Motorcycle Insurance in Connecticut
Before you decide to hop on your scooter, moped, pocket bike, or what the DMV refers to as “motor driven cycles”, you need to know what the state of Connecticut requires for you to operate your two-wheeled motorized vehicle. While the rules differ for different types of vehicles in this state, motorcycles may be driven without being previously registered, thus insured, as long you have a valid motor vehicle operator’s license.
Here’s how two-wheeled vehicles are defined in Connecticut:
- A “bicycle with helper motor” is known as a moped or noped, and it includes all vehicles that are propelled by foot, or by hand power, or a helper motor having a capacity of less than 50 cc piston displacement; and they are not rated more than two brake horsepower and capable of a maximum speed of no more than thirty mph and equipped with automatic transmission. Mopeds are not allowed to be driven on sidewalks under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-286.
- A motorcycle is a motor vehicle, with or without side car, having a saddle or seat on which the rider sits or a platform on which the rider stands and having not more than three wheels in contact with the ground. As motorcycles are considered bicycles having a motor attached, except bicycles propelled by means of a helper motor (moped), are not considered as such vehicles having a completely or partially enclosed driver’s seat and a motor which is not in the enclosed area.
- If your motor scooter has an engine capacity of at least 50 cc, it is considered as a motorcycle in Connecticut. This means you have to follow the same laws motorcycle drivers and owners do. However, some motor scooters are defined as a “bicycle with helper motor’ aka (moped) as found in Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-286. *Mopeds would not be required to be registered in this state, but it would require that the operator has a valid driver’s license to operate it on the road.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
You’re not required by law, but you can still consider buying insurance in order to protect yourself and others in a case of an accident. Here you will find the minimum amounts of liability insurance for cars, that might be your guide when you get insurance for your motorcycle:
- $20,000 bodily injury coverage for injuries or a death occurring to one person in an accident.
- $40,000 bodily injury coverage for injuries or deaths occurring to more than one person in an accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage for an accident.
Get insurance for your bike and save money on insurance for the future by using the form at the top of the page.
In the state of Connecticut motorcycle riders under the age of 17 are required to wear a helmet by law, while all others can choose if they’ll protect themselves by wearing a helmet or not.
Proof of Insurance
In case you have purchased insurance for your motorcycle, carry the insurance card with you whenever you’re riding your bike. All the info you need (policy number, phone numbers, etc.) you will find on your card, in case you need to exchange it with the other party, should an accident happen.
As it was mentioned previously motorcycle insurance is not mandatory. So you won’t have troubles with the law if you ride your motorcycle without proof of insurance.