In Arkansas, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.
You are also considered a disabled driver if you:
* Are unable to walk 200 m without resting due to orthopedic, arthritic or neurological condition.
* Need to use another person, support, a prosthetic device or a wheelchair.
* Have a disabling cardiac condition as per the American Heart Association standards.
* Have a disabling lung disease or need to use portable oxygen.
Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard/ certificate or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a Class A misdemeanor; offenders can have their vehicles impounded or fined up to $100-$1000 and/or have their license suspended for 6 months.
HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS
You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP certificate or license plate. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.
Duration of status
DP license plates or certificates may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:
* A certificate for the permanently disabled is valid for 4 years from the last day of the month in which it was issued.
* Temporary certificates are valid for up to 3 months from the last day of the month in which it was issued.
How to apply for DP license plates or a DP certificate
To obtain a DP license plate or certificate:
# Download and complete the [http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dfa.arkansas.gov%2Foffices%2FmotorVehicle%2FDocuments%2FDrsCertificateforDisabled.pdf Application.]
# Have a licensed physician, surgeon, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner or certified midwife sign the Doctor's Certification of Disability portion of the form.
# You must also submit proofs of your social security number or driver's license number or a state assigned identification number.
# Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to any of the [http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dfa.arkansas.gov%2FPages%2FstateMap.aspx County Revenue office]
A permanent or temporary DP placard is free. There is also no fee for replacement.
The DP license plate is charged the [http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dfa.arkansas.gov%2Foffices%2FmotorVehicle%2FDocuments%2Fschedule_fee1.pdf here].
Once the 4 year validity of permanent DP certificate/placard is over:
# The DMV will automatically mail you a renewal reminder.
# You can renew your DP placard [https%3A%2F%2Farstar.com%2F Online Services website]. Just follow the instructions stated on the website.
# Holders of permanent placards do not require recertification by a doctor.
An individual possessing a temporarily disabled certificate or placard can obtain only 2 temporary placards, with similar expiration date. This cannot be replaced.
* [http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dfa.arkansas.gov%2FPages%2FstateMap.aspx Arkansas Revenue Offices.] of Arkansas DMV offices.