How to Renew a Commercial Drivers License in Georgia
Commercial drivers license (CDL) holders in the state must request a Georgia CDL renewal whenever this credential reaches its expiration date. Most GA CDL endorsements and/or classes are valid for up to eight years. However, certain endorsements must be renewed every five years instead. To do so, motorists must visit a Department of Driver Services (DDS) branch in person, as commercial drivers are not allowed to renew these credentials online or by mail. During their visit, applicants must supply a current Department of Transportation (DOT) medical certification, medical variance documents, self-certification paperwork and identification information.
When applying for a CDL license renewal, be mindful that certain endorsements may have additional requirements such as background testing and finger printing. Moreover, drivers who are 64 years of age or older will be required to pass additional vision screenings. In the case of motorists with a commercial learner’s permit (CLP), there DDS has established different CDL renewal requirements.
When to Renew Your CDL License in Georgia
Drivers must complete a CDL renewal in Georgia once their current credential expires. Class A, B and C CDL licenses are valid for eight years. However, licenses with H or X endorsements are only valid for five years. Those who do not renew by their expiration date may incur penalty fees and traffic tickets, especially if they continue driving with an expired license.
Commercial drivers seeking to add a hazardous materials endorsement when completing a CDL license renewal must do so 60 to 90 days prior to their license’s expiration date. This is because part of the process involves applying through the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). Applicants must supply their fingerprints and pass a background check, which is a process that typically takes several weeks.
CDL Renewal Testing Requirements in Georgia
There are several CDL renewal requirements in Georgia for testing. For instance, drivers seeking to acquire new endorsements are mandated to take exams to achieve an upgraded certification. In addition, motorists who are 64 years of age or older are required to take a vision exam when applying for CDL renewals.
What do you need to renew your CDL license in Georgia?
Motorists may ask, “What do you need to renew your CDL license in GA?” Overall, several pieces of information are required for an applicant to request a CDL license renewal in Georgia. For example, all commercial drivers should come prepared with:
- Proof of identity
- Proof of Georgia address
- Social Security Number (SSN)
- Proof of U.S citizenship or lawful immigration status
Applicants may also need other documents to complete a CDL renewal in GA. For instance, motorists with a HAZMAT endorsement may need to provide the following additional documents and forms to a DDS office customer service center representative:
- Updated self-certification
- Current medical variance
- Current medical certification
- Vision exam results
- CDL endorsement test results
All commercial drivers must bring an acceptable form of payment for the applicable CDL renewal fee. Generally, cash, checks and debit/credit cards are considered valid payment methods. Furthermore, applicants who are testing should make sure that they choose the appropriate DDS office, as only a select few conduct CDL tests.
CDL Renewal Process in Georgia
The CDL renewal process in GA requires drivers to visit a local Department of Driver Services (DDS) office in person. While applicants are permitted to submit their CDL medical examiner’s certificate and medical variance documents online, by fax, via mail or in person, all renewals must be finalized by visiting a customer service center. Moreover, self-certification forms can only be submitted in person.
Despite the fact that military service members and state residents working outside of Georgia may be permitted to mail in their standard drivers license renewals, CDL license renewal procedures cannot be processed through the mail. Therefore, drivers should plan accordingly if they are scheduled to be out of state when their licenses expire.
Georgia CDL Permit Renewal Requirements
A Georgia CDL permit renewal is only necessary for drivers who have not passed their full commercial drivers license examinations yet. Certain motorists may ask, “How long is a CDL permit good for?”
In general, permits can be held for a maximum of 180 days or six months before needing to be renewed. Within this period, commercial drivers must pass the mandated skills and knowledge tests. Permit holders who fail to pass all three segments of the skills tests within 180 days will be required to retake all of them again.
Each attempt to pass the test will incur a fee of $50. Moreover, the CDL renewal price for a restricted commercial driver’s license or permit is $20.
Hazardous Material Endorsement CDL Renewal Requirements in Georgia
There are additional CDL renewal requirements in GA for drivers with HAZMAT endorsements. First, all HAZMAT-certified drivers are subject to fingerprinting and background checks. In addition, all motorists transporting hazardous materials are mandated to be lawful permanent residents or citizens of the United States.
On the other hand, drivers certified to transport hazardous materials are not required to be retested each time they renew a commercial drivers license.
CDL Renewal Fees in GA
Commercial drivers must pay certain CDL renewal fees when updating their licenses. Overall, a CDL renewal cost in Georgia is $32, which is the same cost as the initial CDL credential. However, license holders with a veteran’s status can have this few waived.
In the case of motorists who need a CDL permit renewal, they will be charged $10 in addition to the $50 fee for testing. Furthermore, renewals with upgraded or new endorsements cost $5 for each endorsement. In addition, CDLs classified as “for-hire” or with C endorsements cost $15.
Georgia CDL Renewal Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Commercial License Fees from Georgia.gov
- Rules and Regulations from Georgia.gov
- Information on Restricted CDL from Georgia.gov