How to Obtain a Boating License in Arizona
An Arizona boating license is not required for residents of all ages to legally operate most types of water vessels on public waterways. Instead of worrying about how to get a boating license in AZ, boat drivers can look into enrolling in an approved education program to become a certified boat operator. Education courses cover a wide range of topics, from technical boat specifications to the best practices for meeting safety standards while on the water. In general, all drivers must adhere to state regulations and statutes governing state waterways.
Boat operators in Arizona can enroll in an online boating license course to receive a state-approved education certificate. The state’s Game and Fish Department (AZGFD) encourages all boaters to enroll in an approved program, especially boat operators who are younger than 18 years of age. In addition, all drivers must register their motorized water vessels before they can be operated on AZ waterways. Keep reading to learn more important information about licenses and education courses for boating.
Do you need a license to drive a boat in Arizona?
Drivers do not need to pass a boater exam in order to be able to legally operate a water vessel in Arizona or to receive a state license. Motorists who are younger than 18 years of age are not required to receive a boat certification either, but they must meet other state requirements. Despite the fact that drivers do not need to be licensed in general, all water vessels powered by a motor with eight or more horsepower must be registered with the AZGFD. On the other hand, titles are not typically issued for water vessels in Arizona.
Arizona Boat License Requirements
To meet the state boating license age, AZ boat drivers must be 18 years of age or older. Young motorists who are between 12 and 17 years of age must follow different AZ boat license requirements, such as only being able to drive a watercraft under the supervision of a parent, guardian or another responsible adult. Only in an emergency can a resident younger than 18 years of age operate a motorized water vessel without the presence of an adult.
Getting a Boat License in Arizona
While getting a boating license is not required for motorists in Arizona, enrolling in a state-certified education program is recommended by the AZGFD for drivers of all ages. A boaters safety course can be offered in person and online for residents as young as 10 years of age.
The classroom-based courses approved by the AZGFD are generally free of charge to interested students, while most online courses carry some sort of enrollment fee. In any case, all course materials will be included in a course package.
The parents of young boat drivers can contact an institution that offers a state-approved boating course in order to reserve their spot in an upcoming session. Regardless of whether a young motorist chooses to sign up for an online boaters safety course or an in-person program, he or she will be asked to provide proof of parental consent before being able to start the classes.
In general, the AZGFD has a standard consent form, called “Consent Waiver and Registration Form,” that parents of young drivers signing up for a classroom-based program can use to provide permission. Furthermore, courses typically run year-round throughout the state.
Arizona Boater Safety Courses
The boating education courses approved by the Arizona Game and Fish Department teach drivers of all ages about the basics of operating a variety of types of watercraft and adhering to state laws when on state waterways. With multiple online boating course options and several classroom-based programs starting all year long, AZ boat operators can find an education program that is convenient for them. Owners of water vessels may even be able to receive a discount on their boat insurance policy if they complete an approved program and alert their insurance provider.
All boating courses approved by the AZGFD must cover certain topics that are deemed important for students to build a strong foundation in boating. After passing the course’s boat license test, a student should be familiar with how to operate basic types of motorized watercraft under both normal conditions and emergency situations. All courses also cover state laws governing Arizona waterways and common penalties for drivers who do not obey the rules. A sample study guide for one online course for boaters covers the following topics:
- Before getting underway
- Getting out on the water
- Navigation and safe operation
- Arizona’s legal requirements of boating
- Boating emergencies
- Enjoying water sports
Renewing and Replacing an Arizona Boating License
Motorists often ask, “How long does it take to get a boating license in Arizona once a student has enrolled in a course?” The length of a boating school program varies from course to course, but often does not last longer than one day. The certificate of completion for an approved course can usually be replaced by the course provider if lost or damaged. Students who complete a program should keep proof of completion on their person when operating a boat for verification purposes.
Do boating licenses expire in AZ? Because education certificates are not the same as licenses, boat drivers never need to worry about renewing their permission to boat. Drivers can enroll in other types of education programs for watersports and water vessels to expand their boating knowledge, but are not required to for the operation of common boats. Multiple types of courses for education on the water are approved by the AZGFD.
Arizona Boat Registration Basics
Boat registration with the AZGFD is required for all water vessels with a motor over eight horsepower to be legally operated in the state. Unlike in many states, a boat title is not required for most types of water vessels based in Arizona. The process of registering water vessels is similar to the registration of motor vehicles, which must also be renewed on a regular basis. When purchasing a new boat, the transferring of an existing registration must be completed within 15 days of the date of purchase.
The AZGFD will issue boat registration stickers to the owners of water vessels at the time of submitting the registration request. Boats that are registered in another state or country can be used in Arizona for a total of 90 consecutive days before AZ registration and certification are required. First-time applications for the registration of water vessels are processed by the AZGFD in person and by mail, while renewal applications can also be submitted online.
Arizona Boating Rules and Regulations
Arizona boating regulations were created to keep boaters, swimmers and animals safe while also protecting the state’s rich natural resources. To meet these ends, the AZGFD specifies minimum boat requirements concerning the operation and emergency equipment that must be aboard these vessels at all times when in use.
The AZGFD also stipulates boating laws related to areas that are open to recreation or hunting. An example of important regulations that state boaters must follow include:
- All water vessels must have at least one wearable U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket on board for every person on the boat. All life jackets must fit appropriately according to the age, weight and activity of the expected occupants.
- All motorboats and most other types of larger water vessels (not PWCs) must have a functional fire extinguisher on board.
- All motorized watercraft and sailboats must display the necessary lights at an appropriate strength from sunset to sunrise, which must also be visible at 360 degrees.
- Motorized water vessels must have a suitable visual distress system on board to signal for help in the case of an emergency.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in Arizona and can result in criminal charges against the driver if found to be operating a vehicle while impaired.
Arizona Boating License Fees
The cost of a boat safety certificate depends on which program a boat driver chooses to enroll in. The classroom-based programs promoted by the AZGFD have no enrollment fee and are free for the public at large. Conversely, most online programs will cost between $20 and $30, though free options can be found.
Boating License Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Boating Education from AZGFD.com