Pay Your Ticket Online!Simple, Fast, Secure
Citations or traffic tickets are issued in the State of Missouri for various violations of traffic law. You must respond to a citation, usually by paying a fine or appearing in court, or else a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driving license may be suspended.
If you wish to dispute the citation, you must appear in court personally on the scheduled date, and enter a "not guilty" plea. Appearing in court gives you an opportunity to fight the traffic ticket in front of a judge or jury, and most people prefer to hire a traffic ticket lawyer to defend them in court. For more information on how to dispute a traffic ticket in Missouri, see our general section on Traffic Tickets and Violations.
For more information about
- Traffic tickets, call (573) 526-2407 (IVR available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week).
- Unpaid traffic tickets - Missouri courts, only call (573) 526-0939.
In the state of Missouri the Fine Collection Center (FCC) has been set up to process certain traffic violations. Only some counties participate in this. See Participating Counties.
The case information appears on Case.net. Information about tickets and payments can be seen by entering the ticket number or the name of the litigant. Call (877) 866-3926 (toll-free) and you can speak to a Customer Service Representative. For more information about responding to a FCC ticket, go here.
PAYING A TRAFFIC TICKET - WHAT IT MEANS
When you pay a ticket, you are essentially pleading guilty to a traffic offense. Motorists should be aware that receiving and paying a traffic citation could result in higher car insurance rates and points on your driving record. Your license may be suspended if you accumulate too many points on your driving record.
A paid receipt from the Missouri court or out-of-state court for the traffic fine is called compliance.
HOW TO PAY THE FINE
If you decide to plead guilty to a traffic violation, there are several ways to pay the ticket. Generally, the back of the citation will clearly indicate the deadlines and options for answering the ticket. Usually, you must act within 20 days of receiving a traffic ticket to avoid additional fines and possible suspension of your license.
If you have a FCC ticket (the ticket will say so) you will have to pay the fine within 30 days to the center. The ticket will not have a court due date but will have "due in 30 days" written on the reverse. Paying the fine means you are pleading "guilty". If you do not respond within 30 days, you might be liable for a liable to pay a fine up to $1000 or confinement in jail for up to a year. You could also have your driver's license suspended and a warrant may be issued for your arrest. If you cannot make out what is written on the ticket you can call 877-866-3926
- Pay by mail. Read the instructions on the back of the ticket carefully. A signature may be required. Enclose a check or money order for the amount indicated on the ticket. Write your citation number on the back of the check. Enclose the citation along with the check or money order. You can use the pre addressed envelope.
For FCC tickets, mail it to:
Missouri Fine Collection Center PO Box 104540 Jefferson City, Missouri 65110 Tel.: 877-866-3926 (toll free)
Please ensure that you write the citation number and daytime phone number on the face of the check.
Be sure to retain a copy of the citation for your personal records.
- Pay by phone. FCC tickets can be paid over the IVR system 24X7 using visa or MasterCard. You will need to keep the ticket number handy. Do remember that partial payments cannot be made and a $4 surcharge is added. Paying this way means you plead guilty to the charge made. Call 877-866-3926 toll free.
- Pay Online. You can pay FCC tickets 24X7 using visa or MasterCard. You will need to keep the ticket number handy. Do remember that partial payments cannot be made and a $4 surcharge is added. Paying this way means you plead guilty to the charge made. The online system might be unavailable between 1:00-1:30 AM CST and on the last Wednesday of each month from 2:00 - 4:00PM CST. You can pay your fines here.
For non-FCC ticket, where online payment is allowed, you will need to keep you citation number, license plate number and name of state where the ticket was issued handy.
For non-FCC tickets, the rules might differ from county to county/city.
For more information on paying traffic tickets in some counties/cities, visit Missouri State University or City of Independence.
PLEADING NOT GUILTY
If you decide to plead not guilty and dispute the ticket, read the instructions on the back of the ticket carefully. The instructions will generally indicate when and how to plead not guilty, and information about appearing in court to dispute your ticket. See our general section on Traffic Tickets and Violations for more information about how to dispute a traffic ticket in Missouri State.
For FCC Tickets if you plead "not guilty" at the center, a court date will be mailed to you eventually. Or you could fill out the not guilty form and mail it along with the citation to:
The Fine Collection Center
P.O. Box 104540
Jefferson City, MO 65110-4540
Alternatively the filled out form and the citation can be faxed to 573-522-8504.
For more information, go here.
DISMISSAL OF CHARGES
Remember that you cannot be found guilty of committing a traffic offense unless there is clear, accurate and convincing evidence that you committed the violation. Charges may be dismissed in court if the citation includes vague or incorrect information. For instance, vehicle information, time, location and circumstances must all be indicated correctly on the ticket. Many motorists choose to consult with a traffic ticket attorney to help them evaluate the validity of the ticket, and whether or not it is likely to be dismissed in court.
If you lost a traffic ticket after receiving it, you must contact the court where the ticket is answerable. For more information contact Driver License Bureau. For FCC tickets go to the Missouri Fine Collection Center.