Arizona Defensive Driving Course
Arizona defensive driving classes reinforce the knowledge of traffic laws and safe driving practices for currently licensed drivers. Residents may complete a state approved defensive driving class to remove an eligible traffic ticket or prevent the accumulation of points on their driving record. Defensive driving courses may also be taken voluntarily to qualify a driver for a vehicle insurance discount.
The state has an additional driver safety course in AZ known as Traffic Survival School (TSS). As defensive driving courses in Arizona are administered by the Arizona Supreme Courts, TSS is a separate course that is managed by the Motor Vehicles Division. Drivers may be ordered to attend TSS to avoid a driver’s license suspension or as a consequence of a traffic court conviction.
Traffic school online options are available to drivers in Arizona who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Online driving courses can be used to dismiss traffic tickets, fulfill court orders and reduce car insurance premiums. To enroll in traffic school, keep in mind the following requirements:
- You may need the name of the county where you received your citation.
- You may need the citation number or court case number.
- The shortest course allowed by law is 4 hours.
- You can only take a driver improvement course once every 12 months
DMV.com’s trusted partner for online traffic school is approved by the Arizona Supreme Court and has been serving California for over 20 years. Your certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, and the DMV will be notified electronically. After enrolling in one of our recommended courses, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional driving school on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.
2. Traditional In-Person Courses:
If you cannot enroll in a digital driving course, traditional traffic classes with instructors are also available through various in-person providers. However, these driving classes are only offered at approved locations within Arizona and may not be offered near your residence. Furthermore, scheduling for in-person traffic school is inflexible, and drivers are expected to attend classes no matter how inconvenient the time or location.
Benefits of Driver Improvement Courses in Arizona
Drivers who attend defensive driving courses in Arizona or traffic school can benefit in the following ways:
- Prevent the accumulation of points on your AZ driving record.
- Avoid an Arizona driver’s license suspension.
- Getting a traffic ticket dismissed.
- Earn an auto insurance discount.
- Become a better driver.
What defensive driving courses are offered in Arizona?
Drivers in Arizona may take a defensive driving class for any of the following reasons:
- To avoid a driver’s license suspension.
- To dismiss a traffic ticket.
- To follow a court order.
- To qualify for an insurance premium reduction.
- To meet personal education goals.
Arizona driving classes taken for traffic ticket dismissal are part of a Defensive Driving Diversion program, while the driving lessons ordered by the court are known as non-diversion courses. State approved defensive driving courses in Arizona must be at least four hours in length, regardless of whether they are diversion or non-diversion.
Where to Take a Driver Improvement Class/Traffic School
Arizona defensive driving schools may be completed online or in person through state-approved, third-party course providers. Traffic Survival Schools are located throughout the state.
Why do I need traffic school?
Drivers who take driver safety classes in Arizona do so for either one of the following reasons: court-ordered or voluntary. If you received a traffic ticket for a qualifying violation, the Arizona Supreme Court may order you to take an AZ defensive driving course. Additionally, Traffic Survival School students will have to complete the course in order to prevent their driver’s license from becoming suspended after accumulating eight or more points on their driving record, or as a part of their traffic court sentencing. Drivers who want to save money on their car insurance premiums can take a driver improvement course to qualify for a discount on their rate.
Did you know? Holders of a commercial driver’s license are not eligible to take defensive driving classes to remove a violation from their driving record even if they were not driving a commercial motor vehicle at the time the violation occurred.
Who can take a defensive driving course in Arizona?
Arizona traffic school courses can be taken by any licensed driver. Though, only noncommercial drivers can complete defensive driving school in order to qualify for traffic ticket dismissal. Habitual traffic offenders who accumulate eight or more points on their driving record will be required to complete the state’s Traffic Survival School.
Dismissing Traffic Points
In Arizona, defensive driving and traffic school courses cannot be taken for the purpose of dismissing traffic points accumulated on a driver’s record. Completing a traffic school course can, however, help prevent points from accumulating on your driving record due to a traffic violation.
Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Drivers can take an insurance reduction course in Arizona to qualify for a discount on their vehicle insurance premiums. Auto insurance discounts are given at the discretion of a driver’s car insurance provider. To find out if you qualify for an AZ defensive driving course insurance discount, contact your auto coverage company.
Did you know? Car insurance companies offer up to a 20 percent discount on the premium of a driver who has voluntarily completed a driver safety course.
How to Enroll in a Defensive Driving Course in Arizona
Enrolling in defensive driving school involves calling a provider or filling out an online form. iDriveSafely.com is America’s #1 online driving school and meets all state DMV requirements. For only $49.95, you can take the state-mandated four-hour online course on any mobile device. After you pass your multiple-choice final exam, your paperwork and certification will be handled for you.
Online Arizona Defensive Driving Courses vs. in Person
AZ driver improvement courses approved by the state are available to take online or in a classroom setting. Both formats require at least four hours of coursework to qualify the student for traffic ticket dismissal. Online traffic school in AZ is an option for drivers who want the convenience of starting and stopping a course on their own time.
Cost of Traffic School in Arizona
Traffic school costs in Arizona vary by provider and by which jurisdiction a violation occurred. In addition to the tuition fee charged by private driving schools, drivers are responsible for paying a state fee and a court diversion fee. The state fee is a standard $45 while the court diversion fee can range from $50 to $150. To find out the how much is traffic school, contact a driving school of your choice.
Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
To qualify for enrollment in a defensive driving course or Traffic Survival School, Arizona drivers must have a valid driver’s license and any of the following circumstances:
- Have obtained a qualifying traffic ticket.
- Have eight or more points on their driving record.
- Want to become a better driver.
Defensive Driving Course Certificate
AZ traffic school certificates are earned by drivers who have successfully completed a state approved defensive driving course. Drivers need not present a copy of their driving school certificate to receive credit, as their driver safety course provider will directly notify the court of their completion of the course.
Does an Arizona defensive driving school course remove a ticket?
Drivers in Arizona may complete a defensive driving course for certain violations, as ordered by the state supreme court. Once the course is complete, the driver will have the violation removed from their driving record.
How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Arizona?
Drivers can take a driver safety course in Arizona for ticket dismissal once within a 12-month period. The date of eligibility is based upon the date the violation occurred, and not the date the defensive driving class was taken.
Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?
Drivers who complete a court-ordered defensive driving class at least seven days prior to their scheduled court date qualify for the removal of the violation from their record. After the court is notified of your completion of the course, you will not be responsible for paying the traffic fine.
Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?
Arizona defensive driving courses may only be taken to remove moving violations for a driver’s record. A parking ticket is not a qualifying violation for traffic ticket dismissal.
DUIs and Defensive Driving School
Taking a defensive driving course does not qualify a driver to have a DUI violation dismissed. Drivers convicted of driving under the influence in Arizona are subject to complete substance abuse screening, treatment and education. The treatment program is comprised of 16 hours of DUI education and 20 hours of group-based counseling. The education component consists of at least 16 hours of classroom instruction. Driver screening and counseling resources are provided by behavioral health professionals from the Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners.