Driver Improvement Program in Nebraska
The Nebraska defensive driving course is a corrective action course that helps improve a person’s driving skills. The traffic school is open to motorists that have accumulated too many points on their driving record. The training may be mandated by the state to reinstate a person’s driving privileges. However, motorists may opt to voluntarily take a class to receive a two-point credit on their license.
Classes may be taken online or in-person. Online classes give drivers the flexibility to complete the program at their leisure. By taking the class, motorists will gain in-depth knowledge on state traffic laws, traffic signals and signs, dealing with hazardous road conditions and pedestrian safety. Here is more information on Nebraska traffic school and how it can help you dismiss a traffic ticket or regain your driving privileges.
Who can attend traffic school in Nebraska?
Motorists must take a Nebraska defensive driving course if they have too many points on their driving record. The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires motorists who are younger than 21 years of age to attend an 8-hour defensive driving class once they accumulate six or more points within a 12-month period. Drivers older than 21 years of age must take the training if they accumulate more than 12 points in a two-year period. In the state, motorists who have fewer than 12 points on their driving record may voluntarily take the training to reduce the number of points on their license. Motorists with only minor traffic citations may take the 4-hour state defensive driving class more commonly referred to as the Safety Training Option Program (S.T.O.P.)
Did you know? You can order a copy of your driving record to check the number of demerit points you may have.
Types of Defensive Driving Courses in Nebraska
Motorists looking to reinstate their license must take the 8-hour NE driver improvement course in person at an approved location. Some providers offer the training in a one-day session held over a weekend. Others offer it as a two-part session which may be completed during the weeknight.
Anyone who wishes to participate in the S.T.O.P. program may take the required 4-hour training either online or in person.
Classroom vs. Online Traffic School in Nebraska
The state mandated NE defensive driving course is a classroom-based program designed for drivers to participate in person. In the classroom, drivers listen to lectures presented by a trained driver improvement specialist. During the class, drivers complete workbook activities, participate in discussions and take quizzes.
Online traffic school may be completed entirely online. The flexibility of this option allows drivers to complete the training at their pace. The training material is available 24 hours per day 7 days per week. Thus, drivers can learn the material at a time that is convenient for them. They may opt to complete the program in one session or break it up over multiple sessions.
How to Enroll in a Nebraska Defensive Driving School
Registration methods vary per course provider. Some allow drivers to register online while other require drivers to call to register. When registering using either option, drivers will need to provide their full name, date of birth, license or permit number and license type. Motorists will need to pay a course fee when registering.
Benefits of Completing Traffic School in Nebraska
Attending a NE defensive driving course in can have a significant impact on a person’s driving record. Not only that, it can provide drivers with techniques to avoid serious traffic incidents.
Prevent a Ticket From Showing on Your Driving Record
Individuals who participate in the S.T.O.P. program can avoid going to court, have the ticket dismissed and will not have to pay the fees associated with the ticket.
Remove Points From Your Driving Record
Motorists who have less than 12 points on their driving record may take driving classes to remove points from their record. Drivers receive a two-point credit on their driving record for taking the training. The credit can be used to reduce the number of points already on their license.
Reinstate a Drivers License
In the state, drivers are not permitted to drive if their license is revoked. Motorists may only regain their license by completing a safety education class and paying the required fees.
Learn Safe Driving Knowledge and Skills
This applies to all states. Explain how a traffic school courses can benefit drivers by making them safer drivers.
Nebraska Defensive Driving Class Curriculum Details
NE DMV traffic school equips motorists with tools to avoid dangerous and fatal traffic incidents. In the training, drivers discuss state traffic laws. Drivers also learn about safe handling of a vehicle, how to handle hazardous road conditions and how to avoid a collision.
Nebraska Defensive Driving Certificates
A Nebraska defensive driving certificate is what drivers receive after they complete the program. The document also serves as a sense of accomplishment for finishing the training. Motorists will need to provide the certificate to the DMV when applying to reinstate their license.
Nebraska Traffic School Versus Drivers Education
Nebraska traffic school is designed to help motorists learn safe driving skills. The training is aimed at those who have been involved in traffic incidents that have resulted in points on an individuals driving record. In the state, drivers safety programs are mandated by the state to help a person reinstate their drivers license reinstated. All learning is delivered in person or online and there is no hands-on training involved.
Drivers education, on the other hand, is specifically for new and unlicensed drivers. Any new unlicensed driver must take drivers education to get their license. Coursework is delivered in person and drivers must complete several hours of supervised driving to get a license.
Nebraska Defensive Driving Course Fees
The cost of the NE defensive driving course varies per course provider. Program fees start at $100. Most programs accept major credit cards for payment. Drivers who register but then must reschedule may incur an additional fee.
- Driver Education and Training Courses Certified by the DMV from DMV.Nebraska.gov
- Revoked License for Points Accumulation from DMV.Nebraska.gov
- Nebraska Point System from DMV.Nebraska.gov