Arizona Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
All teens between 15 years and six months and 18 years of age are required to take a certified motorcycle safety course. Thirty hours of supervised driving practice must take place with the school. Once completed, the new motorcycle rider may schedule a motorcycle driving test. Keep in mind that you must hold the motorcycle driving permit for at least six months before being eligible to take the motorcycle driving test.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Motorcycle helmet laws in Arizona dictate that motorcycle riders younger than 18 must wear a helmet. If you are 18 and older, then you are not required by law to wear a safety helmet, although it is strongly encouraged. In addition, protective eyewear is mandatory if the motorcycle does not come with a front windshield.

 

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
One circumstance is if you need to get a vehicle emissions test. If you do not live in the Metro Phoenix or Tucson areas, then your vehicle is exempt from a smog test requirement. In this case, you may renew car registration up to six months in advance to the expiration date. If your car does require an emissions inspection, then you may only renew up to three months in advance because the test station results cannot be older than three months.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
No, it is not possible to have different addresses. The address that is on file for your Arizona driver s license is applied to all MVD-documentation in your name, including your vehicle registration and car title. By making a motor vehicle address change then, your car registration will automatically be updated to the new address on file.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, you cannot keep the auto insurance from your previous state of residence. All motor vehicles registered in the state of Arizona must be covered by an insurance company licensed to do business in the state. Arizona residents currently living out of state (including military personnel) are allowed to submit a De-Insured Certificate on a vehicle, but only on a short-term basis.

If moving to Arizona, make sure to maintain at least the two mandatory types of coverage required. Driving a vehicle without auto insurance in the state of Arizona can result in a suspended drivers license and/or vehicle registration.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
It is never possible to renew a commercial driver s license online in Arizona. Every five years you must get a CDL license renewal in person at an Arizona MVD office. Bring your current CDL and method of payment to be issued a renewed commercial driving license.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver s License (CDL) in Arizona

 

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
No, the state of Arizona does not allow drivers to check their certified driving records online. You are only allowed to check your 39-month uncertified DMV record online if you are eligible under the conditions defined in the Motor Vehicle Record Request form. To check your online driving record go to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division website and enter your personal information. You will also be required to pay a fee.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, at no point in time can you get a drivers permit online or take a DMV written test online. When learning how to drive, the Arizona DMV will require physical presence at the DMV for all matters. Once a full privileged license is issued though, then you can do a number of tasks online, such as:

For more information: Beginner Drivers in Arizona

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
Yes, you may drive anywhere in the US with a CDL license, so long as you are at least 21 years old. With an interstate CDL, travel across the country is expected. If you are younger than 21 though, then you may only drive for personal reasons throughout the US with a commercial drivers license.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
No, the owner of the vehicle must renew car registration. Fortunately, there are options where you may do this from the comfort of your home. Renewing car registration is available online, over the phone or by mail. Check your renewal notice for more details.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, all motorized boats must be registered with the Arizona Game and Fishing Department. First, complete a Watercraft Registration Application, and submit this in person with your AZ driver s license. Proof of ownership is also required, and can be proven by:

  • The boat title
  • Bill of sale
  • Watercraft letter of gift
  • Watercraft lienholder notification
  • Watercraft sold notice

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
No, Arizona drivers do not need a motorcycle drivers license to operate moped. Title requirements are also waived for moped owners in the state.

To drive a scooter though, you must have a motorcycle driving license. Even though scooters (also known as motor driven cycles) are slower than motorcycles and are often not allowed on major highways, they are considered a type of motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
If you were cited for a speeding ticket, you have the option of attending traffic school to have the traffic ticket dismissed. In some cases, you may be mandated by the court to attend a defensive driving course. Though, in those cases your violation will not be dismissed if you attend. You must attend an Arizona state certified defensive driving school no later than seven days before your scheduled court date.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are moving out of Arizona to another state, check with your insurance provider and the DMV in the state you are moving to for information concerning minimum required liability coverage and other car insurance related issues.

If you are moving to Arizona from another state, you must cancel your vehicle coverage as all vehicles registered in the state of Arizona must be covered by an insurance company licensed to do business in this state.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
No, filing a police report is not required for lost drivers licenses or stolen drivers licenses by the AZ MVD. Even so, notifying local law enforcement is strongly encouraged to prevent identity fraud. In addition, the drivers license replacement fee will be waived if you can provide a police report to the MVD representative.

 

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
From the moment you have discovered you are the victim of a stolen car registration, you should apply for a car registration replacement at an Arizona DMV location, as well as report the theft to a local police station. Stolen car registrations can be used in cases of fraud, so reporting the theft can deter any future issues with your driving record.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
No, the Arizona Department of Transportation does not require you to surrender your license plate when moving out of state. Every state has its own rules and regulations for new residents. Take time to examine their requirements for registering out-of-state vehicles and getting new drivers licenses.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Drivers ed is not a requirement to get a learners permit. Nonetheless, enrolling in a drivers education course is encouraged. The knowledge and expertise of a driving teacher is the most helpful way of learning how to drive. By learning the various road rules and driving techniques from a professional, beginning drivers have a higher chance of passing the DMV driving test.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Yes, if your car title is damaged or mutilated, you need to surrender it to the Arizona MVD or an authorized third-party along with the completed Title and Registration Application and the applicable duplicate vehicle title fee.

If you have a stolen car title or lost car title, you need to report it to the police as doing so will protect you from possible fraud and/or identity theft.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, if your reason for requesting a car title replacement is because it is damaged or mutilated, you will be asked to surrender the car title. The damaged pink slip can be returned in person at a Motor Vehicle Division office, or by mailing it to the address below:

Mail Drop 555M

Title Maintenance Unit

Motor Vehicle Division

P.O. Box 2100

Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, a motorized scooter needs to be registered. Vehicle title requirements are waived; you would then follow the same rules to get vehicle registration in Arizona. The cost to register a moped is $5, although may be subject to change depending on your county.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
Depending on where your vehicle is registered, then yes, you are ordered to undergo mandatory vehicle emissions testing and repair. In Arizona, the smog inspection test is known as the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP).

Vehicles made in 1967 and newer (including diesels) that are registered in the metro Phoenix (Area A) or metro Tuscon (Area B) need to have an emissions inspection. The VEIP certificate must be received 90 days before you get car registration certification.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
If you choose not to get car insurance, the state of Arizona allows you to keep a Certificate of Deposit in the amount of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer as proof of financial responsibility.

Bear in mind that if caught driving without insurance or an acceptable form of financial responsibility, you will face fines and high reinstatement fees in addition to a suspended drivers license.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
A veteran designation can be included on an ID card for US military veterans and active duty service members. Below your photo, you will see “Veteran” printed in blue ink. To do so, check the Veteran Designation box on the A Driver License/ ID Card Application Form 40-5122, and submit the signed and completed form in person at an MVD office. To prove your military status, bring the DD214, 215, 2 (Retired), 2 (Reserve), or your military ID card or Armed Force ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
The most popular way of getting a copy of the Arizona driver s manual is online. Visit the Arizona Department of Transportation website to download a PDF version, or view it as a weblink. To receive a physical copy of the book, visit a DOT office.

For more information: Arizona DMV Office Contact Information

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In Arizona, traffic tickets and fines are handled by courts located within the jurisdiction in which your citation was issued. To pay traffic tickets, driversmust contact that specific Justice Court for information on available payment options. Though, if you were given an envelope with your citation then it should contain information on how to pay for your traffic ticket by mail.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

How can I renew my drivers license?
To renew drivers licenses in Arizona, drivers must go in person. Arizona actually does not have an expiration date on any driver s license unless you are older than 65 therefore, drivers license renewal is a bit different than in other states. Every 12 years, a driver must visit an MVD office to take a new picture, and a new driver s license will be issued at that point in time. There is no option to renew drivers licenses online.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Renewing car registration in Arizona can be done online, by mail, over the phone or in person. Every vehicle owner will receive a car registration renewal notice with instructions for how to renew car registration in AZ inside. If you live in the Metro Phoenix and Tucson areas, you must also get a vehicle emissions inspection test on the vehicle.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Registering a car out of state in Arizona is simple, visit your local MVD office and bring the following items:

  • Signed and completed Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236
  • Out of state car title
  • Out of state car registration and license plates
  • Lien clearance, if applicable
  • Power of attorney, if applicable
  • Level 1 vehicle inspection, if out-of-state car registration and/or title are missing
  • Emissions inspection compliance certificate, if applicable

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
To apply for a CDL license in Arizona, the first step is to have a valid AZ driver s license. Then, study for the CDL written knowledge test and pass the vision test. Enroll in a CDL drivers ed course that pertains to your CDL type and CDL class. After practicing driving with a commercial vehicle, submit a Medical Examination form and take a road test.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
A Disability- Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application Form 96-0104 must be submitted. Organizations and individuals may apply for a disabled parking placard or plate, and disabled plates are provided to vehicles titled under the disabled driver s name. To do this, you must go to an MVD office with the signed and completed form, driver s license, vehicle title and current vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To get drivers licenses for the first time in Arizona, all applicants must first have a learners permit. New drivers less than 18 years of age are required to undergo a specific process, whereas drivers older than 18 have more freedom. After passing the vision and written test, new AZ drivers 18 and older are given a learner s permit. After completing 30 hours of driving time, 10 at night, then he or she may schedule a driving test and receive a fully privileged driving license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Arizona

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In Arizona, teens getting drivers permits have to pass a DMV written exam and vision test. Once meeting the passing requirements, beginning drivers are given a Graduated Instruction Permit. At this point, he or she has six months to practice driving to then receive a Graduated Drivers License, also known as a restricted drivers license in AZ.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
Getting a motorcycle license in Arizona takes a few steps:

  • Pass a motorcycle written test
  • Receive a motorcycle learners permit
  • Practice riding a motorcycle while abiding by instructional permit restrictions
  • Take a motorcycle driving test

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
To change the address on your car insurance, you must show an identification document with your new name printed on it. For that reason, you want to change address on DMV cards as soon as possible. Each auto insurance provider has its own specific protocol to change addresses, therefore, call your company s customer service number. With an updated drivers license, you can then present this documentation to your car insurance company as proof.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I change my address on my car registration?
The Arizona DOT keeps address changes simple. When making a drivers license address change or ID card address change, you are simultaneously making a general motor vehicle change of address. This means that your car registration and car title are automatically updated. You are simply in charge of ordering a replacement car registration for $4.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
A CDL address change is the same as a drivers license address change in Arizona, with the exception that you must go in person. Changing address on CDLs cannot be done online. Fortunately, you only need to bring in your current CDL to show proof of identity to the MVD agent. The cost to update addresses on CDLs is free, yet you are responsible for ordering a replacement CDL for

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Changing addresses on drivers licenses in Arizona requires a trip to the MVD office. With your driver s license, date of birth and full name, you can simply update your new address in the system with an MVD agent. The more popular option though, is make to change address on DMV documentation using the AZ DOT website.

A drivers license change of address is free, yet you must pay $12 for a replacement driving license.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I change my address on my ID card?
To change address on ID card documentation in AZ, residents can go in person or use the AZ DOT website. By providing your drivers license number, name and birth date, you can change the address on your identification card. While the cost to update address on ID cards is free, you are responsible for ordering a duplicate ID card, which costs $12.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
To change the name on your car insurance, you must have first notified the Social Security Administration. With an updated Social Security card, then you can get a change of name on drivers license. Once you have updated the name change on drivers license information, you can call your auto insurance company. Each company has its own procedure; however having the correct name printed on your license to drive is the first step to getting a new car insurance card.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
Fortunately, changing names on car registration is a subsequent result of processing a name change on license. By going into the MVD with the proper documentation and updating your drivers license, all motor-related documentation is also changed to your new name. To get registration with your new name printed on it, order a duplicate car registration copy.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
The Arizona MVD requires drivers to make a name change on drivers licenses within 10 days of changing names. First, change your name with the Social Security Administration and get an updated Social Security Card. Then, wait three days for the MVD system to update, bring identification documentation with your old name, and one of the following (original or certified copy):

  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court order for a name change
How do I change my name on my ID card?
To make an ID card name change in Arizona, the MVD requires you to do so within 10 days of changing names. The first step is to change names on your Social Security card. Once completed, wait three days for the system to update because the MVD first verifies your name change with your Social Security Number. Then, bring identification documentation with your old name, and one of the following (original or certified copy):

  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court order for a name change
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
There are three ways to change names on Social Security cards: in person, by mail or online.

Visit your local Social Security Administration office, and bring the original documents of the following:

  • Proof of age:
    • US passport
    • US birth certificate
    • Baptism Certificate or other religious record dated before your 5th birthday
  • Proof of identity:
    • Driver s license
    • ID card
    • US passport
    • US military ID card
    • Employee ID card
    • School ID card
    • Health insurance card
  • Proof of name change:
    • Marriage certificate
    • Divorce decree
    • Court order for a name change
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) is a federal law that controls how drivers license and motor vehicle information is distributed. Under the DPPA, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division does not allow access to anyone s DMV record unless they have “permissible use”. The Motor Vehicle Record Request form lists all the accepted users.

You can file a complaint if you believe someone has illegally accessed your DMV record to the proper authorities. If anyone discloses or obtains information from an MVD driving record for a use not permitted in the statutes defined in the form is subject to civic and/or criminal penalties.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
Local law enforcement is prepared to help you in reporting a stolen car title. As soon as you know your car title is missing due to theft, make your way to the nearest police station. The officer on duty will ask you to provide proof of identity like your driver s license. Then, he or she will provide you with the proper paperwork to complete a formal police report. With your report in the system, you are protected from unlawful activity regarding your vehicle.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If your car title has been stolen or lost, you need to visit an Arizona police station near you and report your stolen/lost car title. Reporting the car title as stolen or lost to the proper authorities will help protect you from possible fraud and identity theft. You can also present the police report instead of the damaged car title when requesting a copy car title with the Arizona MVD.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
As the Arizona Motor Vehicle Record holds personal information, not everyone is eligible to obtain a copy. Check the Motor Vehicle Record Request form to see if you have “permissible use” to request and obtain an AZ driving record.

Depending on the type of drivers record you wish to obtain, you can submit your request online, in person or by mail.

ONLINE:

  • Note that you can only check the 39-month uncertified MVR online. To do so, go to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division website and enter your personal information. You will also need to pay a fee.

BY MAIL

  • You can obtain a copy of a 5-year uncertified or 5-year certified drivers record by mail. Complete the Motor Vehicle Record Request form and pay the applicable fees via check or money order made payable to “Motor Vehicle Division.” Mail the paperwork to the address specified on the form.

