Renew Your Oregon Car Registration
In order to renew your Oregon car registration, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents, calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your Oregon car registration. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about replacing your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some Oregon residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at an Oregon DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
Drivers may renew car registration in Oregon through the state division of Driver & Motor Vehicle Services (DMV) and their wide network of offices. Prior to DMV vehicle registration renewal, residents of the Portland-Metro area and the Medford-Ashland area must submit their vehicles to emissions testing and repeat the test every two years thereafter. Emissions tests for vehicle registration renewal purposes must be performed at a location certified by the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Most newer cars are exempt from DEQ emissions testing regardless of the driver’s area of residence. Some Portland-Metro and Medford-Ashford residents may save time by renewing car registration at the inspection station that conducts the DEQ test. The OR DMV offers car registration renewal online, in person and through the mail. Continue reading for detailed information about each of these options.
When to Renew Car Registrations in Oregon
The Oregon DMV sends vehicle registration renewal notices to auto owners somewhere between 45 and 75 days prior to the registration expiration date. Drivers can renew expired car registration in OR online up to 75 days past the date of expiration without any financial penalty. Oregon car registration renewal dates are calculated from the initial registration date. Unlike many other states, they do not correspond with the owner’s birthday or birth month.
How to Renew Car Registrations in Oregon Online
Renew car registration online in Oregon by accessing the online renewal tool through the main Oregon DMV website. To complete an online vehicle registration renewal, you will need the following:
- Auto registration renewal form with Personal Identification Number (PIN) for online transactions
- Insurance information, including the company name and policy number
- Emissions inspection report, if required, from the DEQ
- Credit or debit card for payment
Print a copy of your vehicle registration renewal receipt and carry it in your car for up to 30 days to provide proof of registration when needed. In most cases, car registration renewal stickers ordered online will be mailed in one business day. You cannot renew car registration online if your registration has been expired for 75 days or longer, if you need your registration decals mailed to an address other than the one on file, or if you are required to submit a Declaration of Exemption form.
How to Renew Car Registrations in Oregon in Person
Oregon DMV vehicle registration renewal can be initiated at one of dozens of DMV offices located across the state. Renew car registration at your closest OR DMV office, which can be found using the locator online. Some DMV registration renewal offices also provide up-to-date wait times during their normal operating hours. Note that office hours and days of operation can vary by location. For in-person transactions, bring the following:
- Proof of DEQ emissions test, if you live in Portland-Metro or Medford-Ashland areas.
- Vehicle registration renewal reminder notice or a completed Application for Registration.
- Insurance policy number and company name.
- Payment by cash, check or money order made payable to “DMV”.
How to Renew Vehicle Registrations in Oregon by Mail
Drivers wondering how to renew car registration in Oregon by mail can follow the steps outlined above for obtaining a car registration in person. All of the vehicle registration renewal documents are the same whether applying in person or by mail. The main difference is that cash is not accepted through the mail. Be sure to calculate the correct amount for your check or money order payment and make it payable to “DMV”. Send all the paperwork to the following address:
DMV Vehicle Mail
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
How to Renew an Oregon Car Registration as a Military Member
Military members with an Oregon vehicle registration renewal due can renew their registration like any other state resident. Members of the U.S. armed forces who need to renew car registration while living out-of-state can register their vehicles via mail if they include their most recent Leave and Earnings Statement (LES). Military personnel who are stationed in Oregon but have their vehicles registered in their home state are not required to transfer their car registration. However, they are responsible for maintaining regular auto registration renewals in their home state during the duration of their duty in Oregon.
How to Renew an Oregon Vehicle Registration on Someone Else’s Behalf
Vehicle registration renewals processed in person or by mail must be signed by the person whose name appears on the registration. However, if renewing car registration online in OR, the only personal identifier needed is the PIN that appears on the renewal notice. Anyone who has the PIN and the required documents listed above can conduct an online registration renewal on behalf of another driver.
Oregon Car Registration Renewal Fees
Oregon car registration renewal fees are standard and based on the length of the registration, which can be two or four years. The state does not assign late fees to drivers with expired car registration, but drivers may be ticketed and incur fines if a law enforcement officer catches one operating a vehicle without a current registration.