Montana Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
In Montana, if you want to legally operate a motorcycle or scooter on streets and highways, you are not required to pass a motorcycle training course. However, the Montana DMV recommends drivers to attend a motorcycle training course in order to advance the ability of all riders. There are three types of motorcycle training courses, including:

  • Basic RiderCourse (BRC)
  • Basic RiderCourse (BRC2)
  • Advanced RiderCourse (ARC)

Apart from this, you are required to pass a written and driving test in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your drivers license. To find out more details about this, read the Montana Motorcycle Supplement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Montana state law requires that all motorcycle drivers and passengers under 18 years of age wear a protective headgear upon the head when riding a motorcycle. The headgear must meet the standards stated by the Montana Department of Justice.
Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
When you begin the process of renewing vehicle registration in Montana, you will need to prepare the required documentation, which proves ownership, and insurance of the vehicle. Additionally, you will need to follow the instructions given on the registration renewal notice.

However, you might find yourself in a situation when your already registered vehicle will not meet the requirements for renewing vehicle registration. For additional details concerning your situation, visit in person a local DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
In the state of Montana, drivers who have done an official address change must submit an address change request to the Montana DMV to have their address changed in the DMV records. Drivers can take care of this at any local Montana DMV office.

Once there, residents may submit an address change request for their driver s license, but also for their car registration. The fees may vary, but the fee for address changing on driver s licenses is $10.

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
If you are a driver wondering whether you can keep your old auto insurance upon moving to a new state, you need to know that it all depends on your auto insurance company. The insurance company can be either locally or nationally recognized. Drivers with national auto insurance coverage can easily transfer the insurance from one state to another. Drivers with local auto insurance will be required to find a new auto insurance company just as they arrive in Montana.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
Montana residents who possess a CDL license and need a CDL renewal do not have the option of renewing their CDL license online, so they must either visittheir local Montana DMV office in person or mail the required renewal documentation to the Montana DMV. The renewal process must be completed six months before the expiration date and you need to present the following documents to the local Montana DMV office:

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Residents of Montana who need to obtain a copy of their driving record can do that online, by mail or in person at a local Montana DMV office. However, the online driving record is not a certified copy, but a simple PDF file. If you want to obtain a certified driving record, you must visit your local Montana DMV office in person.

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
The state of Montana does not allow taking the written drivers test online. You must present certain documentation to the local Montana DMV office along with parental consent. In order to avoid a long wait or delay, schedule an appointment in advance. However, you can prepare yourself through the learners permit practice test or by reading thoroughly the Montana Driver Manual.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
In Montana, if you want to operate a commercial motor vehicle anywhere in the United States, you must be at least 21 years old. Montana residents in possession of a CDL license are required to submit CDL Self-Certification Classification and Medical Documentation classifying them as one of the following:

  • Interstate Non-Excepted: Operates in interstate commerce and meets the qualification requirements.
  • Montana-Only (Intrastate) Non-Excepted: Operates in only intrastate commerce and meets the qualification requirements.
  • Interstate Excepted: Operates in interstate commerce but engages exclusively in transportation or operation.

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Yes, anybody can renew vehicle registration for you only if you are eligible to renew online or by mail and provided they have all the necessary information. The vehicle registration renewal notice sent to you by the Montana DMV should arrive in the mail several weeks prior to your expiration date, and you should only follow the instructions on it in order to get your vehicle registration renewed. Car registration renewals done in person require your personal presence at a local Montana DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

Do boats need to be registered?
Montana residents who own boats must have them permanently registered through the Titling and Registration Bureau of the Montana DMV. You have the options to register your boat in person or by mail to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive, Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

Either way you must provide a completed boat registration application and proof of ownership (bill of sale, bill of lading, certificate of origin, out-of-state title or previous title and registration), along with the required payment for the registration, which varies according to the length of the boat:

  • Under 16 feet: $65.50
  • From 16 and 19 feet: $125.50
  • 19 feet and longer: $295.50

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Montana

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Montana residents who own and want to operate scooters or mopeds must get a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers licenses in order to legally operate the vehicles on the road. The state of Montana has certain regulations, which require the drivers to pass a written drivers test and a driving test. For additional details about the exams and the motorcycle endorsement, read the Montana Motorcycle Supplement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
In Montana, residents who have received and need to pay a speeding ticket, do not have to attend traffic school except in the case when a court order requires them to. However, if you complete a traffic school program, the Montana DMV will neither dismiss your traffic ticket nor will it reduce the number of demerit points in Your Montana Driving Record.

The positive aspect of completing the traffic course is the fact that you will become a better operator of any motor vehicle and that the chances of committing traffic violations and causing accidents will be reduced to minimal.

For more information: Traffic/Driving Schools in Montana

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are a driver in Montana moving to another state, your auto insurance may or may not be transferred to a new state. This depends on the type of auto insurance company you have chosen. On the one hand, if your auto insurance company has branches out-of-state, you will have to notify your auto insurance company of your move and provide a new address.

In case your auto insurance company extends its coverage to another state, you will not have to switch companies. On the other hand, if the auto insurance company does not cover the new state, you will have to begin a process of searching for a new company in the state where you plan to move.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Residents of Montana whose drivers license has been lost, stolen or taken away, are not required to file a police report, however, they are recommended to do so in order to prevent identity theft or fraud. You can file a report at your police station or your local law enforcement. You should also take a copy of the police report to a local Montana DMV office when you plan to apply for a drivers license replacement, so that they can keep it on file.
Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
When your registration is stolen or lost and you plan to request a car registration replacement from the Montana DMV, you might also want to file a police report at your local law enforcement agency. It is recommended that you file a police report in order to protect yourself from fraud, identity theft or illegal usage of the car registration. If you file a police report on time, you will avoid unnecessary problems with the police if pulled over or in the case of an accident while waiting for the car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
If you are a Montana resident who plans to move out of the state, you do not need to return your license plates. In fact, you may use them until the day when your annual vehicle registration will have to be renewed. Do not forget to update your address at the DMV of the state where you are planning to move within 10 days. In case your vehicle is permanently registered, you will not have to take any registration action.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
If you are a Montana resident under the age of 16, you must enroll or complete a state approved drivers ed in order to apply for a learners permit. If you are 18 years old or older, you must complete a state-approved drivers ed course or hold a learners permit for a minimum of 30 days, before applying for a new license.

For more information: Driver’s Education in Montana

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
Residents of Montana who have a damagedcar title need to apply for a car title replacement. To do so, mail in or present the damaged car title to a local Montana DMV office. Upon turning in the damaged car title, you will also need to complete and notarize an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and provide a payment of $10 for the duplicate car title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, if you are a Montana resident and your car registration has been damaged, you need to turn it in when applying for a car registration replacement at a local Montana DMV office. You also need to complete an application for duplicate car registration, pay a duplicate vehicle registration fee and provide a license plate number or title as proof of ownership.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
In Montana, a motorized scooter must be permanently titled and registered in the same way as registering motorcycles. In order to register your motorized scooter, you need to complete a title application and prepare yourself for the payment of the following fees:

  • Permanent registration fee:
    • Street-legal fee: $53.25
    • Off-highway legal fee: $61.25
    • Street and off-highway legal fee: $114.50
  • Motorcycle safety fee: $16
  • Montana Highway Patrol Salary and Retention fee: $5
  • Plate manufacturing fee: $10

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
If you are a Montana resident registering your motor vehicle and wondering whether you should take your vehicle to a smog inspection, you must know that the state of Montana does not require a vehicle emissions test. This kind of test is not required for initial registrations or for annual auto registration renewals. However, Montana has certain Air Quality Program Laws and Rules for lowering the level of emissions brought by the Montana Department of Environmental Quality.

For more information: Vehicle Emissions Testing in Montana

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
The Montana state law requires you to have minimum liability auto insurance if you own and operate a motor vehicle. If you do not have your vehicle insured, you will face a driverslicense and car registration suspension if pulled over by a police officer during an accident or traffic stop. You will have to pay a restoration fee of $500 and to submit an SR22 insurance application at the Montana DMV in order to have your license and registration reinstated.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you are a veteran in Montana, you are permitted by a state law to have a veteran designation written on the front of your ID card. In order to apply for this designation, you need to complete and submit a Add Veteran Designation to Driver License or ID Card form to your local Montana DMV office.This designation not only presents your service, but also helps you in obtaining veteran discounts.
How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
To prepare for the drivers license application process, drivers can refer to the Montana Driver Manual. In this driver manual you can find information about all the required documentation, about the tests you must pass and other relevant information to help drivers get through the drivers license application process as efficiently as possible. The easiest way to obtain a copy of the drivers manual would be to download it as a PDF file from Montana Driver’s License Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
In Montana, you can pay or dispute traffic ticket fines online, by mail or in person at a local Montana DMV office, depending on the Montana court and the handling of your ticket. If you need to get instructions from the court that handles your ticket, you can contact the Montana DMV or the Traffic Court.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana

How can I renew my drivers license?
If you are a Montana resident with an expired drivers license, you must renew your license at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office either in person or by mail. Upon visiting the DMV office, you should bring your expiring Montana driver’s license or proof of identity and a payment for the $40.50 renewal fee for an eight-year license.

If you live in one of the counties that do not provide driver’s license services, then you mustrenew your drivers license by mail, completing and signing certain documentation which you must send to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

The renewed drivers license will arrive in the mail within two to four weeks.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
Residents of Montana interested in how to renew car registration, can apply for car registration renewal online, in person, or by mail.

First, the Montana DMV will send you a registration renewal notice several weeks before the expiration date of your car registration. Once you receive the registration renewal notice, you can begin the process of renewing car registration. No matter whether you are planning to apply online, in person or by mail, you should prepare the following documents:

  • Vehicle registration renewal notice
  • Title number, vehicle identification number (VIN) or vehicle number
  • Montana drivers license (only when applying in person)
  • Payment for the required renewal fee

The Montana DMV will mail you the renewed car registration documents if you have applied online or by mail. In the case of applying in person, you will immediately receive the renewed vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Montana residents with a vehicle registration within the state who want to move to another state, need to transfer their vehicle registration and title to the new state. Each state has its own vehicle registration regulations, so the requirements in Montana may be different in other state. You should contact the DMV of the state where you are planning to move in order to get familiar with their vehicle regulations.
How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
Montana residents who want to apply for a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) must visit a Montana DMV office in person. If you are a vehicle operator who holds a regular Class D drivers license, you must provide only a proof of Social Security number and a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC). If you do not have a valid Class D drivers license, you should do the following upon visiting any Montana DMV office:

  • Bring the required documents:
    • Proof of identity
    • Proof of Montana residency
    • Proof of authorized presence
    • Proof of Social Security number
  • Pass the required exams:
    • Written drivers test
    • Vision exam
    • Driving test

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
In Montana, you can apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates by email, fax or mail. You will need to prepare the following documentation:

Once you have prepared the documents and paid the required fee, send the full documentation to the Montana DMV, using one of the following methods:

  • Email: mtdriverhistory@mt.gov
  • Fax: 406-444-3816
  • Mail:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in Montana

How do I apply for a drivers license?
If you are a Montana resident and you want to obtain a drivers license, you must complete the following steps when visiting the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office:

  1. Provide a parental consent and complete a graduated driver licensing process, if you are under 18 years old.
  2. Pass written drivers test, vision exam and drivers test.
  3. Provide proof for the required documentation:
    1. Proof of identity
    2. Proof of Montana residency
    3. Proof of authorized presence
  4. Decide whether you want to be registered as an organ, eye or tissue donor.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to apply for a learners permit in Montana, you first need to decide for which type of learners permit you will file an application at your local Montana DMV office. Montana provides the following types of learning permits:

  • Traffic Education Learner License (TELL): For this type of license you must be 14 and a half years old. You also need to either have already started or successfully completed a drivers ed course.
  • Traffic Education Permit (TEP: This type of license is only valid when you are a student already enrolled in a drivers ed course and when you are under a supervision of an instructor.
  • Learner License: For this type of license you need to be 16 years old without drivers ed, or 15 years old with completed drivers ed. You are allowed to drive with this permit only if accompanied by a licensed driver who is 18 years old or older.

After having decided for which type of learners permit you are planning to apply, you should schedule an appointment and then submit an application to your local Montana DMV office. You will need to:

  • Provide parental consent and complete the graduated driver licensing process.
  • Pass written, vision and driving tests.
  • Provide proof of your:
    • Identity.
    • Montana residency.
    • Authorized presence.
  • Pay the required fee for learners permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In Montana, when you plan to apply for a motorcycle license, have in mind that you must first obtain a drivers license and only then you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement. You can file an application by visiting one of the nearest Driver Exam Stations at any Montana DMV office. In order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Be 16 years old (or 15 years old with a drivers ed course passed and approved by the Montana Department of Justice)
  2. Have a valid Montana drivers license
  3. Successfully complete the motorcycle knowledge and skills tests
  4. Pay the required motorcycle endorsement fee

To study for the knowledge and skills tests, refer to the Montana Motorcycle Supplement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
To start the process of address changing on your Montana insurance ID card, you should notify the customer service that you have made an official address change. If you want to save time and money, you can obtain a free quote for new auto insurance instead of changing the address with your current insurance provider.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

How do I change my address on my car registration?
If you are a Montana resident and you have recently moved to a new address, you must notify the Montana DMV of the address changing, or you can wait for the date when you will have to renew your registration in order to inform your new County treasurer office of your new address.

To conduct an official address change for car registration, residents may report the change either in person at the County treasurer office, or by mail. If your motor vehicle is permanently registered, you will not need to change address on your car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Montana drivers who hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and who have moved recently to a new address, must make an official address change to their CDL license. To do so, visit a local Montana DMV office in person and submit an address change request along with the proper documentation and replacement fee according to the type of CDL they possess. For any additional information, contact the Montana DMV office.
How do I change my address on my drivers license?
Residents of Montana who are changing address when moving must notify the Montana DMV within 10 days of moving to a new address. To submit an address change request for driver’s licenses, residents must go in person to a local Montana DMV office.

For an official address change on your driver’s license, you should visit the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office and pay the $10 replacement driver s license fee.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Montana residents who have recently moved to a new address and possess a Montana ID card must notify the Montana DMV within 10 days of moving to a new address. To file an address change request for an ID card, residents must go in person to a local Montana DMV office.

For an official address change on your ID card, you should apply for a replacement at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office and pay the $10 replacement ID card fee.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Once you have had an official name change, you will need to update the information with all agencies and organizations, including your Montana car insurance company or agent. To start the process of name changing on your insurance ID card, you should find the policy documentation that you have signed and call the number of the customer service written on the documentation. Notify the customer service of your official name change. The company will either update the name and send you a new ID card, or will ask you to make an in person visit.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
If you are a Montana resident wanting to make anofficial name change, to request a name change on your vehicle registration, you need to visit a local Social Security Administration (SSA) and fill out an Application for a Social Security Card. After that, you must visit a Montana DMV office in person and submit a proof of a legal name change in order to receive a car registration with your new name on it.
How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
Montana residents who want to request a name change on drivers license must go through two name changing processes. First, you will have to submit a name change request to the Social Security Administration (SSA) in order to change your name on your social security card. Upon arrival at the SSA, you will have to submit the following documents:

  • Application for a Social Security Card
  • Proof of identity:
    • Montana driver’s license
    • US passport
  • Proof of legal name change:
    • Marriage certificate
    • Court order
    • Divorce decree
  • Proof of authorized presence or Montana residence:
    • A permanent resident card
    • US birth certificate
  • Payment for the drivers license replacement fee

After the name changing process at the SSA, you may visit your local Montana DMV office in person in order to request a name change using one of the above-mentioned documents to support the name changing, or you can mail the documents to the address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

How do I change my name on my ID card?
Residents of Montana who have recently done a name changing and who want to submit a name change request for a Montana ID card, must go through a two-part process. They must visit both the Social Security Administration (SSA) and the Montana DMV office in person, presenting the following documents:

  • Proof of legal name change:
    • Marriage certificate
    • Court order with name change approval
    • Divorce decree
  • Payment for the ID card replacement fee

You may need to present additional documents to prove your identity in the case you do not have your current driver’s license with you.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Residents of Montana who have recently had an official name change, before updating their records at a Montana DMV office, they first need to submit a name change request at the Social Security Administration (SSA). In order to do that, you should contact or visit in person a local SSA office and submit an Application for a Social Security Card. Applications for an updated Social Security card may also be submitted by mail. Once you ve successfully applied for an official name change, the SSA will send you your updated Social Security card within 10 business days.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
Montana residents who believe that someone has illegally accessed their driving record, can file a complaint against the offending party under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (FDPPA). Anybody who obtains personal information from a driving record without permission is chargeable for illegal access to the information. Having this in mind, the individual whose information was accessed may bring a civil lawsuit against the offending party. In order to file a complaint, you must first contact the Montana DMV at the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

PO Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If you are a Montana resident with a stolen car registration, you need to request not only a car registration replacement from the Montana DMV, but also you should file a police report in order to protect yourself from fraud, identity theft, or illegal usage of the car registration. You can file a police report by visiting your local law enforcement agency and reporting that you are dealing with a stolen car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Residents of Montana who are dealing with a stolen car title are advised to contact a local law enforcement agency or a police department in order to file a report for the stolen car title. Since car titles contain identity information and ownership of the vehicle, the best thing for you to do would be to make an immediate report at the nearest police station, in order to avoid stealing of your identity or putting the vehicle ownership into question. Once you file a report at a police department, you need to bring a copy of the report to your local Montana DMV office for prevention purposes.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Drivers in Montana who want to obtain a copy of their driving record, can request it in online, by mail, or in person. To get your driving record, you can visit your local Montana DMV office in person, submit a Release of Driving Records form and a payment of the required $4 fee. However, if you want to check your driving record immediately, you can always do that electronically by visiting the DMV website and paying a $7.25 fee for each record. Additionally, you can have your driving record mailed to you, by completing a Release of Driving Records, paying a $4 fee and sending the documents to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg PO Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
Residents of Montana, who have lost, misplaced or damaged ID cards, may contact the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office for information on obtaining an identification card replacement. A duplicate ID card will not be issued if the card is lost or destroyed or the personal information on the card has changed. However, the individual may re-apply for a new ID card. Upon arrival, you should bring the damaged ID card and the following documents:

  • Proper identification (either two primary identification documents, or one primary and one secondary identification document)
  • Proof of autorized presence
  • Proof of Montana residency, in case your address has changed

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a hardship license?
Drivers in Montana who have a suspended drivers license may obtain a hardship license based on the offense committed. To find out whether you are eligible to obtain a hardship license, you should contact your local DMV office. The state of Montana allows a hardship license for going to work, school, or church. When you submit an application for a hardship license application, you will have to provide:

  • Two proofs of identity:
    • Birth certificate
    • ID card
    • US passport
  • Application form for a hardship license
  • Proof of your hardship (a school or job attendance verification)
  • Payment for a hardship license fee

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Montana residents who are active military members stationed out-of-state and who want to obtain a drivers license replacement, should call 1-406-444-3670 for more information. However, it is recommended for you to have a copy of your Military Identification and your Leave and Earning Statement (LES), in case the Montana DMV asks you to mail them to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

If you are legally licensed in Montana and currently serving in the armed forces, then the drivers license will be valid as long as the service continues and up to 30 days after your honorable discharge.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Montana residents who have received traffic ticket fines can fight their tickets by showing up at court on the assigned date on their ticket and claiming that they are not guilty. The charges may be dismissed in court if the information is vague or incorrect. You might even consider consulting a traffic ticket attorney, to help you evaluate the validity of the ticket and to get information on whether the ticket might be dismissed in court or not.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
Under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act, there are only certain individuals and organizations with a permission to access a Montana’s driving record. Below are listed those organizations:

  • Federal, state or local government agencies
  • Insurance companies
  • Towing companies
  • Private investigators or security services
  • Employers or agents
  • Law enforcement of Montana
  • Parent needing the driving record of a child under 18 years old

Individuals or businesses in Montana, can obtain someone else’s driving record online, by mail or in person, by completing the following steps:

  1. Register at the official Department of Justice website
  2. Sign a Restricted Use Agreement for Records to agree that you will use the information only for allowed purpose
  3. Access the Driver History Records Service in order to begin your search
  4. Submit a payment of $7.25 fee for each record

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If you are a Montana resident and your car registration has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a car registration replacement in person at a local Montana DMV office. In order to obtain a duplicate car registration, you need to complete an application for duplicate car registration, pay a duplicate registration fee and provide a license plate number or title as proof of ownership. In the event that your current car registration card has been damaged, you should attach the damaged card to the application.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
Residents of Montana dealing with a damaged or lost car title need to apply for a car title replacement by mail or in person at a local Montana DMV office. To successfully apply, you must submit a completed and notarized Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and provide a payment of $10 for the duplicate car title fee. In case your car title is damaged, bring it with you when replacing car title. Once you gather all the required documents, bring them in person, or mail them to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
If you are a Montana resident and you have a damaged, lost, mutilated or stolen drivers license, you need to apply for a duplicate drivers license in person at a local Montana DMV office.

Upon visiting the DMV you will need to bring with you two documents as a proof of your identity (either two primary documents, or one primary and one secondary identification document) and a payment of $10 for the duplicate drivers license.

In case you have a lost drivers license out of state, you should collect the needed documentation and send it by mail to the Montana DMV.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Montana vehicles that have been damaged by fire, flood, accident or other, and which are uneconomical to have them repaired, belong to the group of salvaged vehicles. Prior to obtaining a salvaged car title, the vehicle must pass a state inspection.

Once the inspection process is finished, the inspector will provide you with a copy of the original inspection report, which he will send to the Montana Title and Registration Bureau. After that, you will need to go in person to your local Montana DMV office and submit an application, providing:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

How do I obtain car registration?
Montana residents who are getting car registration for the first time, must show up in person at a local Montana DMV office. Prior to the car registration process, Montana requires an inspection of the motor vehicle and proof of insurance documentation.

Once the vehicle has been insured and inspected, be prepared to complete a vehicle registration application at a local Montana DMV office, where you will need to provide the following documents:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Proof of the vehicle’s title
  • Payment for the car registration fee

Your vehicle registration process may vary according to whether you are a new, permanent or temporary Montana resident.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
If you are a Montana resident and you have received a drivers license revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender, your license will be revoked for three years and you may not be able to renew it or restore it. When the period of revocation is over, you will be required to file a new application for a driver’s license, submit payment of all fees and re-take all of the required tests at a Montana DMV office.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Montana’s law of implied consent gives a full right to any officer to test you of the BAC percentage while driving. If you refuse to submit to the chemical alcohol test, you will face a drivers license suspension and there will be no possibility of obtaining a restricted probationary license. The duration of the drivers license suspension varies depending on the number of the offenses you have committed:

  • First refusal: Six-month drivers license suspension
  • Second or any subsequent refusal in the following five years: One-year drivers license suspension

In order to reinstate your driver’s license, you will have to satisfy the requirements of the suspension, after which you can visit a local Montana DMV office and file an application for suspended drivers license reinstatement.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
Depending on the type of violation a driver in Montana has committed, the suspension period varies. After you complete your suspension period, you will receive a notice from the Montana DMV. This notice includes instructions on how to reinstate suspended drivers license, which include the following steps:

  1. Apply for a license renewal in order to obtain a new license
  2. Pay the required reinstatement fee, which may vary depending on the reason for your suspension, in person at a County Treasurer’s Office or send a check or money order to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

To find out the specific requirements, visit a local Montana DMV office or call the DMV at 406-444-3933.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
In Montana, you won’t be able to remove points from your driver’s license in the following three years of having received them, but the DMV advises you to take traffic course at a traffic school in order to improve yourself as a better vehicle operator and to reduce the chances of committing traffic violations and causing accidents.

However, points on your drivers license may be reduced and your driving record may be eventually cleared, only if you remain free of any additional violations in the following three years.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Montana

How do I renew my driving permit?
In Montana, there is no renewal process for a learners permit. Drivers under 18 need to hold a learners permit for a minimum of six months before they can apply for a first-year restricted license. First-year restricted license ends when the individual turns 18 or on the date written on the back of the drivers license. At that moment, the restricted license converts to a full privilege drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

How do I renew my ID card?
If you want to renew ID card in Montana, you need to visit your local Montana DMV office in person and bring the following documents:

  • Proof of identity (either two primary identification documents, or one primary and one secondary identification document):
    • Primary documents:
      • A color photo driver license or ID card not expired for more than four years and issued by a US or Canadian jurisdiction
      • A certified birth certificate, issued by a US or Canadian jurisdiction
      • Certificate of birth abroad of a US citizen
      • A valid, unexpired passport or passport card, issued by the US Department of State or other jurisdiction
      • One valid, unexpired document issued by the USCIS
    • Secondary documents:
      • An original US social security card or Canadian insurance card
      • A certified copy of a marriage certificate
      • A US or Canadian expired drivers license or ID card
      • A current US or Canadian jurisdiction photo ID card
      • A current school photo ID card with the student’s name and identification number
    • Provide proof of authorized presence
    • Provide proof of Montana residency, in case your address has changed
    • Pay the ID card renewal fee

For more information: How to Apply for a Montana Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Residents of Montana who are active members of the military, stationed out of state and unable to apply for drivers license renewal in person, should mail the following documents:

For more information, call 406-444 3933 or send a mail for the correct paperwork to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

After contacting the Montana DMV and sending them the needed documentation, the driver’s license will remain valid up to 30 days after the military member’s honorable discharge. At that point in time, visit in person a local DMV office and apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
To renew a medical report for your Montana commercial drivers license, you must provide the Montana DMV with a copy of your new MEC prior to expiration of your current certificate.