IN PERSON

  • You can order a 39-month certified, 5-year uncertified or 5-year certified MVD record in person. In this case you will need to complete the Motor Vehicle Record Request form and pay the applicable fees. You can do so at your local Arizona MDV office or an authorized third-party office. Please note that you must sign your application in the presence of an Arizona MVD agent or notary.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If an ID card is lost, stolen or damaged beyond legibility, residents have the responsibility to replace ID cards. To get an ID card replacement in AZ, go to your local MVD office. Bring two documents that prove your identity, and a method of payment.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
In Arizona, the MVD will mail you information about how to get a hardship license only if you are eligible. If more than six months have passed without receiving hardship drivers license information, you are most likely not a candidate to get one. You must be convicted for a first-time DUI offense or refused to take a Breathalyzer.

To get a restricted license in Arizona, you must first pass a 90-day waiting period and have an ignition interlock device added to your vehicle. In addition, you will be asked to provide proof of SR-22 insurance. Visit an MVD office in person for more details.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

 

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
To order a military license replacement from Arizona MVD, you can use the replace driving license online option. Select the express delivery option which costs an additional $16.95 and you are given the option to send a duplicate driving license to an out-of-state address. Fortunately, this address is not printed on the AZ drivers license, and it does not change the permanent address on file with the MVD.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
You may get a traffic ticket dismissed in a few different ways. To get a traffic ticket dismissed you may:

  • Complete a defensive driving course
  • Prove that you are not-guilty at your traffic court hearing

Some find it helpful to hire a traffic or DUIattorney to present their case to the court.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
As the Arizona Motor Vehicle Record holds personal information, not everyone is eligible to obtain a copy of drivers record. Check the Motor Vehicle Record Request form to see if you have “permissible use” to request and obtain an AZ driving record.

If you are eligible to obtain someone else s drivers record, you will need a completed Motor Vehicle Record Request form and a signed consent form from the driver. The Arizona MVD allows you to check driving record online or in person at any Arizona MDV office or an authorized third-party office. You can also mail the form, the signed consent and the applicable fee to the address specified on the form.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
Getting duplicate car registration from the MVD can be done online. By logging onto the Arizona Department of Transportation website, you can order a car registration replacement. Other methods are to visit an MVD office or third-party authorized tag agency with your driver s license and vehicle title to request a replacement registration, or by mail. To do so, you must fill out an Application for Duplicate Registration form.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If you original car title is lost, stolen or damaged, you need to apply for a car title replacement. To obtain a duplicate vehicle title you are required to:

  • Complete the Title and Registration Application
  • If the original title is damaged or mutilated, you must surrender it when applying for a replacement
  • If your title shows a lienholder, you need to submit a lien release form
  • A photo ID may be required for applicants who decide to make an in-person visit at the Arizona MVD
  • Provide payment of the $4 duplicate title fee.

You can submit the required documentation at any Arizona DMV location or send it by mail to:

Motor Vehicle Division P.O. Box 2100 MD 555M Phoenix, AZ 85001

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
The most popular way of ordering a duplicate drivers license is online. To take advantage of the online option, you have to have an AZ drivers license or ID card with a current digital photo on file. The second option is to go in person to an MVD office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
A salvaged car title indicates that a vehicle was stolen or damaged by the owner, destroyed, wrecked or water damaged to the extent that it is uneconomical to fix it. To get a restored salvage title in Arizona, you must make an appointment at a Level III Inspection site and receive an emissions compliance certificate from the inspector. To get a salvaged title, make an appointment at the MVD.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

How do I obtain car registration?
To get car registration in Arizona, vehicle owners must go in person to a Department of Transportation office within 15 days of purchasing a new vehicle. If you recently moved to Arizona, you are required to transfer out of state car registration as soon as possible. All owners on the vehicle title must be present, or a power of attorney is provided allowing the individual to register car information without all the owners.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
Arizona driving laws do not include any statutes against habitual traffic offenders. However, if you accumulate too many points on your driving record, you may receive excessive fines and a drivers license suspension.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If you refuse to submit or fail to complete any tests when arrested for a DUI/DWI, you will automatically lose your driving privileges for one year or for 24 months for a second refusal within 84 months. To reinstate your driving privileges, you will need to pay a $10 reinstatement fee in addition to an application fee. You must also provide proof of insurance of an SR-22 form. In addition, you will have to complete alcohol or drug screening before you can obtain a restricted permit or reinstate suspended drivers license or reinstate revoked drivers license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Suspended drivers license reinstatement has two pathways, depending on the reason for suspension. If you were convicted of drinking and driving, you must request an investigation packet. Once the investigation is completed, you may proceed with applying for reinstating suspended drivers license.

If your driving privileges were suspended or revoked for other reasons, then simply wait for the suspension period to complete before applying to reinstate revoked drivers license. All court fees and penalty fines must be paid, and a court clearance receipt or Court Abstract Form will be requested as proof. You can do so in person at an MVD office, or if you have a recent photo on file, you can submit your reinstatement request by mail or online.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
You can prevent the accumulation of points on your Arizona driver s license by attending defensive driving school. If you choose to attend traffic school, points will not be assed to your driving record. You may only attend a state certified defensive driving course for the reversion of a citation one time in a 12-month period.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

How do I renew my driving permit?
An Arizona permit for driving can be renewed one time within 24 months. The majority of beginning drivers that apply for one receive a Graduated Driving License within that time period. If your child or you did not get a restricted drivers license within the allotted time, then you must apply for a driving permit again.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

How do I renew my ID card?
Arizona is unique in its renewal requirements. Both driver s licenses and DMV ID cards never expire, until you turn 65 years of age. Instead, the photo must be updated every 12 years. To get an ID card renewal in Arizona, go to the MVD office nearest you to take a new photo.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division understands the pressing importance of your out-of-state military service. For that reason, a military drivers license renewal is not required until you have returned to Arizona. Even when the expiration date has passed, your AZ driving license remains valid up to six months after your return to the state. Take note that you must also carry your military ID card to prove active duty service.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
All CDL drivers must submit a new medical examination report once a year. Have your primary physician complete and sign a Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness form, then submit it by January 31 of every year. Whether or not your commercial drivers license is still valid, your rights to drive commercially will be revoked if you do not meet this deadline.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
To renew a motorcycle license, you are following the same steps as you would for your drivers license, as they are one and the same. There are two options to renew motorcycle licenses in AZ:

  • Online
  • In person

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in Arizona

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
So long as you have a valid AZ driver s license and an up-to-date photograph on file, you can use the MVD online system. If not, then you must go in person to a drivers license office. Bring two proofs of identification with you. The primary must be one of the two:

  • Foreign passport with US Visa or Visa Waiver I-94W
  • I-94 Form without passport (must have a photo)

The secondary form can be any official document that doesn t include date of birth, such as:

  • W-2
  • Social Security card
  • Credit card
  • Health insurance card
  • School ID

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
To order a duplicate drivers license when out of state, the Arizona MVD will send a temporary drivers license replacement card to an out-of-state address. Call 877-301-8093 and have ready the last four digits of your Social Security Number, date of birth and provide your full name. Once your identity if verified, a drivers license copy is mailed out the same day.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Transferring car titles from out of state into Arizona requires submitting the following documents in person at an MVD office:

  • A completed, signed Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236
  • An emission compliance form (Phoenix and Tucson areas only)
  • A Level I vehicle inspection, if out-of-state title and/or registration is missing
  • Out of state car title (or registration, if title is held by lienholder)
  • Out of state license plates
  • A lien clearance, if applicable
  • Power of Attorney from the lessor (original or certified copy), if leased vehicle

Then you must pay for the new car title and car registration fees, which vary by county, vehicle type and tag type.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
As the seller, you are responsible for providing a transferred car title. Therefore, the first step if you lost the pink slip is to apply for a replacement car title. Use Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236 and submit it to the Arizona MVD. Once the duplicate car title is received, you may sign it over to the buyer.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

How do I transfer my car title?
A car title transfer is the responsibility of the seller in a private sale. On the back of the pink slip, he or she must write his or her name, signature, odometer reading and sale price. Then, the buyer must sign and date the newly transferred car title. The two must then get it notarized, at which point, it can then be brought to the MVD by the buyer to title and register the vehicle with the AZ Department of Transportation.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Getting an RV title and RV registration in Arizona is the same process for regular vehicles. Get an emissions test, complete the Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236 and be prepared to pay the necessary vehicle registration and titles fees.

