Motorcycle Insurance in Delaware
In the state of Delaware as in the most of the states in the USA, all motor vehicle owners are obliged to purchase motorcycle insurance coverage in order to cover the costs their ride may cause in a case of an accident. However, there are some special rules for motorcycle owners in Delaware.
In this state a motorcycle owner can reject coverage for medical expenses and lost earnings for injuries suffered by any person riding the motorcycle while not on a highway and in a case where no other vehicle but the motorcycle is involved in a collision. The rejection must be in writing.
In Delaware the term “motorcycle” includes every motor vehicle designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, except any such vehicle as may be included within the definition of “tractor” and excepting electric personal assistive mobility device (EPAMD).
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Any licensed insurance company should know the minimum requirements for liability insurance. But still, it is ultimately up to you to be sure you buy enough coverage. So here is a list of the minimum insurance requirements in the state of Delaware:
- $10,000 for injury in any one accident.
- $10,000 for property damage in one accident.
- 15,000 for death or injury of one person in one accident.
- $30,000 for death or injury of two or more persons in any one accident.
In this state, all low-power cycles except motorized scooters are covered by the motorcycle helmet law. This law obliges all motorcyclists that are 18-year-old and younger to wear a helmet, while for all others wearing a helmet is a matter of personal choice.
As it was noted in the very beginning of this article Delaware requires every motorcycle driver to be financially responsible. As far as your motorcycle insurance goes, this means having liability insurance to pay for any damage or injury related to an accident.
For your insurance policy to qualify, you must issue the policy from a company that is licensed by the Delaware Insurance Commissioner. If you won’t to get cheap motorcycle insurance use the form at the top of this page. It will help you save on motorcycle insurance for the future as well.
Proof of Insurance
When you bring your motorcycle to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for inspection, or whenever you are pulled over by a police officer for inspection, be sure to have with you proof of insurance:
- Original insurance policy.
- Identification card.
In Delaware, you will face penalties and even suspensions of your registration or drivers license if you are discovered operating without insurance. If you don’t have the right kind of liability insurance when you are registering your motorcycle, you won’t be breaking the law, but still your cycle will not be inspected. Moreover, if you drop your insurance after passing inspection and getting a vehicle registration, then you are in violation of the law.