How to Apply for a New Drivers License in Vermont
A Vermont drivers license is only available to eligible residents who meet the age criteria established by the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Overall, motorists must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a full VT DMV license, and will be asked to submit documents proving their residency status, identity and age. In the case of a learner’s permit, applicants must be at least 15 years of age. Furthermore, junior licenses are available to motorists who are between 16 and 17 years of age.
First-time motorists are generally required to undergo an approved driver’s ed program in order to obtain a new driver’s license. Thus, the total driver’s license cost in VT may vary depending on the type and duration of a credential, as well as how many tests and driver education requirements must be met before the license is issued. To learn more about the different procedures and eligibility criteria related to obtaining a DMV driver’s license in Vermont, read the following sections.
How to Apply for a Drivers License in Vermont as an Adult (18 or Older)
If you are 18 years of age or older and applying for a new driver’s license in Vermont for the first time, you must do so in person at a DMV office. Despite the fact that learner’s permits are not required for applicants who are 18 years of age or older, driver education courses and DMV-mandated tests must be completed.
A Vermont DMV drivers license can be issued to eligible motorists who are 18 years of age or older. However, drivers with revoked or suspended driving credentials will not be able to apply for a full license right away, regardless of their age. In any case, it is important to note that VT DMV licenses are only offered to Vermont residents, with very few exceptions.
As a general rule, applicants are not able to request a driver’s license online. Thus, all necessary paperwork must be submitted in person at a DMV office. For instance, motorists must provide proof of identity, legal U.S. status and proof of state residency.
While citizens and non-citizens of the United States are allowed to apply for a driver’s license in VT, non-citizens who cannot prove legal presence in the country are only permitted to apply for a Vermont driving privilege card instead. Similarly, non-citizens who can prove their legal presence but do not meet the state’s REAL ID requirements are also restricted to acquiring a driving privilege card.
Steps to Obtain a New Drivers License in Vermont as an Adult
If you have never held a driving credential before, you may apply for a Vermont DMV license after passing certain tests required by the state. Applicants must complete the following steps to apply for a full license:
- Complete the proper DMV driver’s license application form.
- Submit proof of age and identity, such as a passport or a birth certificate.
- Provide proof of legal presence in the country, if applicable.
- Submit proof of Social Security Number (SSN), such as a Social Security card or a W-2 form.
- Provide proof of residency in two forms, such as a utility bill and a lease agreement.
- Complete the state’s “6+6 Adult Driver Education Course.” The course includes six hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel experience.
- Complete the road skills test.
- Pay for the two-year or the four-year DMV license fees, as well as any applicable test fees.
Getting a Vermont Drivers License as a New Resident
New residents of Vermont must apply for a driver’s license within 60 days of establishing residency in the state. If you hold a valid out-of-state driving credential, you must surrender it to the DMV.
Moreover, expired out-of-state licenses must be replaced with valid Vermont DMV licenses before the 60-day grace period ends. To transfer an out-of-state license to VT, complete the following steps:
- Undergo a vision screening at the DMV office.
- Present proof of age and identity.
- Present proof of legal presence in the United States, if applicable.
- Submit proof of Social Security Number (SSN).
- Present proof of state residency.
- Surrender your out-of-state license.
- Pay for the license fees.
How to Get Drivers License Cards in Vermont as a Teen (Younger Than 18)
Residents as young as 15 years of age are able to apply for a driving permit in Vermont. Once obtained, these motorists will become eligible to acquire a junior driver’s license. On the other hand, certain restrictions are placed on these residents in regards to operating vehicles after sunset. In any case, parental consent must be provided for young motorists to obtain permits and junior licenses.
Vermont Drivers License Requirements for Teens
Depending on your age and residency status, you may be eligible for a learner’s permit, junior license or enhanced driver’s license (EDL). Below are the requirements for each of these credentials in Vermont:
- Learner’s permit – Motorists as young as 15 years of age may apply for a permit. However, you must be a VT resident or an authorized visitor with at least 30 days remaining to apply.
