How to Renew a Commercial Drivers License in Oregon
The Oregon CDL renewal process requires drivers to update information with the Driver and Motor Vehicles division of the Department of Transportation. This process is a bit different from regular driver’s license renewals. Drivers with CDLs are permitted to operate various modes of large or heavy machinery. Additionally, motorists may add endorsements to their licenses to expand their driving abilities. The CDL renewal requirements vary, based on the type of license class and endorsements attached to the license.
To renew commercial drivers license documents in Oregon, drivers must prepare to appear in person, at an official DMV facility. Renewals must be completed to ensure that all CDL operators are fully updated on new laws, safety procedures and regulations. Some drivers may need to complete additional knowledge exams and medical evaluations to renew their credentials, including those with specific endorsements attached to their credentials. Additionally, all drivers must receive a commercial learner’s permit before holding a CDL. To learn more about the commercial license renewal process in Oregon, and to find more information about the commercial learners permit, continue reading the topics below.
When to Renew Your CDL License in Oregon
CDL renewal requirements apply in Oregon to ensure all drivers are practicing the most current standards and safety procedures. Motorists may begin the renewal process no sooner than 12 months before the expiration date, or six months after military discharge.
Oregon has a one-year CDL expiration grace period, which exempts the driver from retaking knowledge and road tests, as long as he or she renews within the one-year period. Those who allow their credentials to expire beyond the one-year period must retake all written and road tests.
The Oregon DMV releases CDL renewal notices to motorists when their credentials are about to expire. It is important that all drivers keep this notice, and bring it with them during the renewal appointment. Not all drivers will receive this notice, however. It is important that motorists still renew their CDLs before they expire, even if they do not receive a notice.
CDL Renewal Testing Requirements in Oregon
The CDL renewal requirements in Oregon differ from other states. For example, some states require drivers to pass a vision test each time they renew their CDLs. However, Oregon drivers are only required to take a vision exam if they are 50 years of age or older.
Drivers who renew CDL credentials before expiration are generally not required to retake any written or road skills test. However, those with the hazardous material endorsement and those planning to upgrade their CDLs must take the hazardous material written test each time they renew. Furthermore, they must complete a background check during each renewal period.
What do you need to renew your CDL in Oregon?
If you are wondering, “What do you need to renew your CDL license in OR?” note the several types of documents you must bring to your appointment. All drivers must provide proof of identity. This includes one of the following:
- A certified copy of an official U.S. birth certificate
- A valid, unexpired U.S. passport
- Certificate of Naturalization, issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
- A Certificate of Citizenship, issued by the DHS
- A Consular Report of Birth Abroad, issued by the U.S. Department of State
Those who have undergone name changes during a commercial driver license renewal period must also submit certain documentation. This includes one of the following:
- An official government-issued marriage license
- A record of Domestic Partnership issued by Oregon Vital Statistics
- An out-of-state government-issued record of Domestic Partnership
- A U.S. city, county or state court-issued divorce decree, judgment of dissolution of marriage, annulment of marriage decree, judgment of dissolution of domestic partnership or annulment of domestic partnership
- A government-issued death certificate of spouse, which includes a connection to your current full legal name
Additionally, during the CDL renewing process, drivers must submit one document that proves their address. This includes one of the following:
- Any document that is DMV-accepted as proof of legal presence
- A verbal statement from any person living at the same residential address as the driver listed on the application; this person must be with the driver and show proof of residence address
- An Oregon vehicle title or car registration card
- A utility statement issued by the service provider
- Any document issued by a financial institution that includes the residential address
- Any item delivered by the United States Postal Service, FedEx or UPS sent by a verifiable business or government agency
- Any document issued by an insurance company or agent
- Any document issued by an educational institution
- A U.S. government-issued marriage certificate or license signed by a government official
- A rental/lease agreement that includes the original signature of the lessor or landlord
- A loan agreement, payment booklet/voucher or loan statement
- A paycheck, paystub, W-2 or 1099 tax form
CDL Renewal Process in Oregon
Oregon drivers must renew commercial drivers license documents in person, at a DMV office within the state. Drivers may not renew their CDLs online or by mail. They must fill out the application, and take it with them to a DMV location.
Drivers should start the CDL license renewal process at least two weeks prior to the expiration date listed on their licenses. There may be long wait times or delays that could push the driver past the date of expiration. Furthermore, drivers with hazardous material endorsements must complete a background check, which may also delay the renewal process. It is recommended that they begin their renewals at least 30 days in advance.
Oregon CDL Permit Renewal Requirements
A CDL permit renewal is not allowed in the state of Oregon. Before receiving a CDL, drivers must receive a commercial learner’s permit, or CLP. They must hold this permit for at least 14 days before applying for the CDL.
How long is a CDL permit good for? A CDL permit in Oregon is valid for a period of one year. This probationary period restricts drivers’ activities. For example, they may only drive on public roads, and must drive while accompanied by a CDL holder.
“Can I renew my CDL permit after it expires?” is a commonly asked question of newer commercial drivers. Once the CDL permit expiration date passes, drivers must either apply for a CDL or begin the permit process, all over again. Oregon does not allow drivers to renew the commercial learners permit.
Hazardous Material Endorsement CDL Renewal Requirements in Oregon
For hazardous materials endorsement holders, the CDL license renewal process is a bit different. A hazmat endorsement allows drivers to operate vehicles carrying various types of hazardous materials. Drivers who hold this endorsement must pay for – and pass – a knowledge test, and complete a TSA background check each time they renew.
The Oregon DMV notifies all hazmat holders well in advance to allow for the background check process.
CDL Renewal Fees in Oregon
The CDL renewal cost in Oregon differs, based on the type of license, and whether the driver is required to retake any tests. See the following CDL renewal price list of current below:
- Class A, B, and C CDL: $61
- Hazardous materials test: $10
- Certificate of Test Completion: $40
- Knowledge test: $10
- Road skills test: $70
When factoring in the CDL renewal procedures, keep in mind that the Oregon DMV does not accept credit or debit cards. Drivers may only pay for the renewal with proper checks or cash. Most DMV locations have an ATM, but motorists should call ahead to check to ensure they bring the proper form of payment.
Oregon CDL Renewal Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Renewing a Commercial Driver License from Oregon.gov/ODOT
- Required Identity Documentation from Oregon.gov/ODOT
- Commercial Driver License Fees from Oregon.gov/ODOT