give an Application for Duplicate Title (Form MV-902). You also have the option to download the form here, type directly on it, then print it out to submit in person.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
The penalties you face will depend on the violation you have committed. For example, it can range from jail times, high car insurance rates, losing your job, strict fees and even a revoked or suspended drivers license. Additionally, you will be required to notify your employer of any convictions you receive.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
In the event you are convicted of a DUI or DWI, your CDL license will be suspended or revoked for a specified period of time. Keep in mind that additional convictions will result in more severe penalties.

A commercial driver will be convicted of DUI if he or she has a blood alcohol content of at least:

  • 0.04 percent, if 21 or older.
  • 0.02 percent, if under 21.

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Your original NY car title will be deemed invalid if you have already requested a car title replacement. It is highly recommended that you contact the DMV to verify what you should do with the original in the event that it has been you.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

What information does a driving record contain?
The information on the record in question depends on the kind of New York driving record you order. A lifetime record, for instance, features all of the information that the Department of Motor Vehicles still has on file. A standard abstract record only features the elements that the DMV is required by law to maintain, such as:

  • Suspensions and revocations from the last four years.
  • Refused chemical tests from the last five years.
  • Accidents and most traffic convictions from the last year.
  • DUI or DWI convictions from the last 10 years.
  • All major violations, like vehicular homicide, are displayed permanently.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

What is an ID card?
A New York ID card is a non-driver photo identification that serves as proof of identity. It is highly recommended that you obtain one if you do not have a drivers license, as identification cards allow you to open bank accounts, vote in a state elections, get public benefits, and get apartments.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The fees in which you will be required to pay for a DUI depend on your violation, your age and what type of vehicle you operate (commercial or standard). They can range anywhere between $125 for a civil penalty fee to a $5,000 fine for multiple offenses. Keep in mind that these different amounts can add up and cost you thousands of dollars.

For DUI convictions, it is highly advisable that you consult a DUI defense attorney to help you with your case.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
There are a number of factors that determine the cost of your traffic ticket fines. Some of these include the city/borough in which you were issued the ticket and what violation you committed. However, you should be able to see the traffic ticket price on the ticket itself.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fee to check your driving record will depend on the method you choose:

  • By Mail – $10 (only money orders and checks are accepted)
  • By Phone – $10 search fee and $5 service fee
  • Online, through MyDMV service – $7
  • In Person – $10

Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
Commercial drivers are charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .04% or over, which is lower than the BAC for regular licensed drivers. Therefore, the consequences and penalties for operating a commercial vehicle while under the influence is much harsher and more severe.

For example, CDL drivers convicted of a DUI will ultimately face higher fees, more jail time and a longer suspension period. They will also have points added to their driving record.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Drivers under 21 are charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .02% or over.

For a first DUI offense, a minor will face the following consequences:

  • $125 civil penalty fee
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Drivers license suspension for six months
  • May be required to enroll in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and cover all-related costs
  • May be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle and cover all-related costs

For a second offense, the following consequences will take place:

  • $125 civil penalty fee
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Drivers license suspension for a year or until 21 years of age.
  • May be required to enroll in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and cover all-related costs
  • May be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle and cover all-related costs

It is important to be aware that fees may vary.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
If you live in the state of New York, you will have to get car insurance that meets these minimum liability requirements:

  • Property damage for an accident: $10,000
  • Bodily injury for one person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury for multiple people: $50,000
  • Death for one person in an accident: $50,000
  • Death for multiple people in an accident: $100,000

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
In order to pass the written knowledge exam and obtain your learners permit, you must answer at least 14 of the 20 multiple-choice questions correctly, which must include at least two correct answers on the four questions concerning road signs.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In order to obtain a car title for your scooter or motorcycle, you will need to visit your local NYS DMV office with the following documentation:

You can get the aforementioned application in person if you feel more comfortable doing so. Be prepared to make payment for any applicable fees as well.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in New York

What languages is the written test available in?
The written drivers license exam is offered by the NY DMV in the following languages:

  • Albanian
  • Arabic
  • Bosnian
  • Cambodian
  • Chinese
  • English
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Polish
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Make an appointment with your local DMV to take a written test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
If you have been convicted of driving under the influence in New York, then you will need to abide by all the terms, rules and regulations as set forth by your drivers license suspension period. Depending if this is your first or multiple offense, your requirements may vary. Generally speaking, however, you may need to complete the following:

  • Pay any required reinstatement fees, along with penalty fees.
  • Serve any required jail time.
  • Follow through with your suspension period.
  • Enroll in a Drinking Driver Program.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you do not report an official address change to the NY DMV, you will not be able to receive your renewal notice, because your on-file address in not accurate. Furthermore, upon discovering that you did not update your address in the allotted 10 days, you will be charged a late fee.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you wait until you have an expired drivers license, which takes effect two years after the expiration date, the process for renewal becomes much more difficult. Now, when you choose to renew your license, you will be required to:

  • Take a vision test.
  • Re-take a pre-licensing course.
  • Retake the written knowledge test.
  • Retake the road skills exam.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
There are a couple proofs of car insurance that you can use when you go to register a vehicle in New York. The DMV accepts the insurance identification cards mailed to you by your auto insurer, or a printed temporary insurance certificate if you are waiting for your insurance card to arrive.

Without providing proof of car insurance, the NY DMV will not process your new registration request.

If you falsify proof of car insurance documentation, your driving privileges will be suspended.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you have not received your registration documentation, then it is advised you contact a DMV Call Center for further assistance. Depending on where you reside, there are different phone numbers to call.

To find out more about telephone assistance, visit the NY DMV Phone Numbers page. You may also choose to inquire about your registration tags in person at a local DMV office instead.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
When applying to renew drivers license privileges in New York, wait two weeks from the date of your submission to receive your new license in the mail. You can even check the mailing status of your application on the NY DMV website by providing your:

  • Client ID number or your name.
  • Gender.
  • Birthdate.

After two weeks, it is recommended that you contact the NY DMV directly.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
You are required to take a vision test and a written knowledge test before you obtain your permit to drive in New York. The written exam requirement can be waived if you pass a drivers education course and submit the certificate to the NY DMV.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
In order to obtain a license to drive commercial vehicles in the state of New York, you will have to take the following exams:

  • Written knowledge test
  • Driving road skills exam
  • Endorsement tests (if applicable)

For more information: New York Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
You will have to take and pass three exams in order to get your license to drive in New York. These include:

  • The written test
  • The road skills exam
  • A vision test

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The state of New York requires that you have property damage and bodily injury liability insurance that meet the state minimums:

  • Property damage: $10,000
  • Bodily injury, one person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury, multiple persons: $50,000
  • Death, one person: $50,000
  • Death, multiple persons: $100,000

In addition, your coverage must stay in effect throughout the duration of your current vehicle registration. The policy must be in the name of the vehicle registrant. And finally, the insurance must be issued by a NY car insurance provider that licensed by the Department of Financial Services in New York.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The Class D operator license is the most common driving license in New York. It is issued to those drivers who are 18 years or older or who are 17 and have a driver s education. This kind of license allows you to drive standard passenger vehicles and trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of at the most 26,000 pounds.

Motorcycle licenses are also available to New York residents.

If you are younger than 18, you must first get a learners permit. Visit our Learner’s Permit page for more details.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
New York car insurance is a requirement, not a choice in the state. Not having the appropriate coverage could lead to hefty fines, points on your license, and drivers license suspension.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
To reinstate suspended drivers licenses, NY drivers must wait for the suspension period to complete. Any other requirements must be met, including but not limited to any reinstatement fees, alcohol and drug awareness courses or traffic school classes you may need to take.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

When does my car registration expire?
The date in which your New York vehicle registration expires will be printed on your renewal notice. It is most often the last day of the registration expiration month. Keep in mind that to renew in person, you must consider the last business day of the month.

You can also choose to sign up to receive paperless reminders through the NY DMV website. Keep in mind that if you are currently in the military, then you may have the option to extend your registration renewal date. To get further details, contact your local DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

When does my ID card expire?
Your NY ID card is set to expire on your birthday. However, the exact time that expiration will occur depends on the kind of ID card you purchased. If you were under age 62 and your birthday was less than six months away, your card expires four years after issuance. If you were under 62 and your birthday was more than six months away, your card expires eight years after it was issued. Finally, if you were over 62 or under 62 and receive SSI, your ID card will expire 10 years after it was issued.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles requires you to file address change forms within 10 days of your move. You can notify the DMV in person, online or by mailing in an application.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in New York

