DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
A Rhode Island drivers license is a document that every future driver must possess in order to legally operate motor vehicles on public state roads. Drivers who are new to Rhode Island can transfer their out-of-state drivers licenses once they establish residency in the state. New drivers license applicants need to be at least 16 years old in order to begin the application process for obtaining driving privileges. They need to provide the required documentation, pass the necessary exams and pay the applicable fees to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Did you know? Every other state drivers license applicant fails the written drivers test. Utilize our online practice drivers tests in order to pass the actual exam on your first try.
How to Apply for a Rhode Island Driver's License:
- Visit an RI DMV location.
- Present the required documentation.
- Pass the computerized knowledge test.
- Pass a road test.
- Pay the Rhode Island drivers license fee.
Find out more information about how to get drivers licenses in Rhode Island by reviewing the sections below.
Types of Drivers Licenses in Rhode Island
Before getting drivers licenses in Rhode Island, you need to complete a drivers license application for the correct type of document:
- Standard driving license - issued to drivers who operate a regular motor vehicle.
- Commercial drivers license (CDL) - issued to drivers who operate a commercial motor vehicle.
- Motorcycle drivers license - issued to drivers who operate a motorcycle.
First-Time Driver (Under 18) in Rhode Island
Rhode Island drivers licenses are issued to residents who meet the requirements set by the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles. Providing certain documentation, paying driving license fees and passing a series of exams are all part of those requirements.
For more information, visit our Learner's Permit page.
Rhode Island New Drivers (Over 18)
To get drivers licenses, the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles requires new adult drivers to pass the computerized knowledge exam as well as the road test. New residents who have recently moved to Rhode Island from out of state need to apply for a learners permit first.
RI Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test
To get a license to drive in Rhode Island, future drivers must pass a computerized knowledge exam based on the road rule and traffic law chapters of the RI Driver's Manual. Apart from the manual, DMV drivers license applicants can use our practice driving tests to fully prepare for the types of questions they will face on the actual written exam.
How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in RI
When applying for drivers licenses, motorists are required to present the necessary documentation. New drivers license applicants need to submit the following documents:
- Proof of identity.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Proof of Rhode Island residency.
RI Drivers License Eligibility Requirements
To get drivers licenses in Rhode Island, applicants need to be at least 16 years of age and meet all requirements set by the RI DMV. Along with the drivers license application, drivers need to present the proper documentation and pass the computerized knowledge exam and the road test.
RI Written/Driving Test
Rhode Island drivers license applicants must pass a computerized knowledge exam in order to advance in the application process. They are also required to pass a road test in order to be issued a state drivers license. Get prepared for the exam by using our driving practice tests. These driving license practice tests contain similar questions to those you will encounter on the actual Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles exam.
RI Driving Test
The Rhode Island DMV license road test examines the driver's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on public roads. Drivers are tested on select maneuvers, which include the following:
- Ability to drive in traffic.
- Ability to park the vehicle.
- Ability to make proper turns.
- Ability to leave the designated roadway.
- Ability to avoid collision or contact with other objects.
- Ability to avoid committing traffic violations.
During the road test, a supervisor, such as a parent, legal guardian or instructor, must be present. Additionally, driving applicants need to provide their own motor vehicle for the road test. The vehicle must be registered in Rhode Island, and the owner of the vehicle must be present during the road test. Furthermore, the vehicle must have car insurance, and it will undergo an inspection.
New Rhode Island Resident
New residents in Rhode Island may transfer their out-of-state drivers licenses within 30 days of their establishing residency. They must complete a drivers license application, pay the applicable fees and submit the required documentation to the nearest RI DMV office.
Additionally, new residents who want to operate their vehicles from out of state in Rhode Island need to register and title them with the RI DMV within 30 days of the move. They also need to conduct a VIN inspection of their vehicle before the registration process, especially if the vehicle has been previously registered in another state.
Replace Drivers License in Rhode Island
Rhode Island motorists whose DMV drivers license has been lost, stolen or damaged can apply for a drivers license replacement in person at any RI DMV location or at an AAA branch office. For more information about the process of obtaining a duplicate drivers license, including the needed documents and fees, click here.
Locate a DMV in Rhode Island
Visit our RI DMV locations page and get the contact details of all the DMV branches throughout the state. Here, you will find the phone number, address and office hours of each state DMV office, including the location nearest you.