If a commercial driver does fails to submit a new MEC before the expiration date of their expiring MEC, their CDL license will be downgraded to non-commercial driver’s license. This action will be taken within 10‐days of the MEC expiration date and the driver will no longer be valid to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Drivers in Montana who have a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers license must renew the motorcycle endorsement at the same time of their drivers license renewal. The Montana DMV will notify you by mail of the expiration date of your drivers license with a motorcycle endorsement, two months in advance. The motorcycle license can be renewed by mail or in person at your local Montana DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in Montana

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are a non-United States citizen living in Montana and you need to obtain a drivers license replacement, you should present the following documentation:

  • Proof of immigration status:
    • Form I-551 (Lawful Permanent Resident Card, Machine Readable Immigrant Visa) with your unexpired foreign passport
    • I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit)
    • I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
  • Proof of work eligibility:
    • Non-citizens need permission to work from DHS
    • Foreign workers need to show their:
  • I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
  • I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit) from DHS
  • Proof of age:
    • Your foreign birth certificate
  • If you don t have your foreign birth certificate, you can present your passport or a DHS document, as evidence of your age
  • Proof of identity:
    • I-551 Permanent Resident Card
    • I-94 Arrival/Departure Record with unexpired foreign passport or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
    • I-766 Employment Authorization Document
How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you are a Montana resident who is currently out of the state and who has a stolen, damaged or lost drivers license, you need to mail the following documentation to the Montana DMV:

  • A completed and signed Application for Replacement Driver License by Mail
  • Copies of two documents for identification (from the above-mentioned primary and secondary identification documents)
  • Check or money order for the $10 fee for duplicate drivers license
  • Self-addressed and stamped envelope

Once you collect all the documents, send them to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

The duplicate drivers license will arrive in your mail within four weeks.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Montana drivers who are moving to another state need to transfer car title from state to state. In order to have a successful transfer of title, you first need to take into consideration not only the Montana rules, but also the rules from the other state, and provide the following documents:

  • Proof of residency:
    • Driver’s license changes
    • Employment
    • Housing arrangements
    • University enrollment
  • All the needed title transfer forms

For more information: Montana Cross-State Title Transfers

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you are a Montana resident and you have lost your car title, you must immediately apply for a cat title replacement by submitting the following documents to a local Montana DMV office:

Residents can also mail the application and payment to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

How do I transfer my car title?
Montana residents dealing with buying, selling, gifting, donating or inheriting a motor vehicle, must learn how to transfer car title. The process of transferring car title includes these steps:

  1. The seller assigns the title over to the buyer with a notarized signature
  2. The buyer must fill an Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle
  3. Both the buyer and the seller must complete a Bill of Sale
  4. The buyer pays titling and registration fees
  5. The buyer submits all the documentation to the local Montana DMV office

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
In Montana, drivers who own a recreational vehicle (RV) must follow the same procedure as for any other vehicle title transfer which include visiting a local Montana DMV office and providing the following documents:

Remember that there are additional documents that may be needed for a transfer of title depending on why you are transferring the title; so before visiting the local DMV office, contact the Title and Registration Bureau at 406-444-3661.

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
When Montana residents are on active military duty overseas, they will have to do the following in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their Montana driver license:

  • Complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) course
  • Send identification, certificate of completion of the MSF course and an amount of $2 to the Montana DMV
  • Take the written test that the DMV will send to your commanding officer, so that you can take it under his supervision at his office, and tell him to send it back to Montana DMV

After all of the aforementioned steps are completed, the Montana DMV will add the motorcycle endorsement on your drivers license and send it to you.

However, if you are stationed in any state in America, then the Montana DMV will not add any endorsement to your drivers license, and you can either exchange your Montana drivers license for one from the state where you are stationed, or add the motorcycle endorsement when you get back to Montana.

How does the DMV check my vision?
When you visit the nearest Driver Exam Station at any Montana DMV office, one of the tests you must be tested for is the vision exam. The DMV will check your acuity, depth perception and color blindness through a vision test given on a Keystone Telebinocular. If you can not score 20/40 with both eyes together (with or without glasses), the examiner has the right to suspend your license until you improve your vision at a vision specialist.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
In Montana, there is a three-step process in obtaining a drivers license:

  • Learners permit period
  • First-year restricted license period
  • Full privilege drivers license

If you are a teenager under 18 in Montana, you will need to hold your learners permit for a minimum of six months before you can apply for a first-year restricted license. First-year restricted license ends on the date written on the back of the drivers license, or when the individual turns 18. Once it expires, the restricted driving license converts to a full privilege drivers license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
The Montana DMV does not offer the option of applying for a duplicate car title online. However, in the misfortune of having your car title lost, stolen or damaged, you need to either visit a local Montana DMV office in person or mail the needed documentation to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Any driver in Montana is required by a state law to undergo a blood or breath test while operating a motor vehicle, if required from law enforcement officials. Drivers, who refuse to submit to alcohol testing, will have an automatic drivers license suspension such as:

  • First conviction: Six-month suspension
  • Second or subsequent conviction: One-year suspension

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
Montana residents who want to obtain an ID card can do that only in person at a local Montana DMV office. Once you have successfully applied for a Montana ID card, you will immediately be given your new card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Montana Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
In Montana, demerit points are added to your driving record when you receive a traffic ticket for any violation committed. If you get a conviction of three reckless driving offenses during a one-year period, you will have your driver’s license suspended. Each reckless driving brings you five demerit points on your driving record. You should make sure not to commit any violations that will increase your number of demerit points in order to avoid having your driver’s license suspended.

For more information: Montana Motor Vehicle Division Point System

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
In Montana, you have demerit points added to your driving record for any violation committed and for every traffic ticket you have received. You should try not to commit any violations that will increase your number of demerit points. You can take a defensive traffic school course if you want to start improving your driving abilities and to understand the state laws, which will convert you into a safer driver.

For more information: Traffic/Driving Schools in Montana

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
In order to update your name on your car registration, you must obtain an updated Social Security card first. After this, visit a local Montana DMV office with your official name change documentation to order a corrected car registration. Car registration duplication fees may vary according to the type of motor vehicle you operate.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Residents of Montana who have recently had an official name change need to update their name at a local SSA office and at a local Montana DMV office. When going through the process of name changing, you will have to pay fees for the documents that need an update.

For an updated driver’s license and ID card, the fee is $10, while the duplicate certificate or car title costs $12. For more information on the fees for a name changing, contact a local Montana DMV office.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
Montana residents who have recently had an official name change need to update their name at a local SSA office and at a local Montana DMV office. Residents will have to pay fees for the documents that need an update.

For an updated driver’s license and ID card, the fee is $10, while the duplicate certificate or car title costs $12. For more information on the fees for a name changing, contact a local Montana DMV office.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
As a Montana resident, you need to get a CDL license renewal before the expiration date written on the license. The validation and duration of a CDL license in Montana are different due to the vehicle operator’s age, but if you are between 21 and 70 years old, your CDL license is valid for five years. Your CDL license usually expires on your birthday, so the renewal process must be completed six months before the expiration date. Upon renewing CDL license, you must provide the following:

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
If you are a Montana resident between 21 and 67 years old, your driverslicense is valid for eight years and it will expire at midnight on the date of your birthday. The Montana DMV sendsdrivers license renewal notices prior to your driver’s license expiration date and advises you to renew license in the six-month period before the birthday on which it will expire. However, if you fail to renew it by then, you have three additional months to apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Montana residents who have inherited a motor vehicle as a result of the death of a family member, must go through a process of transferring car title which varies based on the status of the estate of the deceased family member: probated or non-probated estate.

On the one hand, when the estate is probated, an executor or personal representative named in a will or appointed by the court is required, while on the other hand there is no need of an executor when the estate is non-probated.

The process for car title transfer of an inherited vehicle requires for you to:

  • Provide a copy of the death certificate of the family member.
  • Provide a copy of the deceased family member s will.
  • Pay the required titling and registration fees.

If you want to go into more details about the probation of the estate of the deceased family member, read the Title Manual, or contact the Title and Registration Bureau at 406-444-3661.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
In Montana, you should renew vehicle registration by the end of the expiration date on your registration documents. You will receive a registration renewal notice via mail, which will remind you that you should begin collecting the needed documentation for a vehicle registration renewal.

Residents who have not received a vehicle registration renewal notice may apply in person at a local Montana DMV office. If you fail to renew vehicle registration on time, you can get a ticket when pulled over by a police officer or maybe even you will have to pay a late fee when found with an expired registration. For additional details contact the Montana DMV.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Montana residents who deal with a lost or stolen drivers license are not required by the state to file a police report, but they are recommended to do as soon as possible so that an identity theft or fraud can be prevented.

After filing a report to the police department or your local law enforcement, bring a copy of the report to your local Montana DMV office and show it when you apply for a drivers license replacement. For further questions about whether your replacement fee will be waived or not, contact the Montana DMV at (406) 444 3933.

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Montana state law requires all drivers of motor vehicles who have been in an accident, to report all damages to the Montana DMV. There are two types of property damage in Montana: damages to vehicles and damages to a personal property (house, fence, lamppost). In the misfortune of an accident, you will need to report all damages to your insurance company as well, so that you could easily claim a financial compensation.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Montana has a state law, which requires all drivers who own and operate a motor vehicle in the state to provide a minimum auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of one person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of two people
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance

If you are an out-of-state resident for half the year but you still own and operate a motor vehicle in Montana, the state law requires you to obtain at least minimum liability auto insurance.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
Montana residents who have lost their traffic ticket should contact the court that handles their ticket as soon as possible in order to find the information again and to submit a payment before the deadline.