To transfer an RV car title, the seller must write his or her name on the back of the slip, and include the price, odometer reading and date. The buyer is responsible for getting an RV title and RV registration, which is the same process for regular vehicles. Get an emissions test, complete the Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236 and be prepared to pay the necessary vehicle registration and titles fees.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
In Arizona, members of the military must follow the same process as civilians when getting a motorcycle license. If a loved one or you are stationed out of state though, then your motorcycle license renewal requirement is waived. Your motorcycle drivers license will be valid up to six months after you leave military service.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

How does the DMV check my vision?
The vision screening exam is a simple procedure at the Arizona DMV. If you wear corrective lenses or contact lenses for distance vision, be sure to wear them. A score of 20/40 in one eye must is required to get an unrestricted license, otherwise you will receive an “A” restriction which requires you to wear glasses or contact lenses at all times while driving.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Arizona

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The first requirement of getting a learning permit is to be at least 15 years and six months old. If you get a driving permit while younger than 16, then you must hold the learner s permit for at least six months. After passing the driving test, then a restricted driver s license is issued. When you turn 18, then your driving license becomes a fully privileged license.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Unfortunately, you cannot replace lost car titles online in the state of Arizona. If your car title has been lost, stolen or damaged you need to apply for a car title copy in person or by mail. Fill out the Title and Registration Application and submit it to the Arizona MVD or an authorized third-party along with your damaged car title, if available, and the applicable duplicate vehicle title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Arizona is an Implied Consent state, which means that if you get behind the wheel of a vehicle, you give automatic consent for being asked to take a Breathalyzer test, or other type of substance-detecting test. If you refuse to take a chemical test, you must surrender your driver s license to the officer. In addition, he or she could request a drivers license suspension for up to 12 months.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
When you get your first ID card in person, you will receive it in the same day. Because the MVD office prints out identification cards on site, any type of request is performed in the same day. For instance, when you renew ID cards or replace ID cards in person, a new one will be issued immediately.

If you opt to get ID card replacements online or over the phone, a new ID will arrive within two weeks.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
Under the Arizona point system, you accumulate points on your driving record for each moving traffic violation you commit. If you accumulate 8 points or more on your drivers record within a 12 month period, your drivers license will be suspended. Different violations are assigned different point values. However, bear in mind that moving violations like reckless driving, aggressive driving and DUI carry eight points each which means that any of these traffic violations will result with a suspended drivers license.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
The AZ Motor Vehicle Department holds records of all the points accumulated on your drivers license. You can attend traffic school if you wish to remove some of the points from your driving record. However, keep in mind that you are only allowed to attend if you have less than 13 points on your drivers record. You are also allowed to attend once every two years.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
After processing a name change on car registration documentation, you are not automatically mailed a new car registration. Instead, you must request a duplicate car registration. In Arizona, a car registration replacement costs $4 and can be ordered online using a major credit card.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
When making a legal name change with the MVD, all your vehicle-related documentation is also updated. Even so, new documentation with your new name printed on it is not automatically mailed to you. To show the changed name on car title documentation, you must order a duplicate car title. Fill out a Title and Registration Application Form 96-0236, then, submit in person at an MVD or by mail to:

Motor Vehicle Division P.O. Box 2100 MD 555M Phoenix, AZ 85001

The cost for a replacement car title in Arizona is $4.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The cost for a DMV name change is free. You may always update your MVD-related information at any point in time free of cost. Drivers are instead responsible for ordering duplicate copies of any documentation though. A duplicate drivers license or ID card replacement which shows a new name costs $12 in Arizona.
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
The Arizona Department of Transportation issues five-year commercial driving licenses. Every year, a Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness form must be submitted unless you select to self-certify. Renewing a CDL is only possible in person.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver s License (CDL) in Arizona

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
The Arizona Department of Transportation allows drivers to renew drivers licenses any time before the expiration date. To do so, you must go in person to an MVD office. For drivers younger than 60, you are going to take a new photo every 12 years. For drivers 60 and older, then you are issued a drivers license valid for five years.

For more information: How to Renew a Senior Driver s License

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
The family member must have completed and signed a Beneficiary Designation for Vehicle Title Transfer Upon Death Form 96-0561. With this form, bring the current vehicle title and your current AZ driver s license to an MVD office. You will then be responsible for paying the new car title and car registration fees.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, there is an additional late fee to renew expired car registration. If you are late to renew within the same month, then add $8. For every additional month after the expiration date, add an additional $4.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Yes, by showing proof of a police report copy, the replace drivers license fee is waived. You will not be able to take advantage of the online method. Instead, make an appointment at your local MVD office to replace DMV drivers license documentation. Show the police report alongside the necessary documentation.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been in an accident and suffered damages to your vehicle, contact your auto insurance provider as soon as possible. Property Damage Liability Insurance is one of the forms of minimum liability insurance required by Arizona state laws and protects you in case of damages caused to the vehicles or property of others.

The state of Arizona does not require private citizens to report auto accidents. A report will be made by the concerning police officer if the accident resulted in damage to property in excess of $1000.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes, you must apply for car coverage even if you are living outside Arizona for a certain period of time. However, Arizona residents who are temporarily living out of state (including military personnel) are allowed to de-insure their vehicle, but only on a short-term basis. De-insurance is a method of temporarily not maintaining the required insurance on the vehicle. To de-insure your vehicle, complete the online De-Insured Certificate. After you have submitted the form, the information will be entered into the vehicle record, within two business days.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your traffic ticket, you can find the information again by contacting the court that oversees the area in which you were cited. In Arizona, Justice Courts handle civil violations such as traffic fines. Visit the Arizona Department of Public Safety website to locate a court.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you lose your ID while out of state, you can replace an ID card by calling 877-301-8093. The Arizona MVD will send a temporary replacement ID cards the same day. For more help, call the MVD:

  • Phoenix: 602.255.0072
  • Tucson: 520.629.9808
  • Elsewhere in Arizona: 800.251.5866

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
If you are 21 and older, and pulled over for driving with a BAC 0.08 percent or more, or if you are below 21 and driving with a BAC of 0.02 percent or more, the police officer may arrest you and confiscate your Arizona drivers license. In addition, the arresting officer will issue a temporary permit and complete a notice of license suspension/revocation depending on the severity and nature of the offense along with the warrant.

