SR-22 Insurance in Nevada
SR22 insurance in Nevada is required of certain licensed drivers who have allowed their auto insurance coverage to lapse for a specific period of time or who have committed other qualifying violations that require proof of insurance. The SR22 form is, in fact, proof of insurance rather than a type of insurance itself. If you require an SR22, you will be notified by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
All drivers in Nevada require insurance, but only certain drivers require SR-22 insurance. In this article, find out who needs SR22 insurance, how to get it and more details on the requirements and options for reinstating your license. This proof of insurance, also called a certificate of insurance or a certificate of financial responsibility and sometimes referred to as SR22 high-risk insurance, can be a simple solution to a major legal headache. Obtaining the correct documentation and submitting it as required will help alleviate those problems.
What is Nevada SR22 insurance?
Nevada SR22 insurance is required after an issue with your driving record. Generally, all Nevada drivers require a certain level of auto insurance in order to legally drive in the state, including the following;
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident
- $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
However, if your insurance lapsed or you simply do not hold any qualifying auto insurance per state requirements, then the DMV might require the SR22 be filed in order for you to legally drive in the state. The NV DMV uses a program to regularly check the liability insurance status of registered drivers. You must be verified in order to initially register a vehicle, and then the Nevada LIVE program will verify periodically to ensure you maintain your coverage. Failure to have adequate insurance can result in the need for an SR-22.
Also note that the Nevada DMV shares information with all other state DMVs, so if your license was suspended or revoked in another state and you require an SR22 form there, you must meet that state’s requirements. There is no time limit on that suspension in another state.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Nevada?
SR22 insurance in Nevada is geared specifically toward ensuring all motorists hold liability insurance coverage in order to minimize negative effects on other motorists. Nevada drivers who allow their liability coverage to lapse for 90 days will be required to file the SR-22 with the DMV and maintain it for a minimum of three years.
Whether you have a Nevada SR22 or not, do not forget to update your insurance information on record with the DMV if you change any information on the file, which could include your name, address or even the insurance company you use. If you recently moved or obtained a new policy for your vehicle, make sure you go online or contact the DMV to update your records. There is zero grace period for Nevada insurance requirements, which means letting your insurance lapse for even one day can result in a suspended driver’s license and a fine.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Nevada
After obtaining your SR-22 form in Nevada and meeting any other requirements to reinstate your driving privileges, you can start the process online using the access code on your official DMV notice. You will have to pay the reinstatement fee as well as any other fees related to education or training you must undertake. Note that you must first get your SR22 form handled before paying any fees. You will have to go to the DMV in person to attempt to reinstate your license once you meet all the necessary conditions and requirements.
With an SR-22 insurance requirement, you will be obligated to maintain your coverage for three years from the date you are eligible to reinstate your license. You cannot cancel your SR22 coverage at any time. Your insurance company will immediately notify the DMV and your license could be suspended and the three-year period could restart.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Nevada
In order to get SR-22 insurance in Nevada, you need to first contact your insurance company to ask about SR-22 rates and options. Getting SR22 insurance quotes from multiple insurance providers is a good idea so you can shop around and obtain the best prices for what you currently require. Your insurance company is responsible for reporting to Nevada LIVE regarding your insurance coverage, whether you require the SR22 form or not. Confirming your current and valid policy meeting all liability coverage requirements is the obligation of your insurance provider, so be sure you stay current on all payments.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Nevada
If you do not file the required SR22 insurance form in Nevada with the appropriate DMV officials, you cannot reinstate your license after a suspension or revocation. All vehicles registered in your name will be suspended and you will not be able to legally drive in Nevada. Because Nevada shares DMV information with other states, you will also not be able to legally drive elsewhere. You must file the SR22 form with the DMV to avoid these additional vehicle problems.