To find the necessary ticket and contact the court that handles the ticket, you must visit the Traffic Court website and find the information you need. If you fail to find the information on time, you might miss the deadline which may cause you to be subject to late fees and your license might be suspended.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
Montana residents who are living out-of-state and who have lost their ID card, must apply for an ID card replacement by calling 406-444-3933 or sending the required paperwork via mail to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Residents of Montana, who have had their driver’s license confiscated due to a DUI/DWI arrest, need to apply for a driver’s license reinstatement at a local Montana DMV office after the period of suspension or revocation has passed. Upon visiting the Montana DMV, you will have to:

  • Retake the diving tests all over again.
  • Prove that you have completed an alcohol program.
  • Pay the reinstatement fee.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Residents of Montana who have damaged, stolen, or lost vehicle registration and lost personalized license plates should follow the same process for replacing vehicle registration. When you decide to apply for a vehicle registration replacement, you will need to prepare the whole documentation as for a regular replacement of license plates. The only thing different is the fee that you will have to pay, since there are additional fees for special, sponsored or personalized license plates. For additional information, contact the Title and Registration Bureau at 406-444-3661.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
If you are a Montana resident and you wish to apply for a CDL license, you must be at least 18 years old. If you want to obtain an interstate CDL license and to transport hazardous materials or operate a double/triple trailer, then you must be 21 years old. To apply for a CDL license, either for an intrastate or interstate CDL license, visit your local Montana DMV office.

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
In Montana, there is no age limit on whether a resident can renew drivers license. However, the validity of the drivers license differs according to the age of the driver.

Drivers under 21 years of age have an expiration date of their driver’s license on their 21st birthday. Drivers between 21 and 67 years old must renew drivers licenses after a period of eight years. Operators between 68 and 74 years of age have a driver’s license validity until their 75th birthday. All drivers above 75 years old must renew drivers licenses after a period of four years.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Montana residents who are getting car registration might wonder where they should keep the vehicle registration documentation. Since Montana does not have any specific requirements on this question, you are advised to keep the registration documentation either with you, or somewhere secure in your vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Montana residents along with active military members who are temporarily out of state, can apply for a drivers license replacement through mail by sending the application for Replacement Driver License by Mail and the required documents to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

The duplicate drivers license should arrive within four weeks on the mailing address that you have entered in the Application for Replacement Driver License by Mail.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Montana drivers who are 75 years or older are required to renew their license at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office. The frequency of renewal is every four years. Upon arrival, you will be required to:

  • Take a vision test.
  • Present a domicile proof.
  • Have a new photo taken.

In some situations you may be asked to take a written drivers test. In order to prepare yourself for this test, you may go through the Montana Driver Manual and take practice tests before you renew your drivers license.

For more information: Senior Drivers in Montana

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
Residents of Montana must go to a local Montana DMV office in order to begin the process of a car title transfer. The most common reasons why you should transfer car title include:

  • Selling a used vehicle
  • Buying a used vehicle
  • Donating a used vehicle
  • Receiving a vehicle as a gift
  • Inheriting a vehicle as a result of the death of a family member

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
In Montana, an operator of motor vehicle can have a suspended drivers license for a specific period of time, depending on the type of the violation the person has committed. Violations may include:

  • Excessive moving violations
  • Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
  • Driving with a suspended license or no license
  • Driving without insurance
  • Other driving-related violations
  • Physical or Psychological disqualification
  • Non-driving reasons for license suspension
  • Minors in possession of alcohol
  • Commercial driver suspension
  • Failing to complete a substance abuse course

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
For Montana residents, the age restrictions on motorcycle endorsements are the same as the age restrictions for regular drivers license. Below are listed the age restrictions according to the type of drivers license:

  • Traffic Education Learner License (TELL): 14 and a half years old
  • Learner License: 16 years old (without drivers ed) or 15 years old (with completed drivers ed)

Once the drivers receive a full privilege drivers license, they can apply for a motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In Montana, CDL license endorsements are required to be done before the vehicle operator holding a CDL license may transport passengers or cargo in a commercial motor vehicle. Montana law presents the following endorsements:

  • Hazardous Materials endorsement (Class H)
  • School Bus (Class S)
  • Tank endorsement (Class N)
  • Passenger endorsement (Class P)
  • Double/Triple Trailer endorsement (Class T)

To apply for a CDL license endorsement, contact your local Montana DMV office.

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Drivers in Montana who are driving with a suspended drivers license will face the following consequences if pulled over by a police officer:

  • Increase in the length of the suspension
  • Possible imprisonment for up to five years
  • Different fines varying on the reason for a suspension

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

What are the different types of driving records?
In Montana, there is a Montana Driving Record from the Montana Motor Vehicle Division, which can be obtained, online, by mail or in person. This Montana driving record shows information of your driving history and includes the following information:

  • Suspensions
  • Violations
  • Driving status
  • Points
  • Fines
  • Violation codes
  • License classification
  • Endorsements

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Montana residents who apply for an ID card must submit a payment for the ID card to the local DMV office, and this payment varies according to the age of the resident:

  • If you are under 21 years old: $8
  • If you are 21 years old or older: $16

These fees are the same for a renewed or replaced ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Montana Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Residents of Montana who want to obtain a duplicate drivers license must pay the $10 drivers license replacement fee. You should pay this fee upon visiting the local Montana DMV office, or by sending a check or money order for the fee to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Montana residents have the following learners permit restrictions during their first year:

  • Drivers must acquire at least 50 hours of supervised driving (10 hours at night).
  • A driver with a traffic education learner license (TELL) must be supervised by a parent or legal guardian.
  • A parent, legal guardian, or a licensed driver above 18 years must supervise a driver with a learners permit.
  • Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt.
  • The driver must not receive any traffic violations or alcohol/drug-related offenses in the six-month period prior to the first-year restricted license.
  • The driver must hold the learners permit for a minimum of six months in order to be able to advance to the first-year restricted license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
If you are a Montana resident who wants to obtain a commercial drivers license, you must present the required documentation to the local Montana DMV office. One of the requirements you must meet before receiving a CDL license is to be medically certified by an approved medical examiner. After that you must submit a valid copy of your Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC) to your local Montana DMV office. If you fail to present these documents to the Montana DMV, your commercial licensing status will be downgraded to non-commercial driver’s license.

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
The most common reason for vehicle registration replacement is losing the car registration certificate. Moreover, some Montana residents might have had their registration stolen and as a result have been subject to identity theft. If your vehicle registration has been stolen, you should immediately file a police report to your local law enforcement agency or police department. Having filed a report, you can visit a local Montana DMV office to submit an application for a duplicate vehicle registration.
What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you are a Montana resident with a learner’s permit and you get a traffic ticket fine, you won’t be able to obtain a regular driver’s license in the expected time. In fact, if you are a driver with a learner’s permit and you violate the restrictions of driving with a learner’s permit, you could lose your driving privileges as the severest penalty of getting a traffic ticket.

For more information: Traffic Violations in Montana

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Montana residents pulled over by law enforcement officers and found with a BAC above the legal alcohol limit will get a DUI or DWI citation. Penalties for DUI/DWI convictions vary according to the number of offenses committed and include the following:

  • First offense:
    • Jail time from 24 hours to six months
    • A fine from $300 to $1,000
    • A six-month driver’s license suspension for refusing to submit to a chemical test or driving with BAC over the legal limit
    • Ignition interlock device (IID) requirement
  • Second offense:
    • Jail time from seven days to one year
    • A fine from $600 to $1,000
    • A one-year driver’s license suspension for refusing to submit to a chemical test or driving with BAC over the legal limit
    • Ignition interlock device (IID) requirement
  • Third offense:
    • Jail time from 30 days to one year
    • A fine from $1,000 to $5,000
    • A one-year driver’s license suspension for refusing to submit to a chemical test or driving with BAC over the legal limit

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Residents of Montana who want to reinstate suspended drivers license, need to pay a reinstatement fee to a local Montana DMV office. Reinstatement fees may vary depending on the reason for your suspension.