The driver is entitled to apply in writing for an administrative hearing within 15 days of the notice of suspension/revocation. Driving privileges may or may not be reinstated pending the outcome of the hearing. To ensure that the hearing does not go against you, you are advised to consult Arizona lawyers beforehand.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
If you have lost personalized license plates in Arizona, you can request a personalized plate replacement by visiting an Arizona DMV location. You can also apply for a personalized car registration replacement through the mail by sending in a Special Plate Application. Indicate on the application that you are requesting a license plate replacement and include the $5 fee (along with the postage and handling fee; fees may vary).

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
To apply for a CDL in Arizona, you must be at least 18 years of age. At that point in time, you have had a driver s license for at least one year s time, which is a CDL license requirement. Commercial drivers between 18 and 21 are restricted to intrastate travel though. On your 21stbirthday though, your CDL automatically changes to interstate and you are able to drive across all state borders.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, there is not an age limit for drivers license renewal in Arizona. Instead, drivers must get a new photo taken every 12 years. If your photo lands between your 60th and 65th birthdays, then you will receive a drivers license that is valid for five years. To renew expired drivers licenses, you will have to undergo a vision and writing test again, and possibly a roads test.

For more information: How to Renew a Senior Driver s License

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Your car registration should always be carried in your vehicle. If you are pulled over while driving, the law enforcement officer will first ask to see your driver s license and vehicle registration. At this point, he or she will verify that you are up to date in your registration, and therefore are authorized to be driving the vehicle on public roadways. If car registration cannot be provided, you may be issued a citation.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The MVD will send a duplicate drivers license to the address on file. The one exception is if you choose the express mail delivery option, which asks you to provide an alternate address. This would be the option to choose if you lost drivers license while out of state or need it to go to another part of the state. Take note that you can change address on drivers license documentation before requesting a drivers license replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Once you reach the age of 60, your driver s license is valid for five years. Generally, an Arizona driver s license does not expire until age 65, and vision requirements and photos are updated every 12 years. Once your driving license is reverted to a five-year one, then you may renew drivers license in person at a motor vehicle office.

For more information: Senior Drivers in Arizona

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
The most common reasons for a transfer of title in Arizona are:

  • To sell a used vehicle to a buyer
  • To gift a vehicle to a loved one
  • To inherit a vehicle
  • To donate a vehicle to a charity

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
Arizona drivers can receive drivers license suspensions for a number of reasons. Drivers can receive a suspended drivers licenses due to the following:

  • DUI convictions
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving felonies
  • Too many points on your driving record
  • Driving without the minimum car insurance

Contact your local DMV office for more information on reinstating suspended drivers licenses.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
To get a motorcycle license, you must be at least 15 years and six months old in Arizona. After which, you must hold a learner s permit until a motorcycle training course or 30 hours of riding is completed. If you are 18 and older, you do not need to get a learner s permit; however, you must pass a motorcycle driving test or get certification from a motorcycle drivers training school.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
There are five different types of CDL endorsements commercial drivers can receive in Arizona:

  1. Passenger endorsement
  2. School bus endorsement
  3. Doubles/triples endorsement
  4. Tank vehicle endorsement
  5. Hazardous materials endorsement

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver s License (CDL) in Arizona

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If caught driving with a suspended drivers license in Arizona, your vehicle will be impounded up to 30 days. To get your vehicle out, you will need to wait for the number of days to pass. Take note that subsequent citations for driving on a suspended or revoked drivers license could incur a longer suspension time and penalty fees.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

What are the different types of driving records?
There are three types of DMV records that you can obtain from the Arizona MVD.

  • The 39-month uncertified record which shows your traffic history in the last 39 months. This record can be obtained online, in person or by mail and costs $3.
  • The 39-month certified record which shows your traffic violations in the last 39 months which can be obtained in person only at an AZ MVD near you. The cost of this type of MVR is $5.
  • The 5-year certified and uncertified driving record, which shows your traffic violations in the last 5 years. This type of MVR can be obtained by mail or in person. The fee for the certified is $5 and $ 3 for the uncertified DMV record.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Arizona ID card-related fees are as follows:

  • New ID card: $12
  • ID Card renewal: $4
  • ID Card replacement: $4

All MVD offices accept cash, check, traveler s check or money order. Call your specific MVD location in advance to find out if credit or debit cards are accepted.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The cost to replace DMV drivers licenses in Arizona is $12. The AZ MVD accepts cash, checks, traveler s checks and money orders at all locations. Call your specific MVD office in advance to find out if credit or debit cards are accepted. When ordering a driving license duplicate online, major credit and debit cards are accepted.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
With an original instruction permit, you must drive with a fully-licensed driver at least 21 years of age between the hours of daylight. Once a Graduated Drivers License is issued, there is more freedom. Driving is restricted only between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. In addition, drivers must have a parent or legal guardian sitting in the passenger seat. The one exception is when driving to and from a school-sponsored event, religious event, work or a family emergency.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
To be a commercial driver in Arizona, you must show proof of being in good health. An illness or other condition could otherwise cause an accident or collision while on the roads. To maintain this, the Arizona Department of Transportation works with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to guarantee all CDL licensed drivers complete a medical evaluation form.

Have your primary physician fill out a Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness form.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Arizona residents will need to replace car registrations for a number of reasons. Reasons include:

  • Loss
  • Theft
  • Damaged beyond legibility

If you have recently found out your registration has been stolen, misplaced, or damaged, order a car registration replacement through an Arizona DMV location.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you are convicted of a traffic violation as a minor driver with a graduated drivers license, then you will be subject to the following penalties:

  • Mandatory attendance of Traffic Survival School
  • Will have violation go on your driving record

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
The penalties of a DUI conviction in Arizona depend on the severity of the offense and the number of times you have been convicted for it.

  • Being charged with a standard DUI will result in fines and jail time of 10 days (for a first offense) to 90 days (for second and subsequent offenses). If convicted of a standard DUI for a second time or more, your license will be revoked for one year.
  • If charged with extreme DUI/DWI, you will be jailed for 30 days (for a first offense) and 120 days (for second and subsequent offenses). In addition, your license will be revoked for one year.
  • Being charged with an aggravated DUI will result in jail time of two years or less and a revoked license for three years.

You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening, education or treatment and to equip any vehicle you drive with a certified ignition interlock device. You might also be ordered to perform community service.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
There is a $10 reinstatement fee, and then an application fee which varies depending on age:

  • Age 50 and older: $10
  • Ages 45-49: $15
  • Ages 40-44: $20
  • Age 39 and younger: $25

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
In Arizona, DMV car registration fees vary depending on the vehicle type and county fees. All vehicle owners, however, will be responsible for the following base auto registration costs:

  • Title fee: $4
  • Registration fee: $8
  • Air-Quality research fee: $1.50
  • Vehicle license tax (VLT): Varies by the amount of personal property tax charged by other states
    • The VLT is determined on the manufacturer s base retail price, and is calculated to take into account each year the vehicle was registered, and other assessments. Contact your local MVD office for the exact fee.

You may pay with cash, check, money order or traveler s check, however, to use credit cards, you must first verify if your MVD location accepts.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The fee to obtain a duplicate vehicle title at the Arizona MVD is $4. You will also need to complete a Title and Registration Application and submit your damaged car title, if available. You can apply for a replacement car title in person at an Arizona DMV near you or send the required documentation by mail to:

Motor Vehicle Division P.O. Box 2100 MD 555M Phoenix, AZ 85001

If you are applying for a car title copy by mail, you can pay the fee by check made out to “Motor Vehicle Division”.

