South Carolina Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
You may have the option to complete a motorcycle training program to facilitate the application process. In order to learn more, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000. Their customer service representatives are ready to assist you Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. You can also reach them on Wednesdays, from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles makes it mandatory for motorcycle riders with a motorcycle endorsement who are under 21 to wear a helmet at all times. Plus, you must also wear eye gear when operating a motorcycle. Failure to do so may result in penalties and fines. If you are over 21, it is to your discretion whether or not you wear a helmet. However, for safety purposes, it is highly advised that you equip yourself with full protective gear.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
You will not be authorized to renew car registration in the following circumstances:

  • Your drivers license is suspended
  • Your drivers license is revoked
  • You do not have car insurance

As part of your registration process, you will need to present certain paperwork, along with proper payment for renewal fees. To complete your registration without issue, make sure that your current South Carolina drivers license is valid and in good standing.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
In South Carolina, when you make an official address change, all of your other DMV records will be updated as well. However, you will be required to pay a set fee to request a replacement drivers license ($10) or ID card ($5 if you are between the ages of 5 to 16) with your new name. These fees may be subject to change without notice.

There is no cost to changing the address on your vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
You are required to maintain car insurance in the state where your vehicle is registered in. If you recently moved to South Carolina, you will need to visit your local DMV office to begin the process of registering your car. During your visit, you must provide proof of liability insurance information, such as the name of your insurance provider. You will also need to complete certain forms and provide proper payment.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, South Carolina does not offer the option to complete drivers license renewal for your CDL online. Instead, you must visit a local Department of Motor Vehicles office and present the proper documentation, including but not limited to the following:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of SC residency
  • Proof of U.S. citizenship
  • Provide proof of DOT Medical Certificate, if applicable

When renewing your CDL license, be ready to present necessary payment for any applicable fees.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
In order to request a certified driving record, you can get a copy online, in person or by mail. If you would like to ask for an online drivers record, visit the SC Public Services website. The website will ask you to enter key information to identify yourself. For example, you will be asked to enter the following details:

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles does not provide the option to take a written knowledge exam online. Instead, you must stop by your nearest DMV branch and complete the testing in person. You are not permitted to have your cell phone out during the exam, nor are you allowed to consult with other exam takers about the questions and answers. If you are doing any of the above, you will not receive a passing grade for the test.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
You are authorized to drive state-to-state with a commercial driving license for interstate commerce purposes. In order to obtain this type of license, you must be at least 21. You can use your interstate CDL license to drive across the country, as long as you adhere to the road rules and regulations of the states you are driving through. When applying for your CDL drivers, you will need to self-certify the type of commerce you would like to operate by filling out the CDL Medical Certifications Requirements form.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
When completing SC car registration renewal, complete the process in person, online or by mail. A few weeks prior to your car registration s expiration date, you can expect to receive a renewal notice in the mail. To renew car registration online, you will need to meet some criteria that is listed on the SC DMV Public Services page. To renew by mail, your vehicle property taxes must be fully paid for and up to date.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Do boats need to be registered?
The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources is the department that handles boat registrations in the state. When registering your boat, you will mainly need to fill out the Watercraft/Outboard Motor Titling and Registration Application. Your registration fees may vary. To find out more, contact the SC Department of Natural Resources at 803-734-3857. You can also visit their website here, or write to their mailing address below:

SC DNR PO Box 167 Columbia, SC 29202-0167

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
An applicant interested in operating a scooter or moped must apply for a valid drivers license/motorcycle drivers license or a moped license. You will be required to take a vision exam and pass a written knowledge exam as well. The state of South Carolina does not allow moped users to operate at a speed that is more than 25 miles per hour. Additionally, the moped must have operating lights and a permanent seat. A light on the front of the moped and on the back must be on when operating at night.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
In South Carolina, you may be granted the option to complete a National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course in order to have up to four points removed from your driving record. You are required to take this defensive driving course in the state, and it will be completed in eight hours. If you would like to find out more, contact the South Carolina DMV.

If you have accumulated 12 or more points, your drivers license will be suspended. When you have six points on your record, you can expect to receive a warning letter in the mail.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
There is a good chance you may have to cancel your insurance if you are moving to another state. Most states have a requirement that you carry auto insurance that is qualified to do business in that particular state. You should check with your insurance company to find out what your options are for moving your coverage to a different state.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Yes, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles advises drivers to report their lost drivers license or stolen drivers license. Filing a police report will help prevent any fraudulent activity on your license. Once a report has been made, bring it in to your local DMV branch. You will also need to present a completed Affidavit for Lost/Surrendered Driver s License. You will need to fill out “Section 2” of this form and include your signature and date at the bottom.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Drivers who have a lost car registration or a stolen car registration should visit a nearby police station to complete a report about the incident. Bring this police report with you to a local DMV office when you are in the process of requesting duplicate registration. You may or may not have your replacement fee waived, but your report will be noted on your DMV file. You must also have your South Carolina drivers license on hand when completing your duplicate request.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
You are not required to complete drivers ed to obtain an SC learners permit. However, it is required to get a driver s license. In South Carolina, a drivers ed class consists of the following:

  • Six hours of behind the wheel instruction
  • Eight hours in a classroom setting

In order to get a learner s permit, you will need to present certain documentation at your nearby DMV office, pass both the written and vision exams and pay any applicable fees.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
If you have a mutilated or damaged title for car, you must turn it in to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at your earliest convenience, so they can dispose of it properly. Upon your visit, you can also apply for a SC duplicate car title with the correct documentation and payment. You will be required to present the following:

  • Application or Certificate of Title/Registration
  • Your South Carolina driver s license

If you do not have your SC drivers license on hand, you may present a United States passport, an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) or a permanent residency card in its place. Your full name must be listed on the document.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, if you currently are in the possession of a damaged car registration or a mutilated car registration, hand it to a DMV representative at a local branch. During your visit, you can also request an SC car registration copy if you haven t done so already. You will need to present certain documentation that may include the following:

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
The state of South Carolina may require you to register your motorized scooter. To find out more, contact the SC DMV at 803- 896-5000. You can reach them at regular business hours that range from 8:30 a.m. or 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. You can also send them an email by writing to: help@scdmv.online.com. Make sure to avoid writing your Social Security Number or drivers license number in the email for security reasons.

If you are registering a motorcycle, you will need to pay a $10 fee (may vary).

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
The state of South Carolina does not require vehicles to undergo a smog or emissions inspection. However, you will need to present other types of documentation when getting car registration. This includes some of the following items:

Other acceptable proofs of identity are a United States passport, an Employment Authorization Document (EAD), a permanent resident card, or an out-of-state credential if you are a new resident to South Carolina, etc.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
In order to avoid the suspension of your South Carolina drivers license, you will need to get car insurance in the state. Failure to do so will result in the conviction of a misdemeanor. SC requires drivers to maintain the following types of minimum car insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage
  • Uninsured motorist protection

In the event that you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer, you will be required to show proof of your car insurance. You must maintain your car insurance for the length of time in which your vehicle is registered.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you would like to add a veteran designation to your SC ID card application, you must show proof that you served in the United States Armed Forces at your local DMV office. Acceptable documentation will depend on the date of your discharge.

  • If your military discharge took place after Jan. 1, 1950, you will need to present a Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty Form DD-14.
  • If your military discharge took place before 1950, you will need to present either a Certificate of Discharge or Enlisted Separation Paper.

There is a simple $1 fee to add a veteran designation to your ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
If you would like to get a copy of the South Carolina driving license manual, you can do so here: South Carolina Driver s Manual. Within the guidebook, you will find an assortment of in-depth information about the state s road safety rules, drivers license requirements, traffic safety and other relevant information.

Some of these topics include the following:

  • Classes of Licenses
  • Identification Cards
  • Licensing Procedure
  • Changing Your Name
  • Changing Your Address
  • Learner s Permit

You may also request a hard copy of this manual by visiting your nearest Department of Motor Vehicles office.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to pay traffic tickets in person, by mail or online. In order to pay in person, you will have to contact the clerk of courts in the county which you were issued your citation. Refer to your ticket for instructions on how to send your payment by mail. You can also pay online by visiting South Carolina s state government website.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

How can I renew my drivers license?
In South Carolina, there are two ways in which you can renew license: in person or by mail.