You can pay the required reinstatement fee in person at a County Treasurer’s Office or send a check or money order to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
Montana has different vehicle registration fees based on the vehicle type, age, size, value and registration time period. The required fees for an annual light vehicle registration (passenger cars, pickup trucks one-ton and under, vans and sport utility vehicles) are the following:

  • Vehicles from zero to four years: $217
  • Vehicles from five to 10 years: $87
  • Vehicles of 11 years or more: $28

The vehicles in Montana can have a permanent vehicle registration if they are over 11 years old. Once you have your vehicle registered permanently, you will never have to renew your registration. The required fees for a permanent vehicle registration are the following:

  • Registration rate: $87.50
  • Montana Highway Patrol Salary and Retention fee: $5
  • Fees for:
    • County tax
    • Optional state parks support: $6
    • Special plates
    • Gross vehicle weight (for light trucks)
  • Insurance verification fee: $5

If your vehicle has special license plates that require annual renewal, you will not be able to obtain a permanent vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
Drivers in Montana who need to obtain a duplicate car title due to the misfortune of having their car title lost, stolen or damaged, must apply for a car title replacement. In order to replace car title successfully, you need to complete and notarize an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title. The required fee for a car title replacement is $10. Once you collect the needed documentation, bring them in person at a local Montana DMV office or mail them to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
In Montana, the car registration replacement requires payment of a required fee, which varies according to the replacement you need:

  • Replacement license plate (same number and type of plate): $15
  • Replacement license plate (new plate number): $10
  • Replacement decal: $1

Remember that the fees for special or sponsored plates might vary.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
In Montana, the required fees for an annual light vehicle registration renewal (passenger cars, pickup trucks one-ton and under, vans and sport utility vehicles) are the following:

  • Vehicles from zero to four years old: $217
  • Vehicles from five to 10 years old: $87
  • Vehicles of 11 years old or more: $28

The vehicles that are over 11 years old in Montana can have a permanent vehicle registration, which will not have to be renewed ever again. Moreover, have in mind that if your vehicle has special license plates that require annual renewal, you will not be able to obtain a permanent vehicle registration. The required fees for a permanent light vehicle registration are the following:

  • Registration rate: $87.50
  • Montana Highway Patrol Salary and Retention fee: $5
  • Fees for:
    • County tax
    • Optional state parks support: $6
    • Special plates
    • Gross vehicle weight (for light trucks)
  • Insurance verification fee: $5

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In Montana, you need to be aware of the fact that a motorcycle endorsement is required in order to operate not only motorcycles, but also three-wheel motorcycles. If you wish to operate a three-wheel motorcycle, the requirements to operate it would be the same as for a motorcycle: you will have to pass a written drivers test and a driving test.

For additional details about the exams, read thoroughly the Montana Motorcycle Supplement. This supplement contains specific information about the safe operation of a three-wheel motorcycle, including both three-track motorcycles and motorcycles with sidecars.

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Montana drivers who have a suspended drivers license, may be eligible for a hardship license based on the committed offense that brought them the drivers license suspension in the first place.

To find out whether you are eligible to obtain a hardship license, you should contact your local DMV office. However, Montana offers a hardship license for going to work or school/church. When you submit an application for a hardship license application, you will have to:

  • Provide a school or job attendance verification
  • Pay a hardship license fee
  • Provide proof of any other document needed

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you are a Montana resident who has submitted a drivers license application, you must go through a certain examination at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office. You will have to pass the following exams:

  • Written drivers test
  • Vision exam
  • Drivers test

In the case that you fail your driving test, the state of Montana allows you to retake it again the next business day.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When you file an application for a drivers permit at your local Montana DMV office, bring the following documentation along with you:

  • Parental consent
  • Proof of your identity
  • Proof of your Montana residency
  • Proof of your authorized presence
  • Payment of the required fee for learners permit

In case you have changed your name, you will also need to show proof of your name change.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Residents of Montana who would like to apply for a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement, must provide certain documentation to their local Montana DMV office, including:

  • A motorcycle endorsement application
  • A valid drivers license
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Montana residency
  • Proof of authorized presence
  • Payment for the required motorcycle endorsement fee

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
All Montana residents who plan to submit a drivers license application, must present the following documentation upon visiting their nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office:

  • A parental consent if under 18
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Montana residency
  • Proof of authorized presence
  • Payment for the required fee for a drivers

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
Montana residents who have a damaged, stolen or lost car title, must begin a process of replacing car title either by mail, or in person at a local Montana DMV office. You can obtain a duplicate car title by providing a completed and notarized Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and paying a $10 duplicate car title fee.

If your car title is damaged either by fire, liquid or other, you must submit the damaged car title along with the required documents. In the case that your title shows a lienholder, you must complete a Security Interest Action in your application. Once you ve successfully gathered all the necessary documents, you can present them to a local Montana DMV office, or mail it to the address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Residents of Montana who apply for an official address change must submit certain documentation to establish their identity and Montana residency. Documents that can prove the Montana residency of the driver include the following:

  • A bank statement
  • A payroll check or payroll check stub
  • A utility bill or utility hook-up order
  • Canceled mail addressed to the applicant
  • A U.S. or Montana income tax return from the previous year
  • A Montana voter registration card
  • A current automobile or life insurance policy or statement

For more information: How to Apply for a New Drivers License in Montana

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
If you are a non-United States citizen living in Montana, you need to present the following documentation for an address changing:

  • Proof of immigration status:
    • Form I-551 (Lawful Permanent Resident Card, Machine Readable Immigrant Visa) with your unexpired foreign passport
    • I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit)
    • I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
  • Proof of work eligibility:
    • Non-citizens need permission to work from DHS
    • Foreign workers need to show their:
      • I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
      • I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit) from DHS
  • Proof of age:
    • Your foreign birth certificate. If you don t have your foreign birth certificate, you can present your passport or a DHS document, as evidence of your age
  • Proof of identity:
    • I-551 Permanent Resident Card
    • I-94 Arrival/Departure Record with unexpired foreign passport or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport
    • I-766 Employment Authorization Document

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

Montana residents whose vehicle registration card is lost, stolen, or damaged, need to go through the process of replacing car registration at a local Montana DMV office, providing the following documentation:

  • Application for duplicate car registration
  • Proof of ownership:
    • License plate number
    • Car title
  • Payment for a duplicate registration fee
  • The damaged registration card, in case it was damaged

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
Residents of Montana who want to get car registration, need to submit a completed vehicle registration application and payment of the required registration fee no matter whether they are new, permanent or temporary Montana residents. You need to bring the registration application and payment in person to a local Montana DMV office, along with the following documents:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Proof of the vehicle’s title
  • Registration certificate from the former state (if you are a new Montana resident) or the vehicle’s current registration certificate (if you are a temporary Montana resident)
  • Payment for the county option tax, for titling fees and for the license plate fees, if any of these is required

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Montana

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Montana residents with expiring car registration can renew car registration online, in person or by mail, upon receiving a registration renewal notice. You should prepare the following documentation:

  • Vehicle registration renewal notice
  • Title number, VIN or vehicle number
  • Montana driver’s license
  • Payment for the required fee

Once you have successfully applied, the Montana DMV will mail you the renewed car registration documents.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
Montana residents with expired drivers licenses, must renew drivers license either in person at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office or by mail. Upon visiting the DMV office, you should bring the following documents:

  • Your expiring Montana driver’s license or proof of identity
  • Payment for the $40.50 renewal fee for an eight-year license

You will be issued a temporary drivers license and the renewed drivers license will arrive in the mail within two to four weeks.

If you live in one of the counties that do not provide driver’s license services and you need to renew drivers license by mail, you must complete the following documentation:

  • Three mail renewal application forms:
    • Class D Driver License Mail Renewal Application
    • Medical Evaluation for Driver License Mail Renewal Application
    • Report of Eye Examination Application
  • In case that your name has changed, you need a name change document.
  • Money order for the $40.50 renewal fee for an eight-year license or a pre-paid county receipt from the County treasurer office.
  • A self-addressed and stamped envelope if you want the temporary driver’s license to be mailed back to you.

After you collect all these documents, send them to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

The renewed drivers license will arrive in the mail within two to four weeks.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
If you are a Montana resident and you have bought or inherited a motor vehicle, or a motor vehicle has been donated of gifted to you, you will need to undergo the process of transferring car title. In order to have a successful car title transfer, you should prepare certain documentation when applying at a local Montana DMV office, including:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
Montana residents who have lost, damaged or stolen drivers license may apply for a duplicate drivers license by visiting in person a local Montana DMV office. You will need to bring with you two documents as a proof of your identity (either two primary documents, or one primary and one secondary identification document):

  • Primary documents:
    • A color photo driver license or ID card not expired for more than four years and issued by a US or Canadian jurisdiction
    • A certified birth certificate, issued by a US or Canadian jurisdiction
    • Certificate of birth abroad of a US citizen
    • A valid, unexpired passport or passport card, issued by the US Department of State or other jurisdiction
    • One valid, unexpired document issued by the USCIS
  • Secondary documents:
    • An original US Social Security card or Canadian insurance card
    • A certified copy of a marriage certificate
    • A US or Canadian expired drivers license or ID card
    • A current US or Canadian jurisdiction photo ID card
    • A current school photo ID card with the student’s name and identification number

When you bring two of the above-mentioned documents, you will also need to pay $10 fee for your drivers license replacement.

