In Texas, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for “Disabled” status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you have

* A vision of not more than 20/200 with corrective glasses.
* Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping or if you need the support of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or another person.
* Restricted walking due to arthritis, neurological or orthopedic conditions.
* Suffer from lung disease or use portable oxygen.
* A cardiac condition classified by the Americ

In Texas, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for “Disabled” status.

You are also considered a disabled driver if you have

  • A vision of not more than 20/200 with corrective glasses.
  • Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping or if you need the support of a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or another person.
  • Restricted walking due to arthritis, neurological or orthopedic conditions.
  • Suffer from lung disease or use portable oxygen.
  • A cardiac condition classified by the American Heart Association as Class III or Class IV.
  • A foot condition which in the opinion of a podiatrist or a licensed physician to have limited mobility.

Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. People who misuse disabled parking placards are subject to fines of up to $1,250 and/or up to 50 hours of community service.

PARKING PLACARDS

  • BLUE – Permanent Disability
  • RED – Temporary Disability

For more information, visit the parking placards page.

HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS

You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.

Duration of status

DP license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled. DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:

  • Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 4 years.
  • Temporary placards are valid for up to 6 months or till your condition persists.

How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard

To obtain DP license plates:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plates (VTR 214).
  2. Have a physician or podiatrist sign the Doctor’s Certification of Disability portion of the form. The physician or the podiatrist must be licensed to practice in Texas, Arkansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma or must be practicing medicine is the US military installation in Texas or in the US Department of Veteran Affairs.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the local County Tax Assessor- Collectors office.

To obtain a DP placard:

  1. Download and complete the Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plates (VTR 214).
  2. Have a physician or podiatrist sign the Doctor’s Certification of Disability portion of the form. The physician or the podiatrist must be licensed to practice in Texas, Arkansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma or must be practicing medicine is the US military installation in Texas or in the US Department of Veteran Affairs.
  3. Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to the address on the local County Tax Assessor- Collectors office.

Alternatively, to obtain either the plates or the placard, take the form to a local County tax Assessor-Collectors office. You will receive your placard (or plates) within approximately two weeks.

FEE

Proof of eligibility may be provided with signed approval by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs on Form VTR-615, or a letter from Veterans Affairs stating eligibility.
You will be issued one placard with the license plates or two placards if you don’t have license plates.

RENEWAL

Once the 4 year validity of permanent DP placards is over:

  1. You have to fill up a new application, but not the disability portion and submit it to the local County tax office.
  2. If your address has changed you can change it online.
  3. You have to return the expired placard along with the new application to the County office.

REPLACEMENT

  1. There is no provision for replacement of lost, damaged or stolen plates and placards. The applicant can be issued a new placard if he/she has the customer copy of the VTR 214 form. If not, then you have to make a new application with the physician’s certification of disability.
  2. If the license plates have been lost, you have to surrender the other license plate and make a new application with replacement fee of $5.30 or $6.30 in some counties.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  • Location and hours of Texas DOT offices.
  • For more information, please call our customer help line at (888) 368-4689 or (512) 465-3000.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!