How to Renew a Motorcycle License in Kansas
A current driver’s license is required to operate a motorcycle in the state of Kansas. This can be done by adding a KS motorcycle endorsement to an in-state driver’s license. The driver’s license and motorcycle endorsement must be renewed in order to the permit to be valid. If a driver does not obtain a Class M license, then he or she is not legally permitted to operate a motorcycle in Kansas.
M Class endorsements in the state of Kansas are only necessary for those drivers who wish to operate a motorcycle. The state of Kansas requires that drivers seeking a motorcycle endorsement must complete a state-approved motorcycle training safety. If this step is completed, no additional written or driving test is required.
Drivers need to renew the motorcycle permit every four to six years in order for it to still be considered legitimate. The renewal process can be completed by taking a motorcycle safety test. This ensures that the driver knows how to properly operate the motorcycle on the roadways.
When to Renew a Motorcycle License in Kansas
In the state of Kansas, a driver’s motorcycle endorsement may be valid for several years depending on the type of license he or she applies for. The renewal period occurs every four to six years. A driver must renew the motorcycle license at least 30 days prior to the expiration date. Even if a person’s driver’s license is not to set to expire anytime soon, the motorcycle endorsement needs to be renewed prior to expiring. The bike license renewal is independent of a Kansas driver’s license renewal requirement. This applies to anyone who wishes to legally drive a motorcycle in the state of Kansas.
If a person does not renew his or her motorcycle license prior to the expiration date, he or she will not be eligible able to drive a motorcycle in the state of Kansas. Drivers will be mailed a notice from the Kansas Division of Vehicles. The notice will contain information about the upcoming expiration or a motorcycle license renewal application. The notices will be mailed to the drivers last known address that is on record with the Kansas Driver Licensing Field Services.
If a driver fails to renew his or her KS motorcycle license prior to expiration, a $1 fee may be applied to his or her license renewal. If it has been more than one year since the license expired, the driver will need to undergo full testing before he or she is eligible for a motorcycle license. This includes a vision test, a written exam, and a driving test.
Eligibility for Motorcycle License Renewal in Kansas
The state of Kansas implements certain requirements that drivers must adhere to in order to obtain a Class M endorsement on his or her Kansas driver’s license. These motorcycle renewal requirements
for a license in the state of Kansas include the following:
- Must be between the ages of 21 to 50
- Must not be a registered offender
- Must not have a commercial driver’s license
- Completed vision test within the last 365 days in the state of Kansas
- Must be a U.S. citizen
- The license must be within 12 months before or after your expiration date
Check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles office in the state of Kansas for questions about any of these requirements. Requirements for a Class M endorsement are subject to change without notice. The penalty for operating a motorcycle without a KS Class M driver’s license is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1,000 or going to jail for up to six months.
Drivers with a learner’s permit may apply for a Kansas motorcycle Class M endorsement. This type of endorsement is only valid for one year. A signature from a parent or guardian may be required on the KS motorcycle permit application.
If a motorcycle driver is coming from out of state, he or she must have a Kansas driver’s license within 90 days of moving to the state with a motorcycle endorsement.
Kansas requires that individuals applying for a motorcycle license bring the proper documentation to be considered for the endorsement. A driver may bring one of the following to validate his or her identity. These are the documents required to renew a motorcycle license:
- A certified birth certificate
- An unexpired U.S. Passport or passport card
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- S. Consular Report of Birth Abroad
Additionally, a driver needs to verify his or her Kansas residency with a document that shows the person’s current name and Kansas residential address, a recent utility bill from the last two months, current Kansas vehicle registration or title, rental or lease agreement in Kansas, or other official document stating a person’s Kansas address with legal name as a part of the motorcycle renewal requirements.
Drivers will also be required to bring one document that contains his or her legal name and Social Security number. This can be a Social Security card, current W-2 or 1099, or current pay stub with the Social Security number. Other documents may be eligible for consideration. Check with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles for more. Original copies of each document are required to apply.
