Motorcycle Insurance in Nebraska
Nebraska residents who own and operate a motorcycle must maintain proof of financial responsibility. Liability insurance is what most riders choose to meet the state minimum requirements.
Lets see how Nebraska, defines a two-wheeled vehicle:
- Motor vehicle with a seat/saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three wheels is a motorcycle.
- Motor scooters are considered as small motorcycles. If your motor scooter has an engine size of at least 45 cc and tires bigger than 14 inches, it must be titled and registered.
- A ride that has an engine of 50 cc or less, or is human-powered with pedals, and can’t travel faster than 30 mph is a moped. These rides do not require title and registration.
If you still have doubts about the type of your vehicle, call the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (402) 471-3918.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Below are listed the minimum amounts of liability coverage you must carry in Nebraska:
- $25,000 per person per accident.
- $25,000 per accident property damage.
- $50,000 per accident bodily injury.
Know that you’re not limited to the minimum amounts. Your protection can be maximized with additional types of coverage. Also by using the form at the top of the page you can get motorcycle insurance and what is more important – you can save money as well.
You won’t get any discounts for wearing of a helmet in Nebraska. In this state wearing a helmet is compulsory for all riders, regardless of their age.
To prove that you are financially responsible for the damages your ride might cause in an accident choose one of the following types of coverage:
- A certificate of self-insurance. However you must have a minimum of 26 vehicles registered under your name to qualify for this option.
- A surety bond with a company authorized to operate in Nebraska, or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the state.
- A cash deposit in the amount of $75,000 with the State Treasurer.
- A liability insurance policy.
Proof of Insurance
One of the the following proofs of insurance must be carried with you whenever you ride your motorcycle:
- A certificate of self-insurance issued by the DMV.
- A surety bond certificate or note.
- A certificate from the State Treasurer as proof of a cash bond.
- An insurance identification card, supplied by your carrier.
If you don’t have proof of insurance you are facing the following:
- A fine of up to $500.
- Suspension of your license and registration. Reinstatement will require filing an SR-22 form with the DMV, which will increase your insurance rates.