Motorcycle Insurance in Rhode Island
In the state of Rhode Island, motorcycle operators are required to have vehicle liability insurance before they operate their cycles on state roads. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must have some level of assurance that you are capable of handling the costs should an accident happen.
Here’s how the state defines the following rides:
- Every two-wheeled vehicle with a cylinder capacity of less than 50 cc that can’t reach speeds of over 30 mph on a flat surface and can be propelled by human power, motor power, or both is defined as a moped. Their motor must be less than five horsepower.
- Every two-wheeled vehicle with a cylinder capacity of less than 50 cc that can’t reach speeds of over 30 mph and can only be propelled by motor power. Their motor must be less than five horsepower.
If your two-wheeled vehicle exceeds these limits, the DMV will define it as a motorcycle. Call the DMV at (401) 462-4368 if you need more information related to this matter.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
See Pennsylvania’s levels and types of insurance that you must have to comply with the state law:
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death occurring to one person in an accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or deaths occurring to more than one person in an accident. You can purchase insurance right now by using the form at the top of the page. It will provide you with instant motorcycle insurance quotes and can help you save money on this type of coverage in the future.
The following provisions apply in the state of Rhode Island:
- All passengers must wear helmets, regardless of age.
- All operators must wear helmets during the first year of licensure, regardless of age.
- Operators younger than 20 must wear helmets whenever traveling on the state’s roads.
Proof of Insurance
You are obligated to maintain proof of insurance, and show it whenever necessary. This can be done by keeping your insurance card in your vehicle whenever you operate it.
If you don’t give proof of insurance when pulled over for a possible traffic violation, you:
- Could be cited.
- Required to pay a $500 fine.
- Face a three-month license suspension.
However, if you can show within 10 days that you had the proper coverage at the time of the traffic violation, your penalties may be discharged. To find out more about penalties contact the DMV at (401) 462-4368.