DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

How to Apply for a New Driver's License in Connecticut

DMV Practice Test Only $14.99

  • Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
  • BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test

Drivers License Online Services Guide

Connecticut new drivers license applicants must meet standardized age and driver education requirements to lawfully operate a motor vehicle. To get drivers licenses in CT, driving applicants must appear in person at a state Department of Motor Vehicles office to present proper proof of identification and pass written and road exams.

Did you know? Taking a practice permit test makes you 5x more likely to pass the Connecticut written drivers test on the first try.

How to Apply for a Connecticut Driver's License:

  • Visit a CT DMV office.
  • Possess a learner's permit.
  • Present proof of having completed the Safe Driving Practices Course.
  • Schedule a road test.
  • Present the necessary documentation.
  • Pass the road test.
  • Pay the appropriate fee.

The sections below contain instructions on how to apply for drivers licenses in Connecticut.

Types of Drivers Licenses in Connecticut

The Connecticut DMV issues two main types of drivers licenses: commercial and non-commercial. Both types of licenses have available endorsements and restrictions. Motorcycle endorsements can be added to each class of licensure.

  • Non-commercial drivers license (Class D) - Issued to operators of non-commercial vehicles.
  • Commercial drivers license (Class A, B, C) - Issued to operators of commercial motor vehicles.

First-Time Driver (Under 18) in Connecticut

Connecticut learners permits are required of each drivers license applicant, regardless of age. For beginner drivers younger than 18 years of age, getting learners permits requires taking a written test, completing the safe driving course and completing the minimum hours of driver training. Teen drivers must abide by certain restrictions in order to maintain their driving privileges. Driving license restrictions include the time of day a teen can drive and the type of passengers the teen can carry.

For more information, visit our Learner's Permit page.

Connecticut New Drivers (Over 18)

Connecticut new driving license applicants 18 years of age and older must first apply for a learners permit and hold it for at least 90 days. First-time drivers are also required to take the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices Course prior to taking the drivers license road skills test. The learners permit requirement also involves a vision screening and written drivers test.

CT Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test

To get learners permits in Connecticut, applicants must pass a written test. The knowledge test is made up of 25 questions that are based on the Connecticut Driver's Manual. Get a head start on your exam by taking a practice test. Our driving permit pretest and study guide is a thorough resource with traffic law questions similar to those found on the actual CT DMV knowledge test.

How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in CT

All Connecticut drivers license applicants must provide the appropriate documentation along with meeting the age, testing and driver education requirements. The following types of documentation must be presented at a CT DMV when applying for a drivers license:

  • Proof of identity.
  • Proof of Social Security Number.
  • Proof of Connecticut residency.
  • Proof of legal presence in the United States.

CT Drivers License Eligibility Requirements

To apply for a drivers license in Connecticut, you must first have held a learners permit for at least 90 days. You must also have completed the Safe Driving Practices Course and passed a road skills test. To obtain a verified CT drivers license, applicants must provide original copies of documents proving identity and in-state residency.

CT Written/Driving Test

The Connecticut written drivers test requirement must be fulfilled by first-time drivers. The knowledge test consists of 25 multiple-choice questions, 20 of which must be answered correctly in order to pass. Learning permit questions cover topics such as road signs and traffic laws. Take a practice drivng test to receive a passing score on your test. Our learners permit practice test addresses each subject that will appear on the actual test.

CT Driving Test

To obtain a drivers license in Connecticut, applicants must pass a road test. At the time of testing, you will need to provide proof of a completed safe driving course. The driving test will measure a driving applicant's ability to safely operate a vehicle. The maneuvers that the driving examiner will grade include:

  • Turning.
  • Stopping.
  • Backing.
  • Parking.

Connecticut road tests are available by appointment only. Contact a CT DMV location today to schedule your driving license test.

New Connecticut Resident

Drivers who recently moved to Connecticut can apply for a new drivers license by visiting any CT DMV location. New residents must transfer their driving credentials within 30 days of establishing in-state residency. To apply, present your out-of-state license that has not been expired for longer than two years along with acceptable forms of identification and proof of residency.

New residents 16 or 17 years of age will have to complete additional requirements to transfer a drivers license from their previous state of residence. In addition to the above mentioned requirements, minor new residents must complete the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices class at a secondary school located within the state. The teen driver must also pass a road test to obtain a new CT drivers license.

New residents are also responsible for registering their vehicles along with making sure that it meets Connecticut DMV compliance with regards to emissions testing. Car emissions tests are conducted at various automotive businesses sites such as:

  • Car dealerships.
  • Auto repair shops.
  • Tire shops.

Replace Driver's License in Connecticut

Apply for a driving license replacement at your local CT DMV office or AAA office. To get a duplicate license you will need to show documents proving your identity. To find out more about fees for replacing driving licenses in Connecticut, click here.

Locate a DMV in Connecticut

Visit our CT DMV location to view listings of driver and motor vehicle service locations. You will even find listings of AAA offices, which administer driver services such as license renewals. Users can easily access Connecticut DMV office contact information, including hours of operation, as well.

Submitted by meyers_rebekah on 5th Mar 2014

If I don't have a car to use

If I don't have a car to use for the road test, will one be provided for me?

Submitted by LostEve on 7th Feb 2014

what are the procedures for a

what are the procedures for a lost license, to get a replacement