Texas Frequently Asked Questions

After taking the online course will i still have to pay for the license card, or did it get paid already when i paid for the test?
No, the online testing center fee does not include the price of the driver’s license.You will be responsible for paying $16 if you are under 18 years of age, or $25 if you are 18 years old or more.

The DPS now accept credit cards as well as cash, checks and money orders.

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Yes, Texas requires you to complete a motorcycle safety course when getting a motorcycle license. You can find a training location near you by visiting the Training Locations page on the Texas Department of Public Safety website. Upon finishing this course, you will need to present a certificate of completion when applying for your motorcycle driver’s license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
When obtaining a motorcycle license endorsement, it is important to be aware of the state s helmet laws. For information regarding motorcycle helmet exceptions, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
You should renew your TX vehicle registration prior to its expiration date in order to avoid paying any fines or late fees. Additionally, you should keep a copy of your car registration in your vehicle at all times.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
It is highly advised that you maintain the same address on your car registration that is on your driver s license. For more information, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600. For your convenience, you can also easily schedule an appointment to make these updates by using our DPS locator.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, a driver is required to apply for car insurance in the state where their permanent residence is. If you are in the process of moving to Texas, keep in mind that you will be required to obtain the following minimum insurance coverages:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury total

However, you are also welcome to purchase additional coverage, such as accident, collision, comprehensive and rental if you so choose.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, Texas requires commercial drivers to renew their TX CDL licenses in person. For more information, visit the Texas DPS website. When renewing your CDL license, make sure to bring your current Texas driver’s license with you as proof of identification.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
Yes, the Texas DPS allows you to obtain a certified online driving record through their website. The Texas Department of Public Safety offers a couple of different certified records – one contains your driving history from the past three years, while the other includes information pertaining to your entire record.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, the Texas Department of Public Safety currently does not allow individuals to take tests for a driving permit online. You will be required to take the written test in person. For your convenience, use our DPS locator to find an office near you, so you can schedule an appointment ahead of time and thus avoid any long lines. Prior to heading out the door, keep in mind that the written test consists of multiple-choice questions, which you can prepare for by taking a practice test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
If you have an intrastate CDL license, you are permitted to drive commercially within the state of your CDL s issuance only. You may drive for personal reasons in a standard vehicle with an intrastate license out of state, though. An interstate license may be used for commercial or personal reasons anywhere in the US.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
It is highly recommended that you, not another individual, renew your Texas vehicle registration. And with the convenience of renewing auto registration online, by mail or in person, you can select the option that facilitates matters for you.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

Do boats need to be registered?
Yes, if you own a motorized boat, then you must have it properly registered in Texas. Additionally, any sailboats that are 14 feet in length, with an auxiliary engine or USCG documented vessels must be registered as well. A boat registration is valid for two years. If you would like more information about what is required on your end to complete boat registration, visit the Texas Parks and Wildlife webpage.

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Texas

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Yes, in order to operate a scooter or moped you will be required to obtain a class M motorcycle license. You will need to follow all the proper steps for a motorcycle license, including passing written and driving skills tests and meeting DPS vision standards. Additionally, when you apply, you must bring you proofs of identification, Social Secutity Number, legal presence in the United States and residency in the state of Texas.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Depending on your violation, you may have the option of completing a defensive driving course approved by the Texas Education Agency to dismiss a ticket and remove points from your driving record. However, in order to take this class, you must first plead guilty to the ticket. Additionally, the course must be approved by the court. Read more about traffic school here.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are no longer residing in Texas, you must get car insurance in your new state. Although Texas does not require you to surrender your license plates if you are moving from the state, you should nonetheless surrender them to your tax county office.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Yes, you are required to file a police report if you have a lost drivers license or a stolen drivers license. By doing so, you reduce the chances of identity theft or fraud. File your report by visiting a local police station and speaking to an officer about the incident. Thereafter, make sure to bring a copy of the police report to a Texas DMV branch. You can seek one in your area by using our convenient DMV locator.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Filing a police report is not required; however it is highly recommended that you report your lost car registration or stolen car registration to local law enforcement authorities. By filing a police report, you can then present a copy at your local Texas DPS office as part of any necessary documentation to get a duplicate registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
The state of Texas does not make it necessary for drivers to surrender their license plates when you are moving to a different state. However, it is strongly recommended that you properly discard of the plates, so as to avoid any future problems or even theft. Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety for more information about how you can deface your places and get rid of it for good.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Yes, for a Texas learning permit you must complete a drivers ed course that should consist of the following:

  • 32 hours in a classroom setting
  • Behind-the-wheel hours for when you are ready to obtain a provisional license

Be aware that you can only obtain a provisional driver’s license if you are under the age of 18. Once you have received a provisional drivers license, it will expire on your 18th birthday.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
If you have a damaged car title, turn it in to the Texas Department of Public Safety when replacing your title, so to avoid it being mishandled or misused. Take this time to also apply for a duplicate car title and have payment available for any necessary fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, in the event that your car registration is damaged, turn it in to a nearby tax county collector s office, so that it is not mishandled or misused. While at the tax collector’s office, you can also take advantage of replacing your car registration by filling out any necessary forms and presenting your TX driver’s license. You will also be required to pay the correct fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, both mopeds and scooters must have a DMV car registration in the state of Texas. To complete the process of getting car registration in the state, make sure to follow these steps outlined below:

  • Present any necessary documentation
  • Gather proof of insurance
  • Have payment ready for fees

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
There are certain counties in the state of Texas that do not require an emissions testing for registering car. To find out if your county is one of them, visit the Texas DPS Inspection Station Locator page. Certain vehicles are also exempt from undergoing smog and emissions testing. These vehicles include the ones listed below:

  • Diesel-powered cars
  • Cars that are less than two years old
  • Electric cars

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
If you do not intend to operate your vehicle for a lengthy period of time, then you should cancel your car registration, as well as surrender your license plate. You must first adhere to these steps prior to canceling your Texas car insurance, in order to avoid any penalties, fines or the possibility of a driver s license suspension.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
In Texas, you can obtain a veteran designation ID card if you are an individual who was honorably discharged and served in any of the following:

  • Texas National Guard
  • Coast Guard
  • Marine Corps
  • United States Army
  • Navy
  • Air Force

To complete the process, stop by a driving license office and present one of the documents below:

  • DD-214
  • DD-215
  • NGB-22
  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs disability letter
  • U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Proof of Service/Verification of Honorable Discharge

An original or certified copy will be accepted. For more information, visit the Veteran Services page of the Texas DPS website.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Before you apply for drivers license documentation, take a look at the Texas Driver s Handbook by visiting this link. Inside this manual, you will find information about various driving-related topics, including the following:

  • Signals, signs and markers
  • Special driving situations
  • Your license to drive
  • Parking, stopping or standing
  • How alcohol affects your driving
  • Bicycle vehicle laws
  • Safety tips
  • Pedestrian safety
  • Speed and speed limits

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
You can pay traffic tickets or parking tickets by following the instructions on the ticket itself, or by visiting the county clerk s website of where your ticket was issued. Texas also allows you to get information about your ticket through the Texas DPS Highway Patrol Citation Search page.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

How can I renew my drivers license?
In Texas, you can apply for drivers license renewal in one of four ways: online, by phone, in person or by mail.

