Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

A Michigan defensive driving course is also known as a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC), approved by the MI Secretary of State. It provides drivers with knowledge on defensive driving techniques, as well as state traffic laws, violations and road rules. Drivers can take an MI safety driving course either online or in a classroom setting. This course helps drivers learn about how to dismiss a traffic ticket, avoid a driver’s license suspension and possibly earn an auto insurance discount. The defensive driving course lasts from four to 12 hours, depending on the court order or DMV requirement.

1.

Traffic school online options are available to drivers in Michigan who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Online driving courses can be used to dismiss traffic tickets, fulfill court orders and reduce car insurance premiums. To enroll in traffic school, keep in mind the following requirements:

  • You may need the name of the county where you received your citation.
  • You may need the citation number or court case number.
  • The shortest course allowed by law is 4 hours.
  • You must take the driver improvement course with 60 days of becoming eligible.

DMV.com’s trusted partner for online traffic school is approved by the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) office. Your certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, and the SOS will be notified electronically. After enrolling in one of our recommended courses, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional driving school on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.

2. Traditional In-Person Courses:

If you cannot enroll in a digital driving course, traditional traffic classes with instructors are also available through various in-person providers. However, these driving classes are only offered at approved locations within Michigan and may not be offered near your residence. Furthermore, scheduling for in-person traffic school is inflexible, and drivers are expected to attend classes no matter how inconvenient the time or location.


Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

Benefits of Defensive Driving Courses in Michigan

Attending a Michigan defensive driving course either online or in a classroom setting will provide you with several benefits, such as the following:

  • The possible opportunity to dismiss a traffic ticket.
  • Learn about how to avoid a driver’s license suspension.
  • Earn a car insurance discount.
  • Satisfy court or DMV requirements.

What defensive driving courses are offered in Michigan?

Drivers can complete an MI defensive driving course either online or in a classroom setting. Both types of driving classes last from four to 12 hours.

Where to Take a Basic Driver Improvement Course

A list of basic driver improvement courses can be obtained through the Michigan Secretary of State. Find out more about the available locations where you can take this course here.

Why do I need traffic school?

Attending a Michigan traffic school may help you dismiss a traffic ticket and avoid a driver’s license suspension. Additionally, the MI Secretary of State allows drivers to enroll in a defensive driving school and get lower auto insurance premiums.

Did you know? Committing traffic violations will not only result in traffic tickets and a possible suspension on your driver’s license, but it will also place demerit points on your driving record. Order a copy today to find out how many points or tickets you have on your record.

Who can take a defensive driving course in Michigan?

A basic driver improvement course in Michigan is available to any licensed state driver who faces a traffic ticket or a suspended driver’s license, due to committing traffic violations or citations. Defensive driving classes can help drivers clean their driving records and lower car insurance premiums.

Dismissing Traffic Tickets

The Michigan basic driver improvement course (BDIC) can assist drivers with dismissing their traffic tickets. However, to get started, the MI SOS mails a notification letter of eligibility to those who are qualified to participate in a defensive driving class. Note that you must meet the following requirements to complete the course:

  • Have a valid driver’s license.
  • Have no more than two points on your driving record.
  • Have a traffic ticket for a non-criminal offense.
  • Have a citation for three points or less, such as for speeding, following too closely and not stopping your vehicle at a traffic light or at a stop sign.

Did you know? You need to complete a defensive driving course within 60 days of your citation in order to dismiss your traffic ticket.

Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts

State drivers who complete a defensive driving course in Michigan may be eligible to earn a car insurance discount. Auto insurance discounts may be granted only at the discretion of the insurance company. iDriveSafely.com is approved by the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) to meet all requirements for insurance point dismissal. For only $34.95 and a mandatory $5.95 state reporting fee, you have unlimited tries to take the final exam, and the whole online course can be finished in just one day. After you score a 70% or higher, iDriveSafely.com will automatically report your completion to the SOS.

In any case, it is important to note that you will need to present a certification of completion from your Michigan driver improvement course in order to qualify for an insurance discount.

How to Enroll in a Defensive Driving Course

Michigan driver improvement courses vary in terms of enrollment methods, depending on the provider. To begin with the process of enrollment in a defensive driving school, contact the Michigan Secretary of State and collect information about all driving lessons offered.

Online Michigan Defensive Driving Courses vs. in Person

The basic driver improvement course in Michigan is offered both online and in a classroom setting. These defensive driving classes last from four to 12 hours.

Cost of Traffic School in Michigan

Michigan driver improvement classes might cost you up to $100. It all depends on the reason why you are taking the driving course: to dismiss traffic ticket, to avoid driver’s license suspension, to receive an insurance premium reduction or for educational purposes.

Defensive Driving Course Eligibility

A basic driver improvement course is available to all qualified drivers in the state. However, the MI Secretary of State will inform eligible drivers about when they can register in a defensive driving course in Michigan, and whether or not a deadline must be met for completion of driving classes.

As a general rule, motorists are eligible to complete defensive driving courses if they meet these requirements:

  • Have a valid driver’s license.
  • Have no more than two points on their driving records.
  • Have a traffic ticket for a non-criminal offense.
  • Have a citation for three points or less, such as for speeding, following too closely and not stopping your vehicle at a traffic light or at a stop sign.

Defensive Driving Course Certificate

Upon completion of a Michigan defensive driving class, you must then pass a final exam. After you pass said final exam, you will either get a certificate of completion, or you will have to wait for your driving school to notify the MI SOS of your completed attendance.

Does a Michigan defensive driving school course remove a ticket or reduce points?

Attending a Michigan driver improvement course can help you dismiss a recent traffic ticket. However, the Michigan SOS will first notify you whether or not you are considered eligible to dismiss a traffic ticket.

How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Michigan?

There is no limit to how many times you can take a basic driver improvement course in Michigan, as long as it is done within 60 days of eligibility. Note that you must pay a course fee every time you retake the class. Therefore, contact your Michigan defensive driving school for further information about enrollment.

Did you know? If you do not pass the Michigan driver improvement course within 60 days of receiving a notice of eligibility, demerit points and violations will be automatically written on your driving record and made available to insurance companies.

Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?

After completing a defensive driving course in Michigan, drivers will still be required to pay the fines, costs and fees associated with their traffic tickets.

DUIs and Defensive Driving School

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services offers Alcohol Highway Safety Classes (AHSC) to drivers who have committed traffic offenses while under the influence of alcohol. These safety classes contain eight hours of lessons.

Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?

Completing a basic driver improvement course in Michigan does not enable a driver to remove a parking ticket from his or her record. Only traffic tickets may be dismissed.

Last updated on Tuesday, November 20 2018.

Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!