North Dakota residents who want to legally operate a motor vehicle on public roads must apply for driving licenses at the ND Department of Transportation. Obtaining new drivers license includes satisfying several requirements set by the ND DOT, such as passing the written drivers test or providing the necessary documents. Moreover, certain restrictions to driving privileges apply, depending on the age of the driving applicant.
Did you know? Almost 70 percent of beginner drivers fail the written drivers test. Get prepared with our practice driving tests.
How to Apply for a North Dakota Driver's License:
- Visit an ND DOT office.
- Pass a written drivers test.
- Pass a driving exam.
- Present the required documentation.
- Pay the North Dakota drivers license fees.
Learn more information about how to get a drivers license in North Dakota by reviewing the sections below.
Types of Drivers Licenses in North Dakota
Before applying for an ND drivers license, you need to decide the type of license you want to apply for. The North Dakota Department of Transportation issues the following classes:
- Class D standard drivers license - Issued to drivers who operate a passenger motor vehicle.
- Class D restricted minors drivers license - Issued to minors who operate a motor vehicle under certain restrictions.
- Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Issued to drivers who operate commercial vehicles.
- Motorcycle license - Issued to drivers who operate motorcycles.
First-Time Driver (Under 18) in North Dakota
New drivers license applicants must visit a North Dakota Department of Transportation office to obtain driving privileges that will allow them to operate a motor vehicle in the state. The ND DOT issues drivers licenses only to applicants who fulfill set requirements, such as passing a written drivers test and a driving test. Driving applicants who qualify for a learners permit will face restrictions, such as the time of day when they can drive a motor vehicle.
For more information, visit our North Dakota Learner's Permit page.
North Dakota New Drivers (Over 18)
The North Dakota Department of Transportation requires new drivers license applicants to pass both the written drivers test and the road test. New drivers will get learners permits by completing a drivers education course and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving.
ND Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test
North Dakota beginner drivers are required to pass a written drivers test as part of the new drivers license application process. Use our driving practice tests to get fully prepared for the written drivers test, especially on topics about traffic laws and regulations.
How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in ND
When you apply for North Dakota drivers licenses, you need to submit certain documentation during your office visit. Complete your drivers license application by presenting the following:
- Proof of identification.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Proof of North Dakota residence.
ND Eligibility Requirements
North Dakota drivers license applicants must be at least 16 years of age. Driving when you are younger than 16 is strictly prohibited, even if a person has been licensed in another state. You can apply for a Class D restricted (provisional) drivers license at the age of 15, only after holding a learners permit for one year (if you are younger 16) or for six months (if you are younger than 18).
ND Written/Driving Test
Passing a written drivers test is mandatory for North Dakota drivers license applicants and can be taken when you apply for a learners permit. The best way to prepare yourself for a written drivers test is to utilize our online practice driving tests. They are created the same way as the official exam is, with questions about North Dakota traffic laws and regulations.
Once you qualify for a regular and unrestricted drivers license, you will need to pass a driving test. The North Dakota Department of Transportation requires you to schedule a DMV appointment for the driving test.
ND Driving Test
The North Dakota DOT driving test is created for examining the driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle on public roads. You need to schedule a DMV appointment before going to the nearest ND DOT office. Once you get there to take the driving test, you will have to provide the following documentation:
- A valid North Dakota operator's permit.
- A driver's education Certificate of Training.
Note that you must bring a parent or legal guardian, if you are younger than 16 years of age. You will also need to appear with a North Dakota registered and inspected vehicle.
New North Dakota Resident
New North Dakota residents, who have recently moved from another state, must apply for an ND drivers license within 150 days of their move. Visit the nearest ND DOT office and submit the following documents:
- Your out-of-state drivers license.
- Proof of your current name.
- Proof of your date of birth.
Note that your out-of-state drivers license is not enough proof of name and date of birth.
New residents in North Dakota will also need to title and register their vehicle in order to legally drive it on state roads. Visit the ND DOT office in order to apply for an auto registration. Prior to that, complete a VIN inspection on your motor vehicle, especially if you have recently bought a used car.
Replace Drivers License in North Dakota
If your license has been lost or stolen, apply for a North Dakota drivers license replacement at any local ND DOT office. Be ready to submit proof that you are a ND resident, along with proof of identification. For further details about the process of getting duplicate drivers license, visit our Drivers License Replacement page.
Locate a DMV in North Dakota
Search through our website in order to find the nearest North Dakota DOT office in your area. Utilize the given contact details, such as phone numbers and office hours, in order to contact your local DMV branch.