If you are out of the state and have a lost drivers license, you need to mail the following to the Montana DMV:

  • A completed and signed Application for Replacement Driver License by Mail
  • Copies of two documents for identification (from the above-mentioned primary and secondary identification documents)
  • Check or money order for the $10 fee for duplicate drivers license
  • Self-addressed and stamped envelope

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
In Montana, you are required to pass certain examination in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your drivers license. This examination consists of:

  • A written drivers test
  • A vision exam
  • A driving test

Before you take any test, you need to schedule an appointment at one of the nearest Driver Exam Stations at your Montana DMV office. For additional details about the exams, read thoroughly the Montana Motorcycle Supplement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Montana

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In order to receive a duplicate car title in Montana, you need to fill out an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and have it notarized. Additionally, you should also submit a payment of $10 for the car title replacement fee either in person at a local Montana DMV office or by mail to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you have a Montana commercial driver’s license (CDL) and you got a traffic ticket, you might face very strict fines and penalties. The state of Montana may decide to suspend your driving privileges for one year if it is first conviction, or place restrictions against your CDL depending on the offense you have committed. Any second or subsequent conviction will result in having your license suspended for life. CDL drivers should report the traffic fines to their employer within 30 days of the day they got a conviction for a traffic violation.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Residents of Montana who have been convicted of DUI while operating a commercial motor vehicle and who have an alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or more, will have their CDL license suspended. For a first offense, your CDL license will be suspended for one year. For the second and any subsequent offense, you will have a life suspension on your CDL license (three years if transporting hazardous materials).

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
In the case that your lost car title is found after your car title replacement has been issued, you should keep both as proof of ownership. Request a replacement pink slip by filling out an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and paying a $10 fee for a duplicate car title. Submit both the application and the payment to a local Montana DMV office or mail them to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

What information does a driving record contain?
The Montana Driving Record from the Montana Motor Vehicle Division shows information of your driving history and can be obtained online, by mail or in person. This driving record includes the following information:

  • Suspensions
  • Violations
  • Driving status
  • Points
  • Fines
  • Violation codes
  • License classification
  • Endorsements

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

What is an ID card?
What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
In Montana, the legal alcohol limit for drivers differs according to their age or type of license. For drivers under 21, the legal alcohol limit is 0.02 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). For drivers who are over 21, the legal alcohol limit is 0.08 percent BAC. Drivers of commercial motor vehicles have a legal alcohol limit of 0.04 percent BAC.

If you are found with a percentage of BAC above the legal alcohol limit, you will face DUI citations.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What is the cost of a DUI?
In Montana, the cost of a DUI citation depends on the number of offenses the driver has committed:

  • First offense: $300 to $1,000
  • Second offense: $600 to $1,000
  • Third offense: $1,000 to $5,000

Apart from the payment of a fine, a driver might also get a jail time from 24 hours to one year.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Montana divides the violations according to the motion of the vehicle into moving and non-moving violations. No matter whether the traffic ticket is for moving or non-moving violation, the fines range from $20 to $1,000. More serious offenses might face you with higher traffic ticket fines or even imprisonment.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Montana

What is the cost to get a driver record?
Montana residents, who want to obtain their driving record, can do that online, by mail or in person at a local Montana DMV office. The cost of obtaining your driving record varies according to the way you request a driving record. If you order an online driving record, you will need to pay a fee of $7.25 for each record you need to check. For any requests made in person or mailed to the Montana DMV, you will have to pay a fee of $4 for getting your driving record.

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
In Montana, drivers with a commercial driver’s license face DUI/DWI penalties that vary depending on the number of offenses the driver has committed. Drivers of commercial motor vehicles have a legal alcohol limit of 0.04 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). When found with a percentage of BAC above the legal alcohol limit, you will face the following DUI penalties:

  • Demerit points added to your driving record
  • Prohibition of driving a commercial motor vehicle
    • BAC higher than 0/04 percent: one-year prohibition
    • BAC higher than 0/04 percent while transporting hazardous materials: three-year prohibition
    • Second time of committing these offenses: life-time prohibition
  • Refusal of taking the chemical test:
    • First refusal: one-year license suspension
    • Second or refusal in the following five years: life-time license suspension

All the penalties for drivers over 21, also apply to CDL drivers when they are under a DUI conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors in Montana face very strict DUI restrictions and penalties. Drivers under 21 have a legal alcohol limit of 0.02 percent blood alcohol content (BAC). If found driving under the influence of alcohol with a percentage of BAC above the legal alcohol limit, you will face the following penalties:

  • Demerit points added to your driving record
  • Suspension or revocation of driver’s license
    • First offense: 90-days suspension
    • Second offense: six-month suspension
    • Third or subsequent offense: one-year suspension
  • Payment of a fine
    • First offense: $100 to $500 fine
    • Second offense: $200 to $500 fine
    • Third or subsequent offense: $300 to $500 fine

Additionally, all the penalties that drivers over 21 are facing with, also apply to minors when they are under a DUI conviction.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Montana residents who own and operate vehicles need to know that driving without a minimum of liability car insurance is illegal. The minimum liability car insurance in Montana includes:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of one person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of two people: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $10,000

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written drivers test is conducted at the nearest driver exam station. The exam includes topics on safe driving, meaning of traffic signs and Montana traffic laws. If you want to obtain a Montana learners permit, you need to pass this written drivers test with a score of 80 percent or higher. You are also encouraged to takeonline practice driving tests and to read thoroughly the Montana Driver Manual.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In Montana, scooters, mopeds, and other motor-driven cycles are registered as motorcycles, so the process for getting vehicle title is the same as the process for motorcycles. Upon visiting a local Montana DMV office, you will need to provide:

For additional information on how to get a vehicle title, please contact the Title and Registration Bureau at 406-444-3661.

What languages is the written test available in?
Drivers in Montana will need to pass three types of examination at the nearest Driver Exam Station at any Montana DMV office, if they want to obtain a drivers license, including:

  • Awritten drivers test
  • A vision exam
  • Adrivers test

Written knowledge tests are conducted in English. However, if the English language is not your native language, you can make arrangements by contacting the Montana DMV at (406) 444-3933.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Montana drivers with a DUI citation and a suspended license, must complete a list of requirements in order to reinstate their driver’s license. These requirements include the following:

  • Complete the court requirements
  • Wait for the duration of your driver’s license suspension to be over
  • Successfully complete an alcohol awareness program
  • Pay the appropriate reinstatement fee
  • Provide proof of financial responsibility by filing a SR-22 insurance, if required
  • Have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed for breathalyzer tests on any vehicle you drive at your cost
  • Take all the driving tests
  • Submit necessary clearance documents

Drivers can begin the suspended drivers license reinstatement process by visiting a local Montana DMV office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Drivers in Montana who have recently had an official address change must notify the Montana DMV within 10 days. If you are a driver who fails to submit an address change request in this time, you will be subject to a fine if a law enforcement official pulls you over and finds out that you have the wrong address on your license. To submit an official address change form to the Montana DMV, visit your local Montana DMV office.

For more information: Address Change in Montana

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Montana residents with expired drivers licenses must renew drivers licenses either in person at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office or by mail. Drivers who fail to renew drivers licenses by the expiration date have additional three months to apply for a drivers license renewal.

Even though you have those additional three months, it is illegal to drive in that period with an expired drivers license and you will face fines if ticketed or pulled over by a police officer.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
The state law in Montana requires you to show proof of car insurance when you register your car and also when you are pulled over by a police officer or involved in a car accident. Your Montana car insurance company or agent will help you in obtaining a proof of insurance.

The most used proof of car insurance is an insurance ID card, but you can also provide a copy of your insurance policy. Drivers found without any proof of insurance might get fines and license suspension.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Montana residents who need to renew expired vehicle registration can do that in person, online or by mail. When you apply for a vehicle registration renewal online or by mail, you should follow the instructions given on the registration renewal notice. If you have not received a renewal notice or new car registration tags or stickers, you should visit a local Montana DMV office in order to solve the problem as soon as possible, since you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle without a valid registration or tags and stickers.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
In Montana, once you have submitted an application for a drivers license renewal, the DMV will send you by mail the renewed drivers license within two to four weeks to your address. If you haven’t received the renewed drivers license in the specified period of time, contact the DMV at the number 406-444 3933 or send a mail to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
If you are a Montana resident who wants to obtain a learners permit, you need to pass the following tests:

  • A written drivers test
  • A vision exam
  • A driving test

Once you pass the required tests, you will be issued a one-year valid learners permit.You can always revise your knowledge by taking online practice driving tests using this link from the Montana DMV website.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Montana residents who want to apply for a CDL license must pass certain tests in order to receive their CDL license, including:

  • Written drivers test
  • Vision exam
  • Driving test

The vision exam and the CDL knowledge written test can be taken at any Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office. The CDL driving test is not available at all of the driver exam stations in Montana DMV offices. Check the Montana Driver Exam Station Schedule in order to find which station provides road tests for Class A, Class B and Class C CDL licenses.

