1.

New drivers licenses cannot be obtained online or by mail. Instead, you must apply for a new license in person at a local DMV. While there, you must pass a vision screening, a written exam and a skills test. To make sure that you are prepared, download our informative online drivers license guide. Our guide contains everything you need to know to complete this application easily and quickly. In it, you will get in-depth details on how to complete other important licensing transactions, such as updating personal information on your license, renewing your license and replacing a lost one.

2. In Person at the DMV

To obtain a new drivers license at the DMV, you must submit identification documents and pass mandatory tests. A birth certificate or passport can verify your name and age, and a utility bill can prove your state residency. Generally, you must pass a written knowledge exam and a road skills test. You must also fill out a drivers license application form and pay the applicable fees. However, you may not know which forms to complete or if you are already eligible to take your exams. Arriving at the DMV unprepared may result in long wait times and potential mistakes, which could mean having to redo the process.


Before you can obtain your first drivers license in Hawaii, you must do your research on a few key pieces of information, including knowing what you need to get your license, what the eligibility requirements are and what documentation you must present when you apply. Being aware of this license information ahead of time can make the entire process go much more smoothly.

Hawaii participates in a graduated drivers license program that establishes three stages of licensing for any drivers under the age of 18. The program includes laws that include a variety of different drivers license requirements be met before a regular license can be obtained by the minor. However, the process for getting a license as an adult is much simpler. Therefore, it is very important that anyone interested in getting a license understands what requirements they must meet and what steps they must take based on their age in order to get a license.

How to Apply for a Drivers License in Hawaii as an Adult (18 or Older)

As discussed in the section above, when you are applying for a drivers license as someone who is younger than 18 years old, the requirements are very different than if you apply as an adult. When you are an adult, you can obtain a regular unrestricted license as long as you meet the drivers license eligibility requirements.

First of all, in order to apply for a license, you must visit a Hawaii driver licensing office. If you are wondering where to get a license, the answer is that all services are completed at those offices because getting a drivers license online is not an option. You should also keep in mind that making an appointment ahead of time or avoiding the busier times is highly recommended and can save you a lot of time.

You must meet the eligibility requirements for a DMV license in order to be able to apply for a license. If you are an adult applicant wanting a regular license, you must be at least 18 years of age, you must hold a valid Hawaii learners permit and you must be able to pass a knowledge, road skills and vision exam. To get a drivers license in Hawaii, you must follow certain steps. These steps include the following:

  1. Visit your local Hawaii DMV office.
  2. Fill out a license application form.
  3. Pass a vision exam.
  4. Pass a road skills test.
  5. Present identifying documents for proof of name, date of birth and Social Security number.
  6. Present original or certified copies of document(s) for proof of legal presence in the U.S.
  7. Present two documents for proof of Hawaii residence.
  8. Pay the applicable license fee.

Getting a Hawaii Drivers License as a New Resident

You must get a new Hawaii drivers license as soon as you become a resident in Hawaii. To transfer your out-of-state license and get a Hawaii license you must complete a driving license application, surrender your out-of-state license, present your Social Security card, present a document for proof of legal presence. You must also present two documents for proof of residence address, and you must pass a vision test. You may also be required to take a written knowledge test depending on which county you are completing the transfer in.

How to Apply for a Drivers License in Hawaii  as a Teen (Younger Than 18)

Because Hawaii has strict laws regarding the graduated drivers license program, it is essential that you understand what the requirements are when you apply for a license as a minor. To get your license in Hawaii, you will be required to participate in a three-step process where you must first get an instructional permit, then get a provisional license and lastly you can obtain a full unrestricted license.

You are required to meet certain drivers license eligibility requirements in order for you to qualify for a provisional license. These requirements include that you must:

  • Be at least 16 years old but younger than 18 years old.
  • Have held a valid instructional permit for at least 180 days.
  • Have satisfactorily completed a state-certified driver education course.
  • Successfully pass a road examination test.

Drivers education courses are a requirement when you apply for a Hawaii drivers license if you are younger than 18 years of age and applying for a provisional license. The drivers education course must be state-certified and you must pass it satisfactorily and obtain both the classroom and behind-the-wheel certificates.

Steps to Get a New Drivers License in Hawaii as a Teen (Younger Than 18)

Regardless of your age when going through drivers license services to get a license, you must obtain a valid instructional permit first as long as you are at least 15 and a half years old. In order to get this permit, you must do the following:

  1. Visit your local DMV office.
  2. Complete a driver license application for a permit.
  3. Present your original U.S. birth certificate.
  4. Present your original Social Security card.
  5. If born outside of the U.S., present original or certified copies of document(s) for proof of legal presence in the U.S.
  6. Present two documents for proof of residence address.
  7. Present CSL239 Parental Consent Affidavit, signed by both parents listed on birth certificate.
  8. Pass a vision screening.
  9. Pass a 30-question knowledge written exam.
  10. Pay the applicable permit fee.

It is essential that you know how to get a drivers license through the graduated licensing program if you are a minor. You should note that you can get your new license after you have held the instructional permit for a minimum of 180 days. To apply for the provisional DMV license, you must do the following:

  1. Visit your local Hawaii DMV office.
  2. Fill out a license application form.
  3. Provide certification proving satisfactory drivers education completion.
  4. Pass a vision exam.
  5. Pass a road skills test.
  6. Present identifying documents for proof of name, date of birth and Social Security number.
  7. Present original or certified copies of document(s) for proof of legal presence in the U.S.
  8. Present two documents for proof of Hawaii residence.
  9. Pay applicable license fee.

You can upgrade to a full DMV drivers license once you have held the provisional license for at least six months once you turn 17 years old.

Hawaii Drivers License Costs

Other important drivers license information is understanding the drivers license costs you must pay when applying for a license or a permit. You should note that the fees may vary depending on the county in Hawaii.

The fees for Hawaii County are as follows:

  • Application fee: $1
  • Written test: $1
  • Instruction permit: $10
  • Road test: $10
  • New license – four year (ages 18-24): $20
  • New license – eight year (ages 25-71): $40
  • Provisional license (per year): $5

The fees for Honolulu County are as follows:

  • Road test: $8
  • Written test: $2
  • Oral test: $10
  • Instruction permit: $5
  • Provisional license: $5
  • New license – two years (age 72 and older): $10
  • New license – four years (ages 17 to 24): $20
  • New license – eight years (ages 25 to 71): $40

The fees for Maui County are as follows:

  • Road test: $20
  • Written/Oral test: $5
  • Permit: $10
  • Provisional license: $10 per year
  • New license:
    • Eight years (ages 25 to 71): $80
    • Seven years: $70
    • Six years: $60
    • Five years: $50
    • Four years (ages 16 to 24): $40
    • Three years: $30
    • Two years (over 72 years of age): $20
    • One year: $10

The fees for Maui County are as follows:

  • Written test: $2
  • Oral test: $10
  • Road test: $10
  • Instruction permit: $10
  • Provisional license: $4 per year
  • New License:
    • Two years (age 72 and older): $8
    • Four years (age 18 to 24): $16
    • Eight years (age 25 to 71): $32
Last updated on Tuesday, December 4 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!