Instances When You Cannot Renew Your Motorcycle License in Kansas
Drivers may be ineligible to renew the motorbike license if he or she does not meet the minimum age requirements put in place by the state of Kansas. Additionally, drivers may not be able to renew his or her designation to drive a motorcycle in the state of Kansas if his or her license is suspended or revoked at the time of renewal. If a driver is not able to renew the designation, he or she should call the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles to learn more about how to reinstate a KS motorcycle license.
Additionally, a drive may not be able to renew his or her motorcycle license in Kansas if the following has occurred:
- Sentence of three moving violations during a 12-month period
- Not agreeing to a drug or alcohol test
- Not having continuous liability insurance (indefinite suspension)
- Not appearing for a court date
- Ignoring traffic citations in Kansas or another state
- Operating a motorcycle or vehicle after consuming alcohol or drugs, and testing positive for having more than .08 or above
- Driving with an open container of alcohol
- Not reporting a traffic accident to police
How to Renew a Kansas Motorcycle License Online
Drivers who possess a current KS motorcycle license may be wondering, “Can I renew my motorcycle license online?” As of Oct. 2018, Kansas drivers may renew driver’s licenses online. This can be done using a newly implemented system called iKan. The service offers a mobile app and an online website. All renewal applicants must have passed a vision exam within the last year in order to qualify for online renewal.
The other requirements include:
- Having a license within one year of expiration
- The license is in good standing and valid
- Vision test was done in the last 12 months in Kansas
- Does not possess a commercial driver’s license
- Not a registered offender Must be 21 to 50 years of age
- Did not complete last renewal online
How to Renew a Kansas Motorcycle License by Mail
The state of Kansas permits certain drivers to renew his or her motorcycle license by mail. This exception applies to Kansas driver’s who are temporarily living out of the state including active duty military members. In order to renew a motorcycle permit license by mail, drivers must meet the following requirements:
- Be a Kansas resident
- Be a U.S. citizen
- Have a current driver’s license photo on file with the Kansas Division of Vehicles
- Complete the Kansas Driver’s License Renewal Form
Drivers living out of the state or out of the country at the time his or her license is up for renewal can mail a completed application to:
Kansas Department of Revenue P.O. Box 2188 Topeka, KS 66601-2188
Additionally, the form can also be scanned in as a PDF and emailed. Moreover, drivers must include payment with the completed form. Cash will not be accepted. Only checks, money order, or credit cards will be taken for a motorcycle license renewal in Kansas.
How to Renew a Kansas Motorcycle License in Person
Drivers in Kansas will need to visit the Kansas Department of Revenues Division of Vehicles website to find out where to renew motorcycle licenses. There is a list of offices on the website. Drivers will need to bring proof of identity with them as stated above. Drivers can make an appointment online or show up and wait in line at the office.
Drivers will be required to do the following in order to renew a motorcycle license:
- Complete and pass an eye exam. This step can be done by any licensed optometrist using a vision form or at the Division of Vehicles office. If the license is expired or suspended, drivers will need to submit to a driving exam.
- Take a new photo for the license.
- Provide a legal signature.
- Pay all renewal fees to complete the process.
Kansas Motorcycle License Renewal Costs
Drivers who are interested in renewing his or her license may want to know how much does it cost to renew a motorcycle license. The fees will vary. Here are the costs that are associated with renewing a motorbike license in the state of Kansas:
- Out of state: under the age of 65: $38.50; over the age of 65: $29
- Regular A or B license with M Class – 4 years: $33
- Regular A or B license with M Class – 6 years: $44
- Regular Class M – 4 year: $29
- Regular Class M 6 year: $38.50
- Under 21 Class M: $11
There is an $8 photo fee for each renewal. This fee is included in the overall costs listed above. Kansas charges a 2.5 percent convenience fee for all credit card transactions.