Keep in mind that you will be charged an additional $8 registration fee if you are registering your vehicle at the same time.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
In Arizona, car registration replacement or license plate replacement is $5. You may replace car registration online, by mail or in person. If you choose to get a car registration copy in person, cash, check, money order or traveler s check is accepted. Unfortunately, not every MVD office accepts major credit or debit cards. You are encouraged to call your local AZ MVD office beforehand to verify the method of payment.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Car registration renewal fees vary depending on vehicle model year and type of license plate chosen. Check your vehicle registration renewal notice for the exact amount. Standard renewing car registration fees in AZ are $8 and the vehicle tax fee.

Cash, check, money order or traveler s checks are accepted when going in person. You can pay with a major credit or debit card if you renew car registration online though.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
To operate a three-wheel motorcycle or trike in Arizona, all motorists need a motorcycle drivers license. Depending on your age, you may need to hold a motorcycle learning permit. All beginner three-wheeled motorcycle riders must pass the following test:

  1. Vision exam
  2. Written driving test
  3. Three-wheeled motorcycle drivers exam

You will receive a motorcycle endorsement on your driver s license upon successful completion of all requirements.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
If you have a suspended driving license, you may be eligible for a hardship license. In Arizona, you fit the necessary requirements for a hardship license only if caught driving under the influence. It must be your first DUI within five years, the incident must not have caused physical injury, and you were protected by valid auto insurance at the time.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

 

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
The drivers exam is the last step to getting an Arizona driver s license. Even when driving the required 30 hours and practicing for months, failing the exam is a possibility. Fortunately, the Arizona DMV allows new drivers to retake the driving test as many times as it takes. The one stipulation is that you must wait seven days to retake the test from the day you failed the last one.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Arizona

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When completing a drivers permit application, have the following documents on hand to provide at the same time:

  • Parental consent
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of age
  • Proof of Arizona residency
  • Social Security card

If available, you may show an AZ ID card to show proof of identity, age and residency. Otherwise, bring in separate documentation.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
The only document required when applying for a motorcycle license is a valid Arizona driver s license. There isn t a separate motorcycle license available in Arizona; instead, you receive a motorcycle endorsement on your current driving license. If you are younger than 18, you must first hold a motorcycle learning permit for six months time, and take a motorcycle safety course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
When completing a drivers license application, bring the following documents:

  • Instructional learning permit
  • Parental consent form (if younger than 18)

If you are a new resident to Arizona and getting drivers license for the first time, so long as you have a valid license, you simply have to bring in the following items:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof of presence

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Arizona

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
If you original car title is lost, stolen or damaged, you need to apply for car title replacement. To obtain a duplicate vehicle title you are required to:

  • Complete the Title and Registration Application. When filling in the form check the appropriate box at the top of the form, thus making sure that you are applying for a car title replacement. Note that only one owner can sign the application, regardless how many owners are listed on the title
  • If the original title is damaged or mutilated, you must surrender it when applying for a replacement. When submitting the original title, you do not have to sign the back of the title.
  • If your title shows a lienholder, the duplicate title will be sent to the lienholder. To avoid this situation, you need to submit a lien release form or power of attorney from the first lienholder.
  • A photo ID may be required for applicants who decide to make an in-person visit at the Arizona MVD.

You must also provide payment of the $4 duplicate title fee. If you submit your application by mail, pay with a check made out to “Motor Vehicle Division”.

You can submit the required documentation at any Arizona DMV location or send it by mail to:

Motor Vehicle DivisionP.O. Box 2100MD 555MPhoenix, AZ 85001

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
The Arizona MVD does not require you to show proof of new residency when moving. In other MVD-related procedures where proof of residency is required, bring the following items:

  • Bank statements
  • Utilities bills
  • Phone statements
  • School letters

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
When changing addresses as a non-US citizen, you only need to provide your current driver s license or ID card. By having a valid MVD document, you present proof that you have the correct documentation necessary.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
If your vehicle registration is lost, stolen or damaged, you are responsible for getting a duplicate car registration. While you may go online or mail in the proper form, the third option is to go in person to an MVD office. The necessary documentation will be as follows:

  • Your valid Arizona driver s license or ID card
  • The damaged car registration, if applicable
  • Police report for stolen car registration
  • Vehicle title, if your address is different then what is on file

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
When registering cars that were recently purchased in Arizona, vehicle owners must bring the following documentation:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Most drivers can renew car registration online. In that case, you must provide your name, last four digits of your Social Security Number and driver s license number. If you are required to go in person, it may be to show proof of a vehicle emissions inspection certificate. Another reason would be to prove payment for delinquent vehicle-related fees, in which case a court receipt will be needed. When you renew car registration in person, bring your current vehicle registration, car registration renewal notice, method of payment and any other forms of documents listed in the notice.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
To renew licenses in Arizona, drivers will actually be updating their photos on their drivers licenses. The only document needed is the current driver s license. Once a photo is taken, a renewed driving license is issued the same day.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
To transfer car titles in a private sale, the following items are needed:

The buyer must then go to the MVD with these items and pay all related car title and car registration fees, which vary by vehicle, county and tag.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
When requesting a drivers license replacement online, you need to provide the following information:

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • License number
  • Last four digits of your Social Security Number

If you go in person to replace lost drivers license, bring in two proofs of identification a primary form of ID and a secondary form of ID (without a photo).

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
In Arizona, there are three types of exams that must be taken:

  1. Vision test
  2. Written drivers test
  3. Driving test

In order to take the exams, first make an appointment at the MVD. The first two tests vision and written are to get a motorcycle learners permit. The successful completion of the motorcycle driving test will result in you getting your AZ motorcycle drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Arizona

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
When requesting a car title copy at the Arizona MVD, you are required to complete a Title and Registration Application. You will also need to submit a lien release form or power of attorney from the first lienholder if a lien is recorded on the car title. In addition, you need to present your original cat title, if available, and pay the required duplicate car title fee of $4. You can apply for a duplicate Arizona vehicle title in person at an AZ DMV near you or by mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you receive traffic ticket fines in Arizona while holding a CDL license, first notify your employer of the citation. If you are issued traffic fines outside of Arizona and possess an Arizona CDL license, alsoinform the Arizona DMV. Otherwise, the process of pleading guilty or not guilty when paying traffic tickets is the same for CDL license holders. However, the penalties for guilty pleas for CDL license holders are typically stiffer than for noncommercial drivers.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
The penalties for driving under the influence in Arizona are severe:

  • First conviction: One year in jail
  • First conviction in a Hazmat vehicle: Three years in jail
  • Second conviction: Lifetime jail sentence
  • Second conviction in a Hazmat vehicle: Lifetime jail sentence

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Colorado

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Once you have applied and obtained a duplicate Arizona vehicle title, your original title is deemed invalid. However, if the original car title does turn up, make sure to contact the Arizona Department of Transport for further instructions that might apply to your specific case.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

What information does a driving record contain?
Your Arizona Motor Vehicle Record contains information concerning your drivers license status, the number of points you have accumulated, you traffic tickets and fines as well as the suspensions and restrictions on your drivers license. It also contains personal identifying information such as your Social Security number, driving license number, name, address and medical/disability information.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An ID card is used to prove the identity of an Arizona resident. The details included are a photo, full name, birth date and residential address. An identification card can be used to fly within the country, open bank accounts and even purchase alcohol. At no point in time can an ID card holder drive a motor vehicle on public roadways.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of a DUI conviction in Arizona depends on the severity of the offense and the number of times you have been convicted for it.

