SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers learning about SR-22 rates may discover they do not need this type of insurance proof after a qualifying incident. In many states, understanding how to get SR22 insurance is an important part of maintaining your driving privileges if you did not have insurance at the time of an auto accident.
There are of course many issues to deal with, like paying for damage done to vehicles and any injuries sustained during the crash. However, once all that has been taken care of, drivers will need to make sure they can maintain their driving privileges so they can complete daily tasks like going to work or running errands.
Connecticut does not have SR22 requirements unlike many states, but it is important to know about this form of insurance proof if you are thinking about moving to a new state. As well, this article will explain how the state’s lack of SR22 form requirements impacts its insurance policies.
What is Connecticut SR22 insurance?
The SR-22 form allows states to track the insurance coverage of high-risk drivers. It is essentially a contract between the insurance company and the state, saying that the insurance company will notify the state if the policy is canceled for any reason. It gives the state basic information about the SR22 policy, such as the name of the insurance company providing it and the range of dates for which it should be valid.
By requiring this information for SR22 insurance policyholders, many states are able to make sure high-risk drivers are insured. SR22 protects everyone on the road. If the drivers most likely to get into an accident have car insurance, then the non-fault party will be able to get the compensation they deserve. Motorists with multiple license suspensions may have higher insurance rates than other drivers with no violations.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Connecticut?
Although you do not need SR22 insurance in Connecticut, the state does require you to have a certain level of auto insurance in the event of an accident. Your coverage must include:
- $25,000 for each individual that is hurt during a crash.
- $50,000 for all of the individuals injured during a crash.
- $25,000 for damage done to vehicles involved in the crash.
Drivers who move out of state and require an SR22 form in their new state may have different minimum auto insurance requirements.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Connecticut
If you want good SR-22 rates because you are moving to another state, then be aware that you will not be able to find them on governmental websites. Although many state governments require this insurance, you will have to go to insurance companies in order to get the required form.
Once you have looked through the SR22 insurance quotes and found the one that is right for you, you will be able to get the form and submit to your state’s DMV. You should not need to get the SR-22 form as proof of insurance before you move to the state, but driving records are shared between state governments. Therefore, you should check the requirements for the state you are moving to on that state’s DMV website.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Connecticut
Since SR-22 is not required in Connecticut, there is no penalty for not filing a form that is not needed. However, CT drivers who need an SR22 form to drive in their new state of residence may face penalties if they do not complete the new resident process within the allotted time after moving to the state.
While Connecticut does not require SR-22 insurance, it still keeps track of drivers’ insurance policies, as insurance companies are legally required to inform the government of any vehicles that may not have insurance. If this describes your vehicle, then you will receive a warning from the DMV. If you make a payment and get the requisite insurance, the vehicle’s registration will not be suspended.
In the event that you do not respond to this warning, then your vehicle’s registration will be suspended and you will not be able to take action on the registrations for any other vehicles you own. This situation will persist until the vehicle is insured and you have paid off the required fee. If you had multiple gaps in your insurance coverage, then you will be charged a fee for each one.