By Mail To renew your license by mail, you must be a United States citizen with a drivers license that has not been expired for more than nine months. You must have also taken a vision screening examination by a licensed professional in the past year.

Send a completed Application To Renew License, along with vision report and payment for any fees to the address below:

SCDMV PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-003

In Person Visit your local DMV office with your current South Carolina drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to renew vehicle registration in one of the following manners: online, in person or by mail. Only certain counties provide an online option, therefore you will need to check if yours qualifies for renewal through the SCDMV website.

If renewing your registration by mail, you will need to send in the form you receive as part of your Renewal Notice. The instructions you should follow will be listed on your Renewal Notice for your convenience.

To renew in person, simply visit your local DMV branch with the proper paperwork and your current South Carolina drivers license.

Although car registration renewals only need to be completed every two years, SC requires vehicle property taxes to be paid on a yearly basis.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
If you are leaving South Carolina and setting up residence in another state, get in touch with the Department of Motor Vehicles in your new location. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations as it pertains to their titling and registration process. When transferring SC DMV car registration, make sure to bring proof of identity with you to the DMV, as well as any vehicle documentation you may have on your person.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
If you re wondering how to get a CDL license, you will be required to complete these steps below at your local DMV office:

  • Pass any required written knowledge test
  • Pass a vision test
  • Pass a road skills tests
  • Self-certify the type of commerce you would like to use your CDL license for by filling out the Form DL-405A
  • Provide proof of DOT Medical Certificate, if applicable
  • Provide proof of identity
  • Provide proof of car insurance
  • Have payment ready for any fees ($12.50, subject to vary)
  • Complete the Application for a Commercial Driver s License

While in the process of applying for a CDL license, the South Carolina DMV will check any driving history you may have in another state.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
To apply for a disabled license plate or placard, fill out the Disabled Placard and License Plate Application. The handicap placard application will ask you personal information about your yourself, as well as your vehicle s description. A licensed physician will also need to fill out a portion of the form, indicating what type of disability or physical ailment you have.

Mail the completed application, along with proper payment, to the address below:

SC DMV PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0019

Only a check or money order, payable to “SCDMV,” will be accepted.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

How do I apply for a drivers license?
In order to obtain a SC drivers license, you will need to visit a DMV office and adhere to a few steps as listed below:

  • Show proof of South Carolina residency
  • Show proof of U.S. citizenship
  • Show proof of identity
  • Show proof of Social Security Number
  • Fill out an Application for a Non-Commercial License
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Pass a written exam, if applicable

You will also be required to submit payment for any necessary fees, such as your drivers license application and written exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to apply for a learners permit in South Carolina, you must be at least 15 years old. You will be required to visit your local DMV office and complete the following:

  • Present proof of residency
  • Present proof of identity/date of birth
  • Present proof of citizenship
  • Present proof of Social Security Number
  • Fill out the Application for a Non-Commercial Credential
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Pass a written knowledge exam
  • Have payment ready for applicable fees

Once you reach the age of 15 and have held your permit for at least 180 days, you will then be able to apply for a conditional license, or you have the option to apply for a special restricted license. The difference is that a special restricted license allows you to waive the nighttime driving restrictions.

Drivers under the age of 18 will need a parent or legal guardian physically present to sign the application and give consent.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
If you are wondering how to get a motorcycle license, you must apply at your nearest DMV office and complete the following requirements:

  • Bring your learners permit
  • Pass the vision test
  • Pass the road skills test

If you are under the age of 18, you will also need to have a parent or legal guardian present at the DMV office to sign your license application and provide consent.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Each car insurance company may have a different policy in place for address changes. To find out how you can update your records, contact them directly, either by phone or in person. You may be required to present documentation of your new address. In order to be located in their system, they may also ask you for the current address that s on file. Gather any proof of address you have on hand, in the event that you are asked to present it in person.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

How do I change my address on my car registration?
You can make a South Carolina official address change on your vehicle registration in person, online or by mail. If you would like to do this online, visit the SC DMV Public Services website and be ready to enter information such as your South Carolina drivers license number or your Social Security Number.

To make your request by mail, you will need to send an Application for a Name/Address Change to the address below:

DMV Alternative Media Office PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

There is no fee to change the name on your car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
In order to complete an address change request on your SC CDL drivers license, you must get in touch with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. You may be asked to make an in-person visit to a nearby branch and present necessary documentation for this change to be considered effective. If you are unsure of what documents to bring, call the Customer Service line at 803-986-5000. A representative will be ready to assist you. Have your drivers license number or Social Security Number available to avoid any issue locating you in the department s records.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to perform an address change request on their drivers license online, in person or by mail. You are given 10 days to complete this change after you get your new name.

Online You must visit the SC DMV Public Services website and enter the requested information, such as your drivers license number.

In Person

Visit your local SC DMV branch with a filled out Application for a Name/Address Change and payment for a new license in the amount of $10 (may vary).

By Mail By paying the correct fee and sending in the aforementioned application, you can change the address on your drivers by mail. Write to the address below:

DMV Alternative Media Office PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

How do I change my address on my ID card?
In order to change address on ID cards, residents can update names in person, by mail or online.

To change your name online, visit the SC DMV Public Services website and follow the step-by-step instructions on the screen. If you would like to change your name by mail, send a completed Application for a Name/Address Change, with a $5 fee payment to this address:

DMV Alternative Media Office PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

Fees are subject to change.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
To request a name change on your car insurance, contact the company directly. Your car insurance representative will look over your policy plan and update this information. You may be required to visit a physical office to make this change effective, or you may be given the option to simply do it over the phone. Make sure to have your proof of name change readily available, in the event that you are asked to fax it over or submit it in person.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
If you need to change names on car registration, you will be able to do so by completing the same steps you would for your drivers license. This includes the following:

When presenting your proof of name change, make sure that you have an original or certified copy with you, as no photocopy will be accepted.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
To begin changing names on drivers licenses at the South Carolina DMV, you first need to update this information with the Social Security Administration website. It is only when your name has been legally changed with the SSA that you can then visit your local DMV office to update your records. In person, you will be asked to present the following items:

  • Application for Name/Address Change
  • Proof of name change
  • Marriage certificate
  • Divorce decree
  • Court-ordered official document with name change

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles only allows a name change to be effective when the process is conducted at a physical location.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
In order to get an ID card name change, complete the same steps you would for your drivers license. First, your name must be legally changed with the Social Security Administration. Thereafter, you must visit your local Department of Motor Vehicles branch with the necessary paperwork, proper payment (if applicable) and be ready to fill out an Application for Name/Address Change.

The state of South Carolina makes it a requirement to notify the DMV of your name change within 10 days.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
The Social Security Administration allows individuals to petition for name changes in person or by mail. To visit one of their offices, simply visit the SSA website and search for a branch near you with your ZIP code. You will need to bring proof of your identity. There is no charge for this type of service.

You can also call the Social Security Administration website by dialing their toll-free number at 1-800-772-1213.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you have reason to believe that an unauthorized individual has gained access to your DMV driving record, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at your earliest convenience. You can reach the department by calling 803-896-5000 during their regular business hours of Monday to Friday. Their hours of operation are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. To reach them on Wednesdays, call between 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If you have a lost car registration or a stolen car registration, it is imperative that you visit your local police station to file a report. By having a documented report about the incident, this will help reduce the chances of fraudulent activity on your drivers license or DMV records. After filing the report, make sure to bring a copy of it with you to a nearby South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles branch. It is to the discretion of the DMV whether or not your replacement fee will be waived.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
Stop by your local police station to file a report about your lost car title or stolen car title. Once you have arrived at the physical location, ask to speak to a law enforcement officer and inform them about your incident. After the police report has been filled out, you can request to be given a copy for your records. Take your copy to a local DMV office when getting a duplicate car title. Whether or not your duplicate fee is waived will be to the discretion of the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to obtain an online driving record, in person or by mail. To complete this process online, you will need to visit the SC Public Services website. If you would like to make your request in person, make sure to bring your drivers license with you. Visit a nearby branch to get started.

