All you need to know about applications for your OR boating license / card / endorsement.
Oregon requires a Boater Education Card for boaters, and not a boating license. The regulatory authority for the card is Oregon State Marine Board. The card is mandatory for all boat operators operating a vessel of 10 hp or more. These requirements will be gradually adopted during the entire year 2009.
There is a restriction on the age of boat operators. If you are under 12 years of age, you are not allowed to operate any powerboat. If you are between 12 and 15 years of age, you must have your Boater Education Card onboard, and operate the boat under the direct, onboard supervision of an adult (16 years or older) who completes the above requirements. If you are between 12 and 15 years of age and wish to operate a personal vessel greater than 10 HP, you can do so under the direct supervision of a person who is 18 years or older and has a Boater Card.
The laws also require that the person operating a boat should not be under the influence of intoxicants. The legal limit of the blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% and if arrested for a higher BAC, harsh penalties may be imposed on the operator, based on the severity of the offense as well as the previous number of similar convictions.
The following persons are exempt from the above requirements:
- Boat operators possessing a valid boaters' license issued by the U.S Coast Guard.
- Those operators who will be boating in Oregon for less than 60 days.
- Adults who do not have a boating safety certificate but are under the supervision of another adult 16 or older who has a boater education card.
- Buyers with a new boat do not need a card till 60 days from the date of purchase.
- Operators who have rented a boat.
BOATER EDUCATION COURSE
To obtain the Boater Education Card, you must complete a boater education course approved by the Oregon State Marine Board or pass an approved equivalency test.
In an approved course, students learn how to operate and maintain their boats, the legal requirements for boating, and what to do in emergencies. This ensures that boating remains a safe and fun experience.
There are various approved ways you can complete the course and obtain the card:
- Four classroom options offered by Oregon State Marine Board, the U.S Coast Guard Auxiliary and the U.S Power Squadrons.
- The course duration is a minimum of eight hours.
- To pass the course, you must get 80% of the answers right on the exam administered at the end of the course.
- The Boater Education Card is either handed out at the end of class, or mailed to you within 45 days.
- Only the card issued after a classroom course is recognized in most other states, and by many insurance companies for insurance discounts.
- Four approved online options offered by Boat Oregon, Boater Exam Oregon and Boat U.S. Foundation.
- These courses may take up to 8 hours to complete; some options require you to complete the course in one sitting
- Course materials are free. Some providers charge a fee for exams or the card: check providers' websites for details.
- A temporary card may be printed after passing the online exam; the permanent card will be mailed to you.
- The option of studying at home using approved course material, and passing an Oregon Marine Patrol proctored equivalency exam.
The card is permanent. There is no need to renew it.
To replace a card, go to Oregon State Marine Boat with proof of course completion. Students who took the exam online may obtain a duplicate card by contacting their providers, and for a fee - check the providers' websites for details.
- While liability insurance is not mandatory for boating in Oregon, it is a good idea to have liability insurance to tide over troubles if you or someone operating your boat is involved in a boating accident.
- Read the information for the Boating Safety and Study Guide.
- See how to register your boat in Oregon.
- Check the contact information of Oregon State Marine Board.