DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
NEW DRIVERS AND FIRST TIME APPLICANTS
Following are the basic requirements for applying for a Missouri driver's license:
- Applicants who are between the ages of 16-17 are issued an intermediate license that expires within two years from the date issued. You can find more information about Graduated Licensing here. For additional details, see Beginner Drivers and/or Graduated Licenses for Beginner Drivers.
- Everyone must pass the vision test, road sign recognition test, written test and driving tests. See Practice Tests and Driver's Handbook for more information on the written examination. Driver education programs can help individuals prepare for their road test.
- Applicants must provide acceptable proof of identification.
- Applicants must provide proof of Missouri residency and presence.
- First-time drivers must submit a Driver Examination Record (DOR-100) to prove that all the tests have been passed.
Missouri residents holding a driver's license from another state need to surrender their valid out-of-state license and also pass the vision screening and road sign tests. The written and driving tests are waived unless it is over 184 days after the expiry of the out-of-state license. However, like other applicants, new residents must provide proof of identification, residency and legal presence.
Non-US citizens residing in Missouri may apply for a Missouri driver's license, as long as they can provide proof that they are legally authorized to be in the United States, and meet all the other requirements.
The fee depends upon the age of the applicant, the length of time the license is valid, and the type of license. See the Department of Revenue Web site for more information.
The validity of a Missouri driver's license is based on the driver's age at the time the license was issued.
- Drivers who are between the ages of 16-17 are issued an intermediate license that expires up to two years from the date issued, after which it may be renewed.
- Drivers who are 18-20 years of age receive a 3-year driver license that expires on the applicant's date of birth in the third year after date of issuance.
- Drivers who are 21-69 years of age receive a 6-year driver license that expires on the applicant's date of birth in the sixth year after the date of issuance.
- Drivers who are ages 70 and over receive a 3-year driver license that expires on the applicant's date of birth in the third year after date of issuance.
GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE
With certain restrictions, an individual can legally drive in Missouri under the Graduated Driver License Law. You can get more information here.
- See also Renewing Your License.
- For information on other types of licenses, see Commercial Driver's Licenses, Motorcycle Licenses.
- It is necessary to have active Auto Insurance in order to drive legally in Missouri.
- New drivers see our Driver Education , Driving Schools, Beginner Drivers and Learner's Permits for Beginner Drivers sections.