By mail, send a completed Request for Driver Information to this address:

Alternative Media PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016 – 0035

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
In order to obtain an SC identification card replacement, you are required to visit your closest DMV office and present an Application for a Non-Commercial Credential. You are also encouraged to make your way to a local police station beforehand and report your lost ID card or stolen ID card.

If it is your second time obtaining an identification card within a 12-month period, you may be asked to show proof of residency and identity.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
In the state of South Carolina, a provisional drivers license is considered a hardship license. Only first-time offenders of a DUI are eligible to obtain this restricted license to drive. However, you must have also completed an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program and had no other suspensions. In order to apply for a SC provisional driver s license, you will be required to pay a $100 fee (may vary). To find out if you are eligible, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000.

You can also send a written letter to the address below:

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Records Post Office Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0028

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles offers the option to get a duplicate drivers license online. To get started, you will need to visit the SC DMV Public Services website and identify yourself. You are only authorized to make an online request once in a 12-month period. Additionally, your drivers license must not be suspended or revoked to complete the online process. Make sure to have a Visa, Discover card or MasterCard readily available for payment.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
In order to try and have your traffic ticket dismissed, you will need to fight it in court, either by representing yourself or with legal counsel. If you dispute your ticket in court, you will need to plead not guilty. A traffic ticket attorney will also be able to represent you on your court date and fight your citation for you. In some instances, you may have the option to take a National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course to remove up to four points from your driving record.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
If you would like to obtain a copy of another person s SC driving record, authorized individuals can do so online, in person or by mail. If making your request by mail, you will need to fill out a Request for Driver Information and send it to the below address:

Alternative Media PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016 0035

To make your request in person, you must visit a nearby DMV branch and speak to a representative for further assistance.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
In order to get a South Carolina car registration replacement, you will need to make your request in one of three ways:

  • Online
  • In person
  • By mail

When replacing your car registration in person, visit a local DMV branch and speak to a representative, who will be readily available to assist you with the process. You will need to bring a proof of identity, such as your South Carolina drivers license, to locate you in their records.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to obtain a duplicate car title in one of two ways:

  • By mail
  • In person

In both instances, you will be required to fill out an Application or Certificate of Title/Registration and pay the appropriate fees. Before you make your way to a DMV office, make sure to gather these necessary materials with you in order to avoid any delay. Find a branch near you by clicking this link.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
In order to replace drivers licenses, you can make your request online or at a DMV office. However, you are not allowed to utilize the online service if you are replacing a CDL drivers license or a beginner s permit.

Online Replace your drivers license online by visiting the SC DMV Public Services website.

In Person To get a SC drivers license copy at a local DMV office, you will need to fill out an Affidavit for Lost/Surrendered Driver s License. If this is your second or third time asking for a duplicate within 12 months, you may be asked to show proof of other items.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
In order to get a salvaged car title after the vehicle is declared a total loss, your insurance company must send the following items to the Headquarters Title Unit:

The aforementioned items must be submitted to a nearby DMV office of the address below:

Headquarters Title Unit PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29216-0024

To learn more about salvage vehicles, contact the SC DMV at 803-896-5000.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

How do I obtain car registration?
If you recently purchased a vehicle through a private party, you will need to register it with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle. You can do this either by mail or in person.

In Person The SC DMV now offers an option where you can submit certain car registration paperwork online, then print out any required forms to take with you to your local branch. This will allow you to save time when registering your vehicle. To begin this part-online process, you must have your SC vehicle title on hand.

By Mail If you would like to register your vehicle by mail, you can do so by submitting any necessary paperwork to the following address:

SC DMV PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0024

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
If you have a South Carolina drivers license suspension as the result of committing multiple offenses, you will need to follow the terms of your suspension period. The state of South Carolina defines a Habitual Offender as:

  • A driver who has accumulated three or more convictions for serious offenses within three years.
  • A driver who has had 10 or more four-point moving violations within three years.

If you have been classified as a Habitual Offender, you will receive a notice in the mail stating so from the SC DMV. You will be required to surrender your drivers license to the DMV.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
If you have an SC suspended drivers license as the result of a chemical test refusal, you will then face drivers license suspension for six months. In order for it to be established that you can legally drive again, you will first need to complete your suspension period. The terms of your suspension period will be noted on a letter you receive from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
To reinstate your South Carolina suspended drivers license, you must first review all the terms and conditions of your suspension period. You will need to abide by all the reinstatement requirements before you can request to have your South Carolina driving privileges restored. Some reinstating suspended drivers license requirements may include but not be limited to what s mentioned below:

  • Complete an alcohol awareness program (if applicable)
  • Complete community service hours
  • Complete your suspension period
  • Pay reinstatement fees and court-ordered fees

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to remove up to four points from their driving record when they complete a National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course. This defensive driving school lasts eight hours and must be taken in the state. Points can only be reduced from your driving record once every three years. You can also consult the legal advice of a traffic ticket attorney to assist you with fighting your ticket.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

How do I renew my driving permit?
To renew your drivers permit, visit a SC Department of Motor Vehicles branch in your area with proper documentation. If you have had your learner s permit for 180 days or more, you can then apply for a conditional license (provisional license). If you are under the age of 18, you will be required to complete the application process with a parent or legal guardian present.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

How do I renew my ID card?
You can renew ID cards visiting your local Department of Motor Vehicles office. No option is currently available to renew your ID card online or by mail. Upon the time of your visit, you will need to show a completed Application for a Non-Commercial Credential. To find out more, call the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are currently serving in the military outside of South Carolina, you can renew driving license upon your return to the state, or complete the process via mail. To renew by mail, you must send an Application to Renew License, a vision report from the past 12 months and proper payment to this address:

SCDMV PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-003

You must be a United States citizen to be eligible for mail renewal. The fee is $12.50 for a drivers license that does not have a veteran designation.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
When your Medical Certificate is about to expire, you will need to visit a licensed medical professional to have your report renewed. Your Medical Certificate must be issued by a certified medical examiner that is nationally registered with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Regulation. To find a list of certified professionals, visit the FMSCA website.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
South Carolina allows drivers to renew motorcycle licenses either by mail or at a local DMV branch. To renew by mail, send a completed drivers license application to the address below:

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

Payment in the form of a check or money order will be required. Make it payable to SCDMV in the amount of $12.50. This fee is subject to change.

A vision screening report from the past year must also be attached. Your report must be issued from a licensed ophthalmologist.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles does not have any legal status requirements in place to replace DMV drivers license. However, if you are requesting a duplicate online, you need to identify yourself by inputting the following information on the screen:

  • Your drivers license number
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your date of birth

If you intend to visit your local DMV office for your duplicate request, you will need to fill out an Affidavit for Lost/Surrendered Driver s License.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you lost your South Carolina driving license while outside the state, you can request a duplicate drivers license online. Visit the SC DMV Public Services website to get started. You will be asked to enter information to identify yourself, such as the following:

You will not be able to complete your duplicate request online if you currently have a suspended license. Additionally, to use the online service, you must be a United States citizen.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
If you are moving to a different state, you will need to get in touch with the Department of Motor Vehicles of your new location about car title transfer. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations when it comes to their titling and registration process, therefore you may be required to present varying documents and necessary paperwork. Payment for a new car title fee may also vary.

When applying for a new car title in another state, have your drivers license on hand, as well as proof of car insurance.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you have a lost car title, you will need to obtain a duplicate copy before you are able to transfer your title. To replace your car title, apply in person or by mail. In any case, you will need to fill out an Application for Certificate of Title/Registration and pay the appropriate $15 duplicate fee. This amount may vary. You will also need to present proof of identification, such as your South Carolina drivers license.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

How do I transfer my car title?
If you recently purchased a new vehicle, you can get a new title for car by visiting your local DMV branch with certain documentation, and payment for any necessary fees and taxes. The state of South Carolina gives drivers 45 days to title and register their new car after it has been purchased.