- Junior driver’s license – Young motorists may apply for a junior license if they have a clean driving record on their permit for at least six months prior to applying. In addition, it is important to note that applicants must hold a permit for one year and be between 16 and 17 years of age in order to qualify. Furthermore, the DMV will ask for proof of parental consent. Additional junior driver’s license requirements include:
- Applicants must complete 30 hours of driver education. Six hours must be completed behind-the-wheel and six hours must be observational.
- Applicants must complete 40 hours of driving practice, ten of which must be after sunset and before sunrise.
- Enhanced driver’s license (EDL) – Motorists can apply for an EDL with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Moreover, proof of the applicant’s citizenship status and SSN must also be provided.
DMV license holders who are 15 years of age are not allowed to operate a vehicle unless they have a parent or legal guardian with them in the car. Licensed instructors and motorists older than 25 years of age are also allowed to accompany a permit holder.
Junior drivers license holders are not allowed to use their vehicles for employment reasons for the first year. Moreover, motorists who were issued this type of credential are not allowed to carry passengers unless one of the abovementioned accompanying adults is present. After three months, young motorists will be allowed to carry immediate family members. Furthermore, all passenger restrictions on new junior license holders will be lifted after six months.
Drivers Ed Requirements to Get a Driver’s License in Vermont
There are two types of driver education programs offered to residents of Vermont who wish to obtain a new driver’s license. Both types of courses are run through state-approved, privately-owned businesses. These programs include:
- Motorists who are younger than 18 years of age must complete a 30-hour course that consists of six practical hours and six observational hours. Once complete, the student will receive a certificate of completion.
- Adults may enroll in a refresher course consisting of six practical hours and six classroom hours.
DMV drivers license tests are required for all eligible applicants, and must be completed at a state-approved driving school or participating high school.
Steps to Obtain a New Drivers License in Vermont as a Teen
Depending on your age, you may need to apply for a permit and a junior DMV license before becoming eligible to obtain driving credential with full privileges. As such, consider the following steps to obtain a driver’s license in Vermont:
- Complete the proper learner’s permit application Be mindful that a parent or legal guardian must sign this form.
- Provide your Social Security Number (SSN), if applicable.
- Undergo a vision screening.
- Pass the written knowledge exam.
- Provide proof of identification and state residency.
- Pay for the applicable license and testing fees.
Once a VT DMV permit license has been received, you must wait one year before applying for a junior license. In addition, you must complete certain driving requirements before applying, which were outlined in previous sections.
As a general rule, your permit cannot be expired for more than three years before you apply. Once you have completed the mandated driver education course, your instructor must log all information, and you must pass the road skills test at a DMV office. Then, you can follow these steps to apply for a junior license:
- Complete the junior driver’s license application form and have it signed by a parent or legal guardian.
- Present a driver education certificate of completion to the DMV.
- Surrender your learner’s permit at the DMV office.
- Provide the driving practice log sheet from your instructor, which will detail the hours you have completed.
- Provide proof of auto insurance for the vehicle you will test in.
- Pass the road skills test.
- Pay for the license and testing fees.
If you already hold a junior drivers license from a different state, you must pass the above examinations and submit proof that you have completed a state-approved driver’s ed course. In addition, you must provide proof that you have completed the 40 hours of driving experience before a transfer can take place.
Vermont Drivers License Costs
The VT driver’s license fees vary based on the length and type of credential you are obtaining. Below is a breakdown of the DMV fees for some of the most common types of driving licenses.
- 2-year driver’s license – $32
- 4-year driver’s license – $51
- Junior driver’s license – $32
- Learner’s permit – $20
- Enhanced driver’s license (EDL) – $30
Vermont Drivers License Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Driver's License from Vermont.gov
- Learner's Permit from Vermont.gov
- Junior Driver's License from Vermont.gov