Online

To renew your driver license online, you must meet a set of eligibility requirements. Thereafter, you will be able to proceed with your renewal process. Get started by visiting the Texas DPS License Renewal page.

By Phone

Call 1-866-DL-RENEW to renew your drivers license by phone. Keep in mind that you will also need to meet the same eligibility requirements if you were renewing online.

In Person

Visit a nearby DPS office. You can use our DMV locator to find one that is close to you.

By Mail

If you received a mail-in notice, then you can renew your driver s license by mail. Make sure to follow the guidelines listed on the DMV renewal notice to properly renew your license by mail.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
The Texas DOT allows you to renew car registration online, in person or by mail. Regardless of which method you choose, make sure to gather the proper documentation prior to renewal.

Online

To renew online, visit the Texas DPS Registration Renewal page. Once there, select the county you reside in to begin the process. You will be asked to submit a few details such as your license plate number. Additionally, have payment ready for renewal fees.

In Person

When making your auto registration renewal in person, bring your DMV renewal notice with you, along with proof of vehicle insurance. Should you not have your registration renewal notice, you can present your license plate number or registration receipt from the previous year. You will also be asked to pay any renewal fees.

By Mail

To renew your car registration by mail, follow the instructions stated on your renewal notice. Proof of car insurance along with payment for any renewal fees will also be necessary.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
If you are in the process of moving to a different state, contact the DMV of your new state to find out about how to transfer your vehicle registration. You should be aware that you will most likely need to present documentation that shows proof of ownership, such as your original car title, as well as proof of identity. The DMV of your new location will be able to guide you step-by-step throughout the process, so you are well-prepared in making the registration transfer.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
The process to obtain a commercial drivers license in Texas consists of various steps you need to follow and tests you will be required to pass. In order to get your license in a timely manner, follow the steps outlined below:

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
In Texas, you can apply for either a temporary or permanent handicap placard. To apply, follow the steps below:

If you are a disabled veteran, you can obtain disabled veteran license plates with a special “DV” designation. To get started, fill out an Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (VTR-214) form and submit proof of your honorable discharge.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To get a new drivers license from the Texas DPS, follow the instructions below:

If you have recently moved to Texas, you have up to 90 days to get a new driver s license. If you have a valid out-of-state drivers license, you will not be required to take a written or road skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
Texas has what is called a Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, which must be completed by drivers under the age of 18. You first need to obtain a learner permit, also known as a drivers permit, before you can get a provisional license, followed by your standard driver s license.

To apply for a learners permit, complete the following:

  • Present proof of identity, Texas residency, Social Security Number and legal status in the country.
  • Complete a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance. You also have the option to present your high school diploma or GED.
  • Present driving education form provided by the driving instructor with note of classroom hours.
  • Pass any necessary writing and road skills tests.

To apply for a provisional license, you must do the following:

  • Present proof of identity, Texas residency, Social Security Number and legal status in the country.
  • Complete a Verification of Enrollment and Attendance.
  • You also have the option to present your high school diploma or GED.
  • Present a driving education form provided by the driving instructor with note of classroom hours.
  • Pass any necessary writing and road skills tests.

A learner s permit is granted to drivers under 18 but with the supervision of a licensed individual who is 21 or older. If you are 15 or older, you may apply. A provisional drivers license is issued to those under 18 and expires on the person s 18th birthday.

Texas also offers a Minor Restricted Driver License for those individuals who have a qualified hardship, such as death of a loved one or economic issues in the family. This restricted driving license expires on the individual s next birthday.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In order to apply for a Texas motorcycle drivers license, you must adhere to the following:

  • Submit documents that prove your identity, Social Security Number, legal status in the country and Texas residency. Also present proof of car registration.
  • Fill out the Application for Texas Driver License or Identification Card (DL-14A) form.
  • Pass the written and driving skills tests.
  • Take a DPS-approved motorcycle safety course and present certificate of completion.
  • Meet DPS vision standards.
  • Pay any necessary fees.

You may be exempt from the motorcycle riding test if you are 18 or older, have taken a motorcycle safety course and hold a driver s license. You may also be exempt if you are exchanging your license from a different state to a motorcycle one in Texas. For other criteria that may have you exempt from this test, visit the Texas DPS website.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
To change the address on your car insurance, contact your insurance provider and inform them of your new address. You may be asked to fill out a specific form to make the change effective, or you may be able to complete your request by phone. Make sure to have the following information available:

  • Your full name
  • Your vehicle description
  • Your insurance policy number
  • Your old address
  • Your new address

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

How do I change my address on my car registration?
In the state of Texas, you can change the address on your vehicle records either by mail or in person at a DPS office. If you wish to do so via mail, fill out the Change of Address for Texas Vehicle Registration (VTR-146) form.

Mail it to the following address:

TxDMV Vehicle Titles and Registration Division PO Box 26417 Austin, TX 78755-0417

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
The state of Texas only allows commercial drivers to make an address change in person. You will not have the option to make this change online or by mail. Therefore, make sure to bring a filled out Change of Address for Texas Vehicle Registration (VTR-146) form with you to a local DPS office. Upon presenting your Texas driver’s license, a license agent will be ready to assist you with updating your address on file.
How do I change my address on my drivers license?
To change the address on your drivers license, you can opt to do it in one of three ways: online, by mail or in person. Drivers with a new address have 30 days to notify the Texas DPS of this change.

Online

To change online, visit the Texas DPS Online Address Change page.

By Mail

Fill out the Application for Change of Address on Valid Texas Driver License and Identification Card (DL-64) form and mail it to the address on the form. Keep in mind, that the by mail option is for standard drivers licenses only, not CDL licenses.

In Person

Bring in a filled out Application for Change of Address on Valid Texas Driver License and Identification Card (DL-64) form to a local DPS office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

How do I change my address on my ID card?
In order to change your address on your ID card, you can opt to do it in one of three ways: online, by mail or in person. Drivers with a new address have 30 days to notify the Texas DPS of this change.

Online

To change online, visit the Texas DPS Online Address Change page.

By Mail

Fill out the Application for Change of Address on Valid Texas Driver License and Identification Card and mail it to the address on the form.

In Person

Bring in a filled out Application for Change of Address on Valid Texas Driver License and Identification Card to a local DPS office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
If you need to complete a name change request on your car insurance, contact your auto insurance provider directly to find out about how to update this information on your records and card.

Prior to making your call or in-person visit, make sure to have the following available:

  • Your full name
  • Your vehicle s description
  • Your insurance policy number
  • Your former name
  • Your new name

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

How do I change my name on my car registration?
By requesting a name change on your car title, your car registration will automatically be updated as well. In order to make this change to your title, make sure to bring an acceptable document that includes your new name, such as:

  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court order

You will also be required to fill out an Application for Texas Title (130-U) form that contains your new name. As proof of identity, make sure to also bring your original car title and your Texas driver s license.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
Texas only allows you to change the name on your drivers license when you apply for a duplicate. However, you must first update your name with the Social Security Administration.