For more information: Montana Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
Montana residents who have submitted a drivers license application, should be aware of the certain examination they must go through at the nearest Driver Exam Station at any Montana DMV office. You will have to pass the following exams:

  • Written drivers test
  • Vision exam
  • Drivers test

The written drivers test must be passed with a score of 80 percent or higher in order to obtain a Montana drivers license. The exam includes topics on safe driving, meaning of traffic signs and Montana traffic laws. If you want to go into further details about the tests, read the Montana Driver Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In Montana, drivers who operate a motor vehicle are required to have a minimum of liability car insurance, which includes the following:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of one person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of two people
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
In Montana, there are several types of noncommercial licenses. You may apply for the Class D basic drivers license, which is also known as the only noncommercial drivers license in the state of Montana. This license is valid for up to eight years and it will be issued to you only if your vehicle weighs less than 26,000 lbs. Apart from this non-commercial drivers license, you have the motorcycle learners license with a validity of one year and the motorcycle endorsement which must be added to your Class D drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Montana drivers of any motor vehicle who decide to operate their vehicle without getting car insurance run the risk of facing penalties of minimum liability coverage laws in the state. Drivers found without any proof of car insurance might face the following penalties:

  • Fines
  • Jail time
  • Demerit points on the driving record
  • Suspension of driver’s license and car registration

In order to avoid these penalties, you need to obtain a form of proof of insurance from your auto insurance company, which normally is issued as a car insurance ID card.

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
When a Montana driver is convicted of a drivers license suspension, the duration of the suspension period varies according to the type of violation the person has committed and whether or not this is the driver’s first conviction. You can reinstate suspended drivers license after you have completed your suspension period.

Have in mind that after you reinstate suspended drivers license, you might be on a probation, during which you must not make any additional violations in order to avoid an extended drivers license suspension.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

When does my car registration expire?
Montana offers you different time periods for vehicle registration out of which you can choose the one that is the best for you. There are several types of vehicle registration, including:

  • 12-month vehicle registration
  • 24-month vehicle registration
  • Permanent vehicle registration

According to this, your car registration expires either after one year or after two years. There is also a permanent vehicle registration, which does not expire and does not require a vehicle registration renewal.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

When does my ID card expire?
If you are a Montana resident and you have an ID card, you need to know that it expires on your birthday either four or eight years after it was issued. Moreover, the validity of the ID card differs according to your age:

  • If you are under 21 years old, your ID card has a validity of four years.
  • If you are 21 years old and older, your ID card has a validity of eight years.

You can renew ID card either six months prior to the expiration date or three months after it expires. You need to renew it in person at your local Montana DMV office, and you will receive the renewed ID card in the mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a Montana Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Residents of Montana who are changing address when moving must notify the Montana DMV within 10 days of moving to a new address. To submit an address change request for driver’s licenses, residents must present the needed documentation in person at a local Montana DMV office or complete and send the application and other documents to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N. Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Montana

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
In Montana, the Bill of Sale document is necessary when you are buying or selling a motor vehicle. The motor vehicle cannot be bought or sold without having completed a car title transfer process.

Both the seller and the buyer complete the bill of sale, which contains a full description of the vehicle and an Odometer statement reflecting the amount of mileage of the vehicle.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Montana

When will I need to renew my license?
Montana driver’s licenses expire at midnight on the date of the resident’s birthday. Its validation varies according to the age of the driver. If you are between 21 and 67 years of age, your license will be valid for eight years.

The Montana DMV sends drivers license renewal notices prior to your driver’s license expiration date and advises you to renew license in the six-month period before the birthday on which it will expire. However, if you fail to renew it by then, you have three additional months to apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
Montana residents who need to apply for a drivers license replacement must visit a local Montana DMV office in person, or send the needed documentation and the required payment by mail. The duplicate drivers license should arrive by mail within four weeks from the day of the application.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Montana Driver’s License or ID card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
Montana residents who want to check whether they have a suspended drivers license or not, can do that in the following ways including:

  • Visit in person a local Montana DMV office
  • Call the DMV office at 406-444-3933
  • Check your driver’s license status online. Your Montana Driving Record will show you: suspensions, violations, driving status, points, fines, violation codes, license classification and endorsements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Montana

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Residents of Montana who have had to deal with a lost, damaged, or stolen vehicle registration can always begin the process of replacing vehicle registration in person at a local Montana DMV office. Upon visiting the DMV, you should fill out an application, provide documents for insurance and pay a duplicate vehicle registration fee. Montana DMV offices are located throughout the state, so you can choose to visit the DMV closest to you and located in your county.
Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Montana residents convicted of DUI or DWI will receive a court order to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles for a period of time. If you are dealing with a first-time conviction of DUI, the ignition interlock device must be placed on any vehicle you are planning to drive for a certain probation period. If this is your second or subsequent time conviction, the ignition interlock device must be placed on any vehicle you plan to drive for a 12-month period after your driver’s license revocation ends.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Residents of Montana who have received traffic ticket fines have the option to pay the fine by mail, online or in person at a local Montana DMV office. Depending on the Montana court that handles the ticket, residents may or may not be able to pay traffic fine online.

In order to find out whether you can access your traffic ticket fines information online, you should check for instructions on the paperwork you have received.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana

Where can I get a new drivers license?
In Montana, drivers license applications cannot be mailed or completed online. To apply for drivers license, you need to visit the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office. After you submit the needed documentation, pass the required exams, and pay the required drivers license fee, you can obtain a new drivers license from any DMV office in Montana.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Montana

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
If you are a Montana resident who needs a car title replacement, you ought to submit a completed and notarized Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and a payment of $10 for the duplicate car title to the following address:

Title And Registration Bureau

1003 Buckskin Drive

Deer Lodge, MT 59722-2375

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents of Montana wanting to obtain an ID card must visit a local Montana DMV office in person. To apply for ID card, you need to bring either two primary identification documents or one primary and one secondary identification document. Also, remember to provide payment for the ID card fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Montana Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In Montana, all residents are required to apply for vehicle insurance on all motor vehicles registered in the state. This means that in order to be able to drive your motor vehicle, you must first get car insurance for it. Always remember that in Montana it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle that is not covered by a minimum of liability car insurance, which includes:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of one person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance of two people
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance

For more information: Montana Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Montana residents who would like to obtain a learners permit and are under 18, must have a consent by a parent or legal guardian when submitting an application in person at a local Montana DMV office. Parents or legal guardians must sign a parental consent and if they are licensed drivers must be present on the seat next to you while you are driving with a learners permit. A driver with a Traffic education learner license (TELL) must also be accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Montana

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Residents of Montana who have obtained a copy of their driving record, should check it into detail to make sure that all the information is correct with no mistakes. However, it might occur a notation to be placed temporarily on your driving record, indicating that there is some piece of information that has not been entered in your driving record yet. When the information is entered in your driving record, the DMV will remove that notation.

If you believe that a recent traffic ticket or any other information is missing from your driving record, please contact your local Montana DMV office in order to notify them. Your request for a revision of your driving record may be sent to the following address:

Motor Vehicle Division

302 N Roberts, Third Floor, Scott Hart Bldg

PO Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430

For more information: Your Montana Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
The state of Montana gives you the option to choose whether you want to renew drivers license in person at the nearest Driver Exam Station at your Montana DMV office or by mail. If you appear in person at the DMV office, you will not be asked to take a vision test. However, if you live in one of the counties that do not provide driver’s license services and you must renew license by mail, then you will be required to send through mail a Report of Eye Examination Application along with the required additional documentation.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
The Montana DMV sends drivers license renewal notices prior to your driver’s license expiration date. However, you don’t need this notice when renewing drivers license by mail or in person at your local Montana DMV office. This notice only advises you to renew license in the six-month period before the birthday on which it will expire. However, if you fail to renew it by then, you have three additional months to apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Montana

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
If you are a resident of Montana who has violated the driving laws, you need to know that any ticket from a traffic violation has an assigned point value, which automatically is added to Your Montana Driving Record. The demerit points remain for three years on your record. After this period, the points disappear, but the convictions remain permanently on your DMV driving record. Tickets received out of state are also written on your driving record.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Montana drivers who are assessed DUI citations face a number of penalties that include jail time, payment of fines, license suspensions and driving restrictions. Moreover, drivers convicted of DUI/DWI must attend an alcohol awareness program prior to beginning a process of suspended drivers license reinstatement. Once they successfully complete an alcohol awareness program, the agency will send a proof to the Montana DMV.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Montana

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, when you apply for a car registration replacement in Montana, you need to fill out an application for duplicate car registration. Apart from the application, you will need to provide proof of ownership, payment for the duplicate registration fee, and your current registration card, in case it has been damaged.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Montana

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
In Montana, residents applying for a car title replacement are not required to present proof of insurance. The required documentation for obtaining a vehicle title replacement includes a notarized Application for Replacement Certificate of Title and a payment of $10 for the duplicate car title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Montana

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
If you are a Montana resident and you approach the expiration date on your vehicle registration, you should expect the Montana DMV to send you a registration renewal notice in the mail. This notice should arrive several weeks before the expiration date on your registration documents and you will have to begin the process of renewing car registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Montana residents who want to renew vehicle registration need to watch out for the expiration date written on their vehicle registration documentation, since the registration will not expire on the operator’s birthday, but on the date of expiration.

Most vehicles in Montana need to be registered annually, but there are also options of a 24-month vehicle registration and a permanent vehicle registration. Several weeks prior to the expiration date, you should receive a registration renewal notice reminding you that you should start preparing the needed documentation for a vehicle registration renewal. You can apply for a vehicle registration renewal online, in person or by mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Montana