Standard DUI conviction

  • The fine for a first offence is $1,250 or more
  • The fine for a second and subsequent offenses is $3,000 or more

Extreme DUI/DWI conviction (for persons with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher)

  • The fine for a first offence is $2,500 or more
  • The fine for a second and subsequent offenses is $3,250 or more

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic tickets is dependent upon several factors such as:

  • Cost of defensive driving course
  • Traffic ticket price
  • Court fees
  • Lawyer fees

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fees to check or obtain a copy of your AZ driving record depend on the type of DMV record you wish to order or check. The fee for a certified MVR is $5, whereas the fee for an uncertified MVR is $3. You can pay by cash, credit card, check or money order. However, make sure to check with your Arizona DMV location to find out which methods of payment are accepted. The manner of payment also depends on how you check your driving record.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
If you are a commercial driver license holder and pulled over while driving with a BAC higher than 0.04 percent for the first time, you will lose your driving privileges for the duration of 60 days. For a second offense within three years, the state of Arizona will suspended your license for 120 days and one year for the third or subsequent offense within three years.

Other penalties and /or fines may apply for commercial drivers convicted of a DUI/DWI depending on the severity and nature of the offense.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
The BAC limit for minors in the state of Arizona is 0.02 percent or higher. This offense is classified as a misdemeanor criminal conviction and will result in a suspended license for two years. Other penalties and /or fines may apply for minors convicted of a DUI/DWI depending on the severity and nature of the offense.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum coverage limits required by the state of Arizona are as follows:

  • Bodily-injury liability:
    • $15,000 per person
    • $30,000 per accident
  • Property-damage liability:
    • $10,000 per accident

The state of Arizona also allows you to opt out of auto insurance by providing a Certificate of Deposit of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer as proof of financial responsibility.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
To pass the Arizona DMV written test, you must get at least 24 answers correct. The writing exam consists of 30 questions that deal with the following:

  • Road rules
  • Pavement markings
  • Traffic lights
  • Road signs

For more information: Beginner Drivers in Arizona

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In Arizona, the need to title and register scooters and mopeds is waived because they do not comply with the safety guidelines to travel on most major roadways.

A title for motorcycles is required though, and you would follow the same procedure for a vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Arizona

What languages is the written test available in?
Unfortunately, the Arizona written test is available in English only. To accommodate non-English Arizona residents, the written test can be taken verbally. If reading English is difficult, then a moderator will read the questions and possible answers to you in English.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in Arizona

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Once your suspension/revocation period is over, you can apply for a reinstatement of your driving privileges with the Arizona DOT. The requirements to reinstate your license to drive depend upon the severity and the nature of the violation. However, they typically involve:

  • Retaking the DMV test (vision, written and driving) if your driving license has been suspended/revoked for a year.
  • Successful completion of a state-approved traffic survival school reform program.
  • Payment of reinstatement fee of $20 and application fee.
  • Maintain proof of financial responsibility for two years from the date of suspension/revocation by filing SR-22 form, if you are over 21 years old.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If caught driving with an outdated address, you may be cited for having inaccurate information on your drivers license. Other penalties would be in regards to missing important mail by the MVD to the old address on file. Tickets and other notices that go without attention could result in drivers license suspension or points on your driving record.

Be sure to make an official address change with the MVD within 10 days of changing residences.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Fortunately, Arizona drivers have a unique possibility of never having the risk of driving on an invalid drivers license. An AZ drivers license remains valid until the holder turn 65 years of age. Nonetheless, a photo must be updated every 12 years. If you are pulled over and the law enforcement officer deems your picture too outdated, you may be issued a warning or a citation.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
In order to register your vehicle with the Arizona MVD, you must provide proof of auto insurance along with the other required documentation and applicable fees and taxes. To register your car in Arizona, present proof of meeting Arizona s required coverage amounts for Bodily Injury Liability Insurance and Property Damage Liability Insurance. Proof of car insurance accepted by the AZ DOT include:

  • An insurance card from your Arizona car insurance company.
  • A copy of your auto insurance policy.
  • An image of your insurance card on a mobile device

Alternatively, you can opt out of car insurance and present a Certificate of Deposit of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer as proof of financial responsibility.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you have not yet received your decal, contact the AZ MVD at the following numbers:

  • 602-255-0072 if calling from Phoenix
  • 520-629-9808 if calling from Tucson
  • 800-251-5866 for elsewhere in the state

It is your responsibility to contact the MVC if you have not received your decal or license plate in the mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Fortunately, when updating your photo image with the AZ MVD in person, a new driver s license will be issued at that point in time. The same applies for seniors renewing drivers licenses in Arizona. The process for how to renew drivers licenses is simple: Visit the MVD in person, take a new photo, and receive an updated license to drive.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
A written drivers test is required to get an AZ learners permit. In addition, vision will be tested at the same time. After having a restricted drivers license for six months, teen drivers must pass a behind-the-wheel drivers exam.

For more information: Beginner Drivers in Arizona

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Getting a license to drive commercial in Arizona requires a series of written tests and drivers ed exams. The first set of CDL tests are the medical and vision exams. Preventing the risk of collisions and accidents is imperative for commercial drivers; therefore a Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness must be submitted in order to take the written test. Once the CDL writing exam is completed, you will receive a CDL learner s permit. Within this time period, you are given the time to practice and study for CDL endorsements and CDL class types. Depending on the type of endorsement and class, you will then have another series of written tests and a CDL driving exam.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
There are three tests to take when applying for drivers licenses in Arizona:

  • Vision test
  • Written test
  • DMV drivers test

For more information: Beginner Drivers in Arizona

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
There are two types of car insurance required to legally operate a motor vehicle in the state of Arizona:

  1. Bodily Injury Liability Insurance, which pays for bodily injury to others for which you become legally responsible for due to an auto accident in which you were involved
  2. Property Damage Liability Insurance, which protects you from damages you may cause to the vehicles or property of others

In addition to the minimum liability insurance coverage, auto insurance companies in Arizona provide further protection. Some of the most common forms of optional vehicle coverage include:

  • Collision coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Full glass coverage
  • Medical payments coverage

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Which CDL license you need depends on the type of vehicle you will be driving.

Class A CDL: Required to operate a vehicle with a gross combined weight rating (GWCR) of 26,001 or more pounds, and if a trailer weighing more than 10,001 pounds is attached.

Class B CDL: Used to operate any vehicles with a GWCR 26,001 or higher, and if a trailer is towed that weighs less than 10,000 pounds.

Class C CDL: A commercial vehicle with a GWCR fewer than 26,001, is used to transport hazardous materials or is a passenger vehicle holding 16 or more persons.

For more information: Arizona Commercial Driver s License (CDL) Application

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Failure to get or keep auto insurance in the state of Arizona could result with a suspended driving license or a suspended vehicle registration, in addition to a minimum fine of $250. You will then be required to pay high fees and provide future proof of financial responsibility to reinstate your suspended drivers license. In addition, the Arizona MVD requires you to carry the SR22 insurance for three years from the date of suspension.