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale is a form drivers can use whenever they are buying or selling used cars. This form can be used by the seller and the buyer and includes information like the color, model, year and sale price. In addition, the addresses of both buyers and sellers. In New York, a bill of sale is not required in a private sale. Instead, it is required to fill out a Statement of Transaction Claim for Credit of Sales Tax Paid to Another State for Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All‑Terrain Vehicle (ATV), Vessel, or Snowmobile (Form DT-804) to validate the purchase of a used vehicle in private sale.
When will I need to renew my license?
The NY DMV will send you a renewal notice approximately 50 days before your license expires. You have up to one year before and up to two years after its expiration date to renew drivers license documents.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
You will receive a replacement driver’s license within two weeks of requesting one. Whether you order a replacement driving license in person, by mail or online, the wait time for a duplicate drivers license is two weeks.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated New York Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
You can check to see if you have a revoked drivers license or a suspended license by visiting the New York myDMV page. Once there, you will be asked to create your own account before seeing the current status of your license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for New York

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
In New York, you can replace car registration at any DMV office. For a full listing, visit the NYS DMV website.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you have been ordered by the court to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle due to an aggravated DWI, you can find out more about where to obtain one by visiting the NY Ignition Interlock Devices page. In the majority of cases, you will be required to have this device in your car for at least six months.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
To find a traffic citation or parking ticket online, visit the NYS DMV Traffic Ticket Pleas, Hearings and Payments online. Once on this page, enter your traffic ticket number information pertaining to the ticket itself will be generated.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

Where can I get a new drivers license?
In New York, you must go to a DMV in person to take the written test, road skills exam and complete the new driver’s license applications. The process varies depending on your age. If you are new to New York and have a valid out-of-state drivers license, visit the New License page for more information. If you are a NY resident 18 or older getting a new drivers license, also visit the New License page. For all NY drivers younger than 18, review the Learner’s Permit page for more details.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in New York

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
There are two different mailing addresses you can use for your request, depending on whether youd like to receive your NY car title copy by regular mail or an expedited service.

If you would like regular mailing service, send your request to this address:

Title Bureau NYS DMV PO Box 2750 Albany, NY 12220-0750

For expedited service, your request should be sent to the following instead:

Duplicate Title Certificates NYS DMV 6 Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12228

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

Where can I obtain an ID card?
You can obtain an ID card at any local DMV office.

For more information: How to Apply for a New York Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All four-wheel passenger vehicles and trucks must have car insurance coverage at all times. This includes commercial vehicles, which must be covered by employers or for-hire vehicle owners. Motorcycles are also required to have insurance coverage in the state of New York.

A complete list of vehicles that must insured are:

  • Cars
  • Trucks
  • Commercial vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Moped
  • Scooters
  • Three-wheeled motorcycles

Off-highway vehicles (OHVs) and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) do not need to be insured because they are not driven on public roads and highways.

For more information: How To: Save on New York Auto Insurance

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
A parent or legal guardian must be present to sign your driving permit application.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in New York

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
There are times when your New York driving record will not be up-to-date with your most recent ticket. To find out the ticket information, you can simply go to the Court Clerks office in the county where you received the citation and request the information you seek directly.

For more information: Your New York Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Yes, a vision test report is required when you go to renew license privileges, regardless of whether you choose to do so online, in person, or by mail. If you renew your drivers license online, the NY DMV Online Vision Registry will determine if your optometrist is within the database, and will then be contacted. To renew by mail and pass vision testing standards, submit a completed and signed Vision Test Report (Form MV-619).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles typically sends out renewal notices about 50 days before your drivers license is set to expire. However, even if you do not receive a notice, you are required to complete drivers license renewal in New York by filling out an Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form MV-44).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in New York

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
If you are convicted of a moving violation, points will be added to your driving record. If you disagree with the conviction, it’s advised that you contact a traffic ticket attorney. You may also enroll in traffic school to remove points from your driving record. :

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in New York

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
If you would like to obtain a conditional drivers license during your DWI suspension period, then you will need to complete New Yorks Drinking Driver Program. The Order of Suspension or Revocation you receive from the NYS DMV will provide instructions on where you can enroll for said course, and thereafter obtain a conditional license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for New York

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, the state of New York requires drivers to complete an Vehicle Registration/Car Title Application (Form MV-82) when getting a car registration copy. There are certain proofs of identification that will be asked for as well. Be sure to book an appointment and review the Registration Replacement page beforehand.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in New York

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
No, proof of insurance will not be necessary to replace car title. However, you will be asked to present proof of identity, such as your valid New York drivers license.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in New York

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, you should receive a courtesy car registration renewal notice. If you do not, you are encouraged to contact the NY DMV for further clarification. Make sure that your current address is on file as this is the location your notice will be sent to.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
The date in which your registration expires will be listed on the renewal notice you receive in the mail. If you have not received a notice, you are encouraged to contact the NY DMV to verify about renewing car registration documents.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in New York