How to Perform an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Vermont
Car owners are required to request an out of state car title transfer if and when they bring to Vermont a vehicle that was titled by another state. If you are wondering how to perform an out of state car title transfer, note that you will have to submit documents and pay fees to the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
In most cases, after you transfer an out of state car title in VT, you will also be required to apply for a new car registration. Get more information about the out of state car title transfer process by reading the sections outlined below.
What is a cross-state car title transfer in Vermont?
Learning what a cross state title transfer is can help Vermont vehicle owners to ensure that they can successfully perform this procedure. Thus, be mindful that a cross state car title transfer is a transaction that results in the replacement of an invalid title with one issued by the new state DMV.
Furthermore, after you perform a title transfer in VT for a nonresident vehicle, you will be issued a new title certificate that will allow you to register your vehicle with the department.
When is an out-of-state car title transfer necessary in Vermont?
It is important to note that the state DMV will complete a title transfer only if the nonresident vehicle has already been titled. Therefore, undergoing a cross state vehicle title transfer is not required if you bring to VT a new vehicle that was purchased on a manufacturer’s certificate of origin.
In addition, if you are unsure in regards to when an out of state car title transfer is necessary in VT, take note that it is a mandatory step if you are a new state resident with an out-of-state vehicle. If you have to transfer a car title as a new resident, you must submit your request within 60 days of moving to the state.
Note: Under current law, the Vermont DMV issues titles only for vehicles that are newer than 16 years based on the calendar year.
Information and Documents Needed for an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Vermont
The documents needed for an out of state title transfer in VT may differ slightly based on the applicant’s circumstances. However, to complete the process of transferring an out of state car title in Vermont, vehicle owners are required to submit certain general paperwork, as well as pay the applicable fees required by the DMV. For example, applicants must provide the following out of state car title transfer information and documentation:
- The out-of-state certificate of title and/or registration card
- A completed application form
- An odometer reading statement
- Proof of a vehicle identification number (VIN) verification
- An official form of identification, such as a driver’s license
- Proof of a paid use or sales tax, if required
- Proof of a car liability insurance coverage, if required
Apart from the out of state car title transfer paperwork and information listed above, you may also be required to submit additional paperwork under requesting a title transfer under certain circumstances. For example, if the vehicle title is held by a financial institution, you will be required to make a visit to a local DMV office and submit data about your lienholder. Moreover, if you purchased a used vehicle from an out-of-state seller, you will need a properly assigned title and a bill of sale to prove the transfer of ownership.
Steps for Completing an Out-of-State Title Transfer in Vermont as a New Resident
Requesting an out of state title transfer in person is the standard method for titling and registering a vehicle in Vermont that was originally titled by another state. Furthermore, completing an out of state title transfer as a new state resident includes gathering the necessary documents, which are outlined above, and submitting the paperwork along with fee payments at a local DMV office.
As soon as a DMV agent approves the submitted paperwork, he or she will forward a request for the department to issue a new vehicle title. Your new car title will be mailed to your address on file, provided it does not record a lien.
After finalizing the new state resident car title transfer process and registering your vehicle, you will be required to have it inspected with a licensed inspection site as soon as possible. Furthermore, note that the option to complete an out of state title transfer online in VT has not yet been implemented by the state, since an applicant’s documentation must be inspected on the spot.
Out-of-State Title Transfers in Vermont After Buying or Selling a Vehicle
If you have to complete an out of state title transfer after buying a car from outside of Vermont as an existing resident, you will be required to follow the same steps as those completed by new state residents. Therefore, to finalize the process of transferring an out of state title after getting a new car, you will have to submit the applicable paperwork and fee payments in person through a nearby DMV location.
Apart from completing the in person out of state title transfer after buying a vehicle, you may also have to initiate a title transfer transaction in other unique situations. For example, if you have received a motor vehicle as part of an inheritance, you will be required to submit the corresponding death certificate and/or probate papers as well, in addition to meeting the requirements outlined above.
Cross-State Car Title Transfer Fees in Vermont
Submitting payment for the cross state car title transfer fees in Vermont is the final step in this process. The total price of a cross state car title transfer in VT may include several smaller fees, since you are required to title and register your vehicle simultaneously. In addition to a standard titling fee of $35, you will also be required to pay the applicable registration costs.
Additionally, the cost of transferring an out of state car title may include additional fees under certain circumstances. For example, if you are assigning a lien to your title, you will be required to pay an additional fee. Unless exempted from state tax requirements, you will also be required to pay a 6 percent tax on the vehicle purchase price or its trade-in value.