Arizona insurance companies regularly inform the AZ DMV of all policy cancellations, non-renewals and new policies; hence the AZ Motor Vehicle Division is always informed of policies that are no longer active. Furthermore, if you are pulled over or involved in an accident anywhere in Arizona, the AZ law enforcement officers will ask you for proof of insurance in addition to your license and registration.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
To reinstate a suspended driving license in Arizona, the suspension period must first pass. At this point in time, you may request an investigation packet if your driving privileges were taken away for driving under the influence. This will determine if you met all the necessary requirements, such as a drug and alcohol course. Otherwise, reinstating suspended drivers licenses becomes dependent on paying all court- and penalty-related fees. You will need to show a court clearance receipt or Court Abstract Form in person at an MVD office. If you have a recent photo on file, you can submit your reinstatement request by mail or online.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

When does my car registration expire?
The expiration date varies depending on the month you first registered your vehicle. The expiration date on car registration for Arizona drivers either falls on the 15th or last day of the month. The MVC will mail a renewal notice to remind you of your upcoming need to renew car registration certification. Within the notice, vehicle registration renewal fees and renewal methods you are eligible for are included.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

When does my ID card expire?
An Arizona ID card never expires, instead. Every 12 years, you must visit an MVD office in person and take a new photo. If you have a driver s license and your photo visit occurs between the ages of 60 and 65, you will be issued a five-year driving license thereafter.

For more information: How to Apply for an Arizona Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
When you move to a new residence within Arizona, the MVD requests all drivers and residents to notify them within 10 days of setting up a new residence. If you move to Arizona from out of state, you do not have to get a drivers license within 10 days. Nonetheless, you are expected to visit the MVD, transfer out-of-state vehicle documentation and get a new Arizona drivers license as soon as possible.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Arizona

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The seller is responsible for providing a bill of sale to the seller. A bill of sale acts as the receipt for the private sale, and is recognized by the MVD in case of a future issue about ownership. For this reason, you need to also make a copy of the Bill of Sale form for your records as well.

For more information: Title Transfer or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Arizona

When will I need to renew my license?
In Arizona, the process of renewing drivers licenses is unusual. Once issued, a driver license does not expire until the holders 65th birthday, which means there is not an issue of driving with an expired drivers license. Instead, you are responsible for going to an MVD office every 12 years to update your photo. You will not receive a notice in the mail, yet you are responsible for updating your image.

If you get a new photo taken between 60 and 65 years of age, then your driving license is valid every five years.

For more information: How to Renew a Senior Driver s License

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
When ordering a replacement license online, expect to receive it within the next four weeks. The MVD takes pains to mail it out as soon as possible. Yet, if you need a duplicate drivers license immediately, visiting a drivers license office in person is your best choice. Upon providing the necessary proofs of identity, a drivers license copy is issued the same day.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Arizona Driver s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
To check the status of your driving privileges, order a copy of your driving record. An uncertified copy can be purchased online, and will show your driving history for the past 39 months. Included in the driving history report will be your name, drivers license number, past tickets and convictions, and the status of your drivers license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Arizona

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Arizona drivers can order car registration replacements through their local DMV locations. To find the AZ DMV location nearest to you, visit the DMV location search tool.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you receive a DUI conviction in the state of Arizona, the court will order an ignition interlock device to be placed on any vehicle you drive. This device requires you to pass a BAC test before you start to drive your car. For a list of state-approved interlock manufacturers and installers, click here.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Select Justice Courts in Arizona allow you to access your traffic ticket information online. These services vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction so you contact the court jurisdiction that issued your traffic ticket to find out more information about your citation. You will find the contact information for the jurisdiction on your traffic citation. Information such as a telephone number and address of the court will lead you to theirpay traffic tickets online services, if any.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona

Where can I get a new drivers license?
The sole destination to receive a new license to drive in AZ is a Department of Motor Vehicles office. At no point in time can drivers get a drivers permit online or a drivers license online. Once an Arizona driving license is issued in your name, then you may renew, replace or change information online or by mail.

For more information: Arizona DMV Office Contact Information

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
If your car title is lost, stolen or damaged, you must apply for a duplicate car title. Your request for a car title copy needs to be sent to the Arizona Department of Transport at the following address:

  • Motor Vehicle Division P.O. Box 2100 MD 555M Phoenix, AZ 85001

Don t forget to also send a completed Title and Registration Application and your damaged car title, if available. You are also required to provide payment of the $4 duplicate car title fee. You can pay by check made out to “Motor Vehicle Division”.

You can also apply for a car title replacement in person at Arizona DMV location or with an authorized third-party.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

Where can I obtain an ID card?
There is one place to go to apply for ID cards in Arizona: a Motor Vehicle Division office. Residents can take advantage of any location, although it is most common to go to one nearest your residence. Before heading over, take a moment to schedule an appointment. In doing so, you eliminate the likelihood of long wait lines.

For more information: Arizona DMV Office Contact Information

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All motor vehicles operated on roadways within the state of Arizona must be covered by one of the forms of liability insurance. This requirement also includes golf carts, motorcycles and mopeds.

Before you can register your vehicle with the AZ Motor Vehicle Division, you must show proof of financial responsibility. This can be in the form of a certificate of insurance, a bond, or by keeping a Certificate of Deposit of $40,000 assigned to the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer.

In addition to minimum liability vehicle coverage, Arizona insurance companies also offer additional insurance which is not mandatory in the state of Arizona, but which can provide you with further protection.

For more information: Arizona Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
At the time of filling out a drivers permit application, beginning drivers must bring a parent or legal guardian to the DMV when younger than 18. There is a section which requires his or her signature. In addition, the DMV agent will request to see official proof of identity.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Arizona

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Your DMV record may not always contain the most recent information concerning a AZ traffic ticket you have received. If you need to address the traffic citation immediately, contact your local Arizona MVD. Find an AZ DMV near you by using our DMV locator.

For more information: Your Arizona Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Yes, when you are 60 years of age and older, you are required to take a vision test. For that reason, the option to renew drivers licenses online is not available in Arizona. In addition, you might be asked to take the written drivers test.

For more information: How to Renew a Senior Driver s License

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, you will receive a renewal notice in the mail when it comes time to renew drivers licenses or update your photo picture. If you are younger than 65, you are responsible for going to the MVD in person to take a new photo image. A citation could be issued if you are pulled over and your photo is older than 12 years. For seniors renewing drivers licenses in Arizona, you are also responsible for visiting the MVD in person every five years.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver s License in Arizona

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Yes, you will have points assessed to your driver s license if you get a traffic ticket in Arizona. You can get a suspended drivers license if you continue to rack up points from traffic violations. For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Arizona
Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Yes, you must successfully complete a state-approved traffic survival school reform program to reinstate suspended drivers license or reinstate revoked drivers license. In addition, you will have to pay the applicable fees, retake the DMV test and maintain proof of financial responsibility for two years from the date of suspension/revocation by filing SR-22 form, if you are over 21 years old.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Arizona

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, all vehicles owners must complete the Application for Duplicate Registration form.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
No, proof of auto insurance is not required when replacing car title. However, just to be on the safe side, bring your proof of financial responsibility with you when you head out to an Arizona DMV near you. You can also check with your local DMV regarding other requirements before making an in-person visit.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Arizona

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, the Arizona Department of Transportation mails every vehicle owner a car registration renewal notice. Typically, this arrives three months before the expiration date. The renewal notice will state the renewing car registration fees and how to renew car registration. The options are online, by mail, over the phone or in person. For this reason, it is essential that you change address information with the MDV after moving.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Neither, Arizona car registration expires either the 15th or the end of the month one year after you first register the vehicle. If you are confused, you will receive a car registration renewal notice in the mail from the MVD. Within the notice will state your expiration date, and whether or not you need an emissions inspection. If you do, then you may renew three months in advance. If you do not, you may renew car registration up to six months in advance.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Arizona