Motorcycle Insurance in Utah
If you own/ride a motor vehicle in Utah you must have established financial responsibility for any damage/injury your vehicle might cause in a case of an accident. In other words, all highway vehicles in the state must be covered by a liability insurance policy.
Motor vehicles with an engine of 40 cc or more must be registered and insured.
- Every motor vehicle, (not including tractors), with a seat for the rider and one to three wheels is a motorcycle.
- Any motorcycle, scooter, or motorized bicycle with an engine smaller than 150 cc and not more than five horsepower is defined as a motor-driven cycle.
- A self-propelled vehicle in which the rider remains standing is a motor scooter. This ride can go on human power alone.
Mopeds do not require registration, unless they have an engine of 50 cc or higher. If you still have doubts whether your bike or scooter needs insurance, call the Division of Motor Vehicles at (800) 368-8824.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Here are the minimum amounts of liability insurance you must have in this state:
- $15,000 per accident for property damage.
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injury.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
The no-fault law in Utah requires you to have at least $3,000 in PIP coverage. This insurance covers your medical care if you’re injured. You can also buy insurance for your ride and save money as well by using the form at the top of the page.
Motorcycle riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet. For others wearing a helmet is their personal choice.
Getting liability insurance coverage is the only approved way to establish financial responsibility in this state.
Proof of Insurance
After buying an insurance policy, your insurance company will send you a “proof of insurance” card. Do not forget to keep this card with you when you ride. If a peace officer asks you to show proof of insurance you must present the card.
Note: The Utah DMV compares their list of registered vehicles against a list of insurance policyholders. If they discover you do not have insurance, they will send you a letter asking you to submit proof of insurance.
If you are caught driving without insurance in Utah, your license and registration may be suspended and you will be charged a fine of at least $400 for a first offense.