is a privately owned website.*
Only $9.99

Pass Your DMV Test

Be Prepared. Study with the 50 questions DMV Practice Test
BONUS - Get 20 Road Sign questions for FREE!

Florida Driver's License Manual

In order to apply for your Driver's License you must first pass a written test. The driver's manual is the book that provides the information you need to know in order to pass your written test and to get your driver's permit. It is important to read the manual because Section 2 and 3 have pertinent information necessary to pass this test.

Information Covered in the Manual

The manual provides information regarding different types of licenses, state traffic laws, road signs, safe driving information and regulations - all of which will help you drive safely and successfully. For example:

  • You must pull over and stop at the side of the road for any emergency vehicle with its lights or sirens on
  • Signs in yellow with black lettering and symbols are usually warning signs

Sections of the Manual

There are several chapters within each part of the manual. The 3 major sections include:
  1. Information about licenses and owning a vehicle
  2. Traffic laws and regulations
  3. Safe driving suggestions
You can download a copy of the Driver's Manual for more detailed information.

Where to Get a Hard Copy of the Manual

Please see the Driver's Manual Here for an online copy of the manual and practice quizzes for each chapter OR the manual is available to purchase at any DHS&MV office.


As well as reading the manual, It is important to review all information regarding acquiring a Commercial Driver's License (CDL). Please use the following links to gain more knowledge about the licensing process.

Reviews of Florida Driver's License Manual


i cant get register my car because i dont have insurance. i cant get insurance because i dont have a license. i cant get my license because i dont have a car that is registered and insured. what a big loop hole !! anyone have adive ?

You would have to get your license , by taking your driving test in another car ,(not the one you are trying to get insurance for)

i am 27 and never had my drivers license do i have to have a permit or not

You dot necessarily need a permit, just go in for a first time license, theyll make you take the written test and after passing you can take the driving test, after 45 minutes.

no you have to have a permit for at least 6 months before you can get you dl.

i would like to make an appointment to take the permit license

how can i make an appoinment to get my permit?

hey, im a 11th grader at liberty county high scholl and it is a pleasure to drive...

i would like to know about florida

go to obt in orlando..have $20 on you and you can get a personal tour guide


I'm ready to start driving!!

i wat to take the test

I'm ready to get on the road....And be an INDEPENT!!!woman!!!!

stick with your mom for a few more years hun..take a few spelling tests..get 1st place in the spelling bee..take a drug test..and you'll be ready to go!!!!

It's I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T