You can also complete your titling and registration process via mail. To do so, follow the instructions on the Application for Certificate of Title/Registration.

If you purchased your vehicle at a dealership, the dealer will take care of the necessary paperwork for you. If you are the seller of your vehicle, make sure to transfer your title to the buyer, along with a Bill of Sale that confirms the transaction between both private parties.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
In order to transfer the title of your RV, you will need to follow the same process you would to obtain a standard SC vehicle title. Visit your local DMV branch with these items on hand:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Paid vehicle property tax receipt
  • Completed Application for Certificate of Title/Registration
  • Payment for title and registration fees
  • Your South Carolina driver s license

The title and registration fee for an RV is $24. This cost is subject to change without notice. When filling out your Application for Certificate of Title/Registration, you will be required to note your current odometer reading.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Any driver interested in applying for a SC motorcycle license endorsement will have to complete the step-by-step process in person. First visit your local Department of Motor Vehicles office with the proper documentation, and pass the necessary testing. You will also need to pay select fees before a motorcycle license can be issued to you.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

How does the DMV check my vision?
When taking your vision exam, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will test your eyesight with a mechanical device. If you wear corrective lenses, you will be required to have them on during the time of testing, and once you are issued your SC drivers license, a proper coding for lenses will be listed.

In order to pass the SC vision exam, you must have a minimum visual acuity field of 20/70 or better in at least one eye. You must meet these vision standards with or without corrective lenses.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
After you have had your SC driving permit for 180 days, you can then apply for a conditional license (also known as a provisional license). You can also apply for a Special Restricted License, which will allow you to waive certain nighttime driving restrictions.

You can apply for a standard SC drivers license when you reach 16 and have maintained your conditional or special restricted license for at least a year.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Currently, the state of South Carolina does not offer an option to request a car title replacement online. Instead, you are required to stop by at a nearby SC DMV office to complete this process, which includes filling out an Application for Certificate of Title/Registration.

If you are requesting expedited service for your car title by mail, you can expect to receive it within three business days. Only checks are accepted in this fashion, and they must be made payable to “SC DMV.” The department will not accept cash as a form of payment by mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
By law, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will issue a suspended driving license for a mandatory period of six months should you refuse to take the Breathalyzer test and this is your first DUI offense. You may also face additional penalties and consequences that you will need to adhere to before you are allowed to reinstate your drivers license. South Carolina has a standard reinstatement fee of $100. However, this fee may change without notice.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The length of time it will take to get ID card may vary. Speak to a DMV Customer Service representative by calling 803-896-5000. Their hours of business are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. If you would like to get in touch with them on a Wednesday, their hours of operation on that day is from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. You can also reach them by email when you write to help@scdmvonline.com

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
In South Carolina, if you accumulate 12 or more points on your record, your driver s license will be suspended. After a year has passed, points on your driving record will be reduced by half. In order to have your drivers license reinstated, you will need to abide by the rules and regulations as stated on your suspension summary. You will also be required to pay a reinstatement fee.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
In South Carolina, you can have up to four points removed from your record when you take a National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course. This defensive driving program must be completed in the state and lasts up to eight hours. You are only allowed to reduce your points once every three years. If you would like to learn more about the National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course, contact the SC DMV at 803-896-5000.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
South Carolina has no fee in place to make an official name change on your vehicle registration. In order to complete a name change on your car registration, you will need to visit your local DMV office with the following items:

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
In South Carolina, you can complete a car title name change by paying a $15 fee. You will be required to present the following documentation at your local DMV office to complete the process:

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The fees associated with SC name changing are as follows:

  • Drivers license: $10
  • Learner s permit: $2.50
  • ID card: $5 for individuals between the ages of five and 16

There is no fee to change your name on your vehicle registration. When making your name change, you will be required to complete an Application for Name/Address Change. Find a DMV branch near you by visiting this link.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
The state of South Carolina requires commercial drivers to renew their driving licenses every five years before the expiration date. You do not have the option to renew by mail and must complete the renewal process in person. When renewing your South Carolina CDL license, you must show proof of your Medical Certificate according to FMCSA s qualifications. Take note that your Medical Certificate will not be accepted by the DMV if it is set to expire within 30 days.
How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
To find out how soon you can begin your request to renew license, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. You can speak to a DMV representative on their Customer Service line by calling 803-896-5000. Their hours of operation are from Monday to Friday during regular business hours.

To avoid having to re-take any exams, such as a written knowledge exam or a road skills test, you must not allow your drivers license to be expired for longer than nine months.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
If you have inherited a vehicle with the passing of a loved one, you will need to visit your local DMV branch with the following items, in order to transfer the title to your name:

  • An Affidavit of Inheritance of a Vehicle
  • Certificate of Title
  • Will of the deceased
  • Your South Carolina driver s license

You will also need to bring payment for any necessary fees. Call your nearby DMV prior to your visit if you would like to find out more.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
Yes, the state of South Carolina charges late fees for car registration that is renewed after the expiration date. The penalties for late fees are listed below:

  • The first 14 days after expiration date: $10
  • 15 to 30 days: $25
  • 31 to 90 days: $50
  • More than 90 days after: $75

Acceptable forms of payment depend on the manner in which you are renewing your car registration. If you are renewing in person, cash, check, credit card or debit card are accepted. Only checks are accepted by mail, and a credit card or debit card number must be used for an online transaction.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
Whether or not your replacement fee can be waived is to the discretion of the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. The standard duplicate drivers license fee in South Carolina is $10. This fee applies both in person and online. If you are submitting your payment online, you are authorized to use one of the following credit cards:

  • Visa
  • Discover
  • MasterCard

When completing your request in person, you will be required to fill out an Affidavit for Lost/Surrendered Driver s License.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been involved in a car accident that sustained property damage, you will be required to file a police report and provide proof of insurance. If you do not have South Carolina car insurance, you may face drivers license suspension, in addition to being found guilty of a misdemeanor. To have your drivers license reinstated, follow the terms of your suspension and pay a reinstatement fee in the amount of $100.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If your vehicle is registered in South Carolina, then you will be required to comply by the requirements of insurance for cars. You must carry proof of car insurance with you at all times in order to avoid facing any penalties or the possible suspension of your driver s license. As it pertains to the minimum insurance coverage in SC, you are required to adhere to the following:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per more than one person
  • $50,000 property damage
  • Uninsured motorist protection

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you are unable to locate your parking ticket, contact the county or municipality that issued the ticket. They will be able to provide you further information and better assist you. To pay for your ticket, you will need to have payment readily available. The amount of time you have to pay for your citation will depend on the date in which it was issued.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
In the event that you lost your South Carolina identification card while outside the state, you will need to wait until you ve returned to replace ID card. Once you are back in South Carolina, visit your regional DMV office to fill out any necessary paperwork for a replacement ID. You should also report your lost identification card at your nearest police station to file a proper police report.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
order to reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you will need to adhere to the requirements of your suspension summary. Some of these requirements may include the completion of an Alcohol Awareness Program, possible jail time, community service hours, fulfilling the length of your suspension period, and paying fees and fines. You will not be able to restore your driving privileges until all reinstatement requirements have been met.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
If you have lost personalized plates, you will need to request duplicates. To complete this process, visit your local DMV office to inquire about how you can replace personalized license plates. You can also contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles ahead of time by calling their Customer Call Center at 803-896-5000. Their hours of operation are regular business hours from Monday to Friday. You can also reach them by mail when you write to: help@scdmvonline.com

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
To engage in intrastate commerce in the state of South Carolina, you must be at least 18 years old. If you would like to drive a CDL vehicle across state lines, you will need to be at least 21 for interstate driving. To begin the application process, you must visit your local Department of Motor Vehicles office with any necessary paperwork, documentation and proper forms of payment.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
The state of South Carolina does not have any age restrictions to renew your drivers license. However, you are required to meet a certain set of requirements when requesting a license renewal. Some of these may include but not be limited to the following:

  • Application to Renew License
  • Vision Report that was conducted in the past 12 months
  • Your recent South Carolina drivers license
  • Payment for any necessary fees

South Carolina offers two options for renewing license: in person or by mail. The service to renew drivers license online is no longer available.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
You should keep your South Carolina car registration inside your vehicle at all times, preferably in your glove compartment. If you are pulled over by a police officer, this information must be readily available and easily accessible. If you have a lost car registration, visit your nearest South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles to request a duplicate.