Because the TX DPS requires you to present proof of name change, you will need to make this modification in person. Visit a local drivers license office with documentation that confirms your new name. For example, acceptable documents include the following:

  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court order with new name
How do I change my name on my ID card?
Texas only allows you to complete name changing on your identification card when you apply for a duplicate. However, you must first update your name with the Social Security Administration.

Because the TX DPS requires you to present proof of name change, you will need to make this modification in person. Visit a local drivers license office with documentation that confirms your new name. Acceptable documents include the following:

  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court order with new name
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
Before applying for name change forms with the Texas DPS, you will first have to notify the Social Security Administration. To do so, simply visit the Social Security Office Locator page to find a location near you. You can also contact them by phone at 1-800-772-1213 (or 1-800-325-0778 for the hard of hearing) to find out what essential documents you need to bring.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you believe your Texas drivers record has been accessed by an unauthorized person, contact the Texas DPS at your earliest convenience and report any suspicious activity you have found. Make sure to have your driver’s license number handy. You can also request a copy of your personal driver’s record for your peace of mind.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If your car registration was recently lost or stolen, report this to local authorities at your earliest convenience. Doing so will minimize the risk of identity theft and fraud. Once you have an official police report at hand, bring a copy of it to a nearby Texas Department of Public Safety office in order to request a duplicate car registration. Your fee may be waived with a police report.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If you have a lost car title or a stolen car title, report it to local law authorities at your earliest convenience. The sooner you report this unfortunate incident, the sooner you will reduce the chances of a stolen identity or fraud. File a report by making an in-person visit to a nearby police station.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
The Texas Department of Public Safety two ways to check driving record information: online or by mail.

You can get a copy online through the Texas DPS website. If you wish to submit your request by mail, complete an Application for Copy of Driver Record (DR-1) form and send it to the address on the form.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
In Texas, the only way to get an ID card replacement is in person. To do so, file a police report if your identification card was lost or stolen. Thereafter, you can visit a local driving license office and present an Application for Renewal/Replacement/Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card (DL-43) form

Additionally, you will also need to present proof of identity and legal status in the country.

If you are currently outside of Texas, you can review the helpful Out of State or Out of Country Renewal/Replacement/Change of Texas Driver License or Identification (DL/ID) Card for your convenience.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a hardship license?
In order to be issued a Texas occupational drivers license, you will need to follow the steps below:

  • Hand a certified copy of the petition and a certified copy of the court order that grants you the occupational license to the Texas DPS. However, if you are currently taking part in a drug court-ordered program, then a petition won t be necessary.
  • Submit a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) from your insurance provider.
  • Pay any necessary fees, both occupational license and reinstatement.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you happened to lose your drivers license while stationed in a different state, you can get a drivers license replacement by following these simple steps:

Keep in mind that when sending your replacement payment by mail, the Texas Department of Public Safety will only accept check or money order. Make sure to address it to Texas DPS.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
You can get a ticket dismissed by taking a state-approved traffic course. You can also hire a traffic ticket attorney to have your ticket wiped away. For more information about your available options, follow the instructions on your ticket or call a traffic ticket lawyer.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
You can contact the Texas DPS at 512-424-2600 to find out if your suspended drivers license reinstatement has been sent out. If you prefer to make an in-person visit, you can stop by a nearby driver license office as well.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
You can request a copy of another individual s DMV driving record either online or by mail. For further instructions on how to proceed online, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website. To make your request by mail, fill out an Application for Copy of Driver Record (DR-1) form. The address you need to send your request to is the following:

Texas Department of Public SafetyBox 149008Austin, TX 78714-9008

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If you need to replace car registration, you can obtain a duplicate by copy by visiting your local tax county collector s office with proper documentation, such as your driver’s license and proof of insurance. You may also need to fill out an application in person. Make sure to also bring with you payment for any duplicate fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If you have lost your car title or had it stolen, you will be required to obtain a Texas car title copy. In order to get a car title replacement, you can apply in person or by mail. Whichever method you choose, you must complete the following:

If mailing the aforementioned items, send them to this address:

TxDMV 1601 Southwest Parkway, Suite A Wichita Falls, TX 76302

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
The state of Texas requires drivers to order a drivers license replacement in person by paying a visit to a drivers license office. To complete the process, you will need to do the following:

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
The state of Texas takes matters of obtaining and transferring salvage title very seriously. Take a look at the Texas Salvage Nonrepairable Manual for everything you need to know about obtaining a salvage car title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

How do I obtain car registration?
If you are in the process of getting car registration for your vehicle, you will have to stop by a local Texas tax county office. While making your in-person visit, you are required to complete the following:

  • Present any necessary documentation
  • Gather proof of insurance
  • Have payment ready for fees

It is important to be well-prepared with these documents prior to making your visit, that way you can receive your new car registration in a timely manner.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Failure to submit to a chemical test will result in a Texas drivers license suspension – a 180-day suspension for your first offense to be exact. You will be required to complete your suspension period and any other requirements before you can become eligible for reinstatement.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
In order to reinstate a suspended driving license, you will need to complete all the requirements set forth by your suspension notification. Once you have waited out the suspension period and paid all necessary traffic fines, visit the Texas DPS Check Driving Eligibility & Pay Reinstatement Fees page to begin the process of reinstating your license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
You have the option to remove points from your DMV driving record by completing a state-approved defensive driving school class. These courses focus on improving your knowledge of road rules and teaching drivers safe driving strategies.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

How do I renew my driving permit?
After you have had your learners permit for six months, you will be able to move onto a provisional drivers license. You will be required to complete behind-the-wheels driver’s educational training and 32 hours in a classroom setting before you can proceed to obtaining a provisional license. You must obtain your Texas provisional driver’s license in person at a DMV branch.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

How do I renew my ID card?
In Texas, you can renew your DMV ID card either online, by phone, in person or by mail.

Online

To apply online, you can do so by visiting the Texas DPS Driver License Renewal page.

By Phone

Call the Texas Department of Public Safety at 1-866-357-3639.

By Mail

In order to renew your ID card by mail, follow the instructions on the DPS renewal notice you receive.

In Person

Head to a nearby driving license office to begin the renewal process. For your convenience, use our DPS locator to find one near you.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are currently on active duty outside of Texas, you can still renew license documentation by filling out the Out of State or Out of Country Renewal/Replacement/Change of Texas Driver License or Identification (DL/ID) Card. The application will ask you to include the following details about yourself:

  • Date of birth
  • Address information
  • Contact information
  • Citizenship information
  • Eye color
  • Race/ethnicity
  • Height

You will also be required to sign your name and add the date at the bottom of the application.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
You can renew your medical report for your license to drive commercial vehicles by having a medical examiner fill out the form and submitting it to the DMV. To find an office nearby, use our convenient DPS locator.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
In Texas, you can apply for motorcycle license renewal by mail, in person, online or by phone.

To renew your motorcycle license online, you need to meet certain requirements, including but not limited to having your Social Security Number in the DPS system.