In addition to having car registration paperwork in your possession, carry your car insurance information. If you have two copies of your car insurance card, keep one in your vehicle and the other inside your wallet.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
You can expect to receive your drivers license replacement at the residential or mailing address you have on file with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. If your address recently changed, you have 10 days to notify the DMV. The DMV allows you to make an address change online, in person or by mail.

If you would like to submit your address update by mail, you will need to send the appropriate application, along with a correct fee to this address:

DMV Alternative Media Office PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Adults under the age of 65 are issued a 10-year driver s license in the state of South Carolina. However, if you are a senior older than 65, you will be issued a five-year drivers license. To renew your drivers license, you will need to stop by your local Department of Motor Vehicles branch to complete the process. During your visit, you may be asked to take a vision exam. In order to pass, you must have a minimum visual acuity field of 20/70 or better in at least one eye.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
There are a few instances in which you may be required to transfer titles in South Carolina. Some of the most common ones are listed below:

  • When your address has changed
  • When you have acquired a new name
  • When you are selling a vehicle
  • When you are buying a vehicle
  • When you are moving to another state
  • When you are donating a vehicle
  • When you are adding a co-owner to your car title
  • When you have inherited a vehicle

To complete the process of requesting a new title, you will need to either visit your local DMV branch or send all applicable documentation by mail. Simply fill out the Application for Certificate of Title/Registration and mail your items to the address on the form.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
In the state of South Carolina, you may be issued a drivers license suspension as the result of a violation or offense that can include any of the following:

  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to maintain car insurance
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Aggressive, reckless driving
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Accumulation of points on your driving record

There are other types of offenses that can see you facing a SC suspended driving license or revocation. Abide by road safety laws and regulations in South Carolina to avoid losing your driving privileges.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
You are considered eligible to apply for a motorcycle beginner s permit if you are 15 and have maintained another class permit for at least 180 days. If you have never held a learner s permit, or had a drivers license before and are at least 15, you can still apply for a motorcycle permit. In order to advance to a regular, full motorcycle license, you must have held your motorcycle permit for at least 180 days.

When applying for your license, you will be asked to present certain documentation, such as proof of identity, and payment for any fees.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In South Carolina, CDL drivers can apply for the following types of CDL endorsements:

  • N endorsement Tanker Vehicle
  • P endorsement Passenger Vehicle to transport 16 or more people
  • T endorsement Double/Triple Trailers
  • X endorsement Combination Hazmat and Tanker
  • S endorsement School Bus
  • H endorsement Hazardous Material (Hazmat)

Depending on the type of CDL endorsement you would like to obtain, you may be required to complete further testing. Testing can consist of a written knowledge exam and/or a road skills test.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
If you choose to ignore the terms of your South Carolina drivers license suspension, you will face additional penalties and consequences that may consist of the following:

  • Lengthier suspension period
  • Possible imprisonment sentence
  • Mandatory court-ordered fees
  • Mandatory completion of community service hours

In order to avoid these unwanted consequences, follow the rules of the road at all times.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

What are the different types of driving records?
The state of South Carolina offers two different driving records:

  • A three-year Driver Record
  • A 10-year Driver Record

You can also obtain either an official “certified” copy of your driving record or an unofficial version. If you are requesting a certified copy, your drivers record will be sent out to the address on file with the SC DMV. If your address recently changed, you must notify the DMV of your new residence.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
If you are younger than 17, you are required to submit payment for a $5 fee. However, if you are 17 or older and a United States citizen, there is no cost to obtaining an identification card. To find out more, contact the SC Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Whether you replace your SC drivers license online or in person, the fee is the same: $10. This fee is subject to change without notice. If completing your South Carolina drivers license replacement request online, you must make your payment with a credit card. The following types of credit cards are accepted:

  • MasterCard
  • Discover
  • VISA

To complete your online transaction, you must be a United State citizen without a suspended or revoked South Carolina driver s license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Your first year of driving with a permit for driving will require you to abide by the following restrictions:

  • You are only permitted to drive between the hours of 6 a.m. to midnight with a licensed driver who is at least 21. Said driver must have held a drivers license for at least one year and must be seated with you in the front of the vehicle.
  • You are also permitted to drive during the aforementioned hours if there is a licensed driver with you in the front of the vehicle, who is either your parent or legal guardian.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
The South Carolina DMV requires you to present a DOT Medical Certificate or card, certifying that you have met the necessary medical requirements as stated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Regulation. In order to apply for an SC commercial drivers license, you will be required to submit this type of documentation.

You will also be required to complete a CDL Medical Certification Requirements form to self-certify the type of commerce you intend to operate.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
There are many reasons that may require a South Carolina driver to replace car registration. Some of the most common ones include the following:

  • You have a lost car registration
  • You have a stolen car registration
  • You have a mutilated or damaged car registration

In the event that any of the aforementioned applies to you, you will need to request a duplicate registration online, by mail or in person. You must have payment ready in order to complete the transaction. If making your request online, you will need to have your license plate number available to locate you in the records.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
In order to find out what types of consequences you will face, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, or the county that issued your citation. You will be required to pay traffic ticket, and if you have additional violations on your driving record, you may also run the risk of an SC drivers license suspension. A suspended drivers license carries serious penalties, and will require you to abide by the rules of your suspension notice.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
Your DUI penalties will depend on the type of offense you have committed. Below are a few of the most common examples by the SC DMV:

  • First DUI Offense: Six-month suspension period
  • Second DUI Offense: Indefinite suspension period

In addition to a suspension period, you may also need to abide by the following:

  • Complete an Alcohol Awareness Course
  • Complete jail time
  • Retake written knowledge exam
  • Retake road skills test

Once you have fulfilled your suspension requirements, you will be required to get SR22 insurance to have driving privileges reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The fees in which you will be required to pay may vary, depending on the type of offense you have committed, and whether or not you have committed this violation before. As a general rule, however, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles has a $100 reinstatement fee in place unless otherwise noted. Fees may change without notice.

Since 2011, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles has allowed their drivers to sign up for a reinstatement fee payment plan if they are facing financial difficulties. This program is available specifically to those with a suspended license in the state.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
There are certain taxes and fees in place you will be required to pay when getting car registration. Some of these are as follows:

  • Title fee: $15
  • Passenger vehicles: $24
  • Drivers 64 years old: $22
  • Drivers 65 or older:$20
  • Motorcycles: $10

You must also pay vehicle property taxes in the county you live in, along with a Casual Sales Tax totaling five percent of the vehicle price. These fees are subject to change without notice.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
In order to get a South Carolina car title copy, you will be required to pay a fee of $15. This fee is subject to change. If making your request by mail, only a personal check will be accepted. Your new car title will be sent to the address you have on file. However, if you have a vehicle lien, the title will be mailed out to the lien holder instead.

If you are submitting your duplicate fee payment in person, the DMV office will accept any of the following:

  • Credit card
  • Debit card
  • Cash
  • Check

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The state of South Carolina charges a low fee of $1 for duplicate car registration. If you are submitting payment by mail, accepted forms of payment are a check or money order made payable to “South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.” To obtain a duplicate registration certificate online, through the SC DMV Public Services page, only a credit card or debit card is permitted.

When requesting your duplicate registration, you are required to fill out an Application for Duplicate Registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
Your SC car registration fees will vary, depending on many factors related to your vehicle, including its weight. In order to find out the exact amount you will be required to pay, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles for additional information. You can call them at 803-896-5000. You can also inquire about fees when renewing your car registration at a local DMV branch. Make sure to bring your current SC drivers license with you, as well as your registration paperwork.

You will also be required to pay vehicle property taxes on a yearly basis.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In South Carolina, you are allowed to operate a three-wheel motorcycle with any type of class license, as long as it is not a Class G moped license. There is no special type of endorsement that is required for the operation of a three-wheel motorcycle license. However, SC law requires a motorcycle rider who is under the age of 21 to wear a helmet at all times. You must also have on eye protective wear.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
The state of South Carolina refers to a hardship license as a provisional driver license. This specific type of drivers license permits driving to and from, to and from school, to and from any other authorized activity. Only first-time offenders of a DUI are considered eligible. However, to apply, you must have no other additional suspensions, and you must complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action program. The fee for this license is $100. Fees may vary without notice.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
In the event that you fail your drivers test, you will have to retake it at a later date and reapply for your South Carolina drivers license. The following techniques will be tested:

  • Stopping as smoothly as possible
  • Backing your vehicle for a distance of up to 100 feet
  • Properly coming to a complete stop at Stop signs
  • Ability to parallel park
  • Yielding the right of way
  • Proper turning in to a lane
  • Proper clutching

You will also be tested on other types of vehicle operation. In order to be prepared for the test ahead, you must use a vehicle that is in safe working condition.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
In South Carolina, you must present the following types of documents to get a learning permit:

  • Proof of name and date of birth, such as a birth certificate
  • Proof of citizenship, such as a United States passport
  • Proof of Social Security Number, such as your Social Security card

For other acceptable documents, visit the South Carolina DMV website.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
When getting your motorcycle drivers license, a visit to the local DMV office will be required. During your appointment, present the following items:

  • Proof of South Carolina residency
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Proof of identity
  • Payment for any applicable fees

If you would like to get a five-year motorcycle license, the fee is $12.50. For a 10-year license, it is $25. These fees may vary and change without notice.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To get your license to drive in the state of South Carolina, present the following documents:

  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Acceptable examples include a Social Security Check, a Social Security Card, a marriage license or military ID.
  • Proof of U.S. Citizenship
  • Acceptable examples include Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Citizenship, U.S. Birth Certificate or United States passport.
  • Proof of SC residence
  • Acceptable examples include a utility bill, statement from your financial institution or Voter Registration Card.
  • Proof of identity
  • Acceptable examples include United States birth certificate, Certificate of Naturalization, current U.S. passport or U.S. government issued Consular Report of Birth Abroad.

In addition to the aforementioned documents, provide proof of your South Carolina car insurance.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
When requesting an SC car title replacement, you will need to bring the following documentation with you to a DMV office in your area:

If you do not have your SC drivers license on hand, you may present a United States passport, an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) or a permanent residency card in its place. Your full name must be listed on the document.

If you are replacing your car title by mail, make a copy of both the front and back of your credential and submit it to the address on your application.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
The state of South Carolina allows drivers to change their address with the DMV by simply filling out an Application for Name/Address Change and paying the appropriate fee (if applicable). You can choose to make your address change request in one of three ways:

  • In person
  • By Mail
  • Online

For the steps to change address online, visit the SC DMV Public Services website and follow the instructions on the screen.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
It is not necessary to present proof of legal status to complete SC address changing with the DMV. To make an address change effective with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, you will be required to fill out an Application for Name/Address Change if your request is made in person or by mail. The application will ask you to specify if you are making a mailing address change or a residence address change. You also have the option to input a temporary address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
If you are in the process of requesting SC duplicate car registration, there are certain types of documents you will need to present. Some of these may include the following:

Drivers who would like to request a duplicate online must submit payment in the form of a credit card or debit card number. You will be asked to include information about your vehicle s description, as well as your personal information, on the Application for Duplicate Registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
To register car, you must show the following documentation:

The state of South Carolina requires drivers to register their new vehicle within 45 days of purchase. Your vehicle must be physically located in SC in order to have it registered. You will be required to renew your car registration every two years.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
When renewing car registration, you may be asked to submit the following documentation:

If you are renewing your car registration online, only a credit card will be accepted for payment. You will need to use a MasterCard, Discover card or VISA to complete your transaction. Your renewed car registration will be sent to the address that is on file with the DMV.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
The process to renew your South Carolina drivers license will require you to submit this documentation:

If you are a U.S. citizen, you will be required to complete the South Carolina drivers license renewal process at an SC DMV International Customer Office. You will need to present proof of the following:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security Number (or ineligibility)
  • Proof of date and place of birth
  • Proof of SC residence
  • Proof of car insurance

The fee for a five-year South Carolina drivers license is $12.50 (may vary).

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
To properly obtain a new title and registration for your recently purchased vehicle, stop by a nearby DMV branch with the following items:

  • Car title or Manufacturer s Certificate of Origin
  • Paid vehicle property tax receipt
  • Paid Casual Sales tax
  • Payment for titling and registration fees
  • Application for Certificate of Title/Registration
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Your South Carolina drivers license

You will have 45 days to complete the titling and registration process for your new vehicle. You can also apply for a new DMV car title by mail and sending the Application for Certificate of Title/Registration to the address listed on the form.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
When replacing your South Carolina drivers license at a nearby DMV office, you will need to present the following documentation:

To replace license documentation, follow the steps you see on the screen when visiting the SC DMV Public Services website.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
The state of South Carolina requires drivers who would like to get a motorcycle driving license to pass a few exams, such as the ones listed below:

  • A written knowledge exam
  • A motorcycle road skills test
  • A vision test

If you do not pass any of the aforementioned exams, you will be required to re-apply for your motorcycle license at a later date. You can be prepared for the written knowledge exam by taking a practice test beforehand.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Carolina

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
To get a car title copy, the state of South Carolina requires drivers to complete an Application for Certificate of Title/Registration. This important document contains sections you need to fill out about your vehicle, the owner of the vehicle and the current mileage. In order to be deemed valid, it must be dated with your signature.

If you would like to have your car title expedited to you, you can request this faster service for an additional charge of $20. You can expect to receive your expedited title for car in a matter of three business days after your request has been processed.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
If you are a commercial driver in South Carolina, you are required by law to notify your employer of any traffic ticket conviction within a period of 30 days. If you want to dispute your traffic ticket, you or your legal counsel will need to attend your court hearing on the assigned date and plead not guilty.

In certain instances, you may even lose your driving privileges if you have been convicted of a serious offense, such as driving under the influence or refusing to take a chemical test.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
A CDL DUI conviction will be subject to a drivers license suspension that will last for a 12-month period. This suspension period is increased to three years if you are a CDL driver who transports hazardous materials. To get your drivers license reinstated, follow the rules and guidelines that are set forth by your suspension period. Find out more by contacting the South Carolina DMV office nearest you.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
In the event that you have found your South Carolina vehicle title after requesting a duplicate, your original will be considered invalid. In order to avoid any fraudulent use, bring your original car title to a nearby DMV branch and hand it to an agent to dispose of it. You can also contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles for further information, by calling 803-896-5000. Hours of operation are Monday to Friday, from 8:30 a.m. or 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

What information does a driving record contain?
A SC drivers record usually contains the following information:

  • The driver s name
  • The driver s license number
  • The status of the license
  • Violations and offenses
  • Car accidents

If you would like to request your driving record online, you will need to identify yourself with the information below:

  • Date of birth
  • Social Security Number
  • Driver s license number
  • Issue date of driver s license number

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An ID card is a government-issued credential that is mainly used by individuals who do not drive. It is often used as proof of identity for a variety of purposes, including the following:

  • To enter a government building
  • To open a bank account
  • To visit a doctor or specialist
  • To travel within the United States

The State of Carolina issues ID card to people who are at least five years old. It is free of charge to citizens who are over 17.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
In South Carolina, the cost for DUI convictions varies, depending on a number of factors. You may be required to pay high fines and penalties, in addition to a reinstatement fee. For each drivers license suspension, you will be ordered to pay a $100 reinstatement fee (may change without notice). Since 2011, the SC DMV has enacted a reinstatement fee payment program to allow drivers with a suspended driving license to pay necessary fees in portions.