In person, make sure to visit a nearby DPS branch. Keep in mind that you are required to renew in person if you are 79 or older. If you prefer to submit your renewal request by mail, you will need to follow the instructions as set forth in the renewal notice you receive.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are a non-U.S. citizen who wants to replace DMV drivers license credentials, you must present documents that show proof of your legal status, such as the following:

  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Employment Authorization Card
  • Passport or I-94 stamped “Approved I-551” or “Processed for I-551”

For a full list of acceptable documents, take a look at the Texas Driver License Documents Requirements brochure.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you happened to lose your drivers license while outside of Texas, you can get a drivers license copy by following these simple steps:

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
To transfer your car title to another state, you should contact the DMV of the state you will be residing in. Each Department of Motor Vehicles will have different instructions for you to follow and documents that you must provide.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you have lost your car title, you are required to obtain a Texas car title copy. To get a car title replacement, apply either in person or by mail. Whichever method you choose, you must complete the following:

  • Fill out a duplicate title application.
  • Provide proof of identity, such as your Texas driver s license.
  • Make proper payment ($5.45 fee in person, $2 fee by mail)
    • Check or money order by mail
    • Cash, check or money order in person

If mailing the aforementioned items, send them to this address:

TxDMV 1601 Southwest Parkway, Suite A Wichita Falls, TX 76302

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

How do I transfer my car title?
The process of how to transfer car title documentation in Texas varies, depending on whether you are the buyer or seller, or if the vehicle is gifted. Follow the steps below to ensure a seamless transfer without any issues or problems.

If you are selling the vehicle to a private party:

  • Make sure to include all the proper information and your signature on the car title before transferring to the buyer. The title must be transferred within 30 days of the vehicle sale.
  • Keep yourself protected by submitting a Vehicle Transfer Notification to the Texas DMV. By filling out this form, you will not be held responsible for any parking or toll tickets committed by the buyer within 30 days of the sale.

If you are buying a vehicle from a private party:

  • Make sure that all proper information and your signature is included on the car title you receive from the seller.
  • Bring the transferred car title and proof of auto insurance to a local tax county collector s office. Ideally, you should see if the seller of the vehicle can also be present.
  • Request a signed vehicle title application from the seller and any other important documents you may deem essential.
  • For your own records, write down the seller s name, address, telephone number and description of the vehicle.

If you are buying a vehicle from the dealership:

  • The salesperson will file any necessary car title paperwork for you, therefore you can skip making a visit to the local tax county office. However, make sure to not leave the dealership without a copy of the receipt.

If you are giving a vehicle as a gift:

  • You must present the new owner with your car title and include any pertinent information about the vehicle, as well as your signature.
  • You will be required to fill out a title application at your nearby tax county collector s office. You may also be asked to present additional documents to complete the title transfer process.
  • A $10 gift tax will apply to new owners who are gifted a vehicle from a spouse, parent or stepparent, grandparent or grandchild, child or stepchild, guardian, sibling, decedent s estate or a non-profit.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
RV titles must be transferred just as documents are for passenger vehicles. In addition, drivers must follow the same steps you would to transfer standard car title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Follow the same steps for a standard drivers license to apply for a motorcycle drivers license. If you are currently stationed outside the state, you can rest assured that your license will stay valid for up to 90 days after you have been discharged. Thereafter, you should visit a nearby Texas DPS office to begin the process of renewing your driver’s license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

How does the DMV check my vision?
The DMV will check your vision in person when you are applying or renewing a driver s license. You must meet their vision standards in order to be issued a license to drive. If you fail to meet their vision standards, you may be referred to see an eye specialist who will be required to fill out a vision form about your eyesight for you to present to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Find out more about the Texas DPS vision standards by contacting them at 512-424-2600.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
You can apply for your TX learners permit at the age of 15, however, a parent or legal guardian will be required to sign your application on your behalf. You must hold the driver’s permit for at least six months before you can then apply for a provisional license. You will be able to apply for a standard license once you have reached the age of 18.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
The Texas Department of Public Safety does not allow drivers to request a copy of their vehicle title online. The current available options are either by mail or in person. In order to be certain about the length of time it may take for you to receive your car title replacement, contact the Texas DPS directly to find out about your particular application and request.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
If you refuse to take the chemical test, you will face a 180-day drivers license suspension for your first time offense. If you are convicted of driving under the influence, this suspension will be added onto any other suspension you incur.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
By getting in contact with the Texas Department of Public Safety, a driving license representative will be able to provide you with further information about when you can expect to receive your ID card. You can also ask in person at a driving license office. Meanwhile, be aware that the fee to obtain an ID card is $16 if you are under the age of 60. For individuals who are 60 or over, the cost is reduced to $6. Additionally, those over the age of 60 will not be required to renew their identification card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
You may face a Texas drivers license suspension if you accrue six points or more in a three-year period. A driver’s license suspension can bring about high fines and fees, as well as jail time and other penalties. You may also be required to complete an alcohol awareness course if you are convicted of driving under the influence. Therefore, it is important to keep an eye on your driving record to avoid facing a license suspension.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
Texas allows certain drivers to have a traffic ticket dismissed, and therefore avoid points on their driving record upon completion of a defensive driving course. To see if you are eligible to attend traffic school, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Customer Service line at 512-424-2600. For more information about traffic schools, visit this page.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
In the process to change name on your car title, your car registration information will automatically be updated. The fee to obtain a duplicate car title varies, depending on the county you live in. Find out the exact cost by contacting a driving license office near you. You should also have your proof of name change with you when visiting a DPS office.

For more information: Texas Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
The fee to complete an official name change on your car title and obtain a duplicate copy depends on the county in which you live in. To find out more, get in touch with a nearby DPS office. Also have at hand proof of your name change, so as to avoid any potential issue or problem when updating your records at the DMV. Examples of acceptable documentation for a name change include a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order with your newly established name.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
When “changing my name,” you are required to apply for a duplicate drivers license. You will need to make an in-person visit to a DMV branch in your area with proof of your name change, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order. The fee for a duplicate drivers license is $11. The Texas DPS office accepts credit cards, money order, check or cash. Keep in mind that fees may vary.
How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Drivers can renew driving licenses up to one year before it expires. With plenty of time to renew your license, it is highly recommended that you take advantage of this period to do so. Driving with an expired driver’s license in the state of Texas can result in fines and other penalties, including a driver’s license suspension.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

I paid my license reinstatement fees and got SR-22 insurance, but my drivers license status still shows suspended. What do I do?
To reinstate your driving privileges, you need to visit your local DPS office and bring proof of having SR-22 insurance as well as your suspended driver’s license.
If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
In the event that a family member has passed away, such as a spouse, present his or her will or complete an Affidavit of Heirship for a Motor Vehicle (Form VT-262) to get the title of the car.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
If you renew expired car registration, you may be charged with a late fee. For more information, contact a nearby county tax collector s office. Make sure to bring your Texas driver’s license as proof of identity. You may also be asked to present proof of car insurance.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Your replacement fee may be waived if you submit a police report upon requesting a duplicate drivers license. However, to be certain, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety for more information.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
In Texas, you are required to report any property damage that is $1,000 or more. As part of minimum insurance limits, Texas makes it mandatory to obtain $25,000 property damage coverage. You also have the option to obtain accident coverage, as well as collision and rental. For additional information about your available insurance options, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
You are required to get car insurance in the state you reside and have registered your vehicle. If you reside temporarily out of state for six months, you may keep your Texas auto insurance; however, verify the terms of driving with out-of-state auto insurance in the other state. If you temporarily residing in a state that requires state car insurance after being there for less than six months, you run the risk of facing drivers license suspension.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you lost your ticket, you can quickly find the information online through the Texas DPS Highway Patrol Citation Search. Once there, input the below details to verify your identity and find out about your TX traffic fines:

  • Your first name
  • Your last name
  • Your middle name (if applicable)
  • Your birthday
  • Your driver s license/ID number

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
For your convenience, Texas provides a packet with thorough information for those who need to replace ID card credentials and are currently out-of-state. Familiarize yourself with the Out of State or Out of Country Renewal/Replacement/Change of Texas Driver License or Identification (DL/ID) Card documents. This packet contains information that includes but is not limited to the following:

  • Social Security Number requirements
  • Commercial driver license holders
  • Active duty military members
  • Application for renewal or duplicate driver’s license or ID
  • Adding a motorcycle license to your TX drivers license
  • Replacement forms
  • Texas Residency Affidavit

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
In order to retrieve your license, complete the suspension period as outlined in your Notice of Suspension, along with any other reinstatement requirements, such as certain fines and fees. You also have the option to request a hearing if you so choose. In these legal matters, though, it is always best to consult the advice of a TX DUI attorney.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
No, the process is the same for standard license plate. Apply for duplicate personalized license plates in person at your local tax county collector s office. Once there, you will be asked to fill out an Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker (VTR-60) form. Make sure to also bring proper payment to cover the cost of a car registration copy.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Texas allows you to get a commercial driving license at the age of 18. However, if you wish to obtain an interstate license, you must be at least 21. Regardless of your age, you will still be required to fulfill all the necessary requirements of obtaining a commercial driver’s license in the state. This includes passing various exams, such as a road skills test, vision test and written knowledge test.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
As long as you meet the renewal requirements, Texas has no age limit on when you can renew drivers license. Keep in mind, though, that if you are 79 or older, you will be required to pass a vision test upon the time of renewal. If you are 85 or older, your drivers license will need to be renewed every two years instead of six.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
It is recommended that you keep a copy of your registration in your car, inside the glove compartment, at all times. Should you get pulled over, an officer will ask to see your DMV car registration. Your car registration is an essential piece of document that will show proof that you have paid taxes on your vehicle and are legally allowed to use it on roadways, streets and highways.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your drivers license copy will be sent to the address you have on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety. If you have recently changed your address, make sure to notify the DPS within 30 days of your move.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Seniors must fulfill the same requirements as other drivers in order to renew their drivers license. For example, you will be required to show proof of identity, such as your Texas driver’s license. If you are 85 or older though, keep in mind that your license renewal will be due every two years instead of six. You will need to make an in-person visit in that instance.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
You will need to complete a Texas transfer of title in the following circumstances:

  • You are selling your car.
  • You are donating your car.
  • You are buying a car from a private party.
  • You are giving your car as a gift.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
The following traffic violations may result in a suspended drivers license:

  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Medical-related revocation
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to get car insurance
  • Numerous traffic offenses

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
If you have never obtained a drivers license before, the first step is to apply for an instruction permit, which you can do so at the age of 15. If you are over the age of 18, you will not be required to complete classroom hours as part of a driver education course.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
When you apply for a CDL, you can have one of the following types of CDL endorsements:

  • H endorsement: To operate a vehicle that holds hazardous material
  • N endorsement: To operate a tank vehicle
  • S endorsement: To operate a school bus
  • X endorsement: To operate a combination of hazardous material and tank vehicle
  • P endorsement: To operate a vehicle with passengers

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Depending on the traffic offense you have committed, there are several consequences you may face with a revoked drivers license. For example, your suspension will be lengthened and you may also incur jail time, additional fines, reinstatement fees, alcohol awareness courses, community service and other serious penalties, depending on the reason you were pulled over.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

What are the different types of driving records?
The Texas Department of Public Safety offers six types of DMV driving records:

  • Status Record (Type 1) includes your name, birthday, license status and home address.
  • Three-year driving history (Type 2) includes your name, birthday, license status and home address, plus accidents and violations from the past three years.
  • Certified three-year driving history (Type 2A) is a certified version of a Type 2 driving record.
  • Complete driving history (Type 3) includes your name, birthday, license status and home address, plus accidents and violations on record.
  • Certified complete driving history (Type 3A) is a certified version of the Type 3 driving record.
  • Abstract driving record (Type AR) is the certified abstract of your complete driving record.

The fees will vary, depending on the driver record you would like to request a copy of.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The fees to apply for ID card credentials depend on your age. If you are under the age of 60, it is $16. If you are 60 or over, the fee is $6 and has no expiration date. These fees also apply for a renewed ID card. If you are replacing your ID card, the cost is $11. For temporary visitors in the United States, you can also obtain a limited term identification card for $16. Fees may vary.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The fee for a Texas duplicate drivers license is $11 (fees may vary). You can request a duplicate by visiting a Texas Department of Public Safety office in your area. To find one that is close by, use our DMV locator.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Obtaining a learner’s permit is your first step to getting a standard driver’s license. However, while you are a learner’s permit holder, you should take note of certain restrictions that will apply. Failure to adhere to these rules may result in a traffic ticket or the revocation of your license. To use your permit for driving, you must be mindful of the below restrictions:

  • A licensed adult who is 21 or older must be with you while you are driving.
  • A licensed adult who is 21 or older must be with you in the front seat.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
To obtain a commercial driver’s license in Texas, not only are you required to pass several tests, but you will also need to present a few certifications/form. In Texas, CDL drivers need to submit the following:

Additionally, depending on your commercial driving license type, you will be required to present a medical examiner certificate.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
You will need to apply for duplicate car registration in the following circumstances:

  • Your car registration was lost.
  • Your car registration was stolen.
  • Your car registration was damaged.

If your car registration is damaged, you are required to turn it in to a Texas Department of Public Safety office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
If you have a Texas learner s permit and are issued traffic fines, you face higher penalties. To find out more information about any potential consequences, get in touch with the county clerk office in the county you received your ticket.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Penalties of a DUI conviction vary depending on the offense you are charged with and convicted of. Below are a few examples:

First DUI offense

  • Fines that go up to $2,000
  • Jail time that can range from three days to 180 days
  • $1,000 annual fee or $2,000 for three years to reinstate your driver s license
  • Suspension period for up to a year

Second DUI offense

  • Can result in fines that go up to $4,000
  • Jail time that can range from a month to a year
  • $1,000 or $1,500 annual fee or $2,000 for three years to reinstate your driver s license
  • Suspension period for up to two years

Third DUI offense

  • Can result in fines that go up to $10,000
  • Jail time that can range from two to 10 years
  • $1,000 or $1,500 annual fee or $2,000 for three years to reinstate your driver s license
  • Suspension period for up to two years

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
Administrative License Revocation fees are $125. Texas driver license offices accept payments in the form of cash, check, money order or credit card.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The fees to get car registration vary, according to the list below:

  • Passenger vehicles/truck that are 6,001 pounds or less: $50.75
  • Trailers/Travel Trailers that are 6,001 pounds or less: $45.00
  • All vehicles between 6,001 pounds to 10,000 pounds : $54.00
  • Motorcycles/mopeds: $30.00

When registering your vehicle, you will be required to bring in proof of identification, such as your Texas driver’s license, as well as proof of car insurance. You should also have payment for the car registration fee readily available. For a complete list of all registration fees, see the Texas Registration Fees. Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The fee for a Texas duplicate car title is $5.45 in person and $2 fee by mail. Regardless of whether you choose to request a duplicate in person or by mail, you will have to fill out an Application for a Certified Copy of Title (VTR-34) form, as well as show proof of your Texas driver’s license. When it comes to payment for the replacement fee, keep in mind that credit cards are not accepted for this transaction. Fees may also vary from time to time.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The cost to obtain a Texas car registration replacement sticker from your tax county collector s office is $7 ($6 for the replacement fee and $1 for automation fee). Keep in mind that fees may vary. When renewing your car registration, you will also need to bring proper documentation as part of the process.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The fees to renew car registration vary, according to the list below:

  • Passenger vehicles/truck that are 6,001 pounds or less: $50.75
  • Trailers/Travel Trailers that are 6,001 pounds or less: $45.00
  • All vehicles between 6,001 pounds to 10,000 pounds: $54.00
  • Motorcycles/mopeds: $30.00

When registering your vehicle, you will be required to bring in proof of identification, such as your Texas driver’s license, as well as proof of car insurance. You should also have payment for the car registration fee readily available. For a complete list of all registration fees, see the Texas Registration Fees page. Keep in mind that fees may vary.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
For information about your three-wheel motorcycle and the process to register it or obtain a driving license, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety through their website. Keep in mind that in order to get a motorcycle license in Texas, there are various rules and guidelines you will need to follow. Some of these include but are not limited to passing a written knowledge exam, as well as a road skills driving test.

At the time of your application, you will also need to present proof of your identity, residency in the state, legal presence in the country and verification of your Social Security number.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Before reinstating suspended drivers license documentation, the state of Texas allows a driver to receive an occupational drivers license for “certain offenses other than medical or delinquent child support.” Occupational drivers licenses can only be used to operate a noncommercial vehicle for the purposes of school, work or important household activities.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

What comes first, insurance or the SR-22?
The state of Texas uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance.

If you need an SR-22, you ll first need to purchase a car insurance policy.

For more information: Filing the Texas SR-22 Insurance Form

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail your driving license test, schedule another appointment to retake the exam at a later date. You can prepare for your exam by reviewing the Texas driver’s manual and becoming familiarized with road safety tips and guidelines. The more you learn, the more confident you will feel behind the wheel.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When getting drivers permit credentials, you must present proof of:

  • Social Security Number, such as a Social Security Number card or W-2.
  • Identity, such as your passport or permanent resident card. For a full list of acceptable documentation, visit here.
  • Texas residency, two documents such as a utility bill and mortgage statement. For a full list of acceptable documentation, visit here.
  • Legal status in the US, such as your United States passport or permanent resident card.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
To apply for your Texas motorcycle endorsement, present documentation that proves the following:

  • Your identity
  • Social Security Number
  • Legal status in the country
  • Texas residency

Additionally, you will need to fill out the proper motorcycle license application and present proof of car registration. To obtain a motorcycle license, a certificate of completion from a motorcycle safety course is also required.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To apply for your Texas license to drive, you need to present documentation that proves the following:

  • Your identity
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your legal status in the country
  • Your Texas residency

Additionally, you will be asked to fill out the Application for Texas Driver License or Identification Card (DL-14A) form and present proof of car registration.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
To replace lost car title, you will need to present an Application for a Certified Copy of Title (VTR-34) form, as well as your Texas driver s license. Aside from the aforementioned documentation, you will also need to bring with you payment for a duplicate car title. If you are requesting a car title replacement in person, save yourself some time and schedule an appointment online or via the phone prior to your visit.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
You are not required to submit proof of residency when making an address change in Texas. However, you should bring your Texas driver’s license with you when requesting this change at a local DMV branch. You can also change your address online or via mail if you are deemed eligible to do so. It is important to note, though, that commercial drivers are required to make this change in person. For further clarification, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
For proof of identity, bring your valid TX driver s license, or one of the following:

  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Temporary I-551 stamp in foreign passport
  • Employment Authorization card

While changing the address on your driver’s license, take the opportunity to also update your information on your car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
If you lost your registration certificate, you will need to hand in a completed Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information and check off the “Duplicate Registration” checkbox. Bring in your Texas driver s license and payment for fee as well.

If you lost your registration sticker, you will need to submit a completed Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker (VTR-60) form instead.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
When registering cars for the first time, drivers must present the items below in order to obtain new registration without any issue or problem:

You may want to call your local tax county collector’s office ahead of time to find out if there are any other additional documents you will need to bring with you.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Texas

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
Depending on the method in which you are renewing car registration, you may be asked to present different documents. For example, to renew by mail, you will need to send your registration renewal notice and a copy of your car insurance. In person you will have to show proof of insurance and proof of identity, such as your driver s license. For online renewal, certain information and details you provide will verify who you are.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
If you have not previously presented documents that show proof of your legal status in the United States, then you will be required to do so before renewing drivers license. For a list of acceptable documents, take a look at the Texas DPS Verifying Lawful Presence brochure. Some acceptable documents may include the following:

  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Immigrant Visa with Temporary I-551 language
  • Employment Authorization Document

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
The documents you are required to present when transferring car title depends on various factors, such as if you are the seller or buyer of the vehicle, or if the vehicle has been gifted to you.

If you are selling a vehicle, immediately file a Vehicle Transfer Notification with the DMV to protect yourself from future issues. If you are the buying a car, you need to present the transferred car title, and other items when registering your vehicle.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
When you replace drivers license credentials, you will need to turn in a completed Application for Renewal/Replacement/Change of a Texas Driver License or Identification Card. You are also required to submit proof of your identity and legal status in the United States.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
When applying for your TX motorcycle driving license, you need to pass the following exams:

  • A written knowledge exam
  • A driving skills test
  • A standard visions exam

Your written knowledge exam will consist of both basic knowledge questions, as well as motorcycle knowledge.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Texas

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In order to obtain a TX car title copy, hand in a completed Application for a Certified Copy of Title (VTR-34) form. This official application will require you to enter information about your vehicle, such as the following:

  • Year of vehicle
  • Vehicle Identification Number
  • License plate number
  • Make of vehicle

Be aware that it may take up to 10 business days in order for your duplicate title request to be processed. If you would like to know about the status of your duplicate application, you can call the Texas DMV for an update.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you are a CDL driver who recently was issued a traffic ticket, you are responsible for notifying your employer about this violation as soon as possible. Once you have brought the incident to his or her attention, you then have the option to pay for the traffic ticket or fight charges with a traffic ticket attorney.

By paying the traffic ticket fine, you are admitting guilty to the charge and may see points added to your driving record, depending on the severity of the offense.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
If this is your first conviction, you may have your CDL license disqualified for at least a year. You may also face criminal charges, and if that is the case, you are also required to notify your employer of the offense within 30 days. If you disregard this, you will face additional penalties. To get your license reinstated, you will first need to complete your suspension period, then meet any other additional requirements related to your offense.