To find out more about your specific case, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles by calling 803-896-5000. You can also email them at: help@SCDMVonline.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic ticket will depend on the type of citation you received. Certain violations, such as a speeding ticket, will carry higher fines than others to find out the exact amount owed, review the front and back of your citation. If you choose to pay after the assigned date, you will be charged a late fee. Your ticket will also contain information about how you can pay your SC traffic ticket fine in person or by mail.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The state of South Carolina charges a $6 fee to request a driving record. This cost is subject to change without notice. You can obtain a copy of your driving record in one of three ways:

  • Online
  • In person
  • By mail

If submitting your request by mail, you will need to send a Request for Driver Information to the address below:

Alternative Media PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016 – 0035

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
If you are a South Carolina commercial driver convicted of a DUI/DWI, you will be required to notify your employer immediately. Your drivers license will be suspended, and you will need to adhere to the penalties and consequences of a CDL DUI. This will depend on the type of offense you have committed, and whether or not this was your first DUI violation.

Before you can have your CDL drivers license reinstated, you may need to complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP), and retake certain tests, such as the ones below:

  • A written knowledge exam
  • A road skills test

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
If you are a minor convicted of DUI, your license will be suspended for a lengthy amount of time. You will be required to surrender your license immediately and fulfill the terms of your license suspension period. If this is your second or subsequent DUI offense, you will then face a longer drivers license suspension.

To find out more about your case, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles by calling 803-896-5000. You can also email them at: help@SCDMVonline

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The state of South Carolina requires minimum liability insurance for car coverage that includes the following:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per more than one person
  • $50,000 property damage
  • Uninsured motorist protection

If you have a registered vehicle in South Carolina, you are required to maintain car insurance. Failure to maintain proof of insurance will result in a drivers license suspension. Additionally, you will be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee before you can have your license reinstated.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
If you would like to obtain information about the passing score for the knowledge test, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. You can reach their Customer Service Call Center at 803-896-5000. Hours of operation are from Monday to Friday.

A written knowledge exam is put together based off a series of randomly selected questions that are obtained from more than 200 questions in the DMV system.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In order to obtain a new car title for your motorcycle, you will need to follow the same process you would for a passenger vehicle. Visit your nearby DMV branch with the following items:

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

What languages is the written test available in?
The written knowledge test may be available in other languages aside from English. To find out what they are, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000. Their hours of operation are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. They are also open on Wednesdays from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. When taking your written test, make sure to bring the proper form of payment with you.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Before you can begin the process of a South Carolina suspended drivers license reinstatement, you must first complete your suspension period. The penalties and consequences that may arise due to your DUI will depend on the type of offense you have committed, and whether or not this was your first time. You will be required to surrender your drivers license for the length of your suspension.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
If you fail to change addresses when moving with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, you may face fines and other penalties. By law, you are required to change your address with the DMV within 10 days. If you would like to make this change via mail, make sure to send a completed Application for a Name/Address Change to this address:

DMV Alternative Media Office PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016-0035

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you have an SC expired drivers license and do not take the necessary steps to get it renewed, you may face late fees, in addition to other penalties. If your drivers license has been suspended for a lengthy amount of time, you will be required to do the following:

  • Pass a written knowledge exam
  • Pass a road skills test
  • Show proof of identity
  • Show proof of Social Security Number
  • Show proof of SC residency

To avoid any potential issue, renew your South Carolina drivers license before the expiration date. You can do so by mail or at your nearby DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
The state of South Carolina requires drivers who are registering their vehicles to show liability car insurance information. You do not need to present paperwork from your car insurance at your local DMV office, unless it is specifically asked for. Instead, giving the name of your car insurance provider will suffice.

When you are getting vehicle registration, you will also need to have payment ready for any applicable fees, along with your car title.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
In the event that you have not received your car registration within 10 business days, contact the SC DMV for further information. You can reach the department by calling their Customer Call Center at 803-896-5000. Their hours of operation are Monday to Friday, from either 8:30 a.m or 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. When making your phone call, have your SC drivers license number available or tag number information on hand. You can also send an email to the DMV by writing to: help@scdmvonline.com.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you completed the required steps for a South Carolina drivers license renewal and have yet to receive it, contact the SC DMV at your earliest convenience. You can reach them by phone at 803-896-5000, or you can visit a DMV branch in your neighborhood to speak to a Customer Service agent. You can also email the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles by writing to help@scdmvonline.com

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
If you are getting drivers permit certification in South Carolina, you must pass two types of exams:

  • A vision test
  • A written knowledge test

The questions on your written knowledge test will all come from material contained with the SC Driver s Manual. You will be required to complete this examination at any DMV office in your area. You are not allowed to consult the Driver s Manual or any other type of testing guide while taking the exam.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
The state of South Carolina has different types of CDL endorsements that may consist of various testing requirements. For example, you may be required to take the following tests for these specific endorsements:

  • Double/Triple Trailer Written knowledge test
  • Combination Hazmat and Tanker Must complete testing for both Hazardous Materials endorsement and Tanker endorsement
  • School Bus Written knowledge test and road skills test
  • Tanker Vehicle Written knowledge test
  • Hazardous Materials Written knowledge test and TSA Threat Assessment

In order to complete the road skills test, you must operate a vehicle that is in accordance to the type of endorsement you would like to obtain.

For more information: South Carolina Commercial Driver s License Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
If you are obtaining your regular South Carolina driving license, you will be required to pass a vision exam. In order to pass, you must have a minimum visual acuity of 20/70 or better in at least one eye, with or without corrective contact lenses.

In some cases, you may also be asked to take a written knowledge exam. This exam must be completed in person, at a local Department of Motor Vehicles branch.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In South Carolina, the current car insurance requirements entail coverage of the following:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage
  • Uninsured motorist protection

By law, you are required to maintain car insurance if you reside in the state and own a vehicle. In the event that you are pulled over by a police officer, you will need to have proof of insurance readily available. If you fail to get car insurance in South Carolina, your drivers license will be suspended.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The state of South Carolina offers five different types of noncommercial drivers licenses, such as the ones listed below:

  • Class D Issued to operate a noncommercial, passenger vehicle that does not exceed 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
  • Class E To operate noncommercial vehicle that exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
  • Class F Issued to operate noncommercial, combination vehicles that exceed 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
  • Class G Issued to operate a moped
  • Class M Issued to operate a motorcycle or three-wheel vehicle

You will need to apply for the appropriate drivers license class, depending on the type of vehicle you would like to operate.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
South Carolina makes it mandatory for all registered vehicles in the state to be insured. If you refuse to get car insurance, you will face the following consequences:

  • You will be found guilty of a misdemeanor.
  • Your South Carolina drivers license will be suspended.

The state requires drivers to maintain the following types of insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage
  • Uninsured motorist protection

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
By law, you can only reinstate suspended drivers license once you have fulfilled all the requirements set forth in your suspension summary. For example, if you have a South Carolina suspended drivers license as the result of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and this is your first offense, your license will be suspended for a period of six months. Only thereafter, and once you have complied by all the rules and regulations of your reinstatement requirements, will you be able to have your driving privileges restored.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

When does my car registration expire?
A DMV car registration in the state of South Carolina is good for a period of two years. In order to avoid paying late fees, you are required to renew your car registration before its expiration date. When renewing your registration, you will also need to pay vehicle property taxes in the county you reside in. Renew your car registration online, by mail or in person. To renew by mail, you must have first already paid your vehicle property taxes.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

When does my ID card expire?
Your South Carolina identification card will be good for a period of five years before you are required to complete an ID card renewal. When obtaining your renewed ID card, you will need to visit a SC Department of Motor Vehicles office in your neighborhood. Upon your visit, you may be asked to fill out an Application for a Non-Commercial Credential. However, if it has been more than nine months since your ID card expired, you will need to also present the following items:

  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of South Carolina residency

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
The state of South Carolina gives drivers a period of 10 days to complete address changing with the DMV. Failure to do so in the allotted time may result in penalties and fines. Once you update the information on your drivers license, all your other driving records with the department will also reflect this change.

You can change your address with the DMV online, in person or by mail. In many instances, you will be required to fill out an Application for a Name/Address Change. You will not be charged a fee to update your address on your car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Carolina

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale confirms the selling of a vehicle between two private parties. This crucial document should be filled out before the exchange is complete. Some important notations you should add to a Bill of Sale include the following:

  • Vehicle description
  • Vehicle Identification Number
  • Seller s name, address and phone number
  • Buyer s name, address and phone number
  • Seller s signature and buyer s signature
  • Selling price of vehicle
  • Current odometer mileage

Some DMVs may have a formal Bill of Sale document you can use, or you may opt to write one of your own.

For more information: Title Transfers or Obtaining a New Certificate of Title in South Carolina

When will I need to renew my license?
You must renew drivers license materials before its expiration date. The expiration date will depend on the type of drivers license you have. The state of South Carolina issues both five-year drivers licenses, as well as 10-year drivers licenses. If the last time you conducted a license renewal was at a DMV branch, your license will be good for 10 years. Seniors who are 65 or older are only issued a five-year drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
In order to find out when you can expect to receive your drivers license copy, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. You can reach them at 803-896-5000 during regular business hours. Their Customer Service line is available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. You can also call on Wednesdays, from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

If you are replacing your SC drivers license in person, you can speak to a DMV representative about obtaining your duplicate.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Carolina Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
If you would like to check the current status of your South Carolina drivers license, you may do so in one of three ways: online, in person or by mail. You will need to complete an SCDMV Request for Driver Information to obtain a copy of your driving record. Find out more by contacting the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles at 803-896-5000 during their regular business hours. You will need to have your drivers license number on hand to identify you in their department records. You can also send an email to the department by writing to: help@scdmvonline.com.

For more information: Suspended License Information for South Carolina

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
The state of South Carolina requires drivers to replace car registration when it is lost or stolen. You can complete this process by visiting your nearby DMV branch with the proper paperwork, proof of identity and appropriate payment. During your visit, you will be required to submit an Application for Duplicate Registration. This application will ask for information pertaining to the registered owner of the vehicle, as well as your car details.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence in South Carolina as a second or subsequent offense must have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in the vehicle. Drivers who are required to install an IID yet refuse to do so face drivers license suspension for a period of three years.

In order to find an ignition interlock device provider in your area, contact the SC DMV IID Program Manager at 803-734-9220. You can also reach the Manager by email when you write to: ignition@ppp.state.sc.us.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
For your convenience, South Carolina makes it easy to pay traffic tickets online through the official website of the state. To begin the process, you will need to have your case number ready, as well as the proper form of payment. Select the county or municipality where your citation was issued and follow the instructions on the screen. If you would like to pay for your ticket in person, visit the county clerk in your area.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

Where can I get a new drivers license?
To begin the process of applying for drivers license, stop by your nearest DMV office to complete the proper paperwork and submit to any necessary testing. Before visiting a local branch, you will need to gather proof of residency, proof of U.S. citizenship, proof of identity and proof of Social Security Number. You will also need to show proof of valid car insurance in the state of South Carolina.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver s License in South Carolina

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
In South Carolina, you can send a request for replacing car title to the address below:

SC DMV PO Box 1498 10311 Wilson Blvd. Blythewood, SC 29016 0023

As part of your mailing package, you will need to include a completed Application for Certificate of Title/Registration and payment for the title fee, in the amount of $15. Only checks are accepted by mail. For expedited service, there is an additional charge of $20. Fees may be subject to vary without notice.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

Where can I obtain an ID card?
You can get a DMV ID card at any South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles office in your area. To find a list of DMV branches nearby, simply visit this link. If you have a damaged ID card and need a replacement, you will need to complete this process in person as well. You will be required to fill out an Application for a Non-Commercial Credential and present further documentation, if necessary. Learn more by contacting your local SC DMV office.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Carolina Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In South Carolina, the majority of vehicles require car insurance. Some of these include but aren t limited to the ones listed below:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • RVs
  • Motorcycles
  • Vans
  • Trucks
  • Commercial vehicles
  • Utility trailers
  • Road tractors

When getting insurance for your vehicle, you will also be required to obtain car registration thereafter. To complete this process, you can visit an SC DMV in your area and bring all necessary documentation, paperwork and payment with you.

For more information: South Carolina Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are under the age of 18, you will be required to visit your local DMV office with a parent or legal guardian, who will be asked to sign your SC drivers permit application and provide consent. However, if you are an individual with emancipated minor status, you will be exempt from this requirement. Court documents showing proof of your emancipation will be required at the time of application.

If you are an exchange student who is younger than 18, you are required to have a person of your host family sign your application instead.

For more information: Learner s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Carolina

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Any violation or offense you have committed in the state of South Carolina will be reflected on your driving record. However, in some instances, it may not show up immediately. If you would like to receive further information about your traffic ticket, contact the clerks office of the county in which you were issued your citation.

For more information: Your South Carolina Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
In SC, you are required to present proof of a recent vision screening report when renewing drivers license. If you are completing the process in person, you must do one of the following:

  1. Pass a vision screening exam
  2. Provide proof of a vision report that was conducted by a licensed eye doctor in the past 12 months.

If you are under the age of 65, you will be issued a 10-year drivers license. However, if you are a senior who is 65 or older, your SC drivers license will be good for a period of five years.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
To find out whether or not you can expect to receive a renewal notice in the mail, contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Their Customer Service phone line is available Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. You can also reach them on Wednesdays, from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Simply call 803-896-5000. When calling the SC DMV Customer Service Center, make sure to have one of the items on hand to identify you in their records:

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Carolina

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Depending on the type of citation you have received and whether or not you are fighting your ticket, you may have points added to your driving record. If you accumulate 12 or more points, your South Carolina drivers license will be suspended. You will receive a notice in the mail stating so. In order to restore your driving privileges, you will need to adhere to the terms of your suspension period.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Depending on the type of citation you have received and whether or not you are fighting your ticket, you may have points added to your driving record. If you accumulate 12 or more points, your South Carolina drivers license will be suspended. You will receive a notice in the mail stating so. In order to restore your driving privileges, you will need to adhere to the terms of your suspension period.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in South Carolina

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
In the state of South Carolina, if you are convicted of DWI, you will be required to take a mandatory Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP). You must take this course in order to either get a provisional license (a temporary license that allows driving to and from work, to and from school, and to and from any other authorized activity) or to reinstate your license.

If you would like to know how you can enroll, visit the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services website. You can also reach one of the ADSAP coordinators by phone when you call 803-896-5592 or 803-896-1158.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Carolina

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, the state of South Carolina requires drivers who have a lost car registration or a stolen car registration to complete an Application for Duplicate Registration. This application will require you to enter information about the items listed below:

  • Vehicle details
  • Registered owner s information
  • Registered owner authorization
  • The option to make a donation to Donate Life

In order for the application to be deemed valid, you will need to include your signature at the bottom. If mailing in the application, only a check or money order will be accepted. It must be made payable to the “South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.”

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
The state of South Carolina does not require drivers to show proof of car insurance when replacing car titles. However, you may want to bring this documentation with you to a nearby DMV office, in the event that you are asked to provide additional information.

To obtain a duplicate car title, present a couple of standard documents that include the following:

If you do not have your drivers license with you, bring another proof of identity, such as your U.S. passport or a permanent residency card.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Carolina

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, you can expect to receive a car registration notice in the mail from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles a few weeks before your registration expires. You must then renew your car registration online, in person or by mail. The online option is only available to certain counties, and your vehicle property taxes must have already been paid in order to utilize this service. To renew your car registration in person, bring your South Carolina drivers license with you, along with payment for any proper fees.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
In South Carolina, a car registration will remain valid for two years. If you own a passenger vehicle, your expiration date will occur every other year in the month that your vehicle was first registered. To avoid paying any late fees, renew your vehicle registration before it expires. If you ignore the expiration date, you will incur the following fees for late registration renewal:

  • The first 14 days after expiration date: $10
  • 15 to 30 days: $25
  • 31 to 90 days: $50
  • More than 90 days after: $75

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Carolina