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If you happen to find your original TX car title after a replacement car title is issued, it is now considered invalid. It is advised that you turn in the original to the Texas DPS in order to avoid any confusion. When making your in-person visit, have your Texas driver’s license with you, as well as car registration in case it is requested.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

What information does a driving record contain?
Depending on the type of TX drivers record you request a copy of, it may contain any or all of the information below:

  • Your name
  • Your date of birth
  • Your current residential address
  • Your driver s license status
  • Accidents and violations (non-moving and moving)

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

What is an ID card?
A Texas DMV ID card is a document that helps you identify yourself when necessary, whether it is with an authority figure, such as the police, or at a local bar. An identification card is mostly used by individuals who do not drive, yet need an identification document with them at all times.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of a DUI varies, depending on whether this is your first offense or a multiple offense. Nonetheless, a DUI conviction results in high fines, therefore you should avoid getting behind the wheel if you are intoxicated so you are not faced with a suspended drivers license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic ticket fines depends on the violation that was committed. Your ticket should contain information about the fines you are responsible for. If you are unable to find this information, visit the Texas DPS Highway Patrol Citation Search page.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fee to check driving record information depends on the type of drivers history report you order and the method you use to place your request. See below for more information.

  • Status Record (Type 1): $4.50 online, $4 by mail
  • Three-year driving history (Type 2): $6.50 online, $6 by mail
  • Certified three-year driving history (Type 2A): $12 online, $10 by mail
  • Complete driving history (Type 3): $7.50 online, $7 by mail
  • Certified complete driving history (Type 3A): $12 online, $10 by mail
  • Abstract driving record (Type AR): $22 online

Be aware that fees are subject to vary.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
If you are a commercial driver who is convicted of a DUI for the first time, you will have a revoked drivers license for 12 months. If you operate a commercial vehicle that carries hazardous materials, your suspension period increases to three years. You may also be subject to attending an alcohol awareness course, paying high fines and/or jail time.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
If you are a minor convicted of a DUI for the first time, your drivers license suspension will last 180 days. However, your suspension period increases if it a subsequent offense. For example, a driver who is a minor and convicted of a second DUI offense will face a two-year drivers license suspension. Additionally, you will be required to pay a select fine and complete an alcohol education course.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The state of Texas requires drivers to obtain the following minimum insurance coverage:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury total

DMVADvisors.org Note: It s also recommended looking at other types of insurance coverage, such as collision, medical payments, rental reimbursement and roadside assistance.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
The written test for your drivers permit consists of several multiple-choice questions. For information regarding the passing score, contact a local DPS branch. To be best prepared, take some time to study for the written test ahead of time. By taking a practice test, you will learn all the “ins and outs” about road safety and how to become a responsible driver. The more prepare you are, the more confident you will feel during your exam.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
To title your scooter or motorcycle, follow the same TX car registration and titling steps as you would for a passenger vehicle. The process is the same.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

What languages is the written test available in?
When applying for drivers license credentials, the written knowledge test can be taken in either English or Spanish; however, a potential Texas driver must be familiar with road signs in English. You can start familiarizing yourself with road safety and road signs by taking a practice test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
To reinstate your Texas driver s license, you must comply with rules and requirements set forth in your Notice of Suspension. Some of the suspended driving license penalties you may face include but are not limited to the following:

  • Jail time
  • High fines
  • DUI education course
  • Driver s license suspension that can last a few months or years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you do not notify the Texas DPS of your address change, then you may face a fine. However, you can avoid a fine by keeping your driver’s license and car title up-to-date. Make sure to bring any required documents with you to a local branch.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
You will be unable to renew expired drivers license documentation if it has been expired for more than two years. For this reason, it is important to keep your Texas driver’s license valid and in good standing. You can also request a copy of your driving record in order to verify that you have no pending issues or violations on your driver’s license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
When registering your vehicle at a Texas tax county collector s office, you can provide your insurance card as proof of insurance for car. Another acceptable proof of insurance is an insurance binder. Speak with your auto insurance provider about the proof of insurance that will be provided to you. Make sure to bring this documentation to a nearby office in order to complete the car registration process without hassle or issue.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you have not received your car registration renewal items, contact your local tax county office. Have on hand your driver s license, your license plate number and the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) should a representative ask for it. You can also call the Texas Department of Public Safety in advance to get clarification on any other DMV-related queries you may have.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you have not received your drivers license renewal, call the Texas Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600 to find out about its status. It is recommended that you give a sufficient amount of time, particularly around the holidays, to receive your driver’s license in the mail. However, if you believe a lengthy period has passed, contact the DPS so to avoid getting a fine for driving with an expired driver’s license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In the state of Texas, you are required to pass a knowledge written exam in order to obtain your learner’s permit. This exam will be taken at the DPS office. Prior to obtaining a regular driver’s license, though, you will also need to pass a road skills test with your vehicle and a meet vision standards as defined by the Texas DMV. Aside from these exams, you must also present proof of identity, residency and legal status when applying for your learner’s permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
In order to be granted a commercial driver’s license in the state of Texas, there are several steps you need to follow. As part of the process, you will be required to take a few exams, such as the ones listed below:

  • A writing knowledge test
  • A road skills test
  • A vision test

For more information: Texas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
As part of your requirements for obtaining a Texas driving license, you will be required to take a multitude of exams. Be prepared ahead of time by knowing what they are exactly, that way you feel confident when making a visit to your local Texas Department of Public Safety office branch. The tests you will be required to pass include the ones listed below:

  • A written knowledge test
  • A road skills test
  • A vision test

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In Texas, you are required to have liability car insurance that covers both damages and injuries that may result from an accident. You must purchase insurance that meets Texas’ financial responsibility law. When registering your vehicle, you can use your insurance card as proof of financial responsibility. The insurance card will also come in handy should you get pulled over or are renewing your driver’s license.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Texas offers the four following types of standard drivers licenses:

  • Class A
  • Class B
  • Class C
  • Class M

When applying, you will also need to pass a few exams in order to obtain a standard driver’s license. These exams include the following:

  • A written knowledge test
  • A road skills test
  • A vision exam

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
If you fail to get car insurance, you will face severe penalties, such as a driver s license suspension, along with high fines. In order to avoid any potential problem or issue, get car insurance at the time of purchasing a new vehicle. Keep in mind that the minimum insurance coverages in the state of Texas are the following:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury total

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

What’s the cost to take a driving test?
The cost of the driving test is $11, this amount is separate from the cost of the driver’s license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
In order to reinstate suspended drivers license, you will first have to complete your suspension period. Thereafter, you may pay any necessary fines and the reinstatement fee and submit compliance documents. For more information, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety Reinstating a Driver License page.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

When does my car registration expire?
Your car registration will need to be renewed before the last day of the month in which it is set to expire. In the state of Texas, you have the option to renew your car registration either in person, by mail or online. If renewing in person, make sure to bring a copy of the DMV renewal notice you received in the mail. If you do not have the renewal notice, you may also present your license plate number or registration receipt from the previous year.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

When does my ID card expire?
You are required to renew ID card documentation every six years in Texas. However, this is not the case for those individuals who are 60 or older. If you are a senior in the state of Texas, you will not be required to renew your identification card as it will contain no expiration date.

Keep in mind, though, that if you are under the age of 60 and you have an identification card that has been expired for more than two years, you will need to re-apply for a new one.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
By law, all drivers have 30 days to notify the Texas DMV from setting up a new residence. Take this time to update your address on your driver’s license as well as car registration. To find an office near you to schedule an appointment for your address update, enter your ZIP code into the DPS locator.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Texas

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
It is recommended that you complete a bill of sale if you are either selling a car or buying a vehicle from a private party. This document will protect both individuals should an unexpected situation or issue occur, as it is a proof of the transaction.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Texas

When will I need to renew my license?
TX drivers must renew licenses every six years in order to avoid any penalties or late fees. If you are between the ages of 79 and 84, you will always be required to renew in person. There is currently no option for seniors to renew their Texas driver’s license online. Individuals who are 85 or older are required to renew their driver s license sooner than the average driver. A senior is required to renew every two years in the state of Texas.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
For information regarding when you can expect to receive a drivers license replacement, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety at 512-424-2600 or ask a driving license representative when getting a duplicate in person. You can find a DMV branch near you by using our convenient locator. It is highly recommended that you make an appointment ahead of time in order to avoid long wait times and lines.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Texas Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
You can check the status of your drivers license on the Texas Department of Public Safety website. Drivers can also order a driving record for information on their license status.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Texas

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
You can replace car registration and locate a local tax county office by visiting the TxDMV Find Your Local Office page. Prior to making your way to a nearby office, gather all of the necessary documents with you, including but not limited to your Texas driver’s license, an official police report if applicable and payment for any fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you have a suspended drivers license and need to know more about ignition interlock devices (IIDs) in Texas, visit the TX DPS Ignition Interlock Devices page. This DPS-hosted page lists which DPS-approved centers install IIDs and the associated fees.

Keep in mind that an ignition interlock device is often required for those drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence. In the event that you are currently facing a driver’s license suspension, you may also want to seek the advice of legal counsel.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
If you need to get information about your traffic ticket fines online, visit the Texas DPS Highway Patrol Citation Search page. By providing your citation number, you will be able to access the information you seek.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

Where can I find the DMV locations?
Please follow the link below for your nearest DMV location:

Texas DMV Office Contact Information

Where can I get a new drivers license?
You can get drivers license credentials at any DPS branch in your area. Use our DMV locator to find one near you and schedule an appointment. After scheduling your appointment, make sure to gather all necessary documentation to take with you, including but not limited to proof of identity, proof of Texas residency, proof of legal status in the U.S. and verification of your Social Security number.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Texas

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
When requesting your car title copy by mail, you will be required to send a completed Application for a Certified Copy of Title (VTR-34) form to the Texas DMV. The application will ask for important information about your vehicle. These include the following:

  • Vehicle Identification Number
  • License plate number
  • Year of vehicle
  • Make of vehicle

Once you have gathered all the necessary documents and items, mail them to the address below:

TxDMV 1601 Southwest Parkway, Suite A Wichita Falls, TX 76302

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

Where can I obtain an ID card?
You can get ID card documentation at a nearby DPS office. For your convenience, use our DPS locator to locate one in your area. When visiting a DPS office, make sure to bring all proper documentation with you. You can see a list of acceptable documents by taking a look at our ID Cards page. By gathering all the necessary items, you will avoid having to return a second time to get your identification card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Texas Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Motor vehicles that must be insured in Texas are below:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Commercial vehicles
  • Trucks
  • Vans
  • Boats
  • Mopeds
  • Motorcycles

You will be required to obtain minimum insurance coverage as defined by Texas law. However, you may also opt for additional coverage, such as collision, coverage, rental and towing. The state of Texas offers various well-rounded, insurance packages for your peace of mind and greater safety on the road.

For more information: How To: Save on Texas Auto Insurance

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
A parent or legal guardian can sign a drivers permit application on your behalf. It is highly recommended that you schedule an appointment at your local DPS office with a parent or legal guardian present, so to avoid any issues.

In addition to completing an application, you will also need to present proof of the following:

  • Your Texas residency
  • Your legal status in the United States
  • Verification of your Social Security Number
  • Completion of a driver’s education course

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Texas

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Sufficient time may not have passed for a recent traffic ticket to be reflected on your driving record. If you have any queries pertaining to your violation, contact the county clerk s office of the county in which you were issued your ticket. You can also request a personal copy of your driving record in order to review all other information.

For more information: Your Texas Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
You may be asked to re-take a vision test when renewing drivers license. However, if you are 79 or older, you will be required to pass this exam during your renewal appointment in person. When making your in-person visit for your appointment, make sure to bring proof of identification, such as your Texas driver’s license. Without such documentation, you will be unable to proceed with the renewal process of your driver’s license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, you will get a renewal notice to renew license well in advance of your driver s license expiration date. The renewal notice will contain proper instructions about you can renewal your driver’s license. You can renew your license up to a year in advance, therefore if you would like to get started, you can explore the options available to you. Currently the state of Texas allows drivers to renew their license in one of four ways:

  • Online
  • By phone
  • In person
  • By mail

Be aware that in order to renew online or by phone, you will need to meet a set of eligibility requirements.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Texas

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Only serious offenses will come with points. Even then, if your ticket is dismissed, you avoid having points added to your Texas driving record. It is recommended that you contact the county clerk of where your ticket was issued for clarification. You may also seek the advice of a traffic attorney.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Texas

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Yes, you may be required to complete an alcohol awareness program, depending on your conviction. A DUI conviction often entails high fines, jail time and a lengthy driver’s license suspension period. It is strongly advised that you seek the advice of a DUI attorney in these instances. For more information, contact the Texas DMV about your particular case.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Texas

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Depending on whether you need a duplicate car registration certificate or a duplicate registration sticker, the state of Texas requires drivers to fill out the correct application. You will need to either submit a Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information or an Application for Replacement License Plate(s), and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker (VTR-60) form instead.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Texas

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
When obtaining a car title replacement, you may also want to consider bringing in your insurance card as well. Be aware that you need to show proof of identity, such as your Texas driver s license. If you do not have your card available, contact your insurance provider to provide an official document as proof of insurance.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Texas

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, you should receive a renewal notice when renewing car registration. The Texas Department of Public Safety also encourages drivers to sign up for eReminders, so that you will always receive an email notification about your registration renewal well in advance. Keep in mind that your car registration typically expires on your birthday month.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Your car registration will only be good until the last day of the month s expiration date. It is important to renew your car registration before this date in order to avoid any late fees or penalties. To begin the renewal process, simply visit your local tax county collector’s office. You may also have the option to renew online or by mail.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Texas

Will Texas issue a drivers license to an individual if their license is suspended in another state?
No, if your license is on a suspended status in another state or jurisdiction you will not be eligible for a Texas driver license. Also, if a Texas driver license is issued and the individual s driver eligibility status changes in another state or jurisdiction, then the Texas